Back

Reviews Shakahari too

8.9/10
Fabulous
based on 155 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Cass W.
    Cass W.
    • 12 reviews
    9.5/10

    The food at Shakahari is always delicious. I highly recommend the laksa and satay. The ambience is excellent and it would be a great place to visit for special occasions.

  2. Richard F.
    Richard F.
    • one review
    10/10

    The staff and the food are always great here. The meals are always consistent, not over the top and well worth the price. I think that I am very lucky to have this restaurant in the neighbourhood.

  3. Ruth P.
    Ruth P.
    • one review
    10/10

    My favourite restaurant and a wonderful place to celebrate a special occasion or just catch up with a dear friend or friends. The food is divine and the service is great and I love the atmosphere at Shakahari.

  4. David B.
    David B.
    • one review
    8.75/10

    Really tasty vegetarian food, with clear statement of gluten-free, vegan, no onion, etc. on the menu. A lucky find, and we’ll definitely be back.

  5. Evan T.
    Evan T.
    • one review
    10/10

    I go to vegetarian restaurants all over the world and “the Shak” is still my favourite. The food is wonderfully original, beautifully healthy, delicious and the service is always no fuss and fast. I think if they invested more in decor etc, this place would rate among the best restaurants in Melbourne but I’m so glad they don’t! Truly a still remarkably undiscovered gem after nearly 40 yrs (in Carlton - so glad they opened Sth Melb too a while back). The Satay has never changed and never been off the menu and with good reason - it is superb

  6. A A.
    A A.
    • 278 reviews
    10/10

    Wonderful vegetarian food with amazing Asian twist. Refreshing take on vegetarian food. Great service and a lovely, relaxing atmosphere.

  7. Caroline S.
    Caroline S.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Tasty vegetarian. Diverse and interesting offerings

  8. A A.
    A A.
    • 273 reviews
    8.25/10

    Food was delicious. We ordered Laksa, Paella, curry and a salad. Paella was our favourite! Service was great, we were sharing the dishes and they split the serving of Laksa for us into 4 little bowls! Highly recommended!

  9. A A.
    A A.
    • 272 reviews
    7.25/10

    Tasty veggie options, lacking a bit of atmosphere when we went at lunch but I imagine it's different at dinner time.

  10. Alan L.
    Alan L.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    Cosy and relatively quiet with some of the best vegan food in Melbourne along with friendly, unimposing yet helpful staff.

  11. A A.
    A A.
    • 244 reviews
    7.75/10

    The food was good but the restaurant’s acoustics are bad so hard to hear others. A few waitstaff errors but still left a tip.

  12. A A.
    A A.
    • 264 reviews
    9.75/10

    The food was outstanding. We had one Vegan and one Gluten Free guest and they both found lots to choose from. We were all extremely happy with our meals which were delicious, fresh and of exceptional quality.

  13. Alan L.
    Alan L.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    Probably the best vegan food in Melbourne.

  14. A A.
    A A.
    • 235 reviews
    8.75/10

    Thanks for a beautiful meal ! Very creative. Loved the avocado entree

  15. A A.
    A A.
    • 290 reviews
    8.25/10

    Thoroughly enjoyed my meal and experience

  16. A A.
    A A.
    • 277 reviews
    9/10

    Fantastic vegan food, innovative and reasonably priced. This is our favourite restaurant.

  17. A A.
    A A.
    • 258 reviews
    7.25/10

    No other comments

  18. Mark P.
    Mark P.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Food and service was great. Thank you

  19. Cass W.
    Cass W.
    • 12 reviews
    9/10

    Fantastic meal, thanks!

  20. Simon B.
    Simon B.
    • one review
    10/10

    Excellent restaurant, great for gluten free and vegan options