INSIDER

INSIDER by TheFork is a carefully curated selection of top tier venues, the ones with hats, the ones that make the top dining guides, and most importantly the ones we know you love!

Meet the Chef

Picture of Brenda O'Riordan & Ashok Ranabhat.

Brenda O'Riordan & Ashok Ranabhat

Brenda & Ashok have been jointly at the helm of the Seamstress Kitchen since 2016. Brenda hails from Ireland and Ashok from Nepal and both have a natural flair when pairing flavours and ingredients to create menus with impact.

2733 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

8.8
2733 reviews
Recommended
(9.2)
Food
(8.7)
Service
(9.2)
Value for money
(8.2)
Atmosphere
(8.9)

dined on Sun, 21 Apr 2019

(8)
friendly staff, good service, interesting Asian fusion cuisine

dined on Sat, 20 Apr 2019

(9)
A little noisy to start with due to a group of girls. After they left the atmosphere was pleasant. Great menu and service. Quite pricey, but I would go back.

dined on Sat, 20 Apr 2019

(10)
Love the taste combinations!
Don Gregg

dined on Sat, 20 Apr 2019

(10)
Such a wonderful experience- stunning innovative Asian share plates, friendly yet confident service, unique funky historic decor. The French rose wine was perfect. Go here and you will love it!

dined on Fri, 19 Apr 2019

(8)
It was a little disappointing that you had run out of the Barramundi dish by 8.30pm on good Friday (it was only one of two fish dishes on the menu). Also customers should be warned when ordering the baby squid dish that serving portions are smaller than other dishes. When the medium serve came out we asked the waiter if it was actually medium - he answered yes and also added that many customers ask the same question. Also drinks service was not as good as we usually have at the restaurant. It is still one of our favourite restaurants just a couple of disappointing aspects this time around.

dined on Sat, 13 Apr 2019

(10)
Such a quirky, quaint restaurant. An absolute pleasure to sit and take all the ambiance in. As for the food. WOW !!!! Wild food combinations pure brilliance. Visually pleasing , palate in the pleasure zone. Who would have thought Brussel Sprouts could send someone weak at the knees. I can’t wait to visit the Seamstress again.❤️

dined on Sat, 13 Apr 2019

(10)
Great place to go before the theatre

dined on Fri, 12 Apr 2019

(4)
Zomato rating was quite good so we decided to go but the food wasn’t as good as we expected. That was definitely ‘Asian fusion’ that Australian loves but not for Asian. Most of the food we ordered was bland and no flavour except brussel sprouts. Such a disappointment. Not going back.

dined on Thu, 11 Apr 2019

(8)
the waitress's recommendation on the quantity of dinner was perfect.
Tiffany

dined on Thu, 11 Apr 2019

(7)
Casual but trendy restaurant t
page: 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14

About Seamstress Restaurant

Things aren’t what they seam The Seamstress Restaurant lives in a house steeped in history. This is one of Chinatown’s hidden gems. At first it kinda feels like you’re climbing up stairs into a forgotten attic but once you’re there the space is a pleasant surprise. You see, Seamstress restaurant lives in a 120-year-old building that was once a textile factory and even an old Buddhist monastery. Now it’s a jazzy restaurant that does modern Cantonese food with panache. It’s a pretty sight to behold, and a break from the red and gold Chinatown standards. With bare bricks and light polished wood, this restaurant has a fresh and contemporary atmosphere. Here you’ll find a lunching business crew and curious customers after an elegant dinner. Based on the dishes of China, the menu also makes some detours into the flavours of Asian, and each item has a small medium and large so you can build your own delicious course or share the goodness with friends. Forget raucous Chinese restaurants and getting nudged by yum cha trolleys! Come to Seamstress and make the most of Chinatown’s best kept secret. Best dish: 12-hour braised Berkshire pork belly, jicama salad and kohlrabi kimchi

Features

Insider

Seamstress Restaurant Address

Google Map