Back

Reviews Shakahari too

9.1/10

Excellent

based on 167 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Cillian F.
    Cillian F.
    • 3 reviews
    9/10

    Fantastic food and service. The decor could do with a revamp and some music would add to the atmosphere. But I wouldn't let that put you off going there.

  2. Cass W.
    Cass W.
    • 12 reviews
    9.5/10

    The food at Shakahari is always delicious. I highly recommend the laksa and satay. The ambience is excellent and it would be a great place to visit for special occasions.

  3. Richard F.
    Richard F.
    • one review
    10/10

    The staff and the food are always great here. The meals are always consistent, not over the top and well worth the price. I think that I am very lucky to have this restaurant in the neighbourhood.

  4. Ruth P.
    Ruth P.
    • one review
    10/10

    My favourite restaurant and a wonderful place to celebrate a special occasion or just catch up with a dear friend or friends. The food is divine and the service is great and I love the atmosphere at Shakahari.

  5. David B.
    David B.
    • one review
    8.75/10

    Really tasty vegetarian food, with clear statement of gluten-free, vegan, no onion, etc. on the menu. A lucky find, and we’ll definitely be back.

  6. Evan T.
    Evan T.
    • one review
    10/10

    I go to vegetarian restaurants all over the world and “the Shak” is still my favourite. The food is wonderfully original, beautifully healthy, delicious and the service is always no fuss and fast. I think if they invested more in decor etc, this place would rate among the best restaurants in Melbourne but I’m so glad they don’t! Truly a still remarkably undiscovered gem after nearly 40 yrs (in Carlton - so glad they opened Sth Melb too a while back). The Satay has never changed and never been off the menu and with good reason - it is superb

  7. A A.
    A A.
    • 278 reviews
    10/10

    Wonderful vegetarian food with amazing Asian twist. Refreshing take on vegetarian food. Great service and a lovely, relaxing atmosphere.

  8. Caroline S.
    Caroline S.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Tasty vegetarian. Diverse and interesting offerings

  9. A A.
    A A.
    • 273 reviews
    8.25/10

    Food was delicious. We ordered Laksa, Paella, curry and a salad. Paella was our favourite! Service was great, we were sharing the dishes and they split the serving of Laksa for us into 4 little bowls! Highly recommended!

  10. A A.
    A A.
    • 272 reviews
    7.25/10

    Tasty veggie options, lacking a bit of atmosphere when we went at lunch but I imagine it's different at dinner time.

  11. Alan L.
    Alan L.
    • 3 reviews
    9.5/10

    Cosy and relatively quiet with some of the best vegan food in Melbourne along with friendly, unimposing yet helpful staff.

  12. A A.
    A A.
    • 244 reviews
    7.75/10

    The food was good but the restaurant’s acoustics are bad so hard to hear others. A few waitstaff errors but still left a tip.

  13. A A.
    A A.
    • 264 reviews
    9.75/10

    The food was outstanding. We had one Vegan and one Gluten Free guest and they both found lots to choose from. We were all extremely happy with our meals which were delicious, fresh and of exceptional quality.

  14. Alan L.
    Alan L.
    • 3 reviews
    9.5/10

    Probably the best vegan food in Melbourne.

  15. A A.
    A A.
    • 235 reviews
    8.75/10

    Thanks for a beautiful meal ! Very creative. Loved the avocado entree

  16. A A.
    A A.
    • 290 reviews
    8.25/10

    Thoroughly enjoyed my meal and experience

  17. A A.
    A A.
    • 277 reviews
    9/10

    Fantastic vegan food, innovative and reasonably priced. This is our favourite restaurant.

  18. A A.
    A A.
    • 258 reviews
    7.25/10

    No other comments

  19. Mark P.
    Mark P.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Food and service was great. Thank you

  20. Cass W.
    Cass W.
    • 12 reviews
    9/10

    Fantastic meal, thanks!

  21. Simon B.
    Simon B.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent restaurant, great for gluten free and vegan options

  22. Stephen H.
    Stephen H.
    • one review
    8.25/10

    Beautiful food, great atmosphere, amazing service and great value for money. Could not be happier with this restaurant! Highly recommended!

  23. Tom E.
    Tom E.
    • 23 reviews
    10/10

    Great value food and a great atmosphere with friendly staff.

  24. Marion T.
    Marion T.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    I’ve been to Shakahari Too many times and they never disappoint. The food is always delicious and the staff is great!

  25. A A.
    A A.
    • 269 reviews
    10/10

    Food never disappoints and service is impeccable

  26. A A.
    A A.
    • 259 reviews
    7.75/10

    Very tasty vegetarian meal!

  27. A A.
    A A.
    • 281 reviews
    7.25/10

    Nice place, worthwhile a try

  28. A A.
    A A.
    • 258 reviews
    7.25/10

    Tasty food reasonably priced

  29. A A.
    A A.
    • 273 reviews
    7.75/10

    Really good food :)

  30. A A.
    A A.
    • 253 reviews
    8.5/10

    What a lovely surprise! Lunch in South Melbourne is slightly outside my usual City or St Kilda radius. But I had a really delicious lunch with wine on a recent weekday. The enak enak curry is generously brilliant! I look forward to revisiting.

  31. A A.
    A A.
    • 252 reviews
    9/10

    Awesome vegetarian dishes, great service

  32. A A.
    A A.
    • 289 reviews
    9.25/10

    Very good food, friendly efficient service

  33. A A.
    A A.
    • 266 reviews
    9.75/10

    Great food and service. Had a great meal celebrating a birthday.

  34. A A.
    A A.
    • 262 reviews
    8.75/10

    Delicious vegetarian food for a meat eater, food is fresh, full of flavour and well cooked.

  35. A A.
    A A.
    • 265 reviews
    7.25/10

    The satay and croquettes were really nice, but I don't recommend any of the entrees.

  36. A A.
    A A.
    • 259 reviews
    8.25/10

    Same dishes, different day and different quality.

  37. A A.
    A A.
    • 244 reviews
    9.75/10

    Excellent food and service.

  38. A A.
    A A.
    • 283 reviews
    8.75/10

    Very tasty and interesting menu, definitely worth a try!

  39. Min k.
    Min k.
    • 2 reviews
    8.75/10

    The food was delicious and pretty. The staff were also so nice.

  40. James B.
    James B.
    • 35 reviews
    9.75/10

    as non vegetarian family we tried this place because of Dimmi offer and it is a really pleasant surprise. The dishes are well presented and each dish has its own unique taste. The highlight dish is the avocado magic. We also enjoyed the other dishes: laksa, curry and satay. Really really recommend this place.