Back

Reviews - River Cafe

8.6/10

Fabulous

based on 1212 reviews
Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review. The global rating is based on all ratings and reviews but only those written in English are displayed.
  1. Jo R.
    Jo R.
    • one review
    8/10

    Great setting and entree and main were delicious. Dessert was not as good as mains. Drinks took a while to come, which was surprising as they seemed on the ball when we arrived.

  2. James M.
    James M.
    • one review
    6/10

    Not overly pleased with the experience. The ambience was good but the service-was moderately average and the food just okay. The tapas plates were not tasty and small in size. The main courses were overpriced. The view of Adelaide was the best part.

  3. Karen A.
    Karen A.
    • one review
    10/10

    Food was divine and they were highly accommodating

  4. Carolyn s.
    Carolyn s.
    • 15 reviews
    10/10

    Great food wine and service

  5. Gatik C.
    Gatik C.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Nice place. Good food. Very good service

  6. Jonathon S.
    Jonathon S.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent food, amazing location. We had a 3 course meal. Cooked perfectly, great seasonal flavours. Nothing to fault. Great location for a date or celebration. Highly recommend!

    River CafeRiver Cafe

    Thank you it was nice to meet you

  7. Carol B.
    Carol B.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Disappointed the River Cafe has become more of a true cafe. Gone are the white tablecloths and smart menus. Now have cheap looking laminated tables and scruffy paper menus instead. Having said that, the food was wonderful. Would like to see more than 2 desserts on the menu.

    River CafeRiver Cafe

    Thank you for your feedback. We are following covid-safe work plan with disposable menus and removal of tablecloths for sanitation between use to protect customers and staff until otherwise advised.

  8. Giulio W.
    Giulio W.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Good quality food with fine dining experience. If it wasn't for the 40% off special, price would be too unaffordable. It would be nice to have a set menu including soup, salad, desert, main and entree for the reasonable price, which not in the hundreds of dollars as this would result if we ordered a la carte.

    River CafeRiver Cafe

    Thank you we have taken your comments on board

  9. Lorena A.
    Lorena A.
    • 4 reviews
    4/10

    Small portions, VERY overpriced and somewhat pretentious food.

    River CafeRiver Cafe

    Thank you we will look at what you had and review however at 40 percent discount it must have been good value!

  10. Stephen S.
    Stephen S.
    • 10 reviews
    8/10

    Great food with beautiful view

  11. Daniel T.
    Daniel T.
    • 11 reviews
    10/10

    An excellent dining experience. Food, service & ambience all top quality. We shall be back.

  12. Sunny H.
    Sunny H.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Nice fine dining experience. The food was excellent and service was good. Highly recommend the Home-marinated olives.

    River CafeRiver Cafe

    Thank you we love our olives too

  13. Tracey K.
    Tracey K.
    • 30 reviews
    7/10

    Quite different to our last visit. The menu and food didn't match the casual cafe feel. Now offering tapas, medium and large dishes with limited choices for dietary requirements. The sliced rump was presented well but a very small "large" dish? The fillet on truffle mash was very good and a better size. Limited choices so probably won't return which is unfortunate because it's a great spot!

    River CafeRiver Cafe

    Thank you for dining on the fork festival discount offer. Our menu is expanding weekly with new offerings posted on facebook. We pride ourself with offering dietry alterations and the majority of dishes are available gluten free however no onion and garlic options can only be catered on half of our menu.

  14. John R.
    John R.
    • one review
    8/10

    We have been to the River Cafe several times and as usual it"s a great venue, lovely setting, staff are very friendly, food is good too! We recommend it to our friends.

    River CafeRiver Cafe

    Thank you hope to see you soon.

  15. Sandy D.
    Sandy D.
    • one review
    9/10

    An excellent night. However as the restaurant was usually quiet, having no background music made it less ambient than it has been on previous visits

    River CafeRiver Cafe

    Thank you for your feedback regarding music we will pay more attention to the volume

  16. Viki A.
    Viki A.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent service, delicious food and beautiful views over the river. I have been there several times and always has been a lovely experience. I would love to see back in the menu”Fior di zuccha” though ???? I will definitely go back. Thank you for the lovely service. Viki

    River CafeRiver Cafe

    Thank you we are updating our menu next week and we are looking at a new zucchini flower dish

  17. Paula S.
    Paula S.
    • 3 reviews
    9.5/10

    Had a great time. Sat by the big window with beautiful views of the Torrens. Food was excellent, all 3 courses. Service was prompt initially but got a little slower as the evening progressed with quite a wait for dessert and my final glass of wine. But we were enjoying the evening so didn't really mind. Bit pricey, but we had 50% off so happy with that.

    River CafeRiver Cafe

    Glad you enjoyed the Fork festival with us

  18. Danielle D.
    Danielle D.
    • 23 reviews
    9/10

    Wonderful ambience with the view of the River Torrens. Friendly staff and food was nicely presented and delicious.

  19. Martin B.
    Martin B.
    • 3 reviews
    9.5/10

    Although the food was excellent the variety was a bit limited, if you don't eat beef or seafood there were not many other options. My wife rang a week before hand to inquire if you did any chicken dishes and she was told that both restaurants had run out of chicken?? At the time of ordering I inquired about a small change to the gnocchi and was told that everything had been pre cut so they could not accommodate the small change (sausage from the medium dishes into the gnocchi) I therefore decided to risk it and have the wild boar which turned out very well...luckily. We have been to your restaurant quite a few time and always enjoy ourselves...and will continue to do so but I just thought I would let you know about the choices. Where there two different menus on offer based on the 50% off?

  20. Hong P.
    Hong P.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    We have been to the River Cafe numerous times and they always deliver on great food and fantastic service! We have never been disappointed and will come back time and time again! Highly recommend !

  21. Candy Y.
    Candy Y.
    • 6 reviews
    9/10

    Amazing food as well!

  22. Del R.
    Del R.
    • one review
    9/10

    A lovely enjoyable evening. Problem: bottle wine prices high and when asked prior to dining re BYO corkage - wow $30 per bottle. This we found exorbitant. Food was delicious & lovely attentive waitress staff - could not fault 2 young Girls.

    River CafeRiver Cafe

    We are glad you enjoyed The River Cafe we review our prices after consideration with other cafes and hotels in our area and feel we are somewhere in the middle and with food prices offer a total value dining experience. We are fully licenced and not a BYO however we do cater for that special bottle.

  23. Alexis D.
    Alexis D.
    • one review
    6/10

    We have eaten at the River Cafe a number of times over quite a few years. We have always enjoyed our experiences, except for today. The food was very disappointing, for one of Adelaide's iconic locations. The food was unsophisticated and unimaginative; not better than ordinary pub food. The staff were receptive to our feedback and we hope that kitchen returns to the higher standard that it once had. The waiting staff were friendly and competent.

    River CafeRiver Cafe

    Thank you for your feedback. Our menu due to Covid restrictions now lifting is changing weekly. It has been a difficult year for all and we have some great ideas moving forward. The salt and pepper squid entree with roast tomato romesco you both shared for your meal we would describe as a simple and popular dish. We hope you return to try something a litle more creative in the future.

  24. Richard R.
    Richard R.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Electric wheel chair accessible was a great positive. Friendly, responsive & courteous service. Food presentation & quality was excellent .

    River CafeRiver Cafe

    Thank you for your positive feedback hope to see you soon

  25. Audrey Y.
    Audrey Y.
    • one review
    5/10

    The atmosphere was lovely as we had the view of the river. One of the staff had taken my fork away after our entrees, but she was quick to provide me a new one when I reminded her. In terms of food, I’m a little disappointed. We ordered the salt and pepper squid with salad to share (that was under a “medium” meal). It arrived as a few very thinly sliced pieces, not crunchy, and not fully covered in batter either. The salad on the side was a few leaves of spinach, onions and herbs. For our mains, we ordered the beef fillet (medium-rare) and the crab linguini. The beef was a little bit more towards the medium side, which is fine, but the texture was very tough and chewy, more on the rump end. However the truffle mashed potatoes and grilled broccolini that accompanied it was delicious! The crab linguini was okay. The pasta was over-cooked and too soft, but the sauce was alright. We managed to try the River Cafe for 50% off with the Fork’s deal, but I don’t think it’s worth it at it’s original price range. The views of the river and the city is lovely though.

  26. Luke T.
    Luke T.
    • one review
    10/10

    Beautiful Restaurant with a great view over the river! Made for a wonderful anniversary dinner with my partner:) The table service was fantastic and the food was absolutely delicious!

  27. Jim M.
    Jim M.
    • 13 reviews
    10/10

    Food was fantastic and service was great.

  28. Thanh T.
    Thanh T.
    • one review
    10/10

    Lovely staff. Good food. Pls bring back the chocolate pudding.

  29. Kashima T.
    Kashima T.
    • 8 reviews
    10/10

    Amazing food

  30. Dohun K.
    Dohun K.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    This Restaurant was a great find, we were welcomed straight away and taken to our table by very friendly staff. Once seated we were given a comfortable waiting period before they started asking us questions and the food came in great timely manner. Food was superb as well as the white wine i had. Atmosphere was comfortable, would dine again in the future.

    River CafeRiver Cafe

    Thank you for your review

  31. Maggie A.
    Maggie A.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    From the get go we were made welcome. Good food, good wine list, good service. good view of the river. Our interstate guests were impressed. We’ll go back.

    River CafeRiver Cafe

    Thank you hope to see you soon

  32. Wanfei L.
    Wanfei L.
    • one review
    5.5/10

    The food was average. A little slow on the table service

  33. Carolyn s.
    Carolyn s.
    • 15 reviews
    10/10

    Great food and service Grest food and service

    River CafeRiver Cafe

    Thank you for commenting will pass on to all

  34. Ian B.
    Ian B.
    • 8 reviews
    9.5/10

    Good food great location and the staff were excellent......................................................................................

    River CafeRiver Cafe

    We enjoyed serving your table thank you

  35. Trish B.
    Trish B.
    • 19 reviews
    8/10

    Enjoyed lunch overlooking the river. Food was tasty but tapas portion sizes disappointing even for us who are lean eaters. Will still go back

  36. Ruth E.
    Ruth E.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    The four of us had a lovely evening. Will definitely return.

    River CafeRiver Cafe

    Glad you enjoyed thankyou!

  37. Claire H.
    Claire H.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Fantastic food and dining experience! Highly recommend! Will be back. Thank you

    River CafeRiver Cafe

    Great to hear we hope to see you soon

  38. Rosalyn W.
    Rosalyn W.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Always wonderful at River Cafe: wonderful food and service with a beautiful view over the Torrens Lake.

    River CafeRiver Cafe

    Thank you for your review Rosalyn

  39. Stephan z.
    Stephan z.
    • 10 reviews
    7/10

    We went there last night to celebrate my daughters 18th birthday. Since last being there, the restuarant has regressed. I would no longer consider it a fine dining Italian restuarant now. The menu is no longer as comprehensive and limited in selection. I just so happen to order the only pasta dish on the menu and it has reheated in the microwave. The papperdella was stuck together and I could not use a spoon and fork to twirl it to eat it, instead a knife and fork. The rest of the table was very satisfied with their meals. The restuarant in my opinion is now catering for a different segment in the market. Had I known this, this would not have been the first choice to celebrate a special occasion for an 18th birthday family dinner. In summary, the my expectation from previous experiences there was not replicated. The food choice was limited and adequate but prices are expensive given this.

    River CafeRiver Cafe

    Thank you for your review. Pappardelle pasta is cut one inch wide and in true Tuscan style using a semolina flour base. The sauce is prepared using wild boar slow cooked over several hours and not microwaved. The menu also has linguini, fusilli and gnocchi dishes. We have never promoted The River Cafe as fine dining as suggested in our name. Our prices are on average with other restaurants and cafes in the area and your visit on a 50% fork discount offered an exceptional value dining experience.

  40. Ching C.
    Ching C.
    • 5 reviews
    8/10

    Great foods