Back

Reviews Sage Dining Rooms

9.4/10

Excellent

based on 587 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Christine R.
    Christine R.
    • one review
    10/10

    A really great experience. Amazing flavours, that were perfectly executed. Service was also friendly and professional. Highly recommended for food lovers.

  2. Alexandra M.
    Alexandra M.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Had a lovely drink in the court yard, followed by delicious dégustation menu. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Would definitely go back for another visit.

  3. David R.
    David R.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    The degustation menu was excellent and paired wines well-selected. The lighting was a little too subdued but, since we did not need to consult a menu, this was not a serious problem.

  4. Christopher A.
    Christopher A.
    • one review
    10/10

    Friendly staff and delicious food! We loved every dish that came out and the staff were very helpful. This was especially true with my unique dietary requirements that were catered for. 10/10 I hope to go back

  5. Kate G.
    Kate G.
    • 2 reviews
    7/10

    First two courses were near perfect! Unfortunately the next three were a mismatch of flavours and textures that didn’t make sense - the chicken dish was unpleasant to eat. Outstanding service and a beautiful atmosphere.

  6. Nagarajesh G.
    Nagarajesh G.
    • 3 reviews
    9.5/10

    Sumptuous vegetarian degustation meal was served. It was a 5 course meal. Very clever cooking on display on the plate and relished the whole experience. Highly recommend to give a go !!

  7. Karen W.
    Karen W.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Service was exceptional. Food was fabulous as well. Loved everything about our degustation dinner with paired non alcoholic drinks. Go there you will be impressed!

  8. Kieron N.
    Kieron N.
    • 7 reviews
    8.5/10

    We had the taste & rate menu, which we thought was a different twist to your everyday dining experience. And for the better, that is. And very much made better, provided by our 2 waiter (Luke) and waitress (Maddy), with immaculate and top level service. Would highly recommend going back there just for the service alone!! :)

  9. Sharon K.
    Sharon K.
    • one review
    10/10

    Wow. We didn’t realise it was a set 5 course meal, so with no menus to look we sat back and we were blown away with the quality of the meal. We loved everything that they served and will definitely be back on our next visit.

  10. David S.
    David S.
    • one review
    10/10

    Love this restaurant. Usually go with the chef's choice degustation, wine pairing is excellent and food has never let me down. Staff are very attentive and well trained.

  11. Alastair R.
    Alastair R.
    • one review
    10/10

    Really enjoyable evening from the moment we arrived. Friendly informative staff and creative food - someone certainly knows what they are doing in the kitchen! Will definitely go again.

  12. Klaus M.
    Klaus M.
    • one review
    7/10

    We attended Sage for a wedding anniversary. After being seated we were given a wine list but no Menu. On request we told that there was no written menu and were given the menu verbally. Moreover, the menu was unexpectantly totally preset without any choices? This has two problems. One is that most people have preferances of certain foods (a friend of mine absolutely hates corriander), and secondly, although the meal was very good, the next day we could not give anyone a proper description of what we had eaten because we had to rely on a verbal description given to us in a quite noisy restaurant. I doubt we will be back since we would prefer to have a choice of a selection.

  13. Tallis  .
    Tallis .
    • one review
    10/10

    The atmosphere at Sage is simultaneously cosy and grand. The food is excellent and the service was prompt and friendly! Perfect place for a date or a family dinner.

  14. Katherine P.
    Katherine P.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    We had a glorious dinner at Sage. The food was spectacular, the waitstaff attentive but not overbearing. Beautifully arranged plates of an ingenious menu. The restaurant called to ask if this was a special occasion, which it was (my husband's 60th birthday) and they had a balloon and card complete with a $50 voucher for our next visit. Very fine gesture. My only "issue" is that with such a wonderful atmosphere and food, it was disappointing to have paper sheets over the table cloths. This seems to be a common aspect to dining these days but it is annoying to catch ones sleeve on the edge of the paper. other than that, it was a beautiful evening. Thank you to the Sage.

  15. nitika s.
    nitika s.
    • one review
    10/10

    We went to the sage dining for our third anniversary, the food was absolutely amazing and the staffs were welcoming and caring . they made us special on our day. and we even received $50 gift voucher for next time . we lived the place ☺️

  16. Brenton P.
    Brenton P.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Wow. A five course set menu which offered a mix of so many taste sensations and textures. The service was spot on. Very engaging wait staff who were all well versed in the cuisine. The waitress who seated us asked if our dinner was a celebration. It was my wife's birthday.. Following the final course, my wife (and I) was surprised by a 'sixth' course....served on a plate with Happy Birthday written in chocolate. Amazing food and hospitality.

  17. Tig H.
    Tig H.
    • one review
    10/10

    I have been wanting to dine at Sage for ages so I finally made a reservation for the family to go for my birthday. We were able to park right outside the restaurant which is always a good thing in my book. The food was simply delicious. We all enjoyed the five course degustation menu including a vegetarian one. My absolute favourite dish was the beef tartare. The service was faultless, friendly and attentive. The little birthday extras including card, voucher and bonus profiteroles were a lovely touch. I would highly recommend Sage for celebratory gatherings, a romantic dinner for two or any other reason for a wonderful meal. We will definitely be going back for the new menu taste testing in April. Thank you for a happy, happy birthday!

  18. Liz M.
    Liz M.
    • one review
    9/10

    Delightful evening with delicious degustation menu ! Could not choose a favourite dish as they were all sooo tasty. Congratulations & compliments to the chef on presentation & finesse in combining flavours with sophistication using locally sourced produce to table such fabulous menu from start to finish . The attentive , discreet & knowledgeable staff were friendly & relaxed while also professional. We finished the evening with an after dinner drink in the lively relaxing garden bar . Thank you

  19. Susan M.
    Susan M.
    • one review
    10/10

    This was a well-researched gift from our nephews to celebrate our visit to Canberra from UK. Wow what a find. The staff were absolutely delightful and informative. The food was superlative - innovative, delicious and visually exciting - and several extra surprises. Good wines too. All in an unexpected location. A real treat.

  20. Julie L.
    Julie L.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Amazing! Did not expect them to go out of their way for my husband's birthday. Great service along with great food. The food came looked as good as it tasted.

  21. Cornelis G.
    Cornelis G.
    • 6 reviews
    9.5/10

    I noted that people who gave bad reviews were offered a revisit. This saddened me as a revisit would be appreciated. However honesty demands I say the food was great, interestng, well presented by staff who were knowledgable and attentive, but not intrussive

  22. Fiona Y.
    Fiona Y.
    • 8 reviews
    8/10

    Brilliant flavour combinations, and generous with using the best ingredients! We enjoyed the kangaroo loin main, and the rhubarb tart! Thanks for the Sage experience, it was a nice finish to our Canberra trip

  23. Peter N.
    Peter N.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Beautiful resteraunt, fantastic service and warm additions for my partners birthday. Five course degustation was closer to seven and everything was unbelievable. Absolutely fantastic.

  24. Philip G.
    Philip G.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Absolutely first class meal and service. We went there for our wedding anniversary and we couldn’t think of a better place to celebrate. Would thoroughly recommend this for a special occasion.

  25. SHARON G.
    SHARON G.
    • 13 reviews
    10/10

    We dined at Sage to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The service from the moment we arrived was welcoming and personal. Each of the five courses was divine in particular the calamari fettuccini. No words! Thank you SAGE. You did not disappoint. Highly recommend.

  26. Qing L.
    Qing L.
    • 15 reviews
    9.5/10

    Very tasty food as usual, satisfied.

  27. Kathleen C.
    Kathleen C.
    • 9 reviews
    10/10

    Our anniversary lunch at Sage was probably the best meal we’ve had there yet which is saying something. We chose the three course set menu for $65 pp and were delighted by the bonus additions of a delicious Amuse Bouche comprising vichyssoise, scallops and savoury profiteroles for starters and a pre-dessert experience of lollypop-like small meringues served on tiny whisks, and white chocolate covered raspberry balls. Each course of the meal itself was beautifully prepared/cooked, arranged artistically on the plate and the service was attentive, friendly and helpful. The experience was truly value for money and reminded us of why Sage is our ‘go-to’ restaurant.

  28. Dave H.
    Dave H.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Always excellent service, lovely setting, brilliant tastes! One of our absolute favorites in Canberra. Taste and test a great way to try new menu options early!

  29. Lynda Y.
    Lynda Y.
    • 3 reviews
    6/10

    Rather noisy venue, in part because the staff were quite excitable. The menu was ok but neat and dessert-heavy

  30. Elizabeth M.
    Elizabeth M.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Love the new look of the restaurant as usual the staff are knowledgeable and the food amazing! Was a great way to celebrate Christmas with friends

  31. Shiva S.
    Shiva S.
    • 5 reviews
    9.5/10

    The staff were amazing and the food was wonderful. They had great twist on dishes that made every bit wanting more. The seasonal twist was great as it was not heavy.

  32. Maria L.
    Maria L.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    We had a very enjoyable evening. The food was delicious and the service was great.

  33. A A.
    A A.
    • 262 reviews
    8.5/10

    The food at Sage was delicious. The xheg catered for special dietary requirements. The service was great and the staff were friendly, efficient and lovely.

  34. A A.
    A A.
    • 268 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent and will likely return

  35. Christian J.
    Christian J.
    • 4 reviews
    9.5/10

    Amazing meal! Unfortunately they ran out of a red IPA beer which was the only disappointment.

  36. Panit T.
    Panit T.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent food and super services, thank you guys. We really enjoy our lunch yesterday.

  37. A A.
    A A.
    • 283 reviews
    10/10

    Very attentive yet discreet staff and the food was sublime.

  38. Jenny N.
    Jenny N.
    • 13 reviews
    8.5/10

    Delicious food and wine matching with friendly service.

  39. Wendy N.
    Wendy N.
    • one review
    10/10

    We were given a voucher for Sage Restaurant as a wedding present and chose to use it for our first wedding anniversary. We enjoyed the five course degustation and were blown away by the flavours and inventiveness. To top off the night, Sage gave us a $50 voucher to use as a thankyou. Really impressed.

  40. A A.
    A A.
    • 284 reviews
    9.75/10

    Our second visit to Sage, and just as amazing. We had the degustation, and it was fabulous. Next time we might try the wine pairing.