Back

Reviews - Spice Temple

8.9/10

Fabulous

based on 733 reviews
Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review. The global rating is based on all ratings and reviews but only those written in English are displayed.
  1. Sheila F.
    Sheila F.
    • 19 reviews
    9.5/10

    We had the bang bang chicken and the pork hock which were both so delicious. Just love the flavours. The cucumbers in garlic also delicious . Very generous portions which left no room for dessert

  2. James S.
    James S.
    • one review
    10/10

    It was a fabulous dinner, the lamb spicy dumplings are incredible, the best ever! We did miss the spicy numbing duck from the pre-Covid menu. Not a positive revoke or change but the service is impeccable, the ambiance always beautiful!

  3. Avinash M.
    Avinash M.
    • 45 reviews
    10/10

    Great food and very good service. Entree was delicious and likewise, the mains was just the right amount of spice as requested. Will definitely be coming back in another month.

  4. Dean G.
    Dean G.
    • 4 reviews
    5/10

    I was a little disappointed with the service. I have been to Spice Temple over 50 times. Today was the first time that I am undecided if I will go back.

  5. Tina T.
    Tina T.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    I was really looking forward to returning to ST but while ţwo of the fours dishes were great, 2 were really underwhelming. We did have a lovely waitress but she was unable to provide timely service due to having a poor staff ratio

  6. Paul B.
    Paul B.
    • one review
    6/10

    Food wasn't as good as it used to be. Definitely not as good of a menu as it was pre COVID. Missing most of my favourite dishes. The beef fillet was a disappointment

  7. Mish M.
    Mish M.
    • one review
    10/10

    10/10 Christmas party was very memorable! Staff were amazing and very friendly, food was great as always and no wait time! I definitely recommend this place

  8. Lisa H.
    Lisa H.
    • one review
    8/10

    Food was delicious and beautifully presented but the music was hideous and very distracting when you are trying to have a conversation with friends. Staff were delightful and I felt very special.

  9. Ashleighh S.
    Ashleighh S.
    • one review
    10/10

    First night back after COVID menu was smaller than usual a few items missing which was disappointing but hopefully see them back on soon! We miss the sheep cocktail and the numbing wagu

  10. Tim S.
    Tim S.
    • 4 reviews
    9/10

    Food was amazing, expected nonetheless from Neil Perry..will be back!!

  11. Sue X.
    Sue X.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    The food is beautiful, the wait staff excellent but the decor for a high end restaurant is sub par. The carpet is awful, and the tables are all scratched and battered. The dinnerware could also be a bit more special than something I would use at home. And the white wines by the glass list, was very limited and uninteresting. My husband drinks red and I drink white, so it’s not practical for us to order a bottle.

  12. Warren B.
    Warren B.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Hands down the best meal I have had in a long time. The staff are very friendly, and answered every question my wife and I asked. Will be back. Everything was exactly like I hoped it would be. And not expensive.

  13. Vihandha w.
    Vihandha w.
    • one review
    10/10

    Absolutely delicious food with great produce.. pretty much faultless

  14. Avinash M.
    Avinash M.
    • 45 reviews
    9.5/10

    Food tasted great. However, service fell short of expectations as it took some time to be greeted when we walked in and then took twice as long for someone to come over and ask us for our bill.

  15. Raja B.
    Raja B.
    • 7 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent choice of food.

  16. Karan C.
    Karan C.
    • one review
    7/10

    Expected too much but food didn’t met high hopes. Tofu was bland and tasteless , could only finish 1 piece and left the other 5, Pork dish was good but rice serving was lot less and sticky steamed rice for kid asked for kid serve and it was full bowl. Had to chase for the mains after Tofu was delivered whereas table next to us had 3 dishes delivered and they ate, paid and left before us but came after us. All in all disappointing experience.

  17. Michael D.
    Michael D.
    • one review
    4.5/10

    Restaurant looks great. Seems to be a lot of waitstaff but they just disappeared and it was near impossible to order a drink! The food took over and hour to come out (granted they did take a round of drinks off our order). Also, the kung pao chicken was almost comedic in the sense that there was one chicken thigh with about 40 chillies, no exaggeration, the waitress said “We recommend you don’t eat the chillies” which was 85% of the dish!! Laughable. Won’t be back I’m afraid. The head waitress was fantastic however, I felt very sorry for her.

  18. Watson Y.
    Watson Y.
    • 2 reviews
    6/10

    It was a disappointing meal. Maybe it was poor choice on our part. We did not enjoy any of the courses we didn’t pay for the tasteless cold fried rice so I suppose that was a positive. We won’t be back

  19. Hale Z.
    Hale Z.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Food was delicious and the service was excellent.

  20. Natalie H.
    Natalie H.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    Food was good however the service was a let down. Servers need to be friendlier. Had to constantly ask for water, big gap between dishes, waitress said she’d get the bill to free up the table, and then that took a while to come. Why makes us feel like you were rushing us out and then take your time getting the bill? Front desk did not even look up when we were leaving. Overall, the service was not fine dining nor welcoming.

  21. Tony N.
    Tony N.
    • 8 reviews
    8/10

    We felt the quality of food was not up to the same level as the Sydney Spice Temple. Different chefs achieve slightly different outcomes. Also, we like the din of the downstairs restaurant more. They do have a downstairs in Melbourne too but we are positioned in the front window so the atmosphere was slightly different but nothing too troubling. The food was slightly poorer.

  22. Andrew G.
    Andrew G.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Food is beautiful. The menu split into red writing (hot) and black writing (mild but still with a bit of a bite) took the guesswork out preferencing and deciding. Staff were great.

  23. Ida T.
    Ida T.
    • one review
    10/10

    Best tea smoked duck, try the cold silken tofu, and the atmosphere downstairs is sultry cool. The staff should be commended for great explanation of the menu & service.

  24. Louise L.
    Louise L.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    The staff greeted us warmly and food was superb. Not disappointed returning after 3 years. Red spiced up items on the menu were slightly less spicey than last time but tasty.

  25. Renny C.
    Renny C.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    The Yum Cha banquet was well portioned, interesting variety and well balanced. I would recommend getting the green tea at the start of the meal so that you can enjoy throughout as opposed to after dessert

  26. Mel T.
    Mel T.
    • one review
    10/10

    We love this place! The ambience is beautiful and really shares a luxurious and relaxing experience, the wontons are a must!! Staff super professional.

  27. Ryan K.
    Ryan K.
    • 7 reviews
    8.5/10

    Food was good, portions were generous, service was attentive. Would come back again.

  28. joe b.
    joe b.
    • one review
    10/10

    I have being to many Chinese restaurants, my Chinese partner and myself clearly were in agreement that the traditional dishes we ordered were the best ever tasted. The service, quality and freshness of food in unbelievable spicy sauces were unbelievable. No hesitation in recommending to all my friends. We will definitely return.

  29. Jane W.
    Jane W.
    • one review
    6/10

    Not as special for the money paid. Well over charged for the beers and wine. Rip off to Aussies but probably a catch for the international guests. Not going back

  30. Joel C.
    Joel C.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    Good service...quality of food generally good but desserts lacking in presentation and uniqueness.price on upper end but quality produce.ambience lovely

  31. Paul M.
    Paul M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Amazing Food. Must have the Lamb Dumplings. Love the flavours. Great Service, everyone is friendly. Nice Atmosphere. 2 thumbs up from us. We will be back again.

  32. Andrew M.
    Andrew M.
    • 11 reviews
    10/10

    Our family dined at Spice Temple for a birthday celebration. All food and service was fantastic. Great to see some new dishes on the menu. Well done to the Spice Temple team.

  33. Geeta J.
    Geeta J.
    • one review
    2/10

    Poor service, messed up my booking, had to wait for an hour at next door bar at Nobu. Very average food and forgot to serve some of the ordered dishes, brought somebody’s ordered dish to our table. Very poor and disappointing

  34. Richard B.
    Richard B.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    If you are going to sit people downstairs you need to advise them. I felt more like I was in an eatery thank a top class restaurant. Thanks for listening.

  35. James Y.
    James Y.
    • one review
    10/10

    It’s a signature “fusion Chinese food” restaurant in Melbourne Crown, probably top ten. I have been there 20+ times because my Australian business partner. Chef Neil created a modern recipe by western technique and eastern concepts, which proves he’s “one of the best chef in Australia”. Although, as a Chinese myself traveled and experienced over a hundred cities/towns in mainland for thirty years, had variety foods enough, I would recommend Spice Temple as an interesting/high-quality restaurant, but not traditional/authentic Chinese. Almost all the dishes are fusion modified creation, you can not find any similar in China.

  36. Helen Y.
    Helen Y.
    • 11 reviews
    6/10

    Have more variety of dishes to choose from.

  37. Rahul K.
    Rahul K.
    • one review
    8/10

    Dark ambience, portion sizes too small for cost

  38. Teresa F.
    Teresa F.
    • one review
    10/10

    Amazing dining experien ce . The duck was to die for, highly recommend it. My husband andI had the deluxe banquet, many fabulous dishes totally sarisfied

  39. Sheila F.
    Sheila F.
    • 19 reviews
    10/10

    Friendly welcome on arrival. Attentive service and very helpful if you need advice on what to order. The food is so delicious, Bang Bang chicken a standout but everything we had was perfect.

  40. Jayne W.
    Jayne W.
    • 5 reviews
    9/10

    The food lived up to expectations and, if anything, was better and more generous than our most recent experience. Service was good although lacking a little warmth. Would recommend and will definitely return if in Melbourne.