Back

Reviews - Sosta Cucina

9.6/10

Excellent

based on 293 reviews
Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review. The global rating is based on all ratings and reviews but only those written in English are displayed.
  1. Jarrod s.
    Jarrod s.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Sosta Cucina always delivers an excellent dining experience. The food is perfect, service solicitous and helpful without being over the top. I only wish I was able to stay longer.

  2. Walter G.
    Walter G.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    I have been coming to this restaurant for over a decade that rate it as better than 95% of the restaurants I visited in Italy when I was food critic there. The one dish I travel from Kew to Sosta for time is the Papadelle, the signature dish which this restaurant excels at. For me it sets the standard that all Italian restaurants should strive for. In the years I have visited Sosta, I've never experienced a bad meal, but there Papadelle is the crown jewel of the menu. Congratulations Sosta! You have what it takes.

  3. Natalie S.
    Natalie S.
    • 7 reviews
    10/10

    Amazing meal once again. Mu favourite dish was the gnocchi with duck ragù. I’m very luck Sosta is my local restaurant. Love Sosta!

  4. Zoe O.
    Zoe O.
    • one review
    10/10

    This was a great recommendation, thoroughly enjoyed the food and company, excellent wine, lovely service. Very nice atmosphere and well presented tables and general atmosphere. A truly great night.

  5. Ricky C.
    Ricky C.
    • one review
    10/10

    Loved everything about this place! Food, service, space. Had a very lovely dining experience. Our waiter was also the best! The crumbed pork was divine. As was the crab linguine.

  6. Julie M.
    Julie M.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    We have been coming to this restaurant for 9 years- it’s so good we held our wedding reception here. The staff are fantastic and the food never disappoints.

  7. Sophie N.
    Sophie N.
    • one review
    10/10

    Absolutely fantastic meal at Sosta tonight to celebrate an anniversary. Exemplary service, spectacular food and wonderful atmosphere. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

  8. Penny S.
    Penny S.
    • one review
    10/10

    I kept their card all through Covid just waiting for the opportunity to go back and taste their beautiful food again and I was NOT disappointed. The food was outstanding, the service amazing and every single person who formed part of the restaurant was a delight to speak with. I cannot rate Sosta high enough. Thank you!!!.

  9. Susan W.
    Susan W.
    • 4 reviews
    6.5/10

    WE HAVE BEEN TO THIS RESTUARANT OVER MANY YEARS...FOOD QUALITY AND CHOICE IHAS DECLINED. DESPIS HAVING REQUESTED A QUEI TABLE OUS WAS FRONT AND CENTRE IN THE TRAFFIC PATTERN DEPSITE A VERY SUITABLE CORNER REMAINING AVAILBLE OVER THE NIGHT.

  10. Robyn M.
    Robyn M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Went with a friend I hadn't seen since before "the year we have had" so it was a special occasion and Sosta Cucina was exactly right. Great service, delicious food, good wine choices, lovely feel- lively and warm but not loud. We loved it. I will be back.

  11. Rod H.
    Rod H.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    This is a lovely restaurant with excellent food and service. We started with a selection of entrees which we shared and which were delicious. We had our own mains and everyone enjoyed them. I had the gnocchi which was superb.

  12. Stephen A.
    Stephen A.
    • one review
    10/10

    Food was exceptional. Atmosphere great. Loved the service. Really well presented. Location was superb. Parking right outside. Will be back in a heartbeat.

  13. Violeta  S.
    Violeta S.
    • one review
    10/10

    This restaurant had wonderful food and service. It was also quite well priced for a nice restaurant. The servings were quite substantial and we both left feeling very full. The linguine with crab was really delicious. The only thing I would have added, was a squeeze of lemon. My friend ordered the pasta with lamb ragu which she also really enjoyed. I would highly recommend this restaurant and look forward to visiting again.

  14. Prani H.
    Prani H.
    • one review
    10/10

    Our new favourite restaurant - hidden in North Melbourne, or everyone would know about it! Wonderful, traditional fare obviously prepared with love and benchmarks in mind and attentive, lovely staff. We had a wonderful night out.

  15. Kerry L.
    Kerry L.
    • one review
    10/10

    Couldn’t fault the food - superb. Excellent service, good wine and a lovely feel to the restaurant. Also tables well spaced so not too noisy. Will be back.

  16. Peter C.
    Peter C.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great food. Terrific wine list. Excellent staff. Relaxed but classy ambience. Found it in the Good Food book. Very accurate review. Will return.

  17. Michelle M.
    Michelle M.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    This restaurant came recommended by a friend and didn't disappoint. Service was great and the food was sensational. We would definitely return.

  18. Rocky B.
    Rocky B.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    Sosta continues to provide fantastic Italian food with a minimum of fuss, delivered in a professional and courteous manner. They know what they are doing. We will be back..

  19. Patricia N.
    Patricia N.
    • 8 reviews
    8/10

    Food was decent without being spectacular. Reasonably priced. Sauces a little touch salty on the day i was there. Service was quite good.

  20. Jarrod s.
    Jarrod s.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Friendly and knowledgeable service. Highest standard northern Italian cuisine beautifully presented. Lovely ambience, once inside you have no idea you are on a main road - great music, lighting, tableware, just perfect

  21. Russell M.
    Russell M.
    • 28 reviews
    10/10

    Good food wine and service. What more can you ask for.

  22. Daryl W.
    Daryl W.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    We found this place by chance, and were very fortunate. We had the steak and the chicken, both of which were excellent. The side of peas and prosciutto was a delight. The wine list was a little expensive, but that reflected the quality of wines on offer, including many regional Italian choices. Service was warm and welcoming throughout. We live some distance away, but we will definitely be back.

  23. Sarah o.
    Sarah o.
    • one review
    10/10

    This was my first time to visit this restaurant and I am thoroughly in love with it. Faultless- exceptional service, amazing food, beautiful ambiance and a superb menu which covers all bases... seafood, meat, vegetarian, vegan etc. I had the raw kingfish for entree, the crab pasta for main and the tiramisu for dessert. My friends did the mussels, goat, steak, cannoli and pan a cotta - both loved their choices. Highly recommend, this is a Melbourne gem!

  24. Kristian G.
    Kristian G.
    • 5 reviews
    9.5/10

    Amazing food try the goat

  25. Jo Ee L.
    Jo Ee L.
    • 2 reviews
    7.5/10

    I really enjoyed my four course meal. However, my mum did not. Her courses were average and nothing special. A tiny bone was stuck in her throat from the salmon she ordered. Service and atmosphere was great overall. A little pricey but was great to dine in again

  26. Piotr R.
    Piotr R.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Awesome evening thank you

  27. Sophie G.
    Sophie G.
    • one review
    10/10

    The food was absolutely amazing and clearly a lot of love and attention to detail went into the preparation. Everything on the menu looked delicious so it was hard to pick! The staff were friendly and very knowledgeable about the wine as well which was brilliant. Absolutely recommend- what a gem!

  28. Graeme K.
    Graeme K.
    • 7 reviews
    10/10

    The team at Sosta are back with adaptations to the new normal. The shiraz by the glass and mushoom ravioli were spectacular. While the buzz of a full restaurant is missing, it was great to be back eating out at one of our favourite locals.

  29. Tracey V.
    Tracey V.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    The staff and service was superb. Intimate setting ideal for small groups or couples. Food was delicious. Didn’t leave a crumb behind. Will definitely be back.

  30. Peter b.
    Peter b.
    • one review
    10/10

    A North Melbourne gem. Excellent cuisine, staff and ambience. Will recommend to family and friends.

  31. Lorraine L.
    Lorraine L.
    • one review
    10/10

    Excellent restaurant with great atmosphere and reliable food.

  32. Anthony B.
    Anthony B.
    • 4 reviews
    8.5/10

    Pasta’s are amazing

  33. A A.
    A A.
    • 282 reviews
    9.75/10

    We have been here a number of times and never disappointed. Great food.

  34. Susie P.
    Susie P.
    • one review
    9.75/10

    All round fabulous food, service and ambiance!

  35. A A.
    A A.
    • 264 reviews
    9.75/10

    Great food and service. Upmarket Italian

  36. Graeme M.
    Graeme M.
    • 9 reviews
    9.5/10

    Real Italian food, wine, service

  37. A A.
    A A.
    • 263 reviews
    10/10

    Amazing service from very knowledgeable, professional team. Save room for dessert - some of the best desserts it's been my pleasure to eat!

    Sosta CucinaSosta Cucina

    Thank you so much for the kind words on your recent experience at Sosta, myself and the team really appreciate it.

  38. A A.
    A A.
    • 277 reviews
    8.25/10

    The main dishes on the menu should be updated. There is no poultry dish and the pork neck 'special' has been available since May.

    Sosta CucinaSosta Cucina

    Hello thanks for letting me know, I accidentally put up the old menu again last week rather than the new menu. That has been rectified.

  39. A A.
    A A.
    • 258 reviews
    9/10

    great little place, good for work lunch

  40. A A.
    A A.
    • 281 reviews
    8.5/10

    all good, it took a little while for our waiter to be friendly, first half rather on the reserved side