Back

Reviews Rubicon

9.4/10

Excellent

based on 546 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Tricia b.
    Tricia b.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    Another marvellous evening.from greeting to departure the service is consistently good,the food is beautifully presented with just the right time between courses.The wine matching is well thought out.

  2. Anita C.
    Anita C.
    • one review
    10/10

    We had a fantastic time. Our hostess was lovely and humorous, chef came out to have a chat after us asking numerous random questions. Stayed and chatted for a while which was great. The whole table enjoyed themselves. Very relaxed fun evening with the added benefit of amazing food.

  3. Ann S.
    Ann S.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent 5 course degustation meal - great to have the option to select dishes for this from the superb menu. Fabulous matching wine selection. Very good value considering high standard of the meal. Nice decor and very good service. Highly recommended!

  4. Sharon C.
    Sharon C.
    • 19 reviews
    8/10

    Service seems to have regressed compared to the last time I was there. The servers are different and the description and explanation for each wine paired with the dish is not there anymore. Food quality is still top notch.

  5. Paul C.
    Paul C.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Great atmosphere with attentive staff. Very good choices on the menu and a really extensive wine list. Unhurried pace for the meal, but no long delays between courses. A little pricey, but you have to expect to pay for quality. Continues to be one of Canberra’s best restaurants.

  6. Sam Q.
    Sam Q.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Wow. What a find. So glad we found this place on Trip Advisor’s recommended list. Such an unlikely setting but just magic. Beautiful restaurant, fabulous service and the food was amazing. Wish this place was closer to my home in Sydney.

  7. Tara F.
    Tara F.
    • one review
    10/10

    Such a beautiful restaurant! Great food, amazing service and beautiful setting. A little hidden gem! We will definitely be back! Highly recommend!

  8. Karen d.
    Karen d.
    • one review
    10/10

    The food and the service was wonderful as always! I had the zucchini flowers and the rib eye followed by some cheese. Planning our next visit already...

  9. Annie T.
    Annie T.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    Rubicon offers excellent food at reasonable price. The portions are good. The scallops and beef rib eye are outstanding. The service is good too.

  10. Michael B.
    Michael B.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Could not fault anything. One of the first fine dinning experiences where the food was a 10 in taste but I also didn't leave still abit hungry which has happened at other places. Service was on point and the atmosphere was perfect for a romantic night out.

  11. Nicola G.
    Nicola G.
    • one review
    10/10

    The setting under hundreds of tiny fairy lights creates an intimate atmosphere. The staff were friendly and courteous. The food was excellent and the stand out dish for me was the kingfish sashimi. To die for!

  12. David B.
    David B.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    Quiet, great service and delicious food. The acoustics are fantastic and help with sound absorption. Ideal for date night's or formal/Quiet small group gatherings.

  13. Justin B.
    Justin B.
    • one review
    10/10

    Our favourite restaurant, the food is always spectacular with great service and friendly staff, highly recommend trying it if you want to have a pleasant evening out.

  14. Jodie K.
    Jodie K.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    After a long 12 weeks we were so excited to be able to enjoy our favourite Canberra restaurant. Didn’t disapppint - never does! Beautiful food, wine, and wonderful service.

  15. Kirsten L.
    Kirsten L.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Great to have the Rubicon open again. As always a lovely evening. The food was fantastic and the atmosphere was enjoyable. Looking forward to coming again soon.

  16. Richard P.
    Richard P.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    Good food however the duck was tough and a little grizzly. Staff are pleasant however had to request our wine a few times so felt like we were forgotten on occasion.

  17. Nicole  G.
    Nicole G.
    • one review
    7/10

    The food was good. Service was a little slow even though there seemed to be a lot of staff. The staff very friendly and helpful but we had to ask for a second round of drinks.

  18. Martin  J.
    Martin J.
    • one review
    10/10

    Food was excellent without being overly fussy. I had the Madras Chicken which was a classic example of a simple dish, done well. My wife had the Pernod marinated Salmon which she liked, as the delicate salmon was not overwhelmed by the Pernod. Service was courteous and friendly but not intrusive. As someone who has hearing difficulties, I appreciated the cushioned wall finishing and carpeted flooring which cut down the reverberant noise - normally the bane of any dining experience for me! We recommend Rubicon and would happily return.

  19. Mark  J.
    Mark J.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Rubicon is amazing. Whenever I’m in Canberra, I take my partner and we love the food, service and the atmosphere.

  20. Chandrasivam S.
    Chandrasivam S.
    • 2 reviews
    6.5/10

    Food quality was great. Can't fault the flavours. However do not do the degustation option. Servings are extremely small. Was served the beef tartare the size of a quarter slice of toast. Presentation was awful. They just randomly slapped small portions of food on the plate. Wines tasted old & bitter. Complaints fall on deaf ears. Even though food tasted good, overall experience was disappointing.

  21. Stephen J.
    Stephen J.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    The staff were great, the only issue was the waiter neglected to open the red wine after showing us, to let it breath. Otherwise as good as I remembered from previous visits.

  22. Martin D.
    Martin D.
    • 10 reviews
    9/10

    We visited for a special occasion and weren't disappointed. The menu was not large but covered a good range. The dishes we chose were imaginative and well prepared and presented. The wine list was excellent and the service good.

  23. Ian L.
    Ian L.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    The food and staff were wonderful. Maybe a bit more explanation with why a wine was matched with a course would be interesting, though the matching was clearly well curated. The venue looks a little tired. Cloudy windows and dated light fixtures detract from the overall ambience. .would recommend.

  24. Heather O.
    Heather O.
    • one review
    10/10

    Really enjoyed eating here. It is deceiving in size. You enter through a heavy curtain and the atmosphere is quite good. Food and service were excellent. We had kingfish sashimi to start and it was amazing. We had chicken and salmon for mains and they were both very good as well. I would definitely return.

  25. Rebekah D.
    Rebekah D.
    • one review
    10/10

    The food was perfectly cooked and tasted amazing, and the service was attentive. Loved the decor and the intimate atmosphere of the restaurant

  26. Brenda B.
    Brenda B.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Cannot fault Rubicon. With excellent service, chef recommendations, expertly prepared food & relaxing atmosphere. I would highly recommend this restaurant. A must do!

  27. Papiya B.
    Papiya B.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great choice of lunch time menu, good wine list, accommodating, great service, friendly staff and reasonably priced for this type of quality restaurant

  28. Peter T.
    Peter T.
    • one review
    10/10

    Consistently friendly service, and excellent food in a very pleasant environment. A great wine list wit a tasteful mix of local, interstate and international wines.

  29. Sierra and Jack S.
    Sierra and Jack S.
    • one review
    10/10

    Came with my partner for our 6 year anniversary and it was so lovely. service was amazing and the food was out of this world . and really pretty and cozy

  30. Le-Anne J.
    Le-Anne J.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Always an amazing meal at Rubicon with exceptional service. A true gem in Canberra's restaurant scene.

  31. Madison G.
    Madison G.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Staff were lovely and the food was great, sauce on the duck fat potatoes was very strong so be careful not to take a huge amount like I did. Had 6 course degustation, meals were spaced out well and wines paired very nicely

  32. Ross C.
    Ross C.
    • one review
    9/10

    Rubicon is always delightful. Food is interesting. Menu could go with a little more variance but the flavours are fresh vibrant and enjoyable.

  33. Kylie E.
    Kylie E.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    We had a wonderful evening, as always!

  34. A A.
    A A.
    • 283 reviews
    9.5/10

    Beautiful restaurant with absolutely delicious food! We have had excellent service and amazing food every time we have been. Well worth a visit.

  35. A A.
    A A.
    • 256 reviews
    9.5/10

    Everyone at the table agreed that every dish was faultless, the service was fantastic, and that it was it was the best meal in recent memory.

  36. Christy C.
    Christy C.
    • one review
    10/10

    Lovely venue for our wedding anniversary

  37. John W.
    John W.
    • one review
    10/10

    five star on comfortability!

  38. A A.
    A A.
    • 268 reviews
    9.75/10

    Great dégustation lunch with work colleagues, perfect setting and fantastic service.

  39. James S.
    James S.
    • 9 reviews
    10/10

    Never seems to get the recognition, but still, always, one of the best in Canberra. Had another great night, great food and great choice for support drinks before and after our special BYO bottle.

  40. Nathan T.
    Nathan T.
    • one review
    9/10

    Thanks for a great dinner, the food was fantastic! service was great. We will be back again.