157 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

8.7
157 reviews
Recommended
(8.7)
Food
(8.9)
Service
(8.4)
Value for money
(8.2)
Atmosphere
(8.4)

dined on Mon, 3 Jun 2019

(9)
The CARPACCIO DI SALMONE, CAPESANTE, TORTINO DI CIOCCOLATO AL CUORE BIANCO and GELATO AL BASILICO are all my usual favourites on the deliciously crafted menu. Thanks Tony, Di, Vincenzo and entire Sassi crew for creating and maintaining a small slice of Italy in Port Douglas. Che meraviglia!
Victor Pisapia

dined on Fri, 3 May 2019

(8)
Sassi was good but a few things could have been better when it came to the food. We loved the barramundi but the side vegetable presentation and contents was just wrong, no love in the veggies at all, just thrown onto the plate. We have eaten here before but this time it just felt a bit flat. Saying this most of the food we had was very good. Service was adequate but sometimes too quick to leave the table before we could get their attention, must be an Italian thing!

dined on Wed, 24 Apr 2019

(9)
Fantastic seafood platter!

dined on Wed, 24 Apr 2019

(1)
We dined at Sassi mid-week during a holiday in April 2019. We found it disappointing, particularly for the prices they charge - the service was unexceptional, the food was average, and the ambience was just OK. We had two cod and potato croquettes to start, which cost $7 each, so $14 in total. They could’ve been finished in a single mouthful, and were expensive for what they were. We both had the risottos - my dining partner had the vegetarian risotto and I had the risotto special of the day, which had prawns and zucchini. Both risottos were overly salty. Before serving my risotto special, the waiter made a show of giving me a water dish and small side dish to assist with shelling my prawns, as he said that they came with tails on. At this I was expecting a risotto with bountiful amounts of prawns, particularly as it also cost $34. However, the risotto only contained one prawn with one tail (I didn’t even use the water dish/side dish as I didn’t even need to use my fingers to remove the tail) and some small pieces of prawn mixed in; which would’ve been lucky to have amounted to more than 3-4 prawns in total. Extremely disappointing for such an expensive risotto. The vegetarian risotto, itself $34, was equally basic. Seemingly relying on a base of beetroot, it was bright pink and didn’t offer much flavour except beetroot and vegetable stock. It didn’t contain any other vegetables that could be discerned. We didn’t stay for dessert, each around the $17-$18 mark, as we didn’t want to be disappointed again and overpay for such basic food. The service was perfunctory at best, with one waiter even asking ‘How’s the food?’ in passing without even stopping to hear our response. Had he stopped, I would’ve told him but he just didn’t care. I recommend that you avoid this place, purely because it is priced as a higher-class restaurant, but offers nothing better than your standard RSL fare.

dined on Thu, 18 Apr 2019

(8)
Good... very Good... Quality of Food, drinks and Service was very good.
ROBYN Partridge

dined on Fri, 5 Apr 2019

(10)
Consistently good. Food and service are the best. Wish we had a Sassi in Sydney.

dined on Thu, 4 Apr 2019

(10)
Inside dining chairs are clear plastic, looked meh, but SOooo comfortable suprisingly! Easy to sit and enjoy the atmosphere, service was impeccable and the meal was 5 star. Will be a regular here for sure.

dined on Sat, 30 Mar 2019

(10)
Slight mishap with the translation of prunes or prawns in the risotto caused some hilarity
Phyllis Kourtidis

dined on Wed, 13 Mar 2019

(10)
The food was amazing. We ordered the prawn & asparagus risotto (special for the day) and the fish of the day...barramundi with roasted potatoes & spinach plus the chargrilled vegetables. Everything was cooked to perfection...real authentic Italian food with a twist...cooked exceptionally well. Had the gelatin trio for dessert with coffee. Couldn't fault a thing. Extensive drinks list at reasonable prices...great service....highly recommend. We will be back.

dined on Mon, 7 Jan 2019

(10)
Enjoyed our visit with overseas visitors - delicious food and friendly service.
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

About Sassi Cucina + Bar

All about the taste! Sassi Cucina + Bar delivers the best of Italy’s flavours right in Port Douglas. Either sit outside and dine underneath the stars amongst the bougainvillea or inside at the bar, Sassi has something for everyone. This spot is perfect for drinks with friends over an Italian feast or casual lunches. You’ll find it impossible to go past the delightful flavours of the spaghetti con le vongole (spaghetti with clams) or the costola di manzo (Black angus on the bone, salt and pepper crusted, char grilled, served with anchovy and rosemary butter). With a range of wines to complement each dish, your taste buds will be thanking you for the gift. Best Dish: Fritelli di zucchine- zucchini fritters with mint and mayonnaise.

Sassi Cucina + Bar Address

Google Map