Back

Reviews Steer Dining Room

9.5/10

Excellent

based on 393 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Digby L.
    Digby L.
    • one review
    10/10

    Steer are consistently great with their service / friendliness and food quality. My only reluctance in leaving a positive review is that I might have to compete for a reservation if everyone finds out how good they are.

  2. Phil W.
    Phil W.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    One our favourite restaurants in Melbourne! The food is absolutely amazing, from the entrees through to the deserts. Table service is outstanding and the ambiance is wonderful. I can’t wait to return.

  3. David K.
    David K.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Been to the place a few times. Food always sensational. Service on this occasion was poor apart from a male Bulgarian waiter who is always friendly and informative.

  4. Lizia L.
    Lizia L.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Amazing food, especially the steaks and the yakitori skewer

  5. Kevin S.
    Kevin S.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    Have been coming here for years now, since before they moved to this current location. Consistently good food. We were seated under the flow of the air conditioner so the food got cold really quick. Steak is still as good as ever. Be awesome if they brought back the David blackmores cuts!

  6. Charlee H.
    Charlee H.
    • one review
    10/10

    Slightly hidden from the street, this cosy restaurant with its moody interior was the perfect backdrop for some of the best steak I’ve ever eaten. The staff were very attentive and knowledgeable with both food and wine. The Cohuna wagyu was absolutely delicious. Would definitely return.

  7. Jessica G.
    Jessica G.
    • one review
    10/10

    The restaurant may excel in their meat choices, but they also offer amazing sashimi and other non-meat selection. We had house made rye bread with tomato butter and another amazing small bite to welcome us. Then we ordered tartare and kingfish ceviche, and we have our mains which were wagyu steaks and they melt like butter. Great restaurants for red meat eaters, but also serve for pescatarian too.

  8. Dominic W.
    Dominic W.
    • 10 reviews
    10/10

    Amazing food, degustation and atmosphere!

  9. Alice C.
    Alice C.
    • one review
    10/10

    Been here many times. Love the express dinner option. Great pre show dining and the steak is always perfect.

  10. Esther H.
    Esther H.
    • 25 reviews
    10/10

    The ambience and location is great. The staff were very friendly and although there were not many staff, they handled the many tables extremely well and still gave great service. the food was delicious and the set course menus were very good in value

  11. Ivan r.
    Ivan r.
    • 16 reviews
    10/10

    exceeded expectations in all regards. Staff were great food was all very good and an excellent menu. Plenty to have without being scared off by high priced wagu steaks. Which of course you can have if you want. We had 2 grand jkids and they catered for them no problems. Also excellent wine list. Recommend.

  12. Phil W.
    Phil W.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    One of the best steak restaurants I have ever been to! The service is outstanding and culinary experience is divine. A platter of fine cuts is presented by the waiter and an explanation on how long the meat is aged and the origins of the cut of meat. The wine list is expansive and allows plenty of choice to complement each course.

  13. Patricia  c.
    Patricia c.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    We had fish which was nicely presented and tasty. The atmosphere is superb with carpeted floors so conversation is possible and extremely comfortable chairs. The offerings before the meal appetisers and after mini meringues were an extremely nice touch, and they were delicious. The only thing that didn't appeal was the displaying of the cuts of Beef. I'm sure it's impressive for some real carnivores but for us it was off- putting. I think they should ask if patrons would like to see the raw meat cuts before presenting them The wine was list was good with some affordable wines, we had a Spanish white which was very nice I would definitely return.

  14. Wayne G.
    Wayne G.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great find. Like a miniature Rockpool in the heart of South Yarra. We will be back for sure. Steak was terrific really cooked to perfection. Wine list also great.

  15. David G.
    David G.
    • one review
    10/10

    Best high end steak house we have ever eaten at. The tables were well spaced to allow you to focus on your partner, the staff were attentive, knowledgeable and first rate. And as it should be, the food was the star of the show. The steak is the reason to come here and our choices were both excellent. The amazing thing is all the food was 100% from the sough dough to the dessert. Perhaps the chips could of been a fraction more crisp, and thats it, thats the only possible fault with the food I could find (and I'm supper picky). We have recently had some very disappointing meals at well known high end steak houses in Sydney, The Steer Room restored my faith that perfection is out there. Sure it cost $$ and I was happy to hand over every dollar, it was well worth it. It was our 30th Wedding Anniversary and The Steer Room made it perfect.

  16. Beata T.
    Beata T.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    We decided to try this restaurant after seeing a review in the Sydney Morning Herald. It exceeded all of our expectations. The staff were knowledgeable and efficient, and the food was absolutely fantastic. Will definitely come again when we are in Melbourne.

  17. Andrew Z.
    Andrew Z.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    We really enjoyed our meal at Steer! The waiter that explained the different cuts was great, particularly because he did not push us to make a decision, but rather, educated us enough to make our own choice. We really appreciated that, unfortunately, we forgot his name. Overall, the steaks were great. The only disappointment was the onion rings, but really, they weren't that bad. They were slightly doughy in our opinion.

  18. Peter  A.
    Peter A.
    • one review
    10/10

    Amazing food, both presentation and taste were A+++ Very friendly staff and a nice relaxing space to enjoy a great meal. Was told I would not need sauce with my steak and the advice was spot on! The steak had so much flavor and just melted in my mouth!

  19. Kate S.
    Kate S.
    • one review
    7/10

    We've asked middium-rare but it was middium-weldone... As we were so hungry and didn't want to take more time we just finished it but... It wasn't worth to pay that much.

  20. Stuart D.
    Stuart D.
    • one review
    10/10

    There express steak deal Is the best value meal in town. Staff are friendly and know their product. As a return visitor it great that they remember my preferred food and drink. Excellent value

  21. Rebecca N.
    Rebecca N.
    • one review
    10/10

    Food was amazing, staff were great. The perfect restaurant for a special occasion. We will return

  22. Brett C.
    Brett C.
    • one review
    10/10

    The whole evening was just perfect, the food was delicious and the wines they matched them with worked perfectly. The wait staff were informative, funny, and professional and really made the evening super special. I can't recommend this place highly enough.

  23. Lucy S.
    Lucy S.
    • one review
    9/10

    This resto is cozy and services is excellent . Entree is excellent The steak is good but in my opinion less tasty (May be a bit marinated before it’s grilled would be better) Dessert is very good Services is 2 thumbs

  24. Eliza r.
    Eliza r.
    • one review
    9/10

    great location, intimate setting.

  25. Nancy M.
    Nancy M.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Lunch menu is excellent value for money. This little restaurant must be South Yarra's best kept secret. Fine dining presentation and service at 'pub' prices.

  26. Aaron L.
    Aaron L.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Food was really great, with dishes cooked to perfection, but somehow better than that was the stellar service from the very friendly and knowledgeable staff

  27. Vanessa L.
    Vanessa L.
    • 9 reviews
    9/10

    Really enjoyed the food and service was wonderful.

  28. A A.
    A A.
    • 288 reviews
    5.25/10

    Not much to provide

  29. Jacques R.
    Jacques R.
    • 38 reviews
    9.75/10

    Best steak in Melbourne. Must visit.

  30. Felicia C.
    Felicia C.
    • one review
    9.75/10

    Steer Dining Room never fails to impress every single time I have visited

  31. Jacques R.
    Jacques R.
    • 38 reviews
    9/10

    Great steak - worth visiting

  32. A A.
    A A.
    • 263 reviews
    9.25/10

    Steer is a favourite for a great steak, a nice glass of wine and excellent service at a reasonable price. Highly recommended.

  33. Vee N.
    Vee N.
    • one review
    9/10

    Good food and ambience

  34. Bianca D.
    Bianca D.
    • one review
    10/10

    Beautiful decor amazing food, drinks and service you couldnt fault

  35. Kym n.
    Kym n.
    • 10 reviews
    9/10

    We arrived 30mins late to our booking and we were still accommodated and wasn't rushed to leave even when we were pre advised we had to give up our table at 8.30pm. As we were there to celebrate my birthday, they brought out a little birthday treat. Felt spoilt

  36. Sammi M.
    Sammi M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great service and atmosphere. Reasonably priced and delicious steaks, wine amd cocktails! Thanks a lot.

  37. Edmond L.
    Edmond L.
    • one review
    9.25/10

    Staffs are professional, recommended me some beautiful wine and steak . 10/10 services

  38. Jimmy D.
    Jimmy D.
    • one review
    9.25/10

    Steak was outstanding. Will be back.

  39. A A.
    A A.
    • 273 reviews
    8.75/10

    Great presentation with the meat board

  40. Digby L.
    Digby L.
    • one review
    10/10

    Always great steak and wine with excellent service and atmosphere. Highly recommended!