Back

Reviews Spice Temple

8.8/10
Fabulous
based on 1133 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Danny I.
    Danny I.
    • 7 reviews
    10/10

    Most amazing night. Absolutely loved the food. One of the best I’ve had

  2. Veronica C.
    Veronica C.
    • 45 reviews
    10/10

    I was running late and called in and they still kept the table for me. The chef was very nice still do the yum cha menu for me even though it is usually for 2. The food is excellent as always. I could not finish all the courses. The restaurant did a take away for the remaining 2 dishes and gave me 2 truffle chocolates. I was able to leave in less than an hour! Where else do you find such great food, service and understanding! It is gem!

  3. Xing J.
    Xing J.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    Spice Temple is one of my favorite restaurants in Sydney. We have been coming here since it's opening. The Chinese food is very delicious with modern twist. It is a great choice for a special occasion.

  4. Anthony O.
    Anthony O.
    • one review
    10/10

    Solid food, could have bee spicier!! Overall great service, set up and easy menu to order form. I will definitely recommend this restaurant and go back again.

  5. Jessica M.
    Jessica M.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Restaurant was a little dark but the food was amazing. We had lots of plates and just shared the entire meal. We will definitely be going back to Spice Temple

  6. Victoria M.
    Victoria M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Exceptionally delicious Chinese cuisine. The Kung Pao chicken is a standout, as are the amazing dumplings.

  7. Ryan S.
    Ryan S.
    • 3 reviews
    8/10

    Been here three years ago and still very good. Can’t believe the menu hasn’t changed. But very good. The lighting could be a little brighter as it can be quite dark for groups

  8. Sharyn Z.
    Sharyn Z.
    • 10 reviews
    8.5/10

    Good food, quiet location so great for a lunch time catch up. We had the yumcha banquet (good value) and the chicken wings were a highlight. Wine list was ok, no coffee available.

  9. Nilani M.
    Nilani M.
    • 5 reviews
    8.5/10

    Great service as usual. Menu hasn’t changed much. Most dishes delicious. Mocktails and cocktails were great. Ordered too much food - would’ve been good if the wait staff could advise when ordering that we shouldn’t reduced the number of items ordered.

  10. Rita L.
    Rita L.
    • 7 reviews
    8.5/10

    The chicken and fungi dumplings, and the prawn toast were exceptional.

  11. Maria L.
    Maria L.
    • 8 reviews
    9/10

    Nice boutique restaurant. Food great but the spring rolls were probably a bit salty (however I don’t normally take salt). They gave my husband a little birthday muffin with a lit candle which was a nice touch. It was delicious! Thank you!

  12. Mounira H.
    Mounira H.
    • 4 reviews
    8.5/10

    Service was abit slow

  13. Stephany H.
    Stephany H.
    • 3 reviews
    9.5/10

    Spice Temple always has fabulous food, good cocktails, reasonable prices and the service is the appropriate level of attentive but not overbearing.

  14. Tash H.
    Tash H.
    • one review
    10/10

    Beyond our expectations. Would come back again. So delicious’

  15. Karen l.
    Karen l.
    • 26 reviews
    9.5/10

    Amazing service. We had a vegan in our group and everything was beautifully presented and served .

  16. Craig K.
    Craig K.
    • 2 reviews
    7.5/10

    Good food, somewhat spicy. Hard to find, it’s just a door that leads down to a basement. Very dark lightning. We had the eggplant and the shrimp dumplings which were both very good

  17. Aimee K.
    Aimee K.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Great Chinese food! Atmosphere and mood was also great!

  18. Edward L.
    Edward L.
    • 4 reviews
    9.5/10

    Great culinary experience around different regions of China! Authentic yet modern. Great ambience, good service, great wine matching too!!

  19. Craig S.
    Craig S.
    • one review
    10/10

    The food was sensational! The flavour combinations matched with the wines were just excellent my wife and I enjoyed our Valentines at the Spice Temple.

  20. Christopher  W.
    Christopher W.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    The staff were very good. Unfortunately the food was not as good as I had hoped. We had the ribs which were very good but the duck pancakes and prawn Kung pow was not as good as I had wanted.

  21. Kathryn F.
    Kathryn F.
    • one review
    10/10

    Repeat customers - the food is phenomenal and really great service for one of Sydney’s best restaurants.

  22. May I.
    May I.
    • 10 reviews
    9/10

    One of my favorite fine dining places. Food is to die for, the atmosphere is romantic or kinda dark, red, design perfect for the evening. Service is excellent too

  23. Sidonia P.
    Sidonia P.
    • one review
    9/10

    Great food and venue. Just a little disappointed...we felt a bit rushed our food came out before our cocktails so we couldn’t enjoy them. Our reservation was at 2.30 and we were there on time. The kitchen closes at 3, if you want to have a late lunch you have to go earlier to relax.

  24. Martine n.
    Martine n.
    • 7 reviews
    9/10

    food was very elegant and refined in taste, a little dark atmosphere for me, , but overall very delicate food preparation, easy location too which is always appreciated

  25. Ben J.
    Ben J.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    Had the Chinese New Year banquet and as usual the food was excellent. Cocktails were excellent. Our waiter was also great but the support staff left a bit to be desired, hard to get their attention and had to wait to get my jacket when leaving for some time. Small things but I’ve been here a lot of times and previously I wouldn’t have had anything negative at all to say.

  26. Agnes K.
    Agnes K.
    • 28 reviews
    8.5/10

    Thoroughly enjoyed the Chinese New Year banquet. We were offered complimentary scallops. The only let down is the ambience, the restaurant is very dark.

  27. Simon T.
    Simon T.
    • 8 reviews
    9/10

    Went for the Chinese new year banquet and matching wines. Great selection and food was fantastic. Nice atmosphere and staff were great. Well worth a visit with a group of friends.

  28. Mary B.
    Mary B.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    Great ambience and lovely staff, but for the price the food was simply average with maybe one standout (the raw tuna in orange oil). Was disappointed with the food for the CNY banquet - really should of ordered al la carte!

  29. Jackson C.
    Jackson C.
    • 14 reviews
    7/10

    Food was nice, although some in my party couldn’t handle the spice. Main let down was the service - was a dark setting and the room was busy, but we frequently had to call out to get assistance or wave hands frantically for a few minutes to get attention. Otherwise was an enjoyable evening

  30. Shan K.
    Shan K.
    • one review
    9/10

    The food was amazing in taste and presentation but be aware that it is spicy. We had the Chinese New Year banquet - come hungry as you will not be able to finish it. The atmosphere was intimate and staff very attentive. Will be back to sample more of the other fiery dishes on offer. They lived up to the name of being the Spice Temple!

  31. Ben S.
    Ben S.
    • 23 reviews
    10/10

    The staff were all very friendly and helpful, and the food was really good too. Particularly enjoyed the Wagyu Brisket, but a very nice meal all around!

  32. Frank L.
    Frank L.
    • 2 reviews
    8.5/10

    Food was great as usual. Wait staff were hard to find much of the time, and table was too small for 4 diners, especially given serving dishes were oversized.

  33. Tony N.
    Tony N.
    • 8 reviews
    10/10

    Our 2nd time at the Spice Temple, we went for the banquet menu. Tons of food. All delicious. We were taken care of in all aspects of the meal and service. Delightful! Highly recommended.

  34. Sunny J.
    Sunny J.
    • 5 reviews
    8/10

    A great dining experience. We had the banquet and enjoyed some dishes more than others (e.g. we loved the cumin lamb but found the Asian vegetables a bit bland).

  35. Leanne W.
    Leanne W.
    • 8 reviews
    10/10

    Food was delicious and the portion sizes were very generous although we were disappointed with the time it took given we were there over a lunchtime. Plus it would of been helpful to have it a little bit lighter as it was so dark for lunchtime dining.

  36. Ingrid Z.
    Ingrid Z.
    • one review
    8/10

    Beautiful food overall, but some are way too fusion and lost the basic taste like the kunpow chicken. Some staff are nice, but the whole place is way too dark and only one female toilet cubicle. Will go back.

  37. Chiara F.
    Chiara F.
    • one review
    10/10

    We had the Dynasty Banquet, it was great, especially the pippies. Plenty of food.

  38. Linda T.
    Linda T.
    • one review
    7/10

    Been here before several times but this time I felt things weren't as good. We booked and it wasn't busy but we got pushed along to order. Our entree arrived well before our cocktails. One member was coeliac and didn't get sick so would highly recommend on that front. Had to avoid chocolates with the bill because not advised about that. Overall would return for the food but not the most relaxing dinner I've had

  39. Shelly W.
    Shelly W.
    • 4 reviews
    6/10

    The pork hock was too salty and not as tender as I'd expect for this style (the skin was delicious though). The stir fried prawn with "salted duck egg" did not have the expected salted egg texture, or taste. The table next to us had a finished plate sitting for 30 mins before it was taken away. An attempt at Chinese food that landed close but not quite on target; nor was there enough of a twist to make it seem intentional. Loved the final petit four, interestingly the only intentionally western item we had that night.

  40. Lou E.
    Lou E.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    Love Spice Temple. This was our 4th year visiting while in Sydney. Nick welcomed us with “it must be that time of year? which was amazing. How nice. Food is always great. Quality of food is top notch. Service is attentive. Atmosphere is cozy and inviting. Highly recommend one make reservation. This place even books up on Sunday evenings. Can’t wait to return.