8.9/10
Fabulous
based on 915 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Valerie S.
    Valerie S.
    • 4 reviews
    6.5/10

    Stunning view with river view available across the restaurant. We had an excellent table and really enjoyed the atmosphere created by the crisp white tablecoths and the beautiful evening view of the river. There were no staff available to greet us and no permits left in the permit holder on the desk. There were staff around but too busy to speak to us. they were not dealing with patrons at all. Food was beautifully presented but we were disappointed in the blandness and dryness of the haloumi. The past ragu was escellent.

  2. Mandy M.
    Mandy M.
    • one review
    10/10

    The whole evening was great the food was good and the staff were fabulous. Nothing was too much trouble. When the food that we had ordered seemed not to be enough for the six of us we asked for an extra serve, it was promptly brought out, no waiting.

  3. Jane F.
    Jane F.
    • one review
    10/10

    We go to The River Cafe whenever we have something to celebrate. The food is always beautiful, the wine selection lovely, service excellent, and the setting is superb.

  4. Daniel S.
    Daniel S.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Never had a bad meal or experience at River Cafe. I've been there many times for numerous occasions and each time was memorable and the food spot on.

  5. Carol P.
    Carol P.
    • 7 reviews
    10/10

    The setting beside the weir was very pleasant. Did not feel like you were in a capital city at all. Facilities and friendly staff along with lovely food made for an enjoyable night. If I had to complain about anything it would be the affogato. Very small serve of ice cream not even a full scoop , quite expensive at $12 . But it didn’t spoil the occasion.

  6. Elke A.
    Elke A.
    • one review
    10/10

    We went to the River Cafe last night 8/02/2020 and the service and food was amazing! Great atmosphere! We just had a great night! The staff are soo lovely and the food was incredible!

  7. Andrew B.
    Andrew B.
    • one review
    10/10

    Very impressed with this venue. Food and service were first class and the setting was predictably wonderful. Very efficient - didn't have to wait long for our meals. Highly recommend.

  8. Viki A.
    Viki A.
    • one review
    10/10

    This restaurant is absolutely amazing. To start off the atmosphere is fabulous, the service is excellent and the food is great. I definitely will revisit again soon. For who hasn’t been there it’s a must. Thank you again to all the wonderful staff for your amazing job. Was a great evening.

  9. Henrietta S.
    Henrietta S.
    • one review
    10/10

    Beautiful view, service was great, the food is excellent and great value with the special offer. The bathroom and the bar looks dated, the restaurant is nice, probably could do with an upgrade. Close, free parking is a bonus. Highly recommended!

  10. Ngan Q.
    Ngan Q.
    • 36 reviews
    8/10

    Have frequent this establishment over the years. Have never failed to disappoint in the food quality sector. Service wasn't outstanding, but consistently pleasant. Pricing also reasonable. Thoroughly enjoyed our meals.

  11. Ellie P.
    Ellie P.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    Attentive and polite staff, delicious beef fillet, delectable desserts and a great selection of South Australian and overseas wines.

  12. Wendy I.
    Wendy I.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    A classy restaurant with relaxed casual feel. Beautiful view of the Torrens river & the city . Very efficient & friendly staff. Excellent food! Very enjoyable experience

  13. Susanne Z.
    Susanne Z.
    • one review
    10/10

    Lovely as always. Great Service and an amazing location. And they keep updating their Menu. Every time I go there there is something different, I have never been disappointed

  14. An S.
    An S.
    • one review
    9/10

    Nice view and great food

  15. Hien N.
    Hien N.
    • 17 reviews
    10/10

    The atmosphere was gorgeous and the food hard to fault. Service was very friendly and welcoming. I dine here every year and I will for sure be back!

  16. Shane C.
    Shane C.
    • 20 reviews
    7.5/10

    Nice

  17. Grant W.
    Grant W.
    • one review
    10/10

    Rosa and I (Grant) had a wonderful dinner experience with our two accompanying guests John and Krystyna. We have also been to your restaurant for xmas which was equally great. Thank you for the offer and we will certainly be coming back to the River Cafe. Thanking you Grant and Rosa WILES>

  18. Melissa R.
    Melissa R.
    • 13 reviews
    8/10

    Window seats were available and remained available during our booking - yet we were unable to take advantage. Zucchini flowers were quite nice but desperately needed seasoning. The garfish main was fabulous. My husband's pork main was also very good. The brownie dessert was just ok. I wouldn't recommend the Negroni. They also used single use plastic straws which I really don't like. Service was fine.

  19. Bobbie H.
    Bobbie H.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    The food was great and the service was excellent. All the dishes were nicely presented and the ingredients were fresh. The view of Lake Torrens from the restaurant was amazing. We will go back.

  20. Marianne F.
    Marianne F.
    • 8 reviews
    9/10

    Food was uniquely different, a delightful change, good wine list & friendly staff

  21. Pip M.
    Pip M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Thoroughly enjoyed by all. The food was wonderful and the service was attentive, yet not intrusive

  22. Libby C.
    Libby C.
    • one review
    5.5/10

    The waiting staff, although very helpful, were not very skilled. Our bottle of sparkling was opened but then left on the sideboard and I had to ask another waitress to pour it for us after about 10 minutes of waiting. I asked another waitress where the bathroom was and she said she was new and didn’t know. My chicken was overcooked and dry but the chicken liver parfait was delicious. Such a beautiful venue however.

  23. Susan R.
    Susan R.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Wonderful meal and great service. Such a beautiful outlook over the River Torrens

  24. Thi Lan Anh T.
    Thi Lan Anh T.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    The food was delicious especially the pastas - crab linguine and the chef special squid pasta! I took my friends there and they loved it! They will be back ????

  25. Sean J.
    Sean J.
    • 4 reviews
    8/10

    Everything was great, just a few little peculiarities with service and food. For example, we were sharing everything and asked for the steaks to be sliced (surely a common request when sharing) and the chef just cut them in half and put them on opposite plates. That isn't slicing. Much easier to slice them with a chef's knife in the kitchen on a chopping board than on the plate in the middle of the table.

  26. Emily P.
    Emily P.
    • one review
    10/10

    We booked this for my Step Daughters 13th as a special treat and were extremely happy with our choice of venue. Such a serene setting on the River, fantastic service and amazingly tasty food! So much so I’ve looked up a recipe for my dish online to try it at home! I highly recommend The River Cafe. Hubby and I will be back for a date night without the kids during the fringe.

  27. Lydia M.
    Lydia M.
    • 3 reviews
    9/10

    Fabulous night!!! Food and wine was excellent as with the staff were extremely attentive. Thank you to the Chef for your amazing dessert. We will be back again.

  28. Tracey B.
    Tracey B.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    A fantastic deal. A 9pm booking was a lot later than we would normally go for dinner but we thought The Fork deal was good enough to be flexible. The restaurant has a lovely ambience on the Torrens River. We shared some olives, had a zucchini flower each, my partner had the seafood risotto and I had Coorong Mullet Saltilbocca, then we shared a passionfruit semifreddo. Oh and shared a $48 bottle of red. We loved it all and the bill came to $108. Such great value. My only comment would be that the 9pm booking made everything feel quite rushed - we were done and dusted by 10.15 but that was a small price to pay!

  29. Fadia D.
    Fadia D.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Food was delicious, service was efficient. Room temp was a bit cold, but overall an enjoyable meal.

  30. Chris E.
    Chris E.
    • one review
    10/10

    Nothing beats a deliciously prepared meal overlooking the Torrens River towards the city. The food and service was excellent!

  31. Tina G.
    Tina G.
    • 9 reviews
    8.5/10

    Excellent as always, only fault my medium fillet was very raw in the middle couldn’t eat it. Certainly great value at 50% off.

  32. Chelsea N.
    Chelsea N.
    • 3 reviews
    8.5/10

    Beautiful view, we are under 30 and this restaurant was crawling with over 50’s on a Saturday night so we felt a little out of place. Service was slow but food more than made up for it! Halloumi, Arancini and the fish are a must. Host was fabulous but definitely had to do her work and more to keep up

  33. Bora P.
    Bora P.
    • 11 reviews
    8.5/10

    Great service and food.

  34. Lena K.
    Lena K.
    • 3 reviews
    8.5/10

    The service we received was good and food quality was excellent. I really enjoyed the Arancini and the Grancio Pasta. Waiting time was just the right length.

  35. Carol B.
    Carol B.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    What a lovely night, food, service and ambience was wonderful. Definitely will be back and would recommend everyone to go there at least once

  36. William C.
    William C.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Good friendly service, tasty meals

  37. Brandon  G.
    Brandon G.
    • one review
    9/10

    Great restaurant. The food was perfect and delicious. Very enjoyable night. The service staff were not up to the standards of such a good restaurant.

  38. Karen m.
    Karen m.
    • 3 reviews
    6/10

    Food was great We asked 3 times for the freezing cold air conditioner to be turned down with no help so made our time along with a lot of other people who were cold very uncomfortable .

  39. Tracy S.
    Tracy S.
    • 8 reviews
    8.5/10

    My husband and I went to the River Cafe as a last minute discount offer. I really love the menu and find it difficult to choose. We had Zucchini flower starter which is always a favourite, the cheese filling is delicious and slightly herbed. Mains were Garfish rolled with prawn meat filling and a buttery sauce, and the most tender thick fillet steak, cooked rare and too perfection!! Because we love the food here we also had the desert sharing plate with indulgent choc fudge cake, sorbet, semifredo to top us up. The wine list is quite extensive with treats from different regions around Australia including Tasmania Freyzinet Reisling which was lovely. Overall the wait staff are friendly, the food is delicious and only improvement could be to clean the outside windows to enjoy the River view:)

  40. Sarah C.
    Sarah C.
    • 9 reviews
    9.5/10

    One of the best meals I have had in a while! I had the Garfish. Arancini balls were great too. View was wonderful, and so were the staff. We will definitely be back :-)