Half Price Dining - 50% Off Food when you book on TheFork

Exclusive to TheForkHalf Price Dining - 50% Off Food when you book at South Wharf Meat Market at specially marked times. Don’t miss out, limited availability.

Half Price Dining - 50% Off Food

Dinner Sun-Sat
Lunch Sun-Sat

450 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

7.9
450 reviews
Recommended
(8.1)
Food
(7.9)
Service
(7.7)
Value for money
(7.6)
Atmosphere
(8.0)
Alex

dined on Wed, 11 Jul 2018

(5)
The staff were friendly but there was some inconsistency with how they approached the table. After ordering, we were told multiple times that certain items weren't available and had to reorder. This was okay, but different waiters would come up and be confused as to what was going on which resulted in us having to explain the situation again and again. The charcuterie board, cheese and wine were amazing as well as the salmon but the lamb tasted a little burnt. The cheesecake we ordered did not specify it had nuts, however it did. Slightly careless on my part not to ask but I'm allergic to nuts and it caused discomfort. The waitress was apologetic and removed the wine from the bill which was nice, but certain things about this experience make me sceptical about returning.

dined on Mon, 9 Jul 2018

(4)
First time dining there. Sorry to see the short of floor staff running around forgetting orders! No free bread rolls & butter with main course we had to pay for it. We ordered bread rolls & butter for $4 together with entrees and we finished our entrees and our bread hasn’t arrived! We had to ask twice to remind the waitress as she kept forgetting. Eventually the bread arrived which consist of 2 tiny mini round rolls & one se be of butter & that’s $4! After main we asked for desert menu, some warm water which the waitress kindly obliged, however nothing to be seen & we had to keep chasing them & remind them to bring the desert menu, after ordering desert, waited almost 30min but nothing arrived, we asked another waiter who told us the desert wasn’t put thru yet! Again aked for a share cutlery for the desert but never arrive, I had to go personally to help myself with the cutlery, get my own bill. Nice restaurant & beatifully decorates but pity the service is lacking as everyone works under the pump & only 2 chefs cooking everything for the entire restaurant! If the boss is hoping to save some $$ from labour the service level is going to be compromised unfortunately! Will I be back? Absolutely NO!!

dined on Sun, 8 Jul 2018

(7)
food - small serving atmosphere - very good

dined on Sat, 7 Jul 2018

(10)
it's not cheap but it's worth it. as the name suggests, you really need to order steak of some sort (although their veggie dishes are also full of flavour and texture!) Divine steak cooked perfectly. Also, if you're two or three then book a stool at the kitchen bar to watch the chefs cook (and they may throw you a morsel or two to taste!). great vibe.

dined on Sat, 7 Jul 2018

(9)
The steak here was amazing and cooked to perfection. Cured trout delicious! Staff were friendly and professional. We'll definitely be back.
Michael

dined on Sat, 7 Jul 2018

(5)
If not for the 50% off food special would have been even more disappointed. Having the oysters to start - awesome...as were the other entrees. The "common" calamari one of the best I've had. Sadly the fish was the nicest of the Meat. I asked twice if I ordered my $65 500gm porterhouse medium rare, it would be medium rare...they even spend half a page in the menu explaining the cooking temperature. Guess what - it was closer to medium well. No offer to replace. Sadly, just another eatery along this expensive SouthBank/Wharf area that cant get an expensive steak cooked right. Better stick to the suburbs where parking is free.

dined on Wed, 4 Jul 2018

(9)
Very enjoyable meal, the ribs were outstanding

dined on Wed, 4 Jul 2018

(6)
Steaks were good but not best given the competition, interesting and yummy sides, disappointing service, had a discount so felt good value but would have thought disappointing if we had paid full price.
stefan

dined on Wed, 4 Jul 2018

(6)
need to improve service otherwise steaks are great
page: 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15

Specials

Lunch Riverside $20 Lunch Special

LUNCH RIVERSIDE available Monday to Friday, 12 - 3PM One Course $20 | Two Courses $29 includes a glass of house wine, pot of beer, cider or soft drink
When
16 Oct 2018 - 31 Mar 2019
Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri 12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Valentine's Day at Meat Market - $129 per couple

Includes a glass of Mumm Petit Cordon on arrival Shared entree Coffin Bay OYSTERS, smoked DUCK salad, air dried BRESAOLA Choice of main 300gm “ 1000 Guineas” PORTERHOUSE, French fries, garden salad BBQ free-range SPATCHCOCK, green beans, cannellini beans, lemon, basil oil (gf) Goldband SNAPPER, caper dill butter, new potatoes, sugar snap peas, Mt Zero olives, red onion, parsley Marinated CAULIFLOWER STEAK, wild roquette, cucumber, mixed grains, sundried tomato pesto (v,ve,gf,df) Dessert platter to share Chocolate MUD CAKE, lemon TART and strawberry FRIANDS with berry coulis, double cream, summer berries.
When
14 Feb 2019
Thu 6:00 PM - 8:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About South Wharf Meat Market

Dedicated to the flavours of an open flame grill, Meat Market is the ideal spot to sample the best meats Victoria has to offer. Meat Market offers pasture fed beef and lamb from some of Australia’s best ethical producers, as well as locally sourced chicken and seafood. The open kitchen means guests can get up close to the culinary action before enjoying some of the best steak in Melbourne.

South Wharf Meat Market Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

2.6