7.8/10
based on 95 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Heather H.
    Heather H.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Food was delicious, large quanity, my friend and I shared a meal (plenty for lunch). Quick response when ordered. Will definitely go there again. Very good value for money.

  2. Phil H.
    Phil H.
    • one review
    9/10

    Friends had talked this place up and I was not disappointed. Wish I had a second stomach

  3. Kelly L.
    Kelly L.
    • 8 reviews
    7.5/10

    The Bavarian isn't anything special in terms of serving not gourmet, but hearty food. What food it offers, and servings aren't small, is good enough to justify coming back. The food isn't something you can have regularly given the richness of it, but it leaves just enough satisfaction in your mind to want try something else on the menu when you inevitably return.

  4. Ben L.
    Ben L.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    Good food and good value! We always leave extremely full and satisfied.

  5. Nichole L.
    Nichole L.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Food portion is huge! And it’s tasty!!

  6. Henna C.
    Henna C.
    • 91 reviews
    8.5/10

    Great ambiance. Service was quick and friendly.

  7. Liz B.
    Liz B.
    • 6 reviews
    7.5/10

    Food was good when it eventually arrived.

  8. Craig J.
    Craig J.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Great service and serving size was very large. Not affected by video music where we were sitting. Price is fair and with the fork 50% off it was outstanding value. Would recommend and go again in the future

  9. Cat T.
    Cat T.
    • 4 reviews
    7/10

    Had to wait to be served for quite a while. The bar man was rude and uninterested in flagging down the wait staff to assist us. Once seated our waiter was very pleasant and eager to suggest drinks and explain the menu. The atmosphere is very loud. The wait for food is very long, but at least you know it's fresh. The salads are generous. The knuckle should be avoided if your teeth can't really handle hard things. The sample plates are terrific. Overall The Bavarian Belconnen is worth a visit.

  10. Xun L.
    Xun L.
    • 4 reviews
    9.5/10

    Food was amazing!

  11. Eva L.
    Eva L.
    • 7 reviews
    8/10

    Family had hotdog, Bavarian platter and schnitzel. Food was tasty and portion size generous.

  12. Woei-Sheu W.
    Woei-Sheu W.
    • 2 reviews
    7/10

    While good and atmosphere is pretty decent, there is one minor complaint, that The Bavarian seems to be understaffed, and it was always close to full house. So you might have to try a few times before a serving staff is available

  13. Trevor C.
    Trevor C.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    We both had schnitzels which were very good. There is a good range of beers and a huge number of schnapps to choose from. Staff were very good and the service and atmosphere were great.

  14. Chantal S.
    Chantal S.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    The restaurant is inside Westfield and is typically German, with long wooden tables, large portions with plenty of meat. Our kids love the schnitzel and they were given colouring in crayons for their menus. The staff were very friendly and the food tasted good. Drinks are BIG too, we got out drinks and happy hour so it was excellent value.

  15. Craig  N.
    Craig N.
    • one review
    8/10

    We waited a while to be seated, and then waited for the children's menus to be printed. After about 30 minutes our order was taken, only to find out they didn't have the beer I'd ordered. But when the food came out all that was forgotten. Great food, the kids meals were excellent. Good servings size and tasty tasty tasty. We weren't offered more drinks which was disappointing but as I said the quality of the food made up for it. Overall my family enjoyed it and we will be back to give them another go.

  16. Jacqueline K.
    Jacqueline K.
    • one review
    4.5/10

    Unfortunately we did not have a good experience. We waited 40 minutes for our food to come - our sides never arrived at all. My husbands meal was missing half and my meal was the wrong one. When we mentioned this to the staff they said “well you got a better meal than the one you ordered”. The restaurant was not busy, so I’m not sure why there were so many errors. We did however have a lovely staff member offer us a free desert or drink to make up for the errors.

  17. Tandiana  S.
    Tandiana S.
    • one review
    5.5/10

    Seems to be under-staffed. Waited on a long queue with no staff attending for a long time. Food took long time and wasn’t provided at the same time for everyone in the group. Tables with dirty plates & glasses were left uncleaned for a long time, making it unpleasant. My brother-in-law and his friends came on a different day and ended up leaving as there was no service after waiting for a ling time.

  18. Colin U.
    Colin U.
    • 4 reviews
    8.5/10

    The food was great as I have found on all visits to Belconnen Bavarian, the service was good and the music was very loud making any conversation nearly impossible.

  19. Finnian M.
    Finnian M.
    • one review
    4/10

    Poor service. Initially seated in an incredibly uncomfortable seat with loud music, next to the kitchen and literally underneath a spotlight illuminating our table 15x more than any surrounding table. When asked to move was met with weird looks and an "ok I guess". We then waited 45 minutes to be served. 2 people got their food in 10 minutes, the others waited 50 minutes before we left without their food arriving. Staff appeared inexperienced and unwilling to work, wouldn't even serve us as we stood at the bar trying to get a drink. Would never return.

  20. Kylie B.
    Kylie B.
    • one review
    6/10

    Not enough staff. Waited ages for a waiter and ended up ordering at the bar. Food was great though. Some drinks were not charged to my bill so I had to ask and pay separately.

  21. David H.
    David H.
    • one review
    4.5/10

    Service extremely slow. Took over half an hour to get a drink from the bar. There were not enough staff members to serve people, especially around 7pm when the restaurant started to get busy

  22. Charles Z.
    Charles Z.
    • 2 reviews
    4.5/10

    Avoid and find a better restaurant. The pork knuckle came out warm with cold mash. Sent it back being told it would be replaced but it was microwaved which toughened the meat. Our other meal was an over cooked dry schnitzel with cold soggy chips. Add in the lacklustre service on an early Friday night and I can assure you I will not be returning.

    The Bavarian Belconnen

    Hi Charles, Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal at the Bavarian Belconnen, we have a new Chef who has Michelin star experience and I assure you that you will love your meal this time you come in. We look forward to an opportunity to serve you tasty food when you come in next! Not only will you enjoy tasty German food but also the best of service that the Bavarian has to offer!

  23. Jennifer J.
    Jennifer J.
    • 3 reviews
    3/10

    I had a booking for 6.30. Arrived on time and asked for water for the table. We ordered beers at 6.35 and I had to ask for the manager at 7.15 because we still didn’t get them after asking staff twice. Still no water either. Food arrived before our beers. Food was very average. Why doesn’t fish and chips come with a little salad? Chips(dry) and fish. That was it. This was our second visit and last time service was extremely slow too. Not going a third time. My eating out with my family is more special then that.

    The Bavarian Belconnen

    HI Jennifer, Sorry to hear that you did not have the experience you should have had when you first visited the Bavarian! With a new team we and a Michelin star chef who started working this week, we are hoping you will give us a third and final attempt to turn your views around! I will ensure that the Managers of the restaurant personally take care of your table and give you the Bavarian Experience that you deserve! We look forward to having you and family back for a fun-filled memorable experience at The Bavarian.

  24. Mick M.
    Mick M.
    • one review
    6/10

    The beer and cocktail selection is amazing. The food selection is limited, but adequate and pretty good but not teribbly authentic or exceptional in any way. The service was horrible. We stood waiting to be acknowledged for close to ten minutes. After a host noticed us we were told that our "reserved" table was dirty and that we could wait at the bar until it was cleaned. Once we finally got to sit down we found only a drinks menu on the table. A server took our drinks order and asked if we wanted a snack. We didn't as we hadn't see a proper menu yet. It took awhile for our drinks to arrive and even longer for a menu to arrive. Once we ordered it took a long time for our meal to arrive despite the fact that there weren't many guests in the restaurant. A server came by once to ask how our food was. When we were finished it took more than 15 minutes for anyone to notice we wanted to pay and leave. We asked for a take away box and were told a really long story about how they were really low on boxes and there might not be any left. Finally we got a take away box and were able to pay and leave. We will go back for the mango beer, but I doubt we will ever take the time to order food again.

  25. Blaire P.
    Blaire P.
    • 7 reviews
    8.5/10

    Food is delicious, very generous portion sizes and our server was very attentive and lovely. Biggest problem is putting so many people on the same table, it is very squishy and makes it very hard to eat!

  26. Colin U.
    Colin U.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    The waitress who took our order was fabulous, don't know her name.Staff were friendly and helpful, offering suggestions. The food was delicious and filling. The beer normally great was a little flat.

  27. Joanne l.
    Joanne l.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    Great food and the venue was welcoming. The staff were attentive and the food was delivered really fast. We had the feats platter for 4 can’t go wrong

  28. Vince M.
    Vince M.
    • one review
    9.75/10

    Happy hour is a must go. Food was great! Service was spot on. Lots of food, take your appetite!

  29. A A.
    A A.
    • 268 reviews
    7.75/10

    A good place for something different, but not a place I see our family coming back to regularly. But good for every now and then, considering service of drinks a bit slow, some value for a family of 5, but overall maybe 6/10

  30. Kimberly F.
    Kimberly F.
    • one review
    10/10

    Food and service was great, great location and not far from home

  31. Nicole P.
    Nicole P.
    • 20 reviews
    8.75/10

    Amazing lunch. Love this place. Will return!

  32. A A.
    A A.
    • 262 reviews
    6/10

    Over-rated. Don't mind paying for the premium German beers, but food way too expensive. I hate to think how much it would cost for a family. The first two of my menu selections weren't available and partner's meal was delivered when I was still choosing third time. Basic schnitzels for $32@ and minimal sides ... oh and pay extra for gravy.

  33. Philip  G.
    Philip G.
    • 2 reviews
    8.75/10

    Food is great, but pricey. Great range of beers. Just about got the business model right.

  34. A A.
    A A.
    • 284 reviews
    4.5/10

    The red wine was ridiculously expensive. The food servings were very generous but the service was so slow and drink order was not correct.

  35. Jodie K.
    Jodie K.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Great venue for a casual dinner with friends. Very generous servings. Service was fantastic. Will definitely recommend to friends and family.

  36. Mike B.
    Mike B.
    • one review
    9/10

    Booked online, but when we arrived they did not have a booking for us, although I had a booking referance number, we did however get a table with no issues. Service was fast and friendly and the food was fantastic. The one criticism would be that it was a warm Sunday night and there was no airconditioning turned on. It was very warm and uncomfortable in there.

  37. A A.
    A A.
    • 265 reviews
    8/10

    The food and drinks were really good! Service was a bit average, but we guessed that it was due to the fact that the restaurant is still relatively new and they are working out the system! Still had a wonderful meal with friends!

  38. A A.
    A A.
    • 276 reviews
    7/10

    The staffs were very friendly, however, the food is ordinary and the pork knuckle was a bit dry.

  39. Joe P.
    Joe P.
    • one review
    0/10

    After waiting 1 hour just to order and asking other customers how long they waited(1.30 to 2 hours) we left

  40. Rebecca M.
    Rebecca M.
    • one review
    5.75/10

    I waited 20 mins for my wine. The food came before the drinks