Back

Reviews The Boat House

9.6/10

Excellent

based on 245 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Melissa H.
    Melissa H.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Absolutely beautiful food and impeccable service, in delightful waterside location.

  2. Matthew D.
    Matthew D.
    • one review
    9/10

    Fantastic venue! Beautiful views on a clear evening looking across the water. Great service (Sarah) and stunning food. My only recommendation would be to dampen the floor as you enter the main dining area left of the entrance way feature wall. There were resonating 'thuds' as people walked across it. This wasn't a major issue, just something that would prevent the ambiance from being disturbed.

  3. Graeme P.
    Graeme P.
    • one review
    9/10

    Service was impeccable and the staff knew their dishes and could explain the unusual ingredients. Setting over the lake was perfect. The food was different in the perfect quantity and very tasty. Not all the courses were for us but we were delighted to try them. For fine dining with an open fire and relaxing setting it is a must. Even the back ground music was varied and interesting.

  4. Maria S.
    Maria S.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    This was the first time my husband and I ate at the Boat House and we were very impressed with the service, how each dish was described in detail, great selection of wines, the staff made it an enjoyable experience and the views of the lake at night were wonderful.

  5. A A.
    A A.
    • 273 reviews
    9/10

    Fantastic service, food and atmosphere and views. highly recommend.

  6. Bronwyn T.
    Bronwyn T.
    • one review
    10/10

    A lovely evening.

  7. Michael H.
    Michael H.
    • one review
    9/10

    Excellent experience Attentive enthusiastic and knowledgable staff Happy to match wine by the glass with 4 course menu My new favourite

  8. Joshua G.
    Joshua G.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    The staff were excellent.

  9. Fred B.
    Fred B.
    • 2 reviews
    8.75/10

    We'd been to the Bosthouse a couple of weeks ago for a set dinner with 25 people and the food and service were both excellent. Tonight the two of us enjoyed the same high standards of food and service. There are only a few restaurants in Canberra that manage to combine first class food, service and atmosphere and this is one of them.

  10. Lydia B.
    Lydia B.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    As I don't eat too much, I tried to go for the 4 dishes menu and my partner for the degustation with matching wine, but that was not possible as the 2 of us must select the same. It's the only thing that I would improve

  11. Bob D.
    Bob D.
    • 2 reviews
    8.25/10

    excellent venue, food, wine and service. Staff were very professional and friendly, providing excellent insights into the composition of each dish.

  12. Jules B.
    Jules B.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Perfect in all ways

  13. Gabriella E.
    Gabriella E.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    wonderful experience.

  14. Lauren T.
    Lauren T.
    • one review
    10/10

    Service was fantastic, the food was devine. thoroughly enjoyed our special birthday celebration. A wonderful surprise dessert was brought out for my husband too.

  15. Megan M.
    Megan M.
    • one review
    8.75/10

    Excellent service, too much food! Interesting flavours, we really enjoyed it.

  16. A A.
    A A.
    • 263 reviews
    9.75/10

    A wonderful experience! The food and service was fantastic!

  17. Ingrid B.
    Ingrid B.
    • one review
    9.25/10

    Even though staff was quite young, I was very impressed with their competence, confidence and knowledge. Special mention to the young blonde lady serving us most of the night, an absolute gem! 1 entree arrived late (kitchen issue) handled gracefully by the staff. All meals were thoroughly enjoyed. As Canberrans born and bred, first time visitors, we will certInly be back very soon, didn't realise what we were missing! Thanks Ingrid and family

  18. David P.
    David P.
    • one review
    9/10

    Very good meal, service and views for our special occasion

  19. Phil C.
    Phil C.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    a lovely dining experience - very recommended

  20. A A.
    A A.
    • 265 reviews
    9.25/10

    We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at Boat House restaurant.

  21. A A.
    A A.
    • 279 reviews
    9.75/10

    Very pleasant dining experience and good ambience

  22. Nita W.
    Nita W.
    • 20 reviews
    9.5/10

    The food is incredible. Beautifully presented and with such a variety of flavours. Definitely worth revisiting for special occasions.

  23. Emma D.
    Emma D.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Absolutely delicious food. Beautiful setting.

  24. Rick A.
    Rick A.
    • one review
    10/10

    Outstanding place Have been for both lunch and dinner and on each occassion exceeded my expectations. Great service esp Perry who served so nicely with great conversation and advice !!!!!!!

  25. Matt M.
    Matt M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Fantastic as always!

  26. Rosemary R.
    Rosemary R.
    • one review
    10/10

    Excellent service and atmosphere Food wonderful

  27. David S.
    David S.
    • one review
    10/10

    Outstanding service and food. Whole experience was extremely professional, staff were wonderful.

  28. Jacqueline M.
    Jacqueline M.
    • 5 reviews
    8.75/10

    Food was delicious and staff were very attentive. The only issue we had was the air con was a bit too cold, but this was rectified by the staff when they were made aware.

  29. Natalie A.
    Natalie A.
    • one review
    9.75/10

    Lovely location for a quiet dinner

  30. A A.
    A A.
    • 263 reviews
    8.75/10

    Great location, very well presented multiple courses, topped off with attentive and friendly service

  31. Cristina M.
    Cristina M.
    • one review
    10/10

    we celebrate our 37th wedding anniversary and we couldn't have chosen a better place .The views of the lake are incredible the food and the atmosphere was great ,I really recommend this place , specially if you have a special occasion . Very good

  32. Rob D.
    Rob D.
    • 6 reviews
    9.25/10

    Staff were absolutely amazing – I even received my special request (high five upon arrival).

  33. Mark P.
    Mark P.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Flawless, great view , great food and great service!

  34. Lauren c.
    Lauren c.
    • 19 reviews
    9.5/10

    Excellent experience, thank you!

  35. Cel P.
    Cel P.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    My friends and I booked here for a joint birthday dinner and The Boathouse did not disappoint. It was the loveliest, tastiest dinner I have had in months. We had a four course menu and felt stuffed and very satisfied at the end. The 3 of us had different mains and entree' but all of us agreed our food were just so delish. The staff were very friendly and the view was also great. I highly recommend this restaurant to all couples out there celebrating a special occasion or simply just wanted a taste of fine dining (funny was that in the room, only our table was not occupied by couples). It was a great night.

  36. Kirstie O.
    Kirstie O.
    • 7 reviews
    9/10

    Very classy establishment in excellent condition. Friendly, attentive and knowledgeable staff. Excellent food and views. Definitely one of Canberra's best.

  37. Edsel S.
    Edsel S.
    • 5 reviews
    7/10

    Wasn't too happy being placed on the corner table and also right next to a couple discussing their Wedding plans all evening. It was just annoying this time that they were so loud. If they want to discuss their marriage there with the management ,they preferably should not do it in the dining hall next to other people.

  38. A A.
    A A.
    • 251 reviews
    9.75/10

    Great night out

  39. Damien K.
    Damien K.
    • 13 reviews
    9.5/10

    Fantastic views and a delicious four course meal.

  40. Henna C.
    Henna C.
    • 91 reviews
    10/10

    Food, service, ambience at its perfection. I would rate the experience 11/10 if I could. Thoroughly enjoyed our meals.