7.9/10
based on 125 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Steven F.
    Steven F.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    We had our CNY dinner at this restaurant and really enjoyed the dishes we ordered, both in presentation and taste. We were attended to promptly by the friendly staff but did have to ask for a couple of empty dishes to taken away from our crowded table. All up, a very enjoyable meal and time

  2. A A.
    A A.
    • 254 reviews
    9.5/10

    This restaurant has improved every time we have visited, particularly in service & table setting. The food has always been excellent and continues to be some of the most delicious Asian food in Canberra.

  3. A A.
    A A.
    • 270 reviews
    8.5/10

    Great authentic Chinese food

  4. A A.
    A A.
    • 285 reviews
    7.5/10

    I really enjoyed the food here. The service was also good.

  5. A A.
    A A.
    • 272 reviews
    8.75/10

    The food was great and my friend and I should have listened to the hostess as the portion sizes were big to the point of us having to take a few doggy bags home with us.

  6. A A.
    A A.
    • 276 reviews
    4.25/10

    Terrieble service....

  7. Andrew L.
    Andrew L.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    Enjoyable lunch time dining

  8. A A.
    A A.
    • 262 reviews
    7.25/10

    The food were quite nice but the portion was small compared to the expensive price so not value for money as a whole!

  9. A A.
    A A.
    • 253 reviews
    9.75/10

    We needed to have a very early meal. The service was excellent and the flavours delicious.

  10. A A.
    A A.
    • 265 reviews
    7.5/10

    Good quality Chinese food at a decent price

  11. A A.
    A A.
    • 256 reviews
    8/10

    The service was slow to start but the food was good.

  12. Ian M.
    Ian M.
    • 28 reviews
    7.75/10

    Good food and relatively inexpensive

  13. Jeremy M.
    Jeremy M.
    • 7 reviews
    8.5/10

    Good food in the city centre

  14. A A.
    A A.
    • 278 reviews
    8.5/10

    We had the $45 banquet and the food kept coming. Fantastic value and absolutely delicious!

  15. A A.
    A A.
    • 260 reviews
    8/10

    The food was really well prepared and cooked. Some dishes were small in quantity but tastes really good. Service was basic

  16. Sue t.
    Sue t.
    • 33 reviews
    10/10

    Great eggplant dish. Good service.

  17. A A.
    A A.
    • 275 reviews
    7.25/10

    It started slowly, with staff clearing other tables while we were waiting for someone to take an order. Also, other staff seemed to be running everywhere - which is quite unsettling! Notwithstanding these two issues, the food was spectacular. Absolutely wonderful! We'd go again tomorrow!

  18. Bret L.
    Bret L.
    • 12 reviews
    8.75/10

    The food is outstanding. The only thing that was less than perfect was the front door kept jamming open. It let in a freezing cold breeze which was really annoying.

  19. A A.
    A A.
    • 249 reviews
    6.75/10

    There was 6 other tables when went here on a Saturday night at about 8pm. Service was very prompt and friendly. The homemade sweet bean sauce for the peking duck pancakes was very tasty. Their serving sizes are generous which makes them great value for money. The salt & pepper squid was delicious. The garlic prawn & scallop was a bit bland. Overall, it's a great place for traditional Chinese food and especially great if you can handle your spice as they offer plenty of dishes using Szechuan peppers.

  20. Ramphone P.
    Ramphone P.
    • 7 reviews
    10/10

    Beautiful food and friendly staff

  21. A A.
    A A.
    • 276 reviews
    7.5/10

    Always good food quality. Service has room for improvement (needs to be both more friendly and more attentive to the customer).

  22. A A.
    A A.
    • 257 reviews
    7.5/10

    A nice mix of different Chinese cuisines, well prepared and of good quality - the staff could have been slightly more attentive to ourselves as a couple eating, but were having to deal with some large groups of customers at the time.

  23. A A.
    A A.
    • 263 reviews
    8.25/10

    Lovely relaxing atmosphere with good authentic Chinese food.

  24. Vicki B.
    Vicki B.
    • one review
    9/10

    A lovely birthday lunch with a friend. Excellent service.

  25. William S.
    William S.
    • 16 reviews
    7.75/10

    Have dined here several times and enjoy the quality of food. Prawn and ginger dumplings are always good. This time tried the short rib and while the flavor was nice, the ribs were rather tough.

  26. A A.
    A A.
    • 277 reviews
    7/10

    Dishes are extraordinarily small on the big plates.

  27. William S.
    William S.
    • 16 reviews
    8.5/10

    Another good meal at Tasting China.

  28. William S.
    William S.
    • 16 reviews
    8.25/10

    Food quality is very good and they have added some further variety to the menu. Good choice when you are in the mood for Chinese food.

  29. A A.
    A A.
    • 283 reviews
    10/10

    Great food and service a little over priced but worth it

  30. Di R.
    Di R.
    • one review
    10/10

    We had the most beautiful meal. Very authentic chinese. The service was wonderful. A very handsome young man looked after us old girls like royalty.

  31. A A.
    A A.
    • 287 reviews
    9.25/10

    Food was good and came out quite quickly. The prawn dumplings and grandma pork were delicious. The short ribs were a little chewy but sauce was lovely. We would go back again.

  32. William S.
    William S.
    • 16 reviews
    8.25/10

    Good quality food. Service could be a bit more friendly.

  33. A A.
    A A.
    • 289 reviews
    7.5/10

    Tasty food and good service.

  34. Robert F.
    Robert F.
    • one review
    9.75/10

    Must be the finest Chinese food in Canberra at the moment. As a member of a wine and food group who dine on a regular basis, I will definitely recommend Tasting China to anyone who appreciates good food.

  35. Farley H.
    Farley H.
    • 12 reviews
    8.75/10

    Never fails to deliver wonderful food and excellent service. Highly recommended

  36. Michael K.
    Michael K.
    • one review
    9/10

    I really love the food here. Its always amazing and the there is so much flavor in every dish!! They have recently changed the menu with some of our favorite dishes gone, but it was still a fantastic dinner.

  37. Zoe M.
    Zoe M.
    • one review
    8.75/10

    We really enjoyed the food and the service was good. We had a banquet and were impressed with the amount of food. All the dishes had great flavour. We took a birthday cake and they played happy birthday over the speakers - nice touch.

  38. A A.
    A A.
    • 264 reviews
    9/10

    Delicious, can't wait till next time!

  39. Andrew  M.
    Andrew M.
    • 8 reviews
    7.25/10

    Wine list was limited but the restaurant acknowledged that the list is under reconstruction. Beef ribs unfortunately were more rib than beef. Flavours were good but more meat on the ribs would be great.

  40. A A.
    A A.
    • 265 reviews
    8/10

    Menu has changed and though the taste is still very good, it is disappointing that the portions are now a lot smaller than before and therefore not value for money. Used to rate Tasting China as the best Chinese in Canberra in terms of quality and authenticity of food as well as value. Not anymore. Also they have 10% surcharge for children under 12?!?!