Back

Reviews The Castle Hotel

9.3/10

Excellent

based on 53 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Andrew F.
    Andrew F.
    • one review
    10/10

    Our greeting from Nina was fantastic and Rebecca was awesome with our table and bar service. The venue was well laid out and easy to register. The food was amazing as were the beverages. Thank you, we will be back again soon.

  2. Toni F.
    Toni F.
    • 2 reviews
    7/10

    So excited to finally be able to eat out with friends. The Castle always a solid local pub. Food is reliably good, service is mostly good and atmosphere inside has some work to do. The new outdoor dining is a hoot - right near a busy roundabout. You have to love North Melbourne!

  3. Benjamin d.
    Benjamin d.
    • one review
    10/10

    Love sitting on the lawn out front for a beer and some dinner! This is our new local - love the ambience as Melbourne comes out of lockdown :) Lots of beers on tap, great food and great staff!

  4. Hayley V.
    Hayley V.
    • one review
    10/10

    Staff we super friendly and approachable, food was awesome. They have great burgers and a good selection of beers available. They have a lovely section outside now under the shade of trees

  5. Pat A.
    Pat A.
    • one review
    10/10

    The Prawn pasta was delicious and they were generous with the prawns. Staff were super friendly. Did not disappoint! Will definitely be going again soon.

  6. Andrew L.
    Andrew L.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    Awesome pub grub!

  7. Eliza A.
    Eliza A.
    • one review
    10/10

    Really great experience for first Sat night out of Lockdown thank you

  8. David S.
    David S.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    Thank you for the service

  9. A A.
    A A.
    • 268 reviews
    8.25/10

    The service was great, staff helpful and friendly. Very reasonably priced for a city pub

  10. A A.
    A A.
    • 287 reviews
    7.75/10

    Nice place and food and service was good.

  11. A A.
    A A.
    • 292 reviews
    8/10

    Nil thank you :)

  12. Craig T.
    Craig T.
    • one review
    8/10

    Nice relaxing place with good food and drinks, service always great

  13. Philip R.
    Philip R.
    • 7 reviews
    7.25/10

    The fish and chips, schnitzel and Parma were best items on menu. Pastas came out cold but when we told waitress it was quickly rectified and a drink offered as apology, once replaced it was much better.this is a good local pub.

  14. A A.
    A A.
    • 259 reviews
    7.75/10

    Food was absolutely delicious, however service is quite slow.

  15. A A.
    A A.
    • 257 reviews
    10/10

    We enjoyed the steak

  16. A A.
    A A.
    • 280 reviews
    9/10

    Good value and good food and service

  17. A A.
    A A.
    • 276 reviews
    7.5/10

    Best value steak on Wednesdays

  18. A A.
    A A.
    • 269 reviews
    8.25/10

    I had the pork which was well recommended by the staff. My friends had the calamari and it was good. The service was a bit chaotic. Periods of too many staff asking how we were, followed by lots of waiting periods with little service.

  19. A A.
    A A.
    • 286 reviews
    8/10

    Great service, in and out as promised so we could attend another function

  20. Debra B.
    Debra B.
    • one review
    8.75/10

    Thank you for putting our group into the 'sports bar'. It was nice to be separate from the main restaurant as we were a bit noisy. But please make sure all the 'foldable' tables are locked into place. One did give way but we caught it before every thing feel off. Otherwise, it was a wonderful night with excellent service and food.

  21. Gail T.
    Gail T.
    • one review
    5/10

    we were very disappointed with our meals. Although we had a booking for 12 noon, and yes we were 10 mins late, our food was stone cold - it had not been kept warm. Very disappointing considering we are regulars.

  22. A A.
    A A.
    • 262 reviews
    8.25/10

    Friendly quick service, good food for quick lunch

  23. Garry L.
    Garry L.
    • one review
    7.75/10

    Food is always good. Great selection of wines and beers.

  24. Gary R.
    Gary R.
    • 34 reviews
    9/10

    Food was excellent and so was service will return

  25. Nick H.
    Nick H.
    • 5 reviews
    9.25/10

    Great night out

  26. A A.
    A A.
    • 284 reviews
    7.75/10

    Excellent steak menu on wednesdays

  27. Paul H.
    Paul H.
    • 39 reviews
    6.75/10

    Had the steak lunch special - was a good piece of steak and one of the few places that cooked it right, so well done. Looking forward to burger day.

  28. A A.
    A A.
    • 284 reviews
    8/10

    A ramp for wheelchair access would be useful.

  29. A A.
    A A.
    • 255 reviews
    8.25/10

    Very good steaks

  30. Rhonda R.
    Rhonda R.
    • one review
    8/10

    Large meals and very tasty. Open Fire, good atmosphere and enjoyable. Returned to dining at this hotel after a number of years interstate and have found it just as enjoyable as before.

  31. A A.
    A A.
    • 283 reviews
    8/10

    Very good, We were well accommodated as there was a private function downstairs, Service was fabulous

  32. Janielle K.
    Janielle K.
    • 28 reviews
    8.75/10

    Bit loud in terms of back ground music however the fantastic service overrode this

  33. Natalie D.
    Natalie D.
    • one review
    4.75/10

    Very slow service. We were only asked for drink orders once (and water was not refilled), food took forever to arrive, average meals. Took visiting relatives out for dinner at the Castle- was quite embarrassed