138 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

8.7
138 reviews
Recommended
(8.8)
Food
(8.9)
Service
(8.4)
Value for money
(8.2)
Atmosphere
(8.4)
Phyllis Kourtidis

dined on Wed, 13 Mar 2019

(10)
The food was amazing. We ordered the prawn & asparagus risotto (special for the day) and the fish of the day...barramundi with roasted potatoes & spinach plus the chargrilled vegetables. Everything was cooked to perfection...real authentic Italian food with a twist...cooked exceptionally well. Had the gelatin trio for dessert with coffee. Couldn't fault a thing. Extensive drinks list at reasonable prices...great service....highly recommend. We will be back.

dined on Tue, 1 Jan 2019

(10)
Authentic Italian food

dined on Sun, 23 Dec 2018

(8)
Whilst the seafood dishes were superb it would have been great to see more then one vegetarian option.

dined on Fri, 30 Nov 2018

(5)
Air conditioner was leaking on one of the chairs at the table. Decent food but very inattentive service. Had to ask three different people for something only to get it half an hour later. Not worth the price. Strange that you can only order pizza at the bar and not at the table.
Of course you reviewed anonymously! In an extreme and unusual heatwave in the tropics, a little water dripped from the air conditioner. Our insincere apologies. Our menus are clearly displayed and there is a separate menu for the Bar which includes pizza. It does not appear on the Restaurant menu. It is not served 'at' the bar. There are tables in the Bar.
Restaurant Sassi Cucina + Bar responded on Sat, 1 Dec 2018

dined on Tue, 27 Nov 2018

(6)
Food was great although the place felt a bit understaffed the night we were there. Still enjoyed our dinner though.

dined on Fri, 23 Nov 2018

(8)
Waiter is snooty, I found it amusing. Food was great. Only issue is why no fresh chopped garlic available ? This is an Italian restaurant !
Sasha

dined on Sat, 17 Nov 2018

(10)
Loved this place was away by myself and they made me feel so comfortable eating on my own!

dined on Thu, 18 Oct 2018

(10)
The entire experience was exceptional from the time we walked through the door. Carolyn Perth WA

dined on Tue, 2 Oct 2018

(10)
Amazing grilled seafood platter!

dined on Fri, 28 Sep 2018

(10)
Brilliant and a “must try” are the only words that should be used for this restaurant. Service was fantastic; wine list brilliant and not at all expensive. Guests enjoyed the Barramundi which I understand is the signature dish. We were not at all disappoint. Don’t leave Port Douglas without trying.
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

About Sassi Cucina + Bar

All about the taste! Sassi Cucina + Bar delivers the best of Italy’s flavours right in Port Douglas. Either sit outside and dine underneath the stars amongst the bougainvillea or inside at the bar, Sassi has something for everyone. This spot is perfect for drinks with friends over an Italian feast or casual lunches. You’ll find it impossible to go past the delightful flavours of the spaghetti con le vongole (spaghetti with clams) or the costola di manzo (Black angus on the bone, salt and pepper crusted, char grilled, served with anchovy and rosemary butter). With a range of wines to complement each dish, your taste buds will be thanking you for the gift. Best Dish: Fritelli di zucchine- zucchini fritters with mint and mayonnaise.

Sassi Cucina + Bar Address

Google Map