INSIDER

INSIDER by TheFork is a carefully curated selection of top tier venues, the ones with hats, the ones that make the top dining guides, and most importantly the ones we know you love!

Meet the Chef

Picture of Thomas Heinrich.

Thomas Heinrich

Starting his career at Basil’s Seafood Restaurant in 1994, Thomas has spent his career working in leading hotels such as the Four Seasons, Hyatt Regency, Swissotel and The Langham. Between working in the USA, Thomas also became Executive Chef at Deep Blue Bistro, specializing in indigenous Australian cuisine. Family brought him back home, but not before spending more time abroad in the Philippines as a consulted chef. Settling in Canberra, Thomas has been at Sage Dining Rooms for over 2 years.

649 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

9.1
649 reviews
Recommended
(9.5)
Food
(9.2)
Service
(9.2)
Value for money
(8.7)
Atmosphere
(8.7)

dined on Fri, 22 Mar 2019

(10)
The degistation menu with accompanying wines is fantastic

dined on Fri, 22 Mar 2019

(9)
Great evening, lovely atmosphere, very friendly staff, superb food.

dined on Fri, 15 Mar 2019

(10)
My husband and I went to Sage to celebrate our 10th year anniversary and our last date before our second baby’s birth. We got ourselves the 5-course meal and at the end of the night, we were stuffed! We had two sets of amuse-bouche, each had three different types of food which were excellent. We loved the different textures, colours, flavours and beautiful presentation carefully crafted by the chef. At the end of the night, we got a card signed by the staff to congratulate us along with a special dessert with sparklers and a gift voucher to celebrate our special occasion. We sure felt spoiled by Sage and definitely would recommend this superb restaurant to anyone.

dined on Wed, 13 Mar 2019

(9)
My wife and I love Sage. It's one of, if not our favorite restaurants in the Canberra region. The staff are all lovely and accommodating happy to go the extra mile. The food is always incredible, and while some may find the pricing a bit high, considering how they supplement the meals, it's definitely better than most of their competition in our opinion. I personally can find the restaurant room temperature a little high for my liking (in fact my wife noticed it last night as well), but it wasn't to the point of sweating, and obviously that's subjective, so take it or leave it. Either way, it's our new go-to place for special occasions. Oh, this is the second time we've been in about two months, and the quality of food and service has been extremely consistent. Many thanks to the entire Sage staff and ownership for their attention to detail and pride in their product/service.

dined on Tue, 12 Mar 2019

(10)
THE RANGE OF AMUSE BOUCHES WAS IMPRESSIVE

dined on Sat, 9 Mar 2019

(9)
Another really nice meal.

dined on Sat, 9 Mar 2019

(10)
A really special experience - wonderful, beautifully presented food, and superb wine matching. Particular thanks to Rachel for sharing her deep knowledge and passion for wine.

dined on Fri, 8 Mar 2019

(10)
Thank you so much for the lovely night! The food and wine was superb and the service staff (Louise) were exceptional. Thanks for the special birthday treat and securing a private area for us.

dined on Tue, 5 Mar 2019

(10)
I came from Sydney. If someone ask me which one I choose "Enjoy dinner once at TETSUYA'S Restaurant or Twice at SAGE?". I would choose SAGE. Foods are three unique points at least. 1) Presentation look extremely nice! 2) Texture of foods are quite interesting especially crunchy technique 3) Use of herb and flavors are very interesting. Don't miss your chance to enjoy dinner with SAGE!

dined on Fri, 1 Mar 2019

(9)
A most pleasant dining experience. Good to go at 6pm when it was quiet, and then get home early.
page: 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14

Specials

3 Course A La Carte Lunch $65pp

3 - Course A La Carte Lunch $65pp Tuesday - Saturday
When
08 May 2019 - 28 Mar 2020
Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat 12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

5 Course “Chef’s Pick” Degustation $99pp

5-course “Chef’s Pick” degustation - $99pp Lunch and Dinner Tuesday - Saturday
When
05 Nov 2018 - 04 Feb 2019
Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
When
10 Feb 2019 - 13 Feb 2019
Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
When
14 Feb 2019
Thu 12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
When
15 Feb 2019 - 04 Mar 2019
Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
When
06 Mar 2019 - 29 Apr 2019
Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
When
05 May 2019 - 10 May 2019
Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
When
13 May 2019 - 15 Jun 2019
Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
When
16 Jun 2019 - 27 Jul 2019
Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
When
28 Jul 2019 - 07 Sep 2019
Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
When
08 Sep 2019 - 19 Oct 2019
Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
When
20 Oct 2019 - 30 Nov 2019
Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
When
01 Dec 2019 - 28 Mar 2020
Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

3 Course A la Carte Dinner $79pp

3 course a la carte $79pp Dinner Tuesday - Saturday
When
31 May 2019 - 31 May 2030
Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri 6:00 PM - 9:30 PM
When
01 Sep 2019 - 31 May 2030
Sat 6:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About Sage Dining Rooms

Ying and yang fine dining. Locals are flocking to this fine dining restaurant for its cosy interior and a Zen-like courtyard. Dine in the Alfresco space strewn in fairy lights, gently illuminating soft greenery - it doesn’t get much better than this. The modern Australian menu features innovative and mouth-watering combinations of ingredients and styles. Changing frequently to keep things fresh and interesting, the menu might include such tempting combinations such as sugar-cured ocean trout with avocado, wasabi, olive and citrus or chocolate couscous with espresso ice cream, orange and meringue. Best dish: go for the five surprise courses picked by the chef.

Features

Insider

Sage Dining Rooms Address

Google Map