Back

Reviews Sake Restaurant & Bar The Rocks

9/10
Excellent
based on 1788 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Fay Y.
    Fay Y.
    • one review
    4/10

    Waitress placed our sashimi platter on the wrong table left it there for 5 minutes after realising it was on the wrong table then moved it to our table !!!! They were breathing all over it ! Bug flew into my drink and I was still charged for it!

  2. Eimee F.
    Eimee F.
    • one review
    10/10

    Such a beautiful and relaxed setting! The food was divine and the service from the staff was friendly and accommodating. Will definitely be back again!

  3. Kiri B.
    Kiri B.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Food is always perfect

  4. Jennifer S.
    Jennifer S.
    • one review
    7/10

    Service we had was great, the staff were amazing and friendly. However so sadly the food was such a let down! We ordered 9 different dishes and they were all very average. Nothing tasted “amazing” or “wow-ed” us. Unfortunately the dishes were not good enough for me to revisit.

  5. MEGA M.
    MEGA M.
    • one review
    8/10

    Love the atmosphere of Sake! We had the 99$ menu and loved how it included the signature dishes. Dina who took care of us that evening was warm, attentive and kind. We had wonderful time celebrating our friend’s birthday.

  6. Jonathon O.
    Jonathon O.
    • 7 reviews
    10/10

    Great selection of food, the food was cooked to perfection.great experience highly recommended and will definitely return

  7. lucy e.
    lucy e.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Great food and great service. It really was the best Japanese I've had in Australia and the service was so good I was compelled to give a tip (despite being an anti tipper). The only downside was that we were sitting against the window on the far side and the thumping music of the bar outside was incredibly loud.

  8. Kerrie D.
    Kerrie D.
    • 9 reviews
    10/10

    Service was excellent. Four of us shared a few entrees and starters. Nori crisps with tuna and salmon my favourite. Finished with the Dragon Egg. Beautiful food to celebrate a birthday. The restaurant provided a little cup cake and candle.

    Sake Restaurant & Bar The Rocks

    Thank you Kerrie!

  9. Katherine K.
    Katherine K.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Absolutely lovely, beautiful food and our waiter was excellent. Before our waiter started we offered still or sparkling water by another waitress - please don’t upsell! Don’t make us ask for tap water, it only impacts on the tip. Definitely recommend this restaurant ????

    Sake Restaurant & Bar The Rocks

    Thank you for your feedback Katherine

  10. Arianne J.
    Arianne J.
    • 48 reviews
    10/10

    Always amazing at Sake. And this was no exception! Wonderful food and service. Can’t wait to go back!

    Sake Restaurant & Bar The Rocks

    Thank you for your review Arianne! We hope to welcome you back soon.

  11. Melanie H.
    Melanie H.
    • 18 reviews
    10/10

    Fantastic service, food and atmosphere! Though we had various food allergies and intolerances amongst our party of 4, Sake happily catered for us and offered alternative delicious dishes. I can't wait to return!

  12. Nina D.
    Nina D.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    The food was pretty good, service was slow, though friendly enough. With a Sunday surcharge, it ended up being a slow and expensive experience.

    Sake Restaurant & Bar The Rocks

    Thank you for your feedback Nina and my apologies your experience was not as you had hoped. We have shared your feedback with the team and hope to welcome you back soon.

  13. Sally G.
    Sally G.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    Lovely atmosphere and staff are very helpful and welcoming. Nice place for a special meal. Sushi is great. Quite a good menu with some options for vegetarians

    Sake Restaurant & Bar The Rocks

    Thank you Sally

  14. Angela O.
    Angela O.
    • 13 reviews
    9.5/10

    Just beautiful for a special lunch.

    Sake Restaurant & Bar The Rocks

    Thank you!

  15. Sarah d.
    Sarah d.
    • one review
    10/10

    Everything was amazing!! Food was delish and service was fantastic from everyone. Special shout out to the blonde girl the the bandanna around her neck- amazing recommendations on the saki!

    Sake Restaurant & Bar The Rocks

    Thank you Sarah! We hope to welcome you back soon

  16. Ashima A.
    Ashima A.
    • 7 reviews
    9.5/10

    The food was good as expected, the waitress who was serving us was very helpful, she made sure we don't order too much and recommended dishes to our liking. The service and food both together is what made it a remarkable food experience.

    Sake Restaurant & Bar The Rocks

    Thank you very much for your feedback Ashima. We hope to welcome you back soon.

  17. Alex F.
    Alex F.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    Exceptional food and service.

    Sake Restaurant & Bar The Rocks

    Thank you Alex!

  18. Alexandra S.
    Alexandra S.
    • 8 reviews
    10/10

    Amazing service, absolutely delicious food. We would die for the miso glazed toothfish and dragons egg!! Thank you Sake for a wonderful Valentines Day dinner.

    Sake Restaurant & Bar The Rocks

    Thank you Alexandra!!!

  19. Kevin L.
    Kevin L.
    • one review
    8/10

    Beautifull food . Thou some of the green vegetable for decoration doesn't look fresh . Yet it eatable but not so inviting .

    Sake Restaurant & Bar The Rocks

    Thank you for your feedback Kevin. Rest assured we only use the freshest ingredients. Please know that I have shared your comments with our Chef and we hope to welcome you back soon.

  20. Brendan M.
    Brendan M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Sake is one of our favourite restaurants. Great food, great atmosphere, great service. It's quirky and unusual, and having the degustation menu we weren't too full at the end.

    Sake Restaurant & Bar The Rocks

    Thank you for your feedback!

  21. Antoine R.
    Antoine R.
    • one review
    10/10

    We had a great night

    Sake Restaurant & Bar The Rocks

    Thank you!

  22. Sandy C.
    Sandy C.
    • 2 reviews
    6.5/10

    We have been to Sake before and enjoyed the experience. However, this time we had the 7 course set menu and found the food looked like it had been sitting pre-plated in the fridge for considerable time... it looked "tired". Flavour was good but portions were tiny and we were still hungry at the end of the meal. Probably not worth the money. Service was sufficient but not exceptional.

    Sake Restaurant & Bar The Rocks

    Dear Sandy. Thank you for your feedback and my apologies that your experience was not as you had hoped. We have shared your feedback with the team and will ensure your comments are appropriately addressed. We hope to welcome you back soon. Sincerely. Oliver Atkins General Manager

  23. Julie M.
    Julie M.
    • one review
    10/10

    The restaurant was very nice. Amberance was great. Service very excellent. Would visit again. Thank you Saki for a great Sunday afternoon. ????????

    Sake Restaurant & Bar The Rocks

    Thank you Julie! Please visit again soon.

  24. Tushaya M.
    Tushaya M.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    - Service was on point but had to wait at least 20 minutes even though I had made an early booking through TripAdvisor (thefork). - Food was decently good but a bit too fragrant and not flavour enough.

    Sake Restaurant & Bar The Rocks

    Tushaya Thank you very much for your feedback. We will share this with the team. We hope to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, Oliver

  25. Uppinder B.
    Uppinder B.
    • 4 reviews
    9/10

    The staff at Sake are always very friendly, helpful and willing to please. The food is exceptional and the Dragon Egg desert was to die for. Happy to recommend a visit to one and all.

    Sake Restaurant & Bar The Rocks

    Thank you Uppinder!

  26. Adéla K.
    Adéla K.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    Amazing food, service was a bit slower than last time, atmosphere of the restaurant was excellent. Would definitely recommend it! Thanks team.

    Sake Restaurant & Bar The Rocks

    Thank you Adela!

  27. Greg G.
    Greg G.
    • one review
    10/10

    Sake at the Rocks is our "go to" restaurant for special occasions and never disappoints. Best description is Japanese with a modern twist. In this instance, we told the waitperson Nisha (who was excellent ) that it was our wedding anniversary and we received a surprise small cake at the end with "happy anniversary" white chocolate. Will be going back.Not cheap but worth it.

    Sake Restaurant & Bar The Rocks

    Greg, thank you for your review. We hope to welcome you back soon!

  28. Fiona B.
    Fiona B.
    • 8 reviews
    8/10

    Saké continues to be a favourite. Kingfish was divine and I enjoyed my favourite wine, Grüner. Service was pleasant and efficient. We were in the side area offf the main room which was great as the main room was v busy and very loud.

    Sake Restaurant & Bar The Rocks

    Thank you Fiona! We hope to welcome you back soon.

  29. Nelson  L.
    Nelson L.
    • 8 reviews
    9/10

    Great service and delicious selection of Japanese fusion cuisine

    Sake Restaurant & Bar The Rocks

    Thank you Nelson! We hope to welcome you back soon.

  30. Steve H.
    Steve H.
    • one review
    10/10

    Beautiful restaurant and beautiful food/cocktails, my favourite for Japanese cuisine, and definitely an experience to remember. Superb service - Highly recommend

    Sake Restaurant & Bar The Rocks

    Thank you Steve! We cant wait to welcome you back!

  31. Therese C.
    Therese C.
    • one review
    10/10

    Fantastic birthday lunch - we chose the set menu with free flowing Veuve Cliquot . What a treat ! Great food and generous pours of champagne. I’d definitely do this again

    Sake Restaurant & Bar The Rocks

    Thank you Therese! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

  32. Michelle Z.
    Michelle Z.
    • one review
    10/10

    Amazing and very tasty food. Exceptional service. Beautiful setting and a welcomed escape from the heat. Thank you Saké for making my birthday lunch something to remember.

    Sake Restaurant & Bar The Rocks

    Thank you so much for your review! We hope to welcome you back soon.

  33. Reem B.
    Reem B.
    • one review
    10/10

    Beautiful Place and great to take travelling guests. Loved the experience and the food. The staff are exceptional. We loved the whole experience. Thank you

    Sake Restaurant & Bar The Rocks

    Thank you so much for your review! We hope to welcome you back soon.

  34. Anjelika A.
    Anjelika A.
    • one review
    4/10

    Had to wait 20 minutes after reservation time to be seated. Then had to wait 3 hours for all the food to come out due to “difficulties” at the kitchen. Horrible experience for overpriced food.

    Sake Restaurant & Bar The Rocks

    Hi Anjelica Thank you for your feedback and my apologies you were not happy with the experience. Unfortunately at this time of year there are lengthy delays in the kitchen on certain items due to their popularity. We do communicate this when guests arrive but I can still understand your frustration. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Please contact me directly and I will gladly take care of your arrangements. Sincerely, Oliver Atkins General Manager

  35. Nico L.
    Nico L.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    We’ve been fine dining a lot recently and Saké stood out through its food, wine and the fun, friendly and competent staff. Brilliant! We’re still amazed and dream of the delicate sushi platter we started our dinner with.

    Sake Restaurant & Bar The Rocks

    Nico Thanks for the lovely review! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm regards The Sake Rocks Team

  36. Elena P.
    Elena P.
    • 2 reviews
    8.5/10

    I enjoyed the atmosphere of the restaurant, welcoming and friendly staff and the food quality was matching the expectations. However, we had to wait for our food from the set menu really long time, spending in the restaurant almost 3 hours in total.

    Sake Restaurant & Bar The Rocks

    Elena Thank you for your review and my apologies for the delays. We hope to welcome you back soon and with a more timely service. Sincerely, Oliver Atkins General Manager

  37. Cynthia Y.
    Cynthia Y.
    • 15 reviews
    8/10

    First time here and happy w the food and service

  38. Fiona S.
    Fiona S.
    • one review
    3/10

    The food was nice but the Music was so loud that we couldn’t hear our guests. Very disappointing, despite many reviews saying the noise is bad, it was not changed. Doof doof.

    Sake Restaurant & Bar The Rocks

    Fiona Thank you for your review and my apologies that the atmosphere was not to your liking. We hope to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, Oliver Atkins General Manager

  39. Amar H.
    Amar H.
    • one review
    6/10

    Restaurant is nice prices are acceptable for quality. I went there alone to try the restaurant as I was craving sushi. I sat there for about 20 minute without anybody showing up, I called a waitress and she apologized for the wait. So eventually waiter came and took the order. First order took about 20 min to come. It was nice and tasty but the wait was too long for two pieces of nigiri. I waited for the rest of my order, after 10 min I asked where is the rest of the order? Waiter went and got me the second plate which was an appetizer. It was cold because it was sitting there for a while. Lastly the sushi roll came which was good. I asked for the bill, again the waiter never came to pick up the card.so I had to stand up and go physically or else I will wait there forever. I understand it’s a Sunday and it’s busy. But the customer needs some assurance, at least a waiter should come up and apologize for the delay. But I got absolutely nothing except the first time and that was because I called her. So if you willing to wait for an hour minimum for food then you can go there. And don’t expect much customer service

    Sake Restaurant & Bar The Rocks

    Amar Thank you for your feedback and my apologies for these shortcomings. This does not sound like the Sake we know and the service we endeavour to offer. I will attempt to reach out to you in person. Again thank you and we hope to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, Oliver Atkins General Manager

  40. Greg F.
    Greg F.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Only criticism (but this is to be constructive) was the we had a booking for 5:30, got there at 5 so sat at the bar (all ok here). When 5:30 came around no one came over to take us to our table. We had to approach staff (5:50pm) to ask if our table was ready. This was the only thing that took a little away from the experience. apart form that had a fantastic time.

    Sake Restaurant & Bar The Rocks

    Dear Greg Greetings from Sake The Rocks and thank you for your review. Please accept my apologies for the delay in seating you and your party. I hope it was not enough to deter you from returning and we look forward to welcoming you back. Sincerely, Oliver Atkins General Manager