Back

Reviews Sassi Cucina + Bar

8.3/10

Very good

based on 177 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Andrew D.
    Andrew D.
    • one review
    7/10

    This restaurant had great food, but the service was slow and the waiter hardly said a word making us all feel unwelcome. Hiring happy and jolly full staff combined with good food will make a huge difference

  2. Sarah T.
    Sarah T.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    All meals were delicious, but a little on the $$$ side. Cocktails were nice too. Great wine knowledge from our waiter. I had crab. It was lovely. The scollops, arancini, fish of the day and steak were also very well received. Steak (medium) was so soft and delicious.

  3. Linda G.
    Linda G.
    • one review
    3/10

    The service was very slow and the waitress serving us couldn’t even squeeze out a smile and very slow. We ask the man / host for some cutlery, he said: I will get your waitress. You are in the service industry. Why don’t you just bring the cutlery over? Then we asked for some lemons to go with the sparking water. That took asking 2 waitresses and 18 minutes. Then ordered the most expensive item on the menu: the seafood tray. We understand that it’s cook to order so it will take time, but it took more than 50 minutes. When it arrived, the oysters looked shrivelled up and “warm”. It is suppose to be a combination of cold and hot seafood items. Turns out that others were the only cold (but turned out warm) seafood.

  4. Anthony W.
    Anthony W.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Great food, good friendly service. Predominantly sea food, cooked to perfection. Location at end of shopping strip means ample parking and easily accessible.

  5. Derek D.
    Derek D.
    • 12 reviews
    3/10

    Poor welcome and service, obviously were short staffed. Food was good though food drenched in oil. Least favourite dining experience in Port Douglas.

  6. Graeme B.
    Graeme B.
    • one review
    9/10

    Sassi has the best (warm) seafood platter in Port, and probably the best one I have ever had. And we keep coming back here and the quality never varies. Service is intelligently attentive.

  7. john and Jill C.
    john and Jill C.
    • one review
    10/10

    Sassi Cucina is our favourite restaurant in Port Douglas. We have been going there for many years. The food is always fresh and interesting. The atmosphere is fabulous. The staff are always helpful and friendly. Yes last nights meal did not disappoint and we will be back. Love this place.

  8. Amber J.
    Amber J.
    • one review
    10/10

    Astounded by our meal last night. We booked a late time (8:30pm) considering it shuts at 9pm. We did not feel rushed in the slightest. The staff were so friendly and extremely acknowledgeable on the food and the wine. The quality of the food was amazing and has to be one of the best meals I’ve had in a long long time. I would 100% recommended going there to anyone. There’s something for everyone. Thank you so much for making our first night in port Douglas one to remember :)

  9. A A.
    A A.
    • 283 reviews
    9/10

    A fabulous return visit.

  10. A A.
    A A.
    • 281 reviews
    8.75/10

    Nice dinner experience.

  11. A A.
    A A.
    • 268 reviews
    9/10

    Always fantastic food and service

  12. A A.
    A A.
    • 264 reviews
    3.5/10

    very underwhelming. Our most disappointing dinner in the 7 nights we were in Port Douglas.

  13. A A.
    A A.
    • 271 reviews
    8.5/10

    Have been twice before but it’s been three years. It’s still good and I will be back.

  14. A A.
    A A.
    • 269 reviews
    5.25/10

    Don’t waste your money there go somewhere else !!!

  15. A A.
    A A.
    • 260 reviews
    4.5/10

    Food very salty.

  16. Bev D.
    Bev D.
    • one review
    10/10

    Beautiful food great service and the scallops were the best we have ever tasted : thank you

  17. Pauline C.
    Pauline C.
    • one review
    3/10

    Food was average service was not good felt like they where rushing us. Really disappointed for the price that we paid. Salsa is really the best place to eat in PD

  18. Mary S.
    Mary S.
    • one review
    9/10

    The mussels were to die for and the pasta Bellissimo

  19. A A.
    A A.
    • 278 reviews
    9/10

    Great Food, Great Service, Great Night !

  20. A A.
    A A.
    • 276 reviews
    7.5/10

    Quality of the food will bring us back

  21. A A.
    A A.
    • 268 reviews
    6.5/10

    Day time atmosphere better than evening. Some delicious food, some average. Overall, a solid performer but not exceptional.

  22. Liz B.
    Liz B.
    • one review
    8/10

    Great food, great staff and service!

  23. A A.
    A A.
    • 253 reviews
    9.75/10

    Very attentive staff, delicious food and wine. Try the lava cake to finish!

  24. A A.
    A A.
    • 265 reviews
    8.75/10

    Excellent food

  25. A A.
    A A.
    • 261 reviews
    5.5/10

    Too expensive for the quality. Too many other restaurants in Port Douglas with just as good a quality food and less expensive. Will give it a miss on future visits

  26. Rachael M.
    Rachael M.
    • 72 reviews
    10/10

    We will be back!

  27. A A.
    A A.
    • 259 reviews
    7.25/10

    We had lunch with friends. Food was overpriced for very small portions.

  28. A A.
    A A.
    • 247 reviews
    10/10

    Would always come back

  29. A A.
    A A.
    • 263 reviews
    9.5/10

    Very nice meal, casual but attentive service. A good night out!

  30. A A.
    A A.
    • 284 reviews
    7.5/10

    Food very tasty. Service friendly

  31. A A.
    A A.
    • 279 reviews
    10/10

    Food was beautiful. Staff are were friendly, gave the place a nice atmosphere.

  32. Krystal E.
    Krystal E.
    • one review
    9.75/10

    Very friendly staff

  33. Dean C.
    Dean C.
    • one review
    9.25/10

    Absolutely loved our dinner here. They were very accomodating with our children and the food was absolutely divine. They even recommended an Italian wine that was the cheapest on their list!

  34. A A.
    A A.
    • 264 reviews
    9/10

    Beautiful meal in delightful surroundings.

  35. Lisa h.
    Lisa h.
    • 5 reviews
    4.75/10

    We both enjoyed the entree but mains were hit and miss and the service was completely non-existent

  36. Cynthia F.
    Cynthia F.
    • one review
    7.75/10

    Great risotto Nice waiters

  37. Rachael M.
    Rachael M.
    • 72 reviews
    10/10

    Guests enjoyed the veal cutlet with a South Australian Shiraz, extremely well priced. We dined twice at this restaurant in one week, that is how good it was! Until next time!

  38. Rachael M.
    Rachael M.
    • 72 reviews
    10/10

    Guests enjoyed the scallop special and Barramundi Fillet with Chardonnay from the Margaret river very well priced. Service was authentically Italian minus the attitude. We will return!

  39. A A.
    A A.
    • 244 reviews
    9.25/10

    The CARPACCIO DI SALMONE, CAPESANTE, TORTINO DI CIOCCOLATO AL CUORE BIANCO and GELATO AL BASILICO are all my usual favourites on the deliciously crafted menu. Thanks Tony, Di, Vincenzo and entire Sassi crew for creating and maintaining a small slice of Italy in Port Douglas. Che meraviglia!

  40. Victor P.
    Victor P.
    • 6 reviews
    8/10

    Sassi was good but a few things could have been better when it came to the food. We loved the barramundi but the side vegetable presentation and contents was just wrong, no love in the veggies at all, just thrown onto the plate. We have eaten here before but this time it just felt a bit flat. Saying this most of the food we had was very good. Service was adequate but sometimes too quick to leave the table before we could get their attention, must be an Italian thing!