Back

Reviews Syracuse

9.1/10
Excellent
based on 209 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Jennifer H.
    Jennifer H.
    • 14 reviews
    8/10

    Nice atmosphere

  2. Andrew H.
    Andrew H.
    • 7 reviews
    7/10

    Such a beautiful restaurant and exemplary service that is quashed by the poor quality of the food. We had the three course lunch special with mineral water. Our bill came to $129. Which included an exorbitant amount for sparkling mineral water. First course Kingfish - which was fishy and hard, broadbean salad - which was some snow peas and broad beans missed with feta is a bowl. Nothing special. Mains - a tiny pan fried chicken tenderloin cooked in butter with some shredded veggies. It was something I would have made at home. The portion was minuscule. pasta fungi - the pasta was hard, joined together - totally undercooked. There was so much butter that any flavour from the four or five mushrooms was washed away. Desert - a cheese “board”. Well that was about it - a tiny board with some relish a single very thin slice of creamy blue cheese and a few biscuits. So disappointing and so expensive.

  3. Winston M.
    Winston M.
    • 5 reviews
    9.5/10

    Awesome service, the sommelier knew his craft and made great recommendations. The food was top notch, very enjoyable night.

  4. Anne L.
    Anne L.
    • one review
    10/10

    This restaurant was perfect for celebrating my son’s birthday. We were a group of nine and were seated at a lovely big table. The food was all delicious and the service was excellent.

  5. marita w.
    marita w.
    • one review
    10/10

    We had the degustation menu with matched premium wines and it was heavenly. Excellent food, wines that I would have never thought to try and cheerful accommodation of all my food intolerances. Sommelier was pleasant, thoughtful and knowledgeable. A wonderful night.

  6. Leanne A.
    Leanne A.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    The food was delicious and it felt like being at an exclusive place is Europe. Great service!

  7. Anthony S.
    Anthony S.
    • 6 reviews
    8.5/10

    Quiet night but excellent food and service. The wine list is outstanding with many good price options. Portion size is a little on the small side but quality is excellent. Service was good and very knowledgeable sommelier to help with wines.

  8. Chris H.
    Chris H.
    • 14 reviews
    8/10

    Great restaurant and wine bar serving quality food and with a really strong wine list. Beautiful building and some lovely, understated service. A bit of a Melbourne institution now.

  9. Rosemary K.
    Rosemary K.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Service was very good and food excellent although quite a small menu. Unfortunately with a nightclub next door there was quite loud music coming in from 9pm so we didn't linger.

  10. Anoush B.
    Anoush B.
    • 24 reviews
    9.5/10

    Food was delicious and service was great too. Atmosphere is a winner here as it is old worldly.

  11. A A.
    A A.
    • 273 reviews
    9.25/10

    A lovely Old Melbourne vibe, well prepared dishes and attentive service. Will definitely be back!

  12. A A.
    A A.
    • 252 reviews
    9.75/10

    Lovely space ...

  13. A A.
    A A.
    • 261 reviews
    9/10

    The head waiter knows his wines Nice old time feel Service was timely

  14. Lip Shien A.
    Lip Shien A.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Amazing atmosphere and ambient. Serve food till late. Excellent and friendly staffs. Highly recommended!

  15. A A.
    A A.
    • 258 reviews
    5/10

    The wines were good, the list extensiveand their presentation professional. The food was a great dissapointment. Having eaten at Syracuse over many years I returned expecting the previously enjoyed fine dining experience . On this occasion the food was quite mediocre. There were items ordered that were not presented, and one desert was overlooked and came not resembling its description on the menu.

  16. A A.
    A A.
    • 244 reviews
    9/10

    A very pleasant dining experience - good ‘space’, excellent food & wine and attentive, friendly waiters.

  17. Robyn S.
    Robyn S.
    • one review
    8.75/10

    Wonderful food and lovely evening.

  18. A A.
    A A.
    • 282 reviews
    10/10

    Wonderful food and wine pairing was spot on

  19. A A.
    A A.
    • 281 reviews
    7/10

    Great food and good for business meetings.

  20. Lance B.
    Lance B.
    • one review
    10/10

    Amazing place, great people, great service great food. They give you wonderful information about all the wines. The food is divine. My first time but will come back, thoroughly enjoyed our meal and service, truely great place for a meal

  21. A A.
    A A.
    • 260 reviews
    8.75/10

    We had the lovely degustation. A dreamy atmosphere and fabulous service. A must do in Melbourne!

  22. Adam S.
    Adam S.
    • 7 reviews
    8.25/10

    Great little venue with a distinctly European feel. The service was very capable. The food was delicious and the wines we tried were great as well as was the wine list.

  23. A A.
    A A.
    • 261 reviews
    9/10

    Lovely setting in a historic building. Small, but excellent menu and extensive local and international wine list.

  24. A A.
    A A.
    • 276 reviews
    8.75/10

    Very nice but a bit pricey for a return visit.

  25. Charnie G.
    Charnie G.
    • one review
    9/10

    would recommend again

  26. A A.
    A A.
    • 278 reviews
    9.25/10

    Lovely location and ambience. Duck was perfect.

  27. A A.
    A A.
    • 277 reviews
    9/10

    Lovely meal, great service, will definitely go again.

  28. A A.
    A A.
    • 259 reviews
    9.25/10

    A wonderful ambience and attentive staff in a lovely period building.

  29. Peter B.
    Peter B.
    • 2 reviews
    8.25/10

    Great sommelier

  30. A A.
    A A.
    • 263 reviews
    9.5/10

    Fabulous food and wine, would dine here again.

  31. A A.
    A A.
    • 268 reviews
    9.25/10

    Such a cool place. Beautiful interiors, great place for breakfast/brunch. Highly recommend.

  32. A A.
    A A.
    • 283 reviews
    9/10

    Great service, amazing wine list. I had a lovely citrus mocktail. Cheese platter and liver parfait for entree.The gnocchi was very light and great desserts as expected

  33. Ken S.
    Ken S.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Love coming here. Highly reconnnded. The translations in the bathroom are a bit out of character but hey ho!

  34. Cindy D.
    Cindy D.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Friendly staff, great service. Highly recommend.

  35. Murray S.
    Murray S.
    • 3 reviews
    8.75/10

    Fantastic meal and wines. The service was brilliant and the ambiance memorable. Highly recommended.

  36. A A.
    A A.
    • 260 reviews
    9.75/10

    Great overall. Superb service and food.

  37. Ilka C.
    Ilka C.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    Made my friend's birthday memorable. Superb service!

  38. Christina M.
    Christina M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Loved it, spectacular lunch.

  39. A A.
    A A.
    • 265 reviews
    8.5/10

    Food was delicious but the lunch portions were small.

  40. Jill H.
    Jill H.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    Cheese platter served as dessert option. Way to pricey for the amount of cheese offered. Express menu options pretty good Service good