8.1/10
Very good
based on 38 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Halina S.
    Halina S.
    • 13 reviews
    10/10

    Great food and service. Excellent location.

  2. A A.
    A A.
    • 245 reviews
    10/10

    Sunday roast. Excellent quality meat, good veg and fantastic Yorkshire pudding!

  3. A A.
    A A.
    • 283 reviews
    7/10

    Nice solid meals. Disappointed the wine we wanted wasn't available but they had nice wellness cocktails

  4. A A.
    A A.
    • 245 reviews
    3/10

    Really disappointed with lunch yesterday. Have been attending the Sussex for years and, being a vegetarian, always enjoyed the salad bar. I ordered the spring rolls yesterday (which I was surprised are served with nothing, ie additional cost involved) and then was informed they were not vegetarian. I actually found the vegetarian menu really limited and not appealing either. I eventually landed up with fried eggplant slices which looked like squid and a garden salad. It was really an unbelievable boring and totally uninteresting meal which cost $16. At other establishments for that price I can get a vegeburger (or vegetarian spring rolls) with salad and chips. Since the upgrade, I believe the place has really gone down. My dining partner (a meat eater) said maybe it is time we looked for another lunch venue. Really so disappointed from an establishment I have been enjoying Sunday lunch at for so many years. We finally got a roll and butter each delivered to our table as we had just about finished our meal, my friend didn't bother eating hers. This place has really gone down hill. And I assume the justification for getting rid of the salad bar is that it was not cost effective ie you are putting $$$s before customer service and satisfaction. My meal was the most ordinary lunch I have had in years.

  5. Rebecca A.
    Rebecca A.
    • 2 reviews
    9.25/10

    We loved The Lane sparkling wine and the staff were very friendly. I couldn’t fault my lamb salad! The decor is pleasant and we would return for lunch again.

  6. A A.
    A A.
    • 276 reviews
    8/10

    Everyone enjoyed their meals. The staff were very polite and friendly

  7. A A.
    A A.
    • 258 reviews
    7.5/10

    Decent enough pub food with friendly service.

  8. A A.
    A A.
    • 284 reviews
    10/10

    Fantastic! We all had a lovely time

  9. Barrie B.
    Barrie B.
    • 2 reviews
    4.75/10

    After having been closed for so long for renovations, I and my guest were very surprised to find the decor considerably less attractive than before -- bland would be my description. Only 6 other diners in the week before Christmas, and the menu had not changed from last year. We won't be back.

  10. Phil T.
    Phil T.
    • 2 reviews
    5.75/10

    Disappointed there was no vegi bar. Would not be in a hurry to return

  11. A A.
    A A.
    • 274 reviews
    2.25/10

    Way too noisy in the restaurant. It doesn’t have description on the food at all. I ordered duck shanks for entree not knowing that they were deep fried. Should I have known, I wouldn’t have ordered it in a million years. It tastes awful. Kind of ruin my evening

  12. Chris s.
    Chris s.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    Our group of 4 dined at The Sussex last night for the first time. We were all very happy with the food choices, which were delicious and generous. The service and ambience were top notch! We will definitely be back!

  13. A A.
    A A.
    • 276 reviews
    7.5/10

    Pleasant staff, good menu and wine list. A local hotel with nice food that is well presented. Would recommend for casual gatherings. It was a little noisy the evening we visited.

  14. A A.
    A A.
    • 261 reviews
    8/10

    Good food and nice atmosphere especially if it’s a nice night you can sit in the alfresco area

  15. Mark F.
    Mark F.
    • 3 reviews
    7.25/10

    Food was nice and the sun came out

  16. A A.
    A A.
    • 277 reviews
    8/10

    Food was a fine dining quality

  17. Liz C.
    Liz C.
    • one review
    9.25/10

    Great location

  18. Chris W.
    Chris W.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Salad bar vastly improved. It's now very good.

  19. A A.
    A A.
    • 257 reviews
    7/10

    The service and food were good. However the cappuccino and flat white coffees were not to our standard - it could be the brand of coffee they have.

  20. Laurine V.
    Laurine V.
    • 18 reviews
    7.5/10

    It was very noisy even though it wasnt full. Maybe its the wooden floors carpet absorbs some noise