Back

Reviews - The Bund @ Walsh Bay

8.4/10

Very good

based on 78 reviews
Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review. The global rating is based on all ratings and reviews but only those written in English are displayed.
  1. Mark D.
    Mark D.
    • 40 reviews
    7.5/10

    Great food in a nice location. Only issue was that they rushed us to order. They did this in good faith (we think) given we were going to theatre, however, we had 1.5 hours before that and were served and finished our meals in under 40 minutes

  2. Simon L.
    Simon L.
    • 20 reviews
    7/10

    Went for a pre theatre meal. there is a limited menu which is smart because the food comes out quickly. Good veggie options. Had to ask for water three times but apart from that would recommend it. Very friendly staff.

  3. Jan F.
    Jan F.
    • 2 reviews
    2/10

    The food was terrible. I can't remember ever having such poor food in Sydney. The dumplings were glutinous. I think the special fried rice was rice with frozen vegetables stirred through it. The pepper beef appeared to have been subject to "meat tenderiser" but was still tough as old boots. And the service was indifferent.

  4. Leona B.
    Leona B.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    We had eaten here before and the food was good, so we came back. This time it was less than ordinary. The san choy bau was mush. The prawn dumpling was so sticky it fell apart. The salt and pepper squid was soft . Will not go back.

  5. John D.
    John D.
    • one review
    5.5/10

    Definitely not 5 stars. The service provided by the waitresses was good but the waiter was clumsy and inept. He did not know whether or not to take our order in full or part only. The food was passable in quality.

  6. Diane C.
    Diane C.
    • one review
    10/10

    Went this evening with the family, 6 of us. The food was excellent and very fresh. Will be going back again real soon. Would recommend this Chinese restaurant.

  7. Vicky S.
    Vicky S.
    • 5 reviews
    4.5/10

    We tried for pre-theatre dinner on Saturday evening. Took ages to order and receive drinks and even longer to order food. When eventually served, things we had ordered were missing and we missed the start of the show as the line to pay was so long.

  8. Jan v.
    Jan v.
    • 116 reviews
    10/10

    Great pre theatre spot. Love the dumplings.

  9. Kath P.
    Kath P.
    • one review
    10/10

    Absolutely beautiful service and food was delicious. A real treat. We will be back but get there. We were so impressed and hope that this encourages many more. In addition easy to park In Walsh Bay and very cool area to dine.

  10. Eloi M.
    Eloi M.
    • 5 reviews
    9.5/10

    Delicious dumplings and great wine selection. Perfect location for a post dinner stroll.

  11. Peter C.
    Peter C.
    • 13 reviews
    10/10

    This was my first time to visit this restaurant. As I was attending a performance at Barangaroo Reserve it was a very convenient location. It is also easily accessible by public transport. We decided just to stick to the entrees and had a good variety to choose from. There was also a good selection of wines at reasonable prices. I was very impressed and will add it to my list of places to go to.

  12. Stephanie P.
    Stephanie P.
    • 20 reviews
    10/10

    Food was delicious, classic and authentic Chinese. There wasn't an overload of choice as is usual at these restaurants which just means that each dish is a chefs specialty and it truly was! Service was quick and very friendly, even suggested some goji berries in our tea which we will be doing at home now! Highly recommend and we will be coming back :D

  13. Raymond W.
    Raymond W.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    The restaurant was quiet in these Covid times however patrons there were happy and seemingly content. Our waiter was very attentive without being overbearing and the food really was excellent, especially our beef dish, the meat being ever so tender and flavoursome. We are visiting from Tasmania and will return to try other delicacies.

  14. Nicole L.
    Nicole L.
    • one review
    9/10

    Lovely ambiance. Food very good but dumplings overpriced. Other than that a lovely dinner. Thank you!

  15. Jacqueline B.
    Jacqueline B.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent food and prompt service. It was a great place for before going to the theatre.

  16. Christy I.
    Christy I.
    • one review
    8/10

    The food was good Quality & good portion size. The only thing that we felt we were misled was their bbq pork. It doesn’t look like the photo on the menu. It actually looked like it was Pre-made/bought from somewhere else and not made fresh there. However it was still tasty. Their shangdong chicken was nice ???? Overall we enjoyed the meal. Thank you!

  17. Matthew O.
    Matthew O.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great pre theatre dining. Coped fine with a large group on a timeline. We will be back.

  18. Sheila P.
    Sheila P.
    • 26 reviews
    7/10

    We ate at the Bund pre-theatre and it satisfied our needs. The food was quick to be served and tasty and the quantity was generous.

  19. Veronica C.
    Veronica C.
    • 74 reviews
    10/10

    Another Shanghainese restaurant in my restaurant list. Like to try different dishes in future.

  20. Sylvain M.
    Sylvain M.
    • 21 reviews
    9.5/10

    The service was superb. We were greeted and looked during our entire meal. We asked for some recommendations and ordered the prawns and chives dumplings and the roast duck pancakes. The wine selection is excellent and reasonably priced. This restaurant offers a great pre-theatre dinning experience.

  21. Maree G.
    Maree G.
    • 15 reviews
    10/10

    Loved it! The staff could read your mind. They knew exactly what we wanted before we did. They were very playful and made some great food recommendations. Lovely food and it is a perfect pre theatre location. Will definitely be back.

  22. Adrian J.
    Adrian J.
    • one review
    10/10

    Excellent food and service, really great staff

  23. Carol M.
    Carol M.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    The food was delicious, service prompt and very friendly. We were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived. We will definitely go there again and recommend it to family and friends.

  24. Khaled A.
    Khaled A.
    • 4 reviews
    6.5/10

    The staff were friendly, The website clearly states that they accept BYO however, they would not allow us to have the wine we had with us. The food was nice but the rice came out 10 minutes after the meat dish and by then it was too cold enjoy.

  25. Nick S.
    Nick S.
    • one review
    10/10

    The staff were amazing and extremely helpful and accommodating for our birthday gathering. I would highly recommend anyone to go and dine there. The meals are well sized and moderately priced.

  26. Holly W.
    Holly W.
    • one review
    10/10

    Amazing service! Awesome food. Couldn't of asked for more. Would defiantly recommend to anyone looking for great service and food within this area of Sydney

  27. NICHOLAS M.
    NICHOLAS M.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Food was of high quality, wasn’t your ordinary Take away Chinese quality, Loved it, will be coming back. The service was great. Warm and genuine.

  28. Jason C.
    Jason C.
    • one review
    10/10

    Really friendly host, and some great authentic food. Will definitely be back and appreciate the warm recommendations for food and tea. Hope they are able to recover after the lockdown

  29. Katia K.
    Katia K.
    • one review
    6/10

    During semi covid restrictions but the food was very disappointing. Dry duck sent back. Tofu dish with corn and peas that tasted straight out of a frozen bag. The prices were huge. Prawn dumplings with dough that tasted like flour.

  30. Emma W.
    Emma W.
    • one review
    10/10

    Staff were great. Food was even better than ever expected. Definitely would go back again. Highly recommend if you’re after an English style tasty Chinese

  31. Pam D.
    Pam D.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    Great place for pre theatre meal. Very good food, the service was quick, maybe not in the order we had asked for, but that was not a serious problem. Would recommend it as affordable and very tasty

  32. Marlyn R.
    Marlyn R.
    • 8 reviews
    10/10

    This is a good quality, attractive neighbourhood restaurant. It is very convenient for pre-theatre dining

  33. Penny L.
    Penny L.
    • 4 reviews
    8.5/10

    We eat here before the theatre. It’s very convenient for that. The food is good and service are good. We particularly enjoy the boned toast chicken.

  34. Peter o.
    Peter o.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    we all enjoyed it a lot. the food and service were all great . the man serving us was rushed off his feet but he was always friendly and courteous .the restaurant was in a convenient location .

  35. Mary H.
    Mary H.
    • 77 reviews
    9.5/10

    this is the perfect place to dine before heading off to the Roslyn Packer Theatre which is a few minutes down the road. The service is excellent. the menu is not extensive in choice but offers enough variety to suit most tastes. Good size servings, tasty meals! Loe the sang choy bow, & dumplings. The honey chicken & mongolian beef are delicious.

  36. Anh S.
    Anh S.
    • one review
    6/10

    Food was okay. Portions on the small size. Service wasn't all that attentive. Food is more authentic than I was expecting, menu is relatively small compared to a typical Chinese restaurant.

  37. Jatin S.
    Jatin S.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    Loved the food

  38. Warren C.
    Warren C.
    • 13 reviews
    10/10

    Service was quick and attentive. The dishes were not too big but enough for 4 people. Early dinner in preparation for a night at the theatre.

  39. Penny L.
    Penny L.
    • 4 reviews
    9/10

    Love the food. It’s a simple Chinese menu, not a huge long shopping list. The salt and pepper prawns were fantastic. It’s very well located and open early for a dinner before a show at the Ros Packer Theatre.

  40. Margaret J.
    Margaret J.
    • 4 reviews
    7.5/10

    Food very good