Back

Reviews - The Bund @ Walsh Bay

9.2/10

Excellent

based on 57 reviews
Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review. The global rating is based on all ratings and reviews but only those written in English are displayed.
  1. Peter C.
    Peter C.
    • 9 reviews
    10/10

    This was my first time to visit this restaurant. As I was attending a performance at Barangaroo Reserve it was a very convenient location. It is also easily accessible by public transport. We decided just to stick to the entrees and had a good variety to choose from. There was also a good selection of wines at reasonable prices. I was very impressed and will add it to my list of places to go to.

  2. Stephanie P.
    Stephanie P.
    • 16 reviews
    10/10

    Food was delicious, classic and authentic Chinese. There wasn't an overload of choice as is usual at these restaurants which just means that each dish is a chefs specialty and it truly was! Service was quick and very friendly, even suggested some goji berries in our tea which we will be doing at home now! Highly recommend and we will be coming back :D

  3. Raymond W.
    Raymond W.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    The restaurant was quiet in these Covid times however patrons there were happy and seemingly content. Our waiter was very attentive without being overbearing and the food really was excellent, especially our beef dish, the meat being ever so tender and flavoursome. We are visiting from Tasmania and will return to try other delicacies.

  4. Nicole L.
    Nicole L.
    • one review
    9/10

    Lovely ambiance. Food very good but dumplings overpriced. Other than that a lovely dinner. Thank you!

  5. Jacqueline B.
    Jacqueline B.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent food and prompt service. It was a great place for before going to the theatre.

  6. Christy I.
    Christy I.
    • one review
    8/10

    The food was good Quality & good portion size. The only thing that we felt we were misled was their bbq pork. It doesn’t look like the photo on the menu. It actually looked like it was Pre-made/bought from somewhere else and not made fresh there. However it was still tasty. Their shangdong chicken was nice ???? Overall we enjoyed the meal. Thank you!

  7. Matthew O.
    Matthew O.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great pre theatre dining. Coped fine with a large group on a timeline. We will be back.

  8. Sheila P.
    Sheila P.
    • 26 reviews
    7/10

    We ate at the Bund pre-theatre and it satisfied our needs. The food was quick to be served and tasty and the quantity was generous.

  9. Veronica C.
    Veronica C.
    • 64 reviews
    10/10

    Another Shanghainese restaurant in my restaurant list. Like to try different dishes in future.

  10. Sylvain M.
    Sylvain M.
    • 19 reviews
    9.5/10

    The service was superb. We were greeted and looked during our entire meal. We asked for some recommendations and ordered the prawns and chives dumplings and the roast duck pancakes. The wine selection is excellent and reasonably priced. This restaurant offers a great pre-theatre dinning experience.

  11. Maree G.
    Maree G.
    • 9 reviews
    10/10

    Loved it! The staff could read your mind. They knew exactly what we wanted before we did. They were very playful and made some great food recommendations. Lovely food and it is a perfect pre theatre location. Will definitely be back.

  12. Adrian J.
    Adrian J.
    • one review
    10/10

    Excellent food and service, really great staff

  13. Carol M.
    Carol M.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    The food was delicious, service prompt and very friendly. We were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived. We will definitely go there again and recommend it to family and friends.

  14. Khaled A.
    Khaled A.
    • 4 reviews
    6.5/10

    The staff were friendly, The website clearly states that they accept BYO however, they would not allow us to have the wine we had with us. The food was nice but the rice came out 10 minutes after the meat dish and by then it was too cold enjoy.

  15. Nick S.
    Nick S.
    • one review
    10/10

    The staff were amazing and extremely helpful and accommodating for our birthday gathering. I would highly recommend anyone to go and dine there. The meals are well sized and moderately priced.

  16. Holly W.
    Holly W.
    • one review
    10/10

    Amazing service! Awesome food. Couldn't of asked for more. Would defiantly recommend to anyone looking for great service and food within this area of Sydney

  17. NICHOLAS M.
    NICHOLAS M.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Food was of high quality, wasn’t your ordinary Take away Chinese quality, Loved it, will be coming back. The service was great. Warm and genuine.

  18. Jason C.
    Jason C.
    • one review
    10/10

    Really friendly host, and some great authentic food. Will definitely be back and appreciate the warm recommendations for food and tea. Hope they are able to recover after the lockdown

  19. Katia K.
    Katia K.
    • one review
    6/10

    During semi covid restrictions but the food was very disappointing. Dry duck sent back. Tofu dish with corn and peas that tasted straight out of a frozen bag. The prices were huge. Prawn dumplings with dough that tasted like flour.

  20. Emma W.
    Emma W.
    • one review
    10/10

    Staff were great. Food was even better than ever expected. Definitely would go back again. Highly recommend if you’re after an English style tasty Chinese

  21. Pam D.
    Pam D.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    Great place for pre theatre meal. Very good food, the service was quick, maybe not in the order we had asked for, but that was not a serious problem. Would recommend it as affordable and very tasty

  22. Marlyn R.
    Marlyn R.
    • 8 reviews
    10/10

    This is a good quality, attractive neighbourhood restaurant. It is very convenient for pre-theatre dining

  23. Penny L.
    Penny L.
    • 4 reviews
    8.5/10

    We eat here before the theatre. It’s very convenient for that. The food is good and service are good. We particularly enjoy the boned toast chicken.

  24. Peter o.
    Peter o.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    we all enjoyed it a lot. the food and service were all great . the man serving us was rushed off his feet but he was always friendly and courteous .the restaurant was in a convenient location .

  25. Mary H.
    Mary H.
    • 77 reviews
    9.5/10

    this is the perfect place to dine before heading off to the Roslyn Packer Theatre which is a few minutes down the road. The service is excellent. the menu is not extensive in choice but offers enough variety to suit most tastes. Good size servings, tasty meals! Loe the sang choy bow, & dumplings. The honey chicken & mongolian beef are delicious.

  26. Anh S.
    Anh S.
    • one review
    6/10

    Food was okay. Portions on the small size. Service wasn't all that attentive. Food is more authentic than I was expecting, menu is relatively small compared to a typical Chinese restaurant.

  27. Jatin S.
    Jatin S.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    Loved the food

  28. Warren C.
    Warren C.
    • 13 reviews
    10/10

    Service was quick and attentive. The dishes were not too big but enough for 4 people. Early dinner in preparation for a night at the theatre.

  29. Penny L.
    Penny L.
    • 4 reviews
    9/10

    Love the food. It’s a simple Chinese menu, not a huge long shopping list. The salt and pepper prawns were fantastic. It’s very well located and open early for a dinner before a show at the Ros Packer Theatre.

  30. Margaret J.
    Margaret J.
    • 4 reviews
    7.5/10

    Food very good

  31. Colin H.
    Colin H.
    • 14 reviews
    7.5/10

    Great pre theatre venue

  32. Laurie F.
    Laurie F.
    • 29 reviews
    6/10

    Dumplings were not uniform in appearance and no more than average in taste and quality

  33. Michael O.
    Michael O.
    • one review
    9/10

    cheerful efficient staff in an atmospheric restaurant - conveniently located close to theatre - food tasty,reasonably priced and promptly delivered ( we forgive the loss of part of our order as an unusual occurrence - which upset staff greatly since we had to leave to show before it appeared )

  34. Emilia B.
    Emilia B.
    • 13 reviews
    9.5/10

    Great service and tasty food. Would love it if there was a small outdoor area for warm days :)

  35. A A.
    A A.
    • 255 reviews
    8.25/10

    Not happy with credit card surcharges, didn’t notice it on menu until payment was made at end meal. Food and service was good, but surcharging means Its off my return list. Pity. The world is going cashless, businesses need to get onboard.

  36. Mary H.
    Mary H.
    • 77 reviews
    8/10

    great dinner choice for pre theatre dining. Small menu but enough good choices. Loved it

  37. A A.
    A A.
    • 268 reviews
    9.5/10

    Quieter and more spacious than many Hickson Rd offerings. Excellent Chinese food. Very friendly service.

  38. A A.
    A A.
    • 276 reviews
    9.25/10

    New restaurant in the Walsh Bay theatre district offering great Shanghanese cuisine. Interesting menu that offers a diverse array of dumplings plus more substantial dishes both seafood and other meats. Shared a serving of pork and chives dumplings - some of the best that I have ever eaten followed by a traditional roast of Shandong Chicken and anothe of prawns that had been steamed in tea. Both delicious. Small but well priced wine list and great service. All in an ambiance that takes you right back to the bund. Will certainly be returning soon. What was really appreciated is that tables are well spaced allowing conversations to be contained at the table.