Back

Reviews - The Bavarian Chermside

8.3/10

Very good

based on 422 reviews
Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review. The global rating is based on all ratings and reviews but only those written in English are displayed.
  1. Chenell H.
    Chenell H.
    • one review
    7/10

    Food was good, salad was pretty average! No dressing! Definitely not crispy pork. A couple of things not on the menu. No fireballs. No umbrella above our table.

  2. Callum A.
    Callum A.
    • one review
    10/10

    I had the pretzel and the ribs, both were absolutely amazing. The staff were very friendly and willing to help if needed. The online menu was simple and seamless. An excellent experience overall.

  3. Audra B.
    Audra B.
    • one review
    9/10

    The menu and ordering was great at the tables. No confusion with staff taking the order however the payment system would not take my debit card (no charges) details so i had to pay with paypal and cop the extra charges. But over all great night with friends

  4. Dennis B.
    Dennis B.
    • one review
    8/10

    Great atmosphere, good meals and great cocktail of the month. Much prefer the order from table so thank you.

  5. Cassie S.
    Cassie S.
    • one review
    5/10

    Build your own salads were disappointing. They are not what they used to be. Lots of leaves and not much else. Also took a long time to bring out our wine (we had to ask for it). Other meals were great and good sized portions.

  6. Nicola M.
    Nicola M.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    Good simple pub food and it was fast to come out. Ordering was a bit painful but this is understandable with covid and having to use phones and apps etc.

  7. Enzina S.
    Enzina S.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    A great restaurant if you are looking for a party atmosphere on a weekend night. Lots of fun, prompt service and the staff make it engaging. A broad range of food as well to suit everyone.

  8. Anne T.
    Anne T.
    • one review
    9/10

    Staff were welcoming and seated us quickly and the manager Maney moved our group to a bigger table which was great as. Food and drinks served in a timely manner and everything was presented well and delicious. Staff were attentive. The only downside was it was really busy and really noisy which was expected for a Friday night which made it hard to hear some of the people at our table. Nothing to do with the restaurant and we would definitely be back. We had the special Christmas tasting platter.

  9. Nicholas B.
    Nicholas B.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great service and atmosphere. Be sure to order some schnapps and pork belly followed by a few 1 litre beers. Foodservice was fast and waiters were polite. Great Place

  10. Kurt M.
    Kurt M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Excellent service!! Under 5mins for drinks and under 15mins for mains plus the food was absolutely delicious- can reccomend the ribs so tender and flavoursome :D

  11. Leon G.
    Leon G.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great food, beers and service!! Enter hungry, walk out happy!!

  12. Mark F.
    Mark F.
    • one review
    3.5/10

    Noisy, substandard food and really shitty ordering system. Not German in any way. They should not pretend to be a German pub because they are nothing like one.

  13. Sam F.
    Sam F.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Always great food and friendly staff. Will be back for sure.

  14. Sonia T.
    Sonia T.
    • 3 reviews
    6/10

    The service surcharge to order the food ourselves from the table and just to have it brought to our table is a bit of a joke Lemon wedges are not 1/2 cheeks. Fries under seasoned. Schnitzel was well cooked and crumb was good...but that's all the stars are for. Overpriced and not as good as it used to be. Probably won't be back sorry.

  15. Jim E.
    Jim E.
    • 5 reviews
    6/10

    Found it extremely noisy, ring the bell when serving shot glasses very unnecessary

  16. Lorraine P.
    Lorraine P.
    • one review
    10/10

    Really good we enjoyed everything thanks guys

  17. Raelene S.
    Raelene S.
    • one review
    10/10

    I have been here before and wanted to introduce this place to my partner, my sisiter and my brother-in-law. We all loved our meals and the service was great. We are already planning on coming back again.

  18. Perla H.
    Perla H.
    • one review
    8/10

    This restaurant is good but some worker don’t tell go in bar and order food push you to order online which is we don’t now how to do,they make it up what they mistake but I wish nex time don’t push if customer don’t now the Thai serve our foods make me happy while she serve and she make sure foods come quick,that’s why I thank her in the end I told her she make me happy.thanks

  19. Fiona M.
    Fiona M.
    • 4 reviews
    8.5/10

    Good value and amazing portion sizes. Absolutely huge to be exact. Pork was cooked beautifully but could do with a little more seasoning. Drinks were amazing and delicious. Service was great and very prompt. Very lively and atmospheric place.

  20. Kirsty W.
    Kirsty W.
    • one review
    9/10

    We booked at the Bavarian to celebrate a birthday, and we were really impressed with the service we received. Our birthday guest of honour was turning 7, and was treated like an absolute King during our visit. The Waitstaff were amazing, went over and above to help us out. Would highly recommend!

  21. Deb L.
    Deb L.
    • one review
    10/10

    My friend and I had an apple martini at this bar. It was outstanding and had a really great vibe. I would recommend it as a fun and lively place to visit.

  22. Christopher M.
    Christopher M.
    • 2 reviews
    6.5/10

    Used to be fairly regular and never had anything to complain about. Obviously feeling the pinch of Covid-19 - portion sizes were significantly smaller than usual, and it seems like everything was more expensive. Ribs were average enough, nothing to write home about, pork belly was almost all fat, kids burgers looked shrunk compared to usual. It feels like the app you have to use for ordering is fee driven and clunky - for example when you order, it asks if you want side dishes - doesn't explain that they aren't swapped, so you end up with nothing but chips everywhere, but not much meat still. Staff at front are lovely and service is on point and friendly. It's just the food was a big disappointment and not up to usual Bavarian standard.

  23. Jackie R.
    Jackie R.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    I raved about the pork belly salad last week to friends so out of 11 of us I think 1/3 ordered it. Building your own salad is the best. Lovely touch of free dessert as celebrating my birthday with friends too ????

  24. Mark H.
    Mark H.
    • one review
    5.5/10

    Post covid menu and quality is second rate compared to what is used to be. The menu is half of what it used to be and only average quality of food. I acknowledge the impact current times though. Staff were lovely and accommodating.

  25. Loki E.
    Loki E.
    • one review
    10/10

    Although not traditional and disappointed there was now Spatzle... the food was of amazing quality and presentation. The staff were extremely warming and helpful, and the presentation and atmosphere of the restaurant was exceptional. Can't wait to go back!

  26. Jackie R.
    Jackie R.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Staff were lovely and explained the ordering system which was so quick and easy to use. Food was amazing ????

  27. Margaret M.
    Margaret M.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    The staff were very friendly but we were given a table and menus but no one came near us to take an order for 25 minutes. We had to attract the attention of one of the waiters and ask them to take our order. The food then came reasonably quickly and was quite good.

  28. Amanda E.
    Amanda E.
    • one review
    10/10

    From the moment we walked in we were looked after by staff members, with activities and playing cards for the children. It was easy to order and pay online and our food and drinks were all brought to our table in a timely fashion. The food was tasty, presented nicely with generous portions. Overall, our party of 9 enjoyed our lunchtime dining experience this Father's Day.

  29. John S.
    John S.
    • one review
    9/10

    Staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. Great food and drink. Covered 2 birthdays and early Father’s Day. Thank you

  30. Elizabeth F.
    Elizabeth F.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    It was amazing and staff were really friendly

  31. Sharlene W.
    Sharlene W.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Wonderful atmosphere and great food and service.....The only thing I could fault was the music was a tad too loud but other than that we had a great time.

  32. June P.
    June P.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Service from the bar was slow. Meals didn't come out together. Pork knuckle way overdone. Sausages were delicious!!(

  33. Roina D.
    Roina D.
    • one review
    8/10

    We ordered Texas BBQ chicken wings but for some reason we got hot wings. Paid extra for sauces on one of the burgers that was missing. Staff by the name of Georgia was fantastic. She apologised for the error and gave us a round of free drinks.

  34. Rebecca B.
    Rebecca B.
    • 13 reviews
    6.5/10

    Love the new way of ordering from your table & paying online! For entrees we had a pretzel and the pork belly bao buns, delicious! Mains were good but just average meals, nothing particularly stood out. Also noticed that the pork knuckles being served were considerably smaller than our last visit. Overall an ok dinner but not a meal worthy of recommending.

  35. Jovia M.
    Jovia M.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    The service was amazing and professional!! It was fantastic to see the staff taking safety and distancing measures so seriously. The food was generous and delicious, the atmosphere was perfect for a family night out.

  36. Richard S.
    Richard S.
    • 5 reviews
    8/10

    Pig knuckle wasn't as crackling as before. Still good

  37. Natasha M.
    Natasha M.
    • one review
    5.5/10

    Food and drink grossly over priced. Mojito didn’t even have mint!! Despite the picture on the menu having mint. How can you serve a Mojito without mint yet alone still charge the price of a cocktail??! All ordered at the same time but meals came out 45 min apart, so we all at at separate times. Very disappointing.

  38. Daniela W.
    Daniela W.
    • one review
    8/10

    We were not happy at all about the fact you can’t pay cash & have to do it all on your phone re ordering & paying! However the food was amazing, it always is!

  39. Jenny M.
    Jenny M.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    The staff member behind the bar who took our order was not especially helpful. We have never been to this restaurant before and were unaware that beverages come in different sizes. When asked what size we would like we stated we weren't sure she was quiet rude and kept rolling her eyes at us. The food was amazing but the service could certainly be improved.

  40. Luvini S.
    Luvini S.
    • one review
    10/10

    Service and food was great. Girl at the counter and behind bar was very welcoming and helpful. Gentleman who served food was also very nice. Never I see a unhappy face on staff.