Back

Reviews The Butler Potts Point

9.1/10
Excellent
based on 909 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Jess P.
    Jess P.
    • one review
    10/10

    Absolutely divine!!

  2. Sarah F.
    Sarah F.
    • one review
    10/10

    Such a beautiful restaurant. Faultless service, friendly and efficient waitstaff, incredibly beautiful decor and the food was delicious. Catered well to all our allergy and dietary needs also which was really great. A perfect evening out with the girls.

    The Butler Potts Point

    Thank you so much for your high praise across the board! We always strive to make everyone feel welcome and catered to... we look forward to doing so again in the near future!

  3. Elias S.
    Elias S.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great venue with an even better view, great for dinner or a cocktail. The food was great and our server Nicole and her recommendations were fantastic. Highly recommend.

    The Butler Potts Point

    We are thrilled you had such a grea time! We have passed along your kind words to Nicole as well - it is guests like you and staff like her that make the magic happen!

  4. Eliza F.
    Eliza F.
    • 3 reviews
    9/10

    Loved the Butler as always! Great food, fun staff, cool atmosphere. The only downfall is that they are very strict on the 2 hour sitting rule. I knew we had a 2 hour sitting and requested longer weeks earlier when I booked as we planned on rolling right through the afternoon on a long lunch. They were very responsive to my request and emailed back the same day, with an extra half an hour ... a 3pm booking and we were wrapped up by 5:30 for the dinner booking. We’d been grazing and drinking cocktails all afternoon, time flying by, when all of a sudden all our remaining food came out at 5:20 and we were told to wrap up by 5:30. Not phased as I understand they get you in and out, but it’s a beautiful place for a long lunch and we certainly would’ve spent a lot more money there to make up for the dinner sitting if we had the chance!

  5. Madi K.
    Madi K.
    • 5 reviews
    9/10

    Fantastic service, lovely views and great vibe. Food was pretty tasty as well!

  6. Janelle Y.
    Janelle Y.
    • 2 reviews
    8.5/10

    The food came out quick and was well presented. The staff was also lovely and very accommodating.

    The Butler Potts Point

    Thank you for joining us Janelle! Glad we could hit it out of the park for you from food to service! We hope you got to try some of our delicious drinks as well.

  7. Natalie C.
    Natalie C.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    We loved The Butler! Food and service were fantastic and the view and setting of the restaurant was magical. Music matched the evening perfectly. However, the mosquitos were out at dusk and this was like nothing I've experienced in a restaurant or bar previously. We feel you should warn your diners who are seated outside because it was really unpleasant, we had to leave because 2 of our guests were so badly affected. Thanks for the outstanding food and service, we loved everything else and we loved the view, just needed to get mosquito problem under control, or warn your guests so they have the choice of moving to your wonderful indoor seating

    The Butler Potts Point

    Hi Natalie, Thanks for leaving us some feedback and I'm sorry to hear of the issues regarding mosquitos. We acknowledge that there are likely to be some Mosquitos in our terrace due to the setting and time of year. We are regretful that this issue impacted so badly for your group. We actively place Mozzie Coils throughout the terrace and provide Aero-guard when requested. Some nights are unfortunately worse than others for the pesky critters, especially off the back of some consistently hot evenings, but we try to do everything we can to make our guests comfortable, whether it be on our terrace or in our dining room. I am please to see that you enjoyed the rest of your evening and hope you will return based on those credits. Warm Regards, Luke Assistant Venue Manager

  8. Jeff M.
    Jeff M.
    • 4 reviews
    9/10

    Great setting, atmosphere, and service with a nice selection of dishes. We sat on the balcony and the decor and vibe was perfect for dinner with friends.

  9. Lauren J.
    Lauren J.
    • one review
    10/10

    Fantastic personable service with a lovely view. Perfect way to celebrate my birthday lunch and I would most definitely be very happy to go back here again !

  10. Adrienne p.
    Adrienne p.
    • one review
    10/10

    First time been to The Butler. We really like the view and atmosphere. Staff are super friendly and helpful. And food is great, we would recommend charred octopus and lamb in the large share plates.

    The Butler Potts Point

    Hi Adrienne, We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon in the Butler. Warm Regards, Luke - Assistant Venue Manager

  11. Matthew C.
    Matthew C.
    • one review
    10/10

    Have been to the Butler a few times. What’s great about it is its consistency. Food, service and of course the view are always amazing. Really enjoyed it, again, and can’t wait until next time!

    The Butler Potts Point

    Thanks for the kind words. :) we hope to see you again soon in the Butler Luke - Assistant Venue Manager

  12. Kate B.
    Kate B.
    • one review
    9/10

    I had a lovely meal with my family. Great atmosphere, tasty food and spot in service! I’ll definitely be back. It is a perfect lunch/ brunch spot.

    The Butler Potts Point

    Hi Kate, Thanks for joining us at the Butler. We hope to see you again soon. Luke - Assistant Venue Manager

  13. Rich W.
    Rich W.
    • 7 reviews
    10/10

    Great food and great service as always

  14. Terry D.
    Terry D.
    • 3 reviews
    8/10

    The WA Octopus and eggplant were standouts amongst consistent quality food Great ambience Fantastic view of the city Music could have been less intrusive

    The Butler Potts Point

    Hi Terry, Thanks for taking the time to leave us some feedback. I have passed your comments onto the rest of the management team regarding the music so we can moderate better. I hope you join us again soon. Luke - Assistant Venue Manager

  15. Sherey L.
    Sherey L.
    • 7 reviews
    10/10

    Amazing dining experience with delicious view and a beautiful panoramic view of the city skyline.

  16. TRACY D.
    TRACY D.
    • 2 reviews
    7/10

    Nice place for a catchup...

  17. Ashlea C.
    Ashlea C.
    • 7 reviews
    9/10

    Excellent service, great food. Would definitely come back again. Awesome cocktail and wine selection. Great for a ladies luncheon. Unreal views

    The Butler Potts Point

    We're glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you again soon. Warm Regards, Luke - Assistant Venue Manager

  18. Caterina O.
    Caterina O.
    • 2 reviews
    5.5/10

    The restaurant was very noisy. Staff were very difficult to understand and it was hard for the staff to understand us. One three occasions incorrect items were brought to our table. We had two incorrect dishes and one incorrect drink delivered to our table when it should have been taken to another table.

    The Butler Potts Point

    Hi Caterina, Thanks for leaving us some feedback and I'm sorry that these mistakes occurred. We are working hard with our team to deliver a better experience and ensure dishes go to correct tables. Mistakes do happen and we can appreciate how frustrating this can be when it occurs on multiple occasions. I really hope this doesn't dissuade you from visiting us again in the future to give us another go. If you wish to discuss further or have any other feedback you can email me directly on luke@butlersydney.com.au. Warm Regards, Luke Assistant Venue Manager

  19. Helen T.
    Helen T.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Fab views and great atmosphere

  20. Dalena N.
    Dalena N.
    • 8 reviews
    10/10

    Great food! Highly recommend the gnocchi and the corn. AMAZING! The venue was beautiful and matched the vibe there too. Would go back

    The Butler Potts Point

    Thanks for the Awesome review. We're glad you had a great time with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Luke - Assistant Venue Manager

  21. Dalena N.
    Dalena N.
    • 8 reviews
    10/10

    Amazing food. Great views and an even better atmosphere. The gnocchi and the corn was notable. I could just eat both all day. The service was lively and super friendly and obviously the views was the cherry on top to a great night out

  22. Roberto F.
    Roberto F.
    • 34 reviews
    7.75/10

    Very friendly staff, nice wines and dishes. A "hidden" jewel as you don't expect the nice views from the outside

  23. A A.
    A A.
    • 272 reviews
    10/10

    As always great food and views! Great fun for small groups (4) where you can sit on the terrace!

  24. Kerith M.
    Kerith M.
    • one review
    10/10

    A wonderful night! Great views. Food was exceptional. Staff were very friendly & accommodating of dietary requests within our group. We will be back soon.

  25. A A.
    A A.
    • 276 reviews
    6.5/10

    Food average, good atmosphere but noisy, good views.

  26. A A.
    A A.
    • 259 reviews
    9.75/10

    What a great discovery - loved the location and the food was exceptional. Had a bad week at work and the service certainly made up for this with attentiveness and great recommendations. We will be back.

  27. A A.
    A A.
    • 277 reviews
    8/10

    It was very noisy, and hard to hear my dining companion even when we were pretty much shouting. Food good as always

    The Butler Potts Point

    Hi, thanks for leaving us a review. We are please that you enjoyed your overall time with us. The noise does tend to ramp up over the weekend as we get busier but we do try to control it as best we can. We hope to see you again soon in the Butler. Kind regards, Luke Assistant Venue Manager

  28. A A.
    A A.
    • 275 reviews
    10/10

    I love this restaurant, it’s one of our favourites!!

  29. Andrew  W.
    Andrew W.
    • 4 reviews
    9.25/10

    Fantastic service Wonderful food Great views of the city

    The Butler Potts Point

    Thanks for your amazing review Andrew. We hope to see you in again some time soon. Paz

  30. A A.
    A A.
    • 269 reviews
    7.5/10

    Beautiful place and good food, a bit pricey and service not so attentive. The corn on the salad section of the menu it’s not actually a salad so it’s a bit misleading.

  31. A A.
    A A.
    • 255 reviews
    9.25/10

    The setting was lovely, had a great view and good acoustics (we could hear each other easily). They happily catered for our gluten needs and did not hassle us to leave after our allotted 2 hours were up. Of special note was the bottomless lunch Prosecco, really easy to drink (good choice). The set menu was tasty, beautifully presented and was a good range of dishes. The menu included something for everyone’s tastes yet we found that an extra serving of bread and one more main was required to fill us up or we would of left a bit hungry. The venue kindly gave us both at no extra charge. I would definitely recommend the bottomless lunch for a nice Sunday out with family or to celebrate a special occasion with friends.

    The Butler Potts Point

    Hi There, thanks for leaving us such a kind review. We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. - Luke

  32. Jenny A.
    Jenny A.
    • 19 reviews
    8/10

    Great atmosphere and decor. Really accommodating staff.

    The Butler Potts Point

    Hi Jenny, We're pleased you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. - Luke

  33. Katja D.
    Katja D.
    • 11 reviews
    7.75/10

    lovely night with great food and amazing views. When booking they should include that on Sunday nights they close the kitchen early. Was disappointing that as soon as we sat down we were told the kitchen would be closing in half an hour and we had to order quickly.

    The Butler Potts Point

    Hi Katja, Thanks for leaving us a review. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your overall experience with us at the Butler. Unfortunately we are governed by a strict 10pm license on Sunday's, in which all patrons must vacate the premise. We do include this information in our confirmation email. We are sorry this impacted your dining experience and hope you give us another go. Kind Regards, Luke Assistant Venue Manager

  34. Chris M.
    Chris M.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    The service was great - even though we had a two hour seating we never felt hurried or presume to leave. Was a nice pace of food and drink

    The Butler Potts Point

    Hi Chris, Thank you so much for your kind words. We are so glad you had a great time and look forward to hosting you again. Regards, Paz

  35. A A.
    A A.
    • 261 reviews
    8.75/10

    Great atmosphere

    The Butler Potts Point

    Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to review. We appreciate your high scores. However, would love to hear where we missed the mark on the value front. If you'd be keen to discuss it, i'd be happy to hear it at paz@applejackhospitality.com.au Regards, Paz

  36. A A.
    A A.
    • 267 reviews
    9/10

    Great views and atmosphere, the chorizo gnocchi is a must!

    The Butler Potts Point

    Thank you so much for your amazing review! Hope to see you back some time. Regards, Paz

  37. A A.
    A A.
    • 259 reviews
    10/10

    Definitely recommend!

    The Butler Potts Point

    Thank you for your amazing review!

  38. Cynthia S.
    Cynthia S.
    • 12 reviews
    8.5/10

    Amazing ambience - was so good we overstayed our welcome and had a marathon 7hr lunch. Will be back again to soak up those lovely views over some great food and drink offerings!

    The Butler Potts Point

    Hi Cynthia, We are thrilled you had a great time with us. The views are really breath taking so we can understand if people stick around. We look forward to seeing you again soon. - Luke

  39. Bob H.
    Bob H.
    • 14 reviews
    8.5/10

    We found the small Wagyu 6+ skirt steak tacos chewy and tough while the large plate Octopus somewhat flavorless. In fact the menu rambled both is taste and origin which I personally found a bit confusing and conflicting.

  40. A A.
    A A.
    • 269 reviews
    5/10

    Didn’t understand the food storyline. We went from a cucumber dashi on oysters to a tuna tartar with Noori crisp to sliders to salmon ceviche to a lamb shoulder... didn’t make sense... food was average ... don’t get the banquet! Not worth it. Stingy servings. 5 people on a banquet we had to complain about the servings. Terrible. Don’t all dig in at once ... don’t scoop more than a spoonful as there wouldn’t have been enough for the next person. Caribbean inspired menu ? Hmmm

    The Butler Potts Point

    Hi, thank you for your feedback. I would love to find out more about the overall experience you received. If you could reach out to me personally dom@butlersydney.com.au