Back

Reviews Seamstress Restaurant

9.2/10

Excellent

based on 559 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Lachlan O.
    Lachlan O.
    • 10 reviews
    10/10

    As usual Seamstress puts on great food and wine! Menu compressed due to Covid, but we had a nice Pinot Noir with the Soft shell crab, baramundi and scallop sashimi. Staff was great and their COVID safety made you feel comfortable without being over the top.

  2. Celia H.
    Celia H.
    • one review
    10/10

    Fabulous share plates great flavours and spices , great atmosphere and timing perfect for theatre start will definitely go again highly recommended

  3. Devaki M.
    Devaki M.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Food fantastic as always. Service was efficient and staff friendly.

  4. Paula S.
    Paula S.
    • one review
    10/10

    Had heard great things about this restaurant and it did not disappoint! The staff were friendly and knew the menu well, Cocktails were excellent and food was delicious. if I lived in melbourne i would be here weekly!!

  5. Gerard S.
    Gerard S.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Have been to Seamstress a few times recently for a quiet lunch and have not been disappointed. The food is fresh and tasty; good clear menu options and service is well timed. The young lady managing the restaurant is welcoming and friendly, attentive and accommodating. There’s a nice atmosphere and it is, for me, a good choice for a nice lunch with friends or colleagues.

  6. Valerie M.
    Valerie M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Exquisite food supported by outstanding service. We took the "just feed me" option and were astounded with the quality of the dishes selected waiter selected for us. Perfect! I don't live in Melbourne so when ever l visit l go to Seamstress and I'm never disappointed. Excellent in every respect.

  7. Lynelle J.
    Lynelle J.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    fabulous welcoming service, attentive, fully aware of the contents about the menu. flavors were interesting and delightful with great wine choices. love the atmosphere

  8. AMANDA S.
    AMANDA S.
    • one review
    9/10

    Food was amazing. Service of food was a little slow, we had a show to go to and we advised of our leaving time. Had to inhale our last course, and run to the theatre.

  9. Suzanne T.
    Suzanne T.
    • 3 reviews
    8.5/10

    I haven’t been here for a while & the food is still excellent - with the exception of one dish which, whilst not bad, wasn’t quite up to the high standard I remembered. However when I passed on that feedback to staff, the response was faultless & the cost of the dish was immediately removed from the bill. Excellent customer service. The venue is quite compact & was very busy but despite that it was still quite possible to carry out a conversation! I will definitely be back!!

  10. Hayley W.
    Hayley W.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    Love the food and all the staff are ace!

  11. Rowan C.
    Rowan C.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great cocktail recommendations, split our order into 3 courses which was a great way to enjoy each dish and the staff were seamless in their efforts. just a wonderful atmosphere

  12. Lynda S.
    Lynda S.
    • one review
    10/10

    Delicious food in quaint little place with superb friendly service. Cocktail and dessert were to die for! Loved it and will return. Careful on the stairs though!

  13. John S.
    John S.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    great restaurant. Delicious food (the soft shell crab was awesome) really good vegetarian selection. helpful staff and a really nice vibe. Would definitely visit again.

  14. Alison S.
    Alison S.
    • 7 reviews
    10/10

    Had a lovely meal here with my daughters and grandchildren. We had the $65.00 banquet. The flavours were delicious and we had more than enough to eat. My granddaughter is gluten free and they catered well for her.

  15. John C.
    John C.
    • one review
    10/10

    Very Charming atmosphere, certainly not what you expect when you arrive at the door. Professional service and fine food, worth the walk up the stairs for a pre-dinner drink in the cosy cocktail bar

  16. Kathryn F.
    Kathryn F.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Our meal was delicious especially the porterhouse steak and the soft shell crab! The portion sizes were particularly small and we had to eat more when we got home! Staff were excellent and enjoyed the atmosphere! I would eat here again for a special occasion as it’s expensive for what you get!

  17. Mikey G.
    Mikey G.
    • 8 reviews
    10/10

    We only had pre-drinks at Seamstress. The service was friendly and helpful, the drinks were of a premium nature.

  18. Jennifer C.
    Jennifer C.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Yet another memorable meal at this excellent establishment. Food was impeccable as always and fellow first time diners were impressed enough to claim that this should be our go to place always. Service was perfect as well, attentive and unobtrusive.

  19. Michele f.
    Michele f.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    Had been to this restaurant a year ago and was delighted with the food and service. Current experience the food was disappointing, lacking flavour and portions very small. However setting and service was excellent

  20. Nikki J.
    Nikki J.
    • one review
    10/10

    Absolutely fabulous! Delicious food and very friendly, helpful staff. Would go back/recommend in a heart beat ????

  21. Nicole J.
    Nicole J.
    • one review
    10/10

    First time to this restaurant and won’t be our last. Service, food, ambiance, couldn’t fault it. Acknowledged our anniversary with free drinks which was a pleasant surprise.

  22. Tess R.
    Tess R.
    • one review
    9/10

    I’ve been here a few times and they never disappoint. The food was interesting and delicious. Only thing that was a little annoying was the S, M & L options. You never know what the waiters are going to give you. Just confuses things unnecessarily.

  23. Emma G.
    Emma G.
    • 6 reviews
    8/10

    I absolutely love the food here, but had never been for dinner. The venue was a little 'bright' for a dinner setting, so lost a bit of the ambiance. Unfortunately, we had to wait half an hour after our booking time before our table was free, and when we asked for additional dishes during the evening they came out much later (once everything had been finished), and one plate was forgotten! The food is absolutely delicious, though - get the Brussel sprouts! Would come back again for lunch.

  24. Lindy a.
    Lindy a.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Everything was fabulous... the decor, the service and food

  25. Merran C.
    Merran C.
    • one review
    9/10

    I had heard fabulous comments about Seamstress and it lived up to all of them bar one. The roti bread which was to accompany the fabulous Mapo Tofu was very doughy and tasted burnt. It was the only item out of 8 shared plates that we didn’t finish.

  26. A A.
    A A.
    • 244 reviews
    8.5/10

    great service and food

  27. Rumi D.
    Rumi D.
    • 2 reviews
    6/10

    The upstairs bar was excellent! Friendly staff, great atmosphere and great music. In the dining hall the service was very poor, the server wasn’t Knowledgeable and helpful with the menu. There was also mould in the sheets hanging above the dining room from possible water leaks!

  28. Kim C.
    Kim C.
    • 3 reviews
    6.5/10

    The meal is always of a good, tasty & steady quality. Unfortunately we were asked if we were seeing a show, form the time we said no we had a wait on our hands!! 30min after ordering we asked where our food was? We were told there was a problem with the printer for our order! We had to ask again after another 15min!! Again we were told it was coming immediately! We were given a complimentary bowl of Brussel sprouts. Really?

  29. Scott S.
    Scott S.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Surprised it wasn't more popular. Especially the awesome bar. Service was attentive without being over bearing. Great wide menu and awesome cocktail list. I will be back

  30. Russell W.
    Russell W.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Always a treat to eat here whenever we get the opportunity. But why do I have to give a review of "at least 120 characters" that is rubbish. And I need to add more characters just so I can get out of here

  31. Richard V.
    Richard V.
    • one review
    9/10

    Great meal and service

  32. A A.
    A A.
    • 246 reviews
    8.5/10

    Service was good

  33. Graham S.
    Graham S.
    • one review
    8.75/10

    3rd visit over several years and it is enjoyed by all. Consistently good

  34. Cathie B.
    Cathie B.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Lovely food. Friendly staff. Great atmosphere.

  35. A A.
    A A.
    • 284 reviews
    9.75/10

    Food and service are fantastic

  36. A A.
    A A.
    • 286 reviews
    10/10

    A gorgeous quirky restaurant. A special cocktail in the bar before dinner was a great start of a fabulous night. We will definitely be back with friends to gloat about “our find”!

  37. Ken S.
    Ken S.
    • one review
    9.25/10

    Absolutely the best service. It was a real find. We will definitely be back

  38. A A.
    A A.
    • 291 reviews
    10/10

    Thank you to the friendly and amazing staff for taking such good care of us. As always the food was fantastic one of my favourite places in Melbourne.

  39. Aruna R.
    Aruna R.
    • 17 reviews
    8/10

    Service was excellent and food was tasty but may not go back.

  40. Renee C.
    Renee C.
    • 9 reviews
    10/10

    Cocktail list is amazing, food was delicious, great atmosphere, very cool decor and additional two bars to chill out and have a few more drinks at after dinner, a must visit !