Back

Reviews Rockpool Bar & Grill

8.9/10
Fabulous
based on 1239 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Mona F.
    Mona F.
    • 2 reviews
    5/10

    Disappointing.. food is overrated and overpriced.

  2. Nikki Y.
    Nikki Y.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    Very attentive and considerate service, great food... portion sizes of dessert and sides were a little big for two but that’s the best problem to have! Will be back!

  3. Rahul B.
    Rahul B.
    • 10 reviews
    9/10

    Great atmosphere and food however service was lacking as they were busy even during covid times. Unfortunately, had to ask multiple times for beer order and olive oil

  4. Arisa K.
    Arisa K.
    • 16 reviews
    4.5/10

    Visited Rockpool for my birthday dinner. The restaurant was pretty packed maybe that’s why our seat was upstairs. 7 of us are seated mostly same time, few group were pretty loud and talk something weird... cold dishes were pretty good however pasta and main are pretty disappointed and over priced. Specially wagyu, don’t think it was marble 9.Just bad piece not worth $55 at all.

  5. Elfa L.
    Elfa L.
    • one review
    10/10

    As good as always. Great quality food Without over complicating the meal. The staff were attentive throughout the dinner. Lovely ambience and what a great room. So Granada! Well done.

  6. Marie I.
    Marie I.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great service and great food! Very accommodating and the food was full of flavour! Also the Rooster cocktail is a must try along with the Parfait for dessert!

  7. Bernard S.
    Bernard S.
    • 5 reviews
    9/10

    It looks like most couples were seated at the bar but we don’t mind coz it’s not as noisy. We love the food - charcoal roast squid, free range chicken, cape grim fillet, sautéed mushrooms - delicious and cooked to perfection. We’re aware the chicken would take 50min but it ends up taking more than an hour. The poor lady is the only person serving the bar section; we’re struggling to get her attention but understand she’s trying her best. Overall it’s nice dinner.

  8. Katrina K.
    Katrina K.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Consistently the best meal I’ve had, time after time ????????

  9. Jay C.
    Jay C.
    • 33 reviews
    9/10

    Tortellini was incredibly fresh and full of flavour, with the seafood of very good quality. Even a complimentary birthday cupcake for my partner!

  10. Charles B.
    Charles B.
    • 2 reviews
    7.5/10

    Service impeccable as always and entrees were on point.. the steaks even though medium rare were tough and gristly for all 3 of us. Something wrong there and needs to be addressed, especially since Neil was in the kitchen himself today.

  11. Zoe Z.
    Zoe Z.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Perfect and convenient location. Nice service and well trained staff. High quality of meat. High end furniture and fantastic environment and atmosphere. A must go place!

  12. Harry C.
    Harry C.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Great service. Top ingredient and delicate cooking.

  13. Jenny Y.
    Jenny Y.
    • 3 reviews
    9.5/10

    Amazing steak, seafood stew, and really friendly service - highly recommend! Took 1 star off for service as it was very slow at times - took ages to catch a waiter’s eye even when it wasn’t that busy, but nevertheless they had a wonderful attitude and that’s what’s important.

  14. Andy W.
    Andy W.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Best steak in Sydney

  15. Lama H.
    Lama H.
    • one review
    10/10

    Exceptionally delicious food, amazing ambiance and the most wonderful service. The debate potatoes are always a winner and the calamari melts in the mouth.

  16. Susan M.
    Susan M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Excellent service, excellent food. My husband (the birthday boy) was even offered a little bd cake, a very nice muffin. Definitely the place we will go again for occasions.

  17. Lee D.
    Lee D.
    • one review
    10/10

    Very happy with the food and the service keep up the great work big shout out to all the chefs ur food was so amazing and as I work for dom who used to work here I will be back thanks again for a great night

  18. Sean G.
    Sean G.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Fantastic night for a special occasion, great service, great location, the mojito when we first arrived wasn't great but the rest of teh evening excelled, the wine list is a real feature.......

  19. Stephanie V.
    Stephanie V.
    • 10 reviews
    10/10

    The Rockpool is a top shelf restaurant. We celebrated my don’s first job. Their attention and service is always outstanding. I will keep going back.

  20. Michelle C.
    Michelle C.
    • 9 reviews
    10/10

    Food was superb, wait staff were efficient and friendly. Giving you space to enjoy your meal.

  21. Ronald c.
    Ronald c.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    Lovely place. An evening study in contrasts, though. Food was among the best I’ve had anywhere: Perfectly prepared lamb. Delicious and delicate coral trout. Caprese salad with the best tomatoes I’ve ever tasted. A stunning Pavlova. The service, however: abhorrent. The waiter either didn’t know what he was doing, or didn’t care. When we asked someone - anyone, really - to clear the table, the put-upon associate first passive-aggressively adjusted the flatware on our plates to be in the “I’m finished” placement,” then proceeded to remove the plates! Such a disappointing experience. Even with food prepared with such obvious care and skill, we left frustrated and angry with the ridiculously poor level of staff engagement.

  22. Shallyna T.
    Shallyna T.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Amazing food and service. Every menu item came out as expected and beautifully presented. Steaks cooked to perfection. Excellent wine and extra dessert recommendation.

  23. Paul B.
    Paul B.
    • one review
    10/10

    Omg the best ever!! The service and our waitress was beyond words, We had a gift card we thought had $150 on it. But actually was loaded with another $500 bucks. So the matre de came running down the street to alert us of this. The honesty was remarkable. I hope Neil reads this . Good job team. Meal of the night was the bone marrow, bravo chefs . All meals and atmosphere was perfect. ????‍????????‍????????‍????????‍????????‍???? P & C Badolato

  24. Wilasini P.
    Wilasini P.
    • one review
    10/10

    The food was fantastic even tho a little pricey but worth it. High quality customer service and really warm welcoming. I would definitely recommend.

  25. Ian A.
    Ian A.
    • one review
    10/10

    We look Rockpool Bar & Grill. We thought we'd get in early for Valentine's Day. Ben, our waiter, was excellent. Great manner, good sense of humour and recommendations about the menu. The food was top shelf as always. The potato and cabbage gratin was extraordinary. My wife particularly enjoyed her lamb cuts. And my steak was great. We drank wine by the glass. My wife's Rose, recommended by Ben, was delightful and I enjoyed a Tempranillo from Rioja. Desserts were very good, perhaps pushed ups over the edge in terms of fullness. We'll always return.

  26. Meylia W.
    Meylia W.
    • 3 reviews
    9.5/10

    Unattractive plating that taste delicious !!

  27. Bettina T.
    Bettina T.
    • 15 reviews
    8/10

    Really nice setting for a restaurant but it is very expensive for what the food is, at least for a vegetarian. The spanakopita was nice but I couldn't justify the $50 price tag..

    Rockpool Bar & Grill

    Good Evening Bettina , Thank you for providing us with your feedback , we are glad you enjoyed your meal and have taken your views on the price into consideration . We hope to see you next time around , be sure to ask the staff for the extra vegetarians options that not printed on the menu ! Kind regards , Caitlin Parker Assistant Restaurant Manager

  28. Josephine P.
    Josephine P.
    • one review
    10/10

    Ugh! What a venue. Love your work, guys! It was so exciting seeing Neil Perry too! Wow! I didn't expect an old boy like himself to still be working the floor but he's still got it! Thanks for a memorable experience :)

  29. Johnny X.
    Johnny X.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Great staff, very friendly and good atmosphere. Food is pricey but expected. Really yum! Would recommend the scallops and calamari. Along with the steak, the trout was also delicious.

  30. Angalie A.
    Angalie A.
    • one review
    9/10

    excellent food, excellent setting and atmosphere. staff were lovely but they seemed understaffed by 7, not as attentive as the beginning of my meal at 5.30.

    Rockpool Bar & Grill

    Good Evening Angalie , Thank you for passing on your experience to us. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your food and the venue. Regarding your service, we are very sorry that you felt it lacking as the night went on. If you would like to discuss anything further please feel free to reach out to myself at Caitlin.parker@rockpool.com Kind regards, Caitlin Parker Assistant Restaurant Manager

  31. Mary M.
    Mary M.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Fillet was cooked to perfection; trout with aioli was a solid choice. Heirloom tomatoes (after sprinkle of salt and pepper) were fresh and tasty, as the side of carrots. However, gaps in service and absent waitress was mystifying although restaurant packed with Fri night crowd. My wine glass was whisked away just when I wanted a refill Whew. We decided time to go.

    Rockpool Bar & Grill

    Good Evening Mary , We are sorry to hear that this was your experience on your last visit with us. It is lovely that you were able to enjoy the food although we understand you had expected more from our service. On behalf of our team I do apologise that this impacted your night negatively. I appreciate your review and if possible would like the chance to follow up personally. May I ask you to send though your phone number to myself at Caitlin.parker@rockpool.com so I may do so . Kindest regards, Caitlin Parker Assistant Restaurant Manager

  32. Kentaro O.
    Kentaro O.
    • one review
    7/10

    We had a dory fish and a Waguri fillet, which were well cooked and their orientation was excellent. The waiter chose a right wine for me which suited the meat very well. However, after the bill, no one was taking care of us, and I thought that can be something which should be improved in the future. We were just too full so that we couldn’t have dessert but the waiter displayed her disappointment, which is somewhat unprofessional. The avocado tomato salad we ordered was just an average but the dressing was a bit overly used.

    Rockpool Bar & Grill

    Good Evening Kentaro , Thank you for taking the time to pass along your experience to us. We take all feedback very seriously and we appreciate your input. I apologise on behalf of my team regarding your service on the evening and have taken your response to those who were looking after you to ensure they are always acting in a professional manner. I would like to have the chance to touch base regarding your experience, if you may email me at Caitlin.parker@rockpool.com so I may reach out personally . Kind regards , Caitlin Parker Assistant Restaurant Manager

  33. Sarah O.
    Sarah O.
    • one review
    10/10

    Amazing food and service which keeps us coming back. Always makes us feel special when we're here for a birthday they always add a little touch with a cupcake. Lady on the phone was abrupt and unfriendly but apart from that I love this place and will always recommend.

  34. Andrew L.
    Andrew L.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    The lobster with herb butter just wow. Great service as always. Only wish the lighting was a bit brighter inside but other than that, a great dining venue.

  35. Nancy H.
    Nancy H.
    • one review
    2/10

    We were very disappointed. Its our anniversary so i book this restaurant to surprise hubby. Food is normal quality, didnt think its worth the value. For the price charged we expect better service, we felt like just a number and the person serving us was rude and abrupt. Don't recommend

    Rockpool Bar & Grill

    Good Evening Nancy , Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback . We are very grateful that you thought of us to celebrate your anniversary and on behalf of our team , I do apologise that you were let down on this occasion . We take your response very seriously and it saddens us to hear that this is how you felt . I would appreciate the chance to touch base with you personally regarding this . If I may ask you to please send though the best contact number to reach you on to my email at caitlin.parker@rockpool.com so I may touch base soon . Kind regards , Caitlin Parker Assistant Restaurant Manager

  36. Marisa B.
    Marisa B.
    • 2 reviews
    8.5/10

    It was busy but whenever we called for service (and we had to call as it was never offered) it was like it was a burden for them - not sure if we will attend again after many years of patronage

    Rockpool Bar & Grill

    Good Evening Marisa , Thank you for providing us with your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you felt this way regarding your service on the evening . We do our best to ensure that we are maintain the highest of service standards at all times and we are terribly sorry to have missed the mark for you upon this visit . I would like to follow this up with you personally , if I may ask you to send though a suitable contact number to myself at caitlin.parker@rockpool.com Kind regards , Caitlin Parker Assistant Restaurant Manager

  37. Matt D.
    Matt D.
    • 36 reviews
    10/10

    Such an incredible place - the food was incredible and the venue is exquisite! I took some international guests who were very impressed with everything!

  38. Matt M.
    Matt M.
    • one review
    6/10

    Excellent food. Good service. Can’t believe there is no dress code. Most patrons in board shorts and t-shirts, ripped denim shorts. We wore jackets and felt completely out of place. All of this in a restaurant that charges $500 per couple!

    Rockpool Bar & Grill

    Good Evening Matt , We do our very best to make sure all our patrons are upholding our smart casual dress code, sometimes we do allow for a more casual dress in our bar area. Unfortunately, as the years go on the standard of dress overall is diminishing and we agree with its upsetting to see, never the less we do our best to maintain our dress code. We apologise if this impacted your evening with us. Kind regards, Caitlin Parker Assistant Resturant Manager

  39. Cindy D.
    Cindy D.
    • 2 reviews
    7.5/10

    Started off with the scallops which we enjoyed. It had a tangy kick for the sauce. For mains, we had 2 bone in rib eyes (their signature steak) and were disappointed with the quality of the meat. The meat was too chewy and I could eat 1 a fifth of it. For sides, we had the charcoaled potatoes and pumpkins with yogurt and the creamed corn, as recommended by the waitress. The potato dish was nice and I really liked the yoghurt sauce on it but we did not like creamed corn, flavour just wasn't nice.

    Rockpool Bar & Grill

    Good Evening Cindy, Thank you for taking the time to pass along your feedback regarding your food choices. I apologise that we were not aware of this on the evening as we would have loved the chance to rectify this for you. I have made sure to take your feedback to our chefs and ensured that we work on this for the future. If you are looking to dine with us again in the future, please let me know so I may book you in personally. You may reach me at caitlin.parker@rockpool.com Kind regards , Caitlin Parker Assistant Resturant Manager

  40. Rebecca E.
    Rebecca E.
    • one review
    10/10

    Amazing food: the tuna tartare and the mussel saffron stew were the highlight dishes for me. The service was exceptional: the saff went above and beyond to make sure we enjoyed our meal and night. Will