Back

Reviews Sussex Hotel

8.2/10

Very good

based on 55 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Jillian B.
    Jillian B.
    • one review
    5/10

    The portion size of the food served has reduced dramatically. The service was good however we had to ask for condiments e.g salt and pepper. They used to have a place you could access condiments without asking which was easier.

  2. Rowie B.
    Rowie B.
    • 6 reviews
    8.5/10

    A very friendly and welcoming atmosphere, and food that was above average pub tucker, well priced also. Steaks were cooked exactly as ordered, and meal presentation was excellent. We will be back.

  3. Rudy G.
    Rudy G.
    • 12 reviews
    4/10

    Wing deals only apply to the bar.

  4. David H.
    David H.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    Not happy with our greeting on arrival being told abruptly to get behind the line by a dumpy woman during the evening noticed 6 people over the line and the same staff member was joking and laughing with them obviously regulars not the way to get new regulars my wife and I have decided we won’t Be returning

  5. Win D.
    Win D.
    • 16 reviews
    8.5/10

    Nice atmosphere for dining outdoor in the busy suburb and food was ok . We’re happy to go back again. A little disappointed with no salad bar available anymore..

  6. Halina S.
    Halina S.
    • 18 reviews
    10/10

    Great food and service. Excellent location.

  7. A A.
    A A.
    • 245 reviews
    10/10

    Sunday roast. Excellent quality meat, good veg and fantastic Yorkshire pudding!

  8. A A.
    A A.
    • 283 reviews
    7/10

    Nice solid meals. Disappointed the wine we wanted wasn't available but they had nice wellness cocktails

  9. A A.
    A A.
    • 245 reviews
    3/10

    Really disappointed with lunch yesterday. Have been attending the Sussex for years and, being a vegetarian, always enjoyed the salad bar. I ordered the spring rolls yesterday (which I was surprised are served with nothing, ie additional cost involved) and then was informed they were not vegetarian. I actually found the vegetarian menu really limited and not appealing either. I eventually landed up with fried eggplant slices which looked like squid and a garden salad. It was really an unbelievable boring and totally uninteresting meal which cost $16. At other establishments for that price I can get a vegeburger (or vegetarian spring rolls) with salad and chips. Since the upgrade, I believe the place has really gone down. My dining partner (a meat eater) said maybe it is time we looked for another lunch venue. Really so disappointed from an establishment I have been enjoying Sunday lunch at for so many years. We finally got a roll and butter each delivered to our table as we had just about finished our meal, my friend didn't bother eating hers. This place has really gone down hill. And I assume the justification for getting rid of the salad bar is that it was not cost effective ie you are putting $$$s before customer service and satisfaction. My meal was the most ordinary lunch I have had in years.

  10. Rebecca A.
    Rebecca A.
    • 2 reviews
    9.25/10

    We loved The Lane sparkling wine and the staff were very friendly. I couldn’t fault my lamb salad! The decor is pleasant and we would return for lunch again.

  11. A A.
    A A.
    • 276 reviews
    8/10

    Everyone enjoyed their meals. The staff were very polite and friendly

  12. A A.
    A A.
    • 258 reviews
    7.5/10

    Decent enough pub food with friendly service.

  13. A A.
    A A.
    • 284 reviews
    10/10

    Fantastic! We all had a lovely time

  14. Barrie B.
    Barrie B.
    • 2 reviews
    4.75/10

    After having been closed for so long for renovations, I and my guest were very surprised to find the decor considerably less attractive than before -- bland would be my description. Only 6 other diners in the week before Christmas, and the menu had not changed from last year. We won't be back.

  15. Phil T.
    Phil T.
    • 2 reviews
    5.75/10

    Disappointed there was no vegi bar. Would not be in a hurry to return

  16. A A.
    A A.
    • 274 reviews
    2.25/10

    Way too noisy in the restaurant. It doesn’t have description on the food at all. I ordered duck shanks for entree not knowing that they were deep fried. Should I have known, I wouldn’t have ordered it in a million years. It tastes awful. Kind of ruin my evening

  17. Chris s.
    Chris s.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    Our group of 4 dined at The Sussex last night for the first time. We were all very happy with the food choices, which were delicious and generous. The service and ambience were top notch! We will definitely be back!

  18. A A.
    A A.
    • 276 reviews
    7.5/10

    Pleasant staff, good menu and wine list. A local hotel with nice food that is well presented. Would recommend for casual gatherings. It was a little noisy the evening we visited.

  19. A A.
    A A.
    • 261 reviews
    8/10

    Good food and nice atmosphere especially if it’s a nice night you can sit in the alfresco area

  20. Mark F.
    Mark F.
    • 3 reviews
    7.25/10

    Food was nice and the sun came out

  21. A A.
    A A.
    • 277 reviews
    8/10

    Food was a fine dining quality

  22. Liz C.
    Liz C.
    • one review
    9.25/10

    Great location

  23. Chris W.
    Chris W.
    • 2 reviews
    8.5/10

    Salad bar vastly improved. It's now very good.

  24. A A.
    A A.
    • 257 reviews
    7/10

    The service and food were good. However the cappuccino and flat white coffees were not to our standard - it could be the brand of coffee they have.

  25. Laurine V.
    Laurine V.
    • 20 reviews
    7.5/10

    It was very noisy even though it wasnt full. Maybe its the wooden floors carpet absorbs some noise

  26. A A.
    A A.
    • 306 reviews
    8.5/10

    We enjoyed the food. The service was great too. Will certainly be going back again. Note - it is hard to give points for the drinks as we only had water!

  27. Guna S.
    Guna S.
    • 3 reviews
    9.25/10

    Food was great. Staff were good. Fruit bar was bit gone off sort of due to probably refrigeration failure.

  28. John M.
    John M.
    • 12 reviews
    10/10

    Great experience as usual. Staff are great and all needs are catered for. Recommend.

  29. Graeme K.
    Graeme K.
    • 23 reviews
    3.75/10

    I was on a 50% discount offer which made the food good value. The Hotel was very noisy with construction work in progress close by. This made conversation and pleasure very difficult to achieve. The staff were friendly and good and they had to cope with my wife's general displeasure with everything. So not a good experience but I would give it another try after quite a while.

  30. A A.
    A A.
    • 245 reviews
    8.75/10

    Good food and good service

  31. Julie M.
    Julie M.
    • 22 reviews
    7.25/10

    Very friendly staff made you feel welcome. We had the Fillet Steak which at $33 seemed fairly expensive but luckily we had 50% off with Dimmi booking. We ordered medium rare but it was cooked medium well with only a tinge of pink in the middle. Salad and vegetable bar offering was reasonable. Fair range of wines by the glass.

  32. Pam F.
    Pam F.
    • 16 reviews
    9.5/10

    Great serve size at great value

  33. A A.
    A A.
    • 267 reviews
    6.5/10

    My partner thought his rump was a bit small, but I thought my burger was OK. The patty was (perfectly) cooked medium rare for the first time. The only weird thing was the burger came with a poached egg when we asked for a fried egg. Vegetable bar was better prior to the management change...

  34. Mel B.
    Mel B.
    • one review
    8/10

    Great service and great food and atmosphere

  35. A A.
    A A.
    • 272 reviews
    8.5/10

    Great pub with good bistro meals