Back

Reviews Sake Restaurant & Bar Flinders Lane

8.8/10
Fabulous
based on 658 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Andrew H.
    Andrew H.
    • 13 reviews
    10/10

    Sake is a restaurant I return to regularly to enjoy their fresh food, great service and great atmosphere. Highly recommend the steamed prawn dumplings and the chocolate aero desert

  2. Raf C.
    Raf C.
    • 11 reviews
    8/10

    Food was good and the service was excellent, restaurant was extremely quiet though but was a Sunday- also to note there is a Sunday surcharge

  3. Cindy T.
    Cindy T.
    • one review
    10/10

    This is my second time at Sake and it won't be my last. It is comparably to Nobu but on the less pricier side and I preferred the atmosphere and table setting at Sake more. The customer service was amazing, and food was absolutely delicious! We ordered edamame beans, spider maki (must try), grass fed beef tataki (a little bit salty for my liking) and braised pork belly (amazing and so tender; serving side is enough for 2 people). Will be back to try other things on the menu :)

  4. Kerri-Ann C.
    Kerri-Ann C.
    • 14 reviews
    9/10

    Had the 5 course chef's suggestion for $100. Perfectly portioned & very well presented. Delicious food. Particularly the dessert which was an absolute delight. Would recommend.

  5. Phil M.
    Phil M.
    • 8 reviews
    8.5/10

    Fantastic service, fresh delicious food as always in perfect portions for sharing. I have to say though, the spider maki rolls are made better in Sydney...

  6. Danah G.
    Danah G.
    • one review
    10/10

    Absolutely love Sake! Great place to go with friends and clients. Thank you for catering to any dietary requirements and being so understanding. Thank you for having us Sake team! We'll be back!

  7. Vivien K.
    Vivien K.
    • 9 reviews
    9/10

    Lovely ambience and friendly service. The food was amazing and so flavoursome. Our waitress was helpful and efficient. Great cocktail and mocktail list.

  8. Elva S.
    Elva S.
    • one review
    10/10

    delicious, wine list matched our food choice perfectly and eggplant has officially been taken to another level! Service was friendly and helpful we will definitely be back

  9. Mark G.
    Mark G.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    Excellent as always .....

  10. Dianna H.
    Dianna H.
    • 12 reviews
    10/10

    Amazing food!

  11. Naysla e.
    Naysla e.
    • 13 reviews
    10/10

    Always a winner great food, service and dr nos menu

  12. Roger L.
    Roger L.
    • 3 reviews
    8.25/10

    Exceptional tastes, and very good service. Whist the Prawn tempura was served almost cold, it did not detract form the special tastiness!

  13. A A.
    A A.
    • 263 reviews
    7.75/10

    Fine dining experience with good food and service.

  14. A A.
    A A.
    • 272 reviews
    10/10

    The food was absolutely amazing this is our second time here and won't hesitate to return again

  15. Ira F.
    Ira F.
    • 8 reviews
    10/10

    Great food, drinks and service

  16. A A.
    A A.
    • 271 reviews
    7.75/10

    Great experience, just felt at times the waiters were a bit pushy or felt like the were rushing you to order

  17. Lynn k.
    Lynn k.
    • one review
    10/10

    Our booking had to be delayed because of delayed flights but we just manged to squeeze in before kitchen closed and so glad we did. The food was superb and the service impeccable.

  18. A A.
    A A.
    • 281 reviews
    8/10

    We came here on a TheFork deal - without which this is an expensive restaurant. The food was well worth the price - very sophisticated and all beautiful. We ordered a nori crisps, salmon tartare, two sushi rolls - all just delicious. The dessert was a little underwhelming - for $12-14 we get a tiny pot of sweet - creme brûlée and tofu cheesecake - nothing special in taste nor presentation and overpriced. Overall still a great experience. I do prefer the atmosphere in Hamer Hall.

  19. A A.
    A A.
    • 266 reviews
    9.5/10

    Spoilt by the restaurant team xx

  20. A A.
    A A.
    • 269 reviews
    9.5/10

    Great food drinks snd atmosphere.

  21. A A.
    A A.
    • 287 reviews
    8.5/10

    fabulous food every dish unique

  22. A A.
    A A.
    • 244 reviews
    7.5/10

    The food this night didn't seem to be quite as outstanding as previous times, but was still nice and they cater very well to allergies

  23. A A.
    A A.
    • 277 reviews
    7/10

    Not too bad

  24. A A.
    A A.
    • 272 reviews
    10/10

    Fabulous always go there when visiting Melbourne!

  25. Caitlin A.
    Caitlin A.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Amazing food and drinks with amazing service

  26. Lisa B.
    Lisa B.
    • 10 reviews
    10/10

    Absolutely amazing! Loved every single dish. Highly recommended.

  27. A A.
    A A.
    • 265 reviews
    6.75/10

    thinly sliced salmon needed improvement in flavoring.overwhelmed by the taste of ginger

  28. A A.
    A A.
    • 271 reviews
    8.5/10

    My ratings are lower than I would normally give Sake. They have got to do something about the front door staying open. If its cold, definitely ask for a table in the back of the restaurant, and staff should be paying more attention to the door and keeping it closed. Such a shame when the rest of the experience is so good.

  29. A A.
    A A.
    • 281 reviews
    9.75/10

    Really good food. Presentation was amazing. Service exceptional. Wines were priced on the high side so limited choices if you want wine with your dinner. Really nice atmosphere. Would do it again for a special evening if we are back in the city.

  30. A A.
    A A.
    • 255 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent service, food and wine

  31. A A.
    A A.
    • 297 reviews
    9.5/10

    An excellent dining experience.

  32. Glenn B.
    Glenn B.
    • one review
    7.75/10

    Great food and drinks. Would return!

  33. CLINT M.
    CLINT M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Had a great time food was amazing.

  34. A A.
    A A.
    • 269 reviews
    6.25/10

    no further comment

  35. Anthony B.
    Anthony B.
    • 4 reviews
    8.5/10

    Great food and service in a beautiful setting.

  36. Tony C.
    Tony C.
    • 2 reviews
    6.5/10

    It is overpriced for the type of food. Noisy, I had to raise my voice to be heard.

  37. Bruce B.
    Bruce B.
    • 30 reviews
    8.75/10

    Sharing plates is the way to go here, excellent!

  38. A A.
    A A.
    • 232 reviews
    9.5/10

    Great service and food.

  39. A A.
    A A.
    • 275 reviews
    7.75/10

    Food is always great here. The seafood is very fresh. Unfortunately service was very slow. Still happy to come back next time but hopefully there’s more staff!

  40. A A.
    A A.
    • 253 reviews
    8.75/10

    Not Applicable.