Back

Reviews Stamford Inn Family Bistro

7.9/10
based on 104 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Jenny C.
    Jenny C.
    • one review
    9/10

    Staff were nice and friendly. Had the nachos and it was good. It was a good food size and prices were reasonable for the food.

  2. Annette W.
    Annette W.
    • 3 reviews
    7.5/10

    Normally we are delighted with the food here but last night the special of pork belly bites were quite overcooked and chewy and I was disappointed. Other meals were of a great quality. A wrong order was brought out and returned to be corrected. Then two further meals were brought out to us which were for another table - even though we were all sitting with meals in front of us. Food took quite sometime to come out - and we did allow for being short staffed but seemed to be longer than usual. The staff did apologise for the wait but the bistro was not actually very full.

  3. Catherine  B.
    Catherine B.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    Everyone who ordered fish and chips today couldn't eat it. It was so oily, overcooked, soggy and dripping on the plate. No offer of a refund. We usually have great meals here so hoping it's a one off.

  4. Louise A.
    Louise A.
    • 8 reviews
    8.5/10

    The Bistro is good value for seniors. Plenty of food on the plate that tasted delicious. Also there was a Chef’s Special for seniors. Greta value.

  5. Ben O.
    Ben O.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Nice meal good service food took a while to come out though

  6. Robyn R.
    Robyn R.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    This is our second visit, we loved it so much the first time. Food is delicious and a great variety to choose from and the service is prompt and friendly.

  7. Jen W.
    Jen W.
    • 19 reviews
    8/10

    Great place. Yum good. Will be back

  8. A A.
    A A.
    • 249 reviews
    9/10

    Great place to eat ! Meals were delicious and tasty

  9. Doug N.
    Doug N.
    • one review
    8.25/10

    we had a lovely meal but it was halloween night and there were too many children screaming thru the meal, just next time there it wont be halloween night.

  10. Airlia J.
    Airlia J.
    • one review
    3.75/10

    Was told on arrival kids eat for free only to be told when paying that they weren’t. A large portion of staff seemed annoyed. Took forever to clear the table.

  11. A A.
    A A.
    • 298 reviews
    9/10

    Great location and great parking - been coming to the Stamford for 30 years!!!

  12. A A.
    A A.
    • 245 reviews
    8.75/10

    Had a lovely time catching up with friends ??

  13. A A.
    A A.
    • 274 reviews
    4/10

    Food is very average

  14. Nat C.
    Nat C.
    • 16 reviews
    8.75/10

    Food was all lovely and came out quickly even though the bistro was busy.

  15. Suzanne R.
    Suzanne R.
    • one review
    9/10

    adjusted to our requirements very quickly and without issue. Much appreciated

  16. Lorraine C.
    Lorraine C.
    • one review
    9.75/10

    A tasty meal and very good senior options.

  17. A A.
    A A.
    • 264 reviews
    4.25/10

    Overcooked steaks, food takes and eternity to arrive, minimal staff... I feel sorry for the staff... under the pump constantly. Medium steak does not mean burnt and well done!

  18. Dianne C.
    Dianne C.
    • one review
    8/10

    ordering food & drinks very slow, not enough staff to accommodate patrons, this has been a problem for “years. We are locals, have lived in Rowville for 30 years plus BUT do not dine at the “Stamford “ We had a party of 10 ( 5 children) The children absolutely had a wonderful time with the entertainment provided, happy children, happy parents. We all enjoyed our meals, delicious. Thank you.

  19. A A.
    A A.
    • 233 reviews
    8.25/10

    Good pub grub. Staff were attentive. Nice venue.

  20. Frederic n.
    Frederic n.
    • one review
    6.75/10

    Finished the main and waited for dessert but it didn't come, asked for the desserts waited for 20 minutes still no service, asked again 10 minutes later got them.I noted the kitchen was cleaning up so they were not rushed. Not happy. We go there often will think next time.

  21. Peter F.
    Peter F.
    • one review
    4/10

    As regulars of The Stamford we're very disenchanted: staff were as they usually are, polite and friendly but the meal! First of all the bread rolls were stale, one diner's steak - ordered medium - was overcooked and dry as a bone, the chips were barely warm and the parma was dry! Sorry Stamford we'll be looking for an alternative venue!

  22. A A.
    A A.
    • 288 reviews
    8.75/10

    We had seniors meals. Lots of taste and good quality

  23. A A.
    A A.
    • 299 reviews
    5.5/10

    We were a party of 4 originally placed on a small square table with barely room for our cutlery. It took15 minutes to find someone to ask if we could move to a bigger table which we did. Had to wait nearly 10 minutes to order drinks and about the same to order our meals. whilst it was busy, there seemed to be no organisation or back up when customers had queries

  24. Nicole B.
    Nicole B.
    • one review
    9/10

    Nice place with a great menu

  25. A A.
    A A.
    • 273 reviews
    6.75/10

    I made a booking for 3, there’s only 2 menus on the table.

  26. A A.
    A A.
    • 260 reviews
    5.75/10

    We regularly attend as a group and generally we enjoy the food in the Bistro. This time one of our meals was terrible resulting in returning the meal- management were excellent and offered a replacement meal. We have noticed over the past year the quality of food is dropping off.

  27. A A.
    A A.
    • 274 reviews
    8/10

    We regularly dinner here for special occasions or a catch up with friends, central to everyone and convenient for after work ??

  28. A A.
    A A.
    • 264 reviews
    6.5/10

    It's a noisy but cheery venue with a good range of menu options. Service is OK but certainly no better than that! Quality of food is average for this type of establishment, making it a satisfactory option for a quick lunch or bistro dinner. Not among the best venues I've eaten at but acceptable.

  29. Terry S.
    Terry S.
    • one review
    9.75/10

    we had steak special and it was a delicious meal. the service was prompt and pleasant, and we enjoyed ourselves, thank you.

  30. MARION M.
    MARION M.
    • one review
    6/10

    I always buy flathead tails & chips, usually very nice, this visit the batter was over cooked and full of oil. Did not enjoy at all

  31. Vicki S.
    Vicki S.
    • 7 reviews
    4/10

    This is the last time we will be going. Food took ages. One of the ladies had garlic prawns rice was hard as hell. All meals were cold. Took them ages to clear the table actually clearing the last things as we were leaving. Looking for a new venue.

  32. A A.
    A A.
    • 272 reviews
    8/10

    Very impressed with their ability to cater for dietary requirements. My meal was very enjoyable.

  33. Vicki S.
    Vicki S.
    • 7 reviews
    8/10

    I really like this place but always something not quite right. Lambs fry and bacon cold. Yuk. Had to ask for two meals which arrived ten minutes after the test of the meals. We go there all the time. Maybe we can forgive them cos it was mother’s day.

  34. Matthew A.
    Matthew A.
    • one review
    4/10

    Food was cold, items missed that never came out, broken chairs

  35. A A.
    A A.
    • 277 reviews
    7.75/10

    The service overall was good, except we had to wait awhile to order.

  36. A A.
    A A.
    • 264 reviews
    9.25/10

    Great place to dine.

  37. Janet K.
    Janet K.
    • 2 reviews
    2.75/10

    One barman waited 10 min for a drink

  38. Vicki S.
    Vicki S.
    • 7 reviews
    8.25/10

    Food always good Service could improve

  39. A A.
    A A.
    • 272 reviews
    8.5/10

    We're regulars at The Stamford: the food is of consistent quality while the service and ambience both pass the test. Good all-round lunch/dinner venue for everyday dining.

  40. A A.
    A A.
    • 259 reviews
    7.5/10

    Great family bistro. Nice food. Fast service.