Back

Reviews - Sail & Anchor

8.8/10

Fabulous

based on 132 reviews
Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review. The global rating is based on all ratings and reviews but only those written in English are displayed.
  1. Jay H.
    Jay H.
    • 12 reviews
    8/10

    Great food

  2. Carole T.
    Carole T.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Awesome Ambiance - Food selection suited a large range of needs and was Yummy. Great service, sensational building. Very happy was reccomend by friends in SA

    Sail & Anchor

    Hi Carole, Thank you for joining us at the Sail. Glad you enjoyed yourself! Hope to see you again soon :)

  3. Maxine L.
    Maxine L.
    • 3 reviews
    8.5/10

    Noisy but good music, outside was just a bit too hot for a 39 degree day, great fan but still uncomfortable. Saved by the food, fresh and tasty, iced water would have helped.

  4. Rob Z.
    Rob Z.
    • 20 reviews
    10/10

    Great food and friendly service. Thanks!!

  5. Dee T.
    Dee T.
    • 3 reviews
    8/10

    Really lovely staff very busy. Awkward the staff didn't know anything about 'yums' rewards program but they sorted it after I showed them the email

  6. Roberta T.
    Roberta T.
    • 29 reviews
    10/10

    Very nice food and excellent service from Anne. The portions were very generous so you will definitely leave feeling full. The only slightly negative thing was that is was quite noisy so we had to speak very loud but besides that we had a great time! Thank you.

  7. Beatrice G.
    Beatrice G.
    • 7 reviews
    8.5/10

    Friendly service.What we ordered was very tasty.Thoroughly enjoyed it.

    Sail & Anchor

    Thank you for an awesome review, we appreciate the support. I'll pass on the message to our team! See you again soon :)

  8. Selina M.
    Selina M.
    • 8 reviews
    6.5/10

    Venue was really noisy with the music and people acoustics

  9. Jerome N.
    Jerome N.
    • 6 reviews
    9.5/10

    Ordered the seafood Platter and it was delicious with plenty of chilli mussels and prawns and squids. Chicken parmi's portion was big and yum. Service was great as well. Definitely recommend this place.

    Sail & Anchor

    Hi Jerome, Glad to know you enjoyed your meal, great to have you visit the pub! I'll pass the awesome feedback, see you again soon!

  10. Ursula T.
    Ursula T.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    The food and service were very good. Kids loved their fish and chips!

    Sail & Anchor

    Hi Ursula, Thank you for an awesome review, we appreciate the support! Glad the little ones can also enjoy a pub meal, see you guys again soon! :)

  11. Jana C.
    Jana C.
    • one review
    10/10

    This restaurant was a great find! The staff are amazing! The food is delicious! We went last weekend and then came back this weekend with our friends and all our kids and will definitely go back again.

    Sail & Anchor

    Hi Jana, So good to know you enjoyed yourself on more than one occasion! Thank you for the ongoing support, we appreciate your awesome feedback! See you again soon :)

  12. Rob Z.
    Rob Z.
    • 19 reviews
    10/10

    Awesome food and great service. Thank you!

    Sail & Anchor

    Hi Rob, thanks for an amazing review. We appreciate it, see you again soon :)

  13. Nogol S.
    Nogol S.
    • 3 reviews
    7.5/10

    The steak was a bit hard and chewy but overall was happy with service. :)

    Sail & Anchor

    Hi Nogol, so sorry to hear about your experience. I've passed it onto the chefs and will make sure this doesn't happen again. We hope to see you again soon for a better experience. Thank you for the feedback

  14. Amelia S.
    Amelia S.
    • 14 reviews
    5/10

    Food portion was small and all our dishes were too oily. The cutleries were not washed throughly, got oil and stains on them, our food were served on chipped plates and we weren't very pleased.

    Sail & Anchor

    Hi Amelia, We do apologise about the standards of our dinning, this is definitely not how we operate and have taken immediate action. Regarding your meals, we would love to know what you ordered to make sure the portion sizes are being delivered correctly. We would love to invite you back to give us another go, please don't hesitate to ask for myself or any management team so we could look after you. Thank you for the feedback, we appreciate it and hope to see you soon. Jowita Puc

  15. Shantha C.
    Shantha C.
    • 35 reviews
    7.5/10

    Great service,selection of food & beverages. Comfortable atmosphere. Drinks & food served promptly .

    Sail & Anchor

    Hi Shantha, thank you for a fantastic review! Look forward to having you again soon :)

  16. Kate M.
    Kate M.
    • one review
    9/10

    Food was surprisingly brilliant for a pub! The staff were wonderful, friendly and professional though very busy, and the dining area clean and spacious, though the acoustics made it a little hard to hear (in the area out back not inside the main building.

  17. Craig P.
    Craig P.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Cant fault this place for service,staff and menu.

  18. Rosa J.
    Rosa J.
    • one review
    10/10

    Beautiful food great servings great atmosphere

    Sail & Anchor

    Hi Rosa, thank you for an awesome review! we appreciate the support.

  19. Adele B.
    Adele B.
    • 5 reviews
    8.5/10

    Good food! Thanks for serving us Carly! Your fun attitude really gave us a good start to the night.

  20. Emma P.
    Emma P.
    • one review
    8/10

    The food was excellent. Unfortunately we were disappointed though as we had to go to the counter to ask for another drink and then again for a dessert menu. They seemed understaffed. We would have definitely had another drink if we were offered again. The restaurant looked amazing but the acoustics were terrible. It was very noisy. A little disappointing which is a shame as it could have all been amazing!

    Sail & Anchor

    Hi Emma, Thank you for the review, we really appreciate you taking the time to give us some feedback. We do apologize the service wasn't up to standards and we assure you, we will take this deeply into consideration in providing 100% service every time. We wish to invite you back and hope to see you again soon!

  21. Julie R.
    Julie R.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    The food was really nice but after we got our food no one came back to take further drink order we had to try to get staff attention. When paying the staff member was really nice and friendly allowing seperate billing

  22. Robyn W.
    Robyn W.
    • 2 reviews
    7.5/10

    Very disappointing service at restaurant tonight, the food was delicious once they got my husbands meal right. But the service for getting a drink or any further service after getting our meal was terrible. So much so, we paid for our meal and left to go elsewhere for a drink and dessert.

  23. Jacqui G.
    Jacqui G.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Such a great venue gave been coming at least once a month fur the steak and pint night. Even better when the comedy factory is on! Great food great staff tonight

  24. Petina B.
    Petina B.
    • one review
    10/10

    Soooooo accommodating and very very friendly staff. A wonderful dining experience! We had a few different dietary needs which I mentioned when booking the table and this made the process seamless as the waitress knew our needs as soon as we arrived. Very impressed.

  25. Sharon L.
    Sharon L.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    Our food was nice, my partners steak was cooked to perfection for him. The salad /slaw was very dry with no dressing. Atmosphere was very bland, due to covid I’m presuming. Pity the eating area is right at the back of the pub.

  26. Michael H.
    Michael H.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    Good pub grub, good beers, good atmosphere. Staff were under the pump, but they did a good job, food and drinks came quickly. The atmosphere is the usual old pub style, very comfortable. COVID controls were in place nicely, although the dining area did become crowded after customers obviously booked for less seats than people.

  27. Neil W.
    Neil W.
    • one review
    9/10

    First night open after coronavirus shutdown. Staff were excellent and good was really good. Beer was as always fantastic and wine list was sufficient for a pub

  28. Teneal C.
    Teneal C.
    • one review
    10/10

    We love the Sail and Anchor so glad you are back in action! Staff always friendly and food and drink always top shelf! Very professional with the new regulations and accommodating. Doing great guns guys, See yas soon legends????

  29. Philip G.
    Philip G.
    • 33 reviews
    9.5/10

    Nice food. Good size portions and friendly staff. Clam linguine was very nice and well cooked. Good to sit and watch the world go by as you ate too. Good range of beers and wines.

  30. A A.
    A A.
    • 278 reviews
    9/10

    We had the "special of the day" steaks and they were cooked to perfection! Great service and great value for money.

  31. A A.
    A A.
    • 278 reviews
    7.25/10

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Food was ordinary pubfare. Great location though.

  32. A A.
    A A.
    • 247 reviews
    7.5/10

    Nice atmosphere.

  33. Margaret P.
    Margaret P.
    • one review
    10/10

    We were absolutely impressed with our meals, full of flavour, great service. Will definitely be back, lived the atmosphere. Thanks for a memorable experience!

  34. A A.
    A A.
    • 266 reviews
    9/10

    A great night - delicious food, top service and the Friday bigger musos added to the atmosphere.

  35. A A.
    A A.
    • 261 reviews
    8.25/10

    Good pub atmosphere and meal and reasonable value. Always enjoy the atmosphere at the Sail and Anchor

  36. A A.
    A A.
    • 280 reviews
    10/10

    Fantastic food definitely be back again

  37. Pauleen W.
    Pauleen W.
    • one review
    7.75/10

    Hubby n I shared the bbq board and loaded chips for $49 was enough food for us very tasty.

  38. Anthony K.
    Anthony K.
    • one review
    10/10

    . good food & service with a smile thanks

  39. A A.
    A A.
    • 262 reviews
    7.75/10

    Nice pub food. Friendly. Delicious. Quick service. A good visit when hungry for food and drink.

  40. Pania M.
    Pania M.
    • 2 reviews
    8.25/10

    The steak was awesome it’s probably the best steak that I have had for a while and the pepper sauce was amazing as well. My fiancé and I really enjoyed the food and the services was good as well. The only down fall which was out of there control was an intoxicated man who was having food to sober up but ended up passing out asleep next to us but he and his mate shortly left after.