Back

Reviews The Colonial Darlinghurst British Indian Cuisine

8.5/10

Fabulous

based on 257 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Sophie S.
    Sophie S.
    • one review
    10/10

    Delicious food & great service. The best authentic Indian in Sydney. Paneer Tikka masala and British Indian fish curry my 2 favourite dishes. Will definitely come here again.

  2. Victoria-Rose T.
    Victoria-Rose T.
    • 9 reviews
    8/10

    Entree portions were rather small for the price and not that flavorful - we ordered autumn special paneer and tandoori mushrooms. Staff were friendly but service was slow. Lots of great options on the menu and very pleased with the vegan and vege options

  3. Andrew B.
    Andrew B.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Polite, honest, service delivered with a smile. Clean and well presented food and really quiet good wine for an excellent price considering the excellent location. Nice job Colonial.

  4. Nicole T.
    Nicole T.
    • 2 reviews
    3/10

    The chicken was grey and very chewy. Told the waitress and waiter and they both argued with us that it wasn’t. They then told us if we wanted white chicken to order something else. The food was very average and service disappointing.

  5. Tanvi A.
    Tanvi A.
    • 11 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent food, the signature dishes are absolutely amazing

  6. Billy N.
    Billy N.
    • 12 reviews
    8/10

    Excellent attentive service, good food, decent ambience.

  7. Caitlin M.
    Caitlin M.
    • 17 reviews
    8/10

    Lovely staff and a surprisingly good wine list! :)

  8. Mary C.
    Mary C.
    • 4 reviews
    9/10

    The food is fantastic

  9. Kristine K.
    Kristine K.
    • 5 reviews
    8.5/10

    Had railway goat curry and the mushroom curry - both were medium level spiciness and it was great

  10. Tanvi A.
    Tanvi A.
    • 11 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent food, the best Indian so far in Sydney

  11. Mohan M.
    Mohan M.
    • one review
    3.5/10

    Noisy place to begin with. Food was horrible to say the least. Lamb curry was inedible and tawa goat was full of bones.

  12. M.ichael k.
    M.ichael k.
    • 2 reviews
    6.5/10

    Restaurant was buzzing. Half price drinks offered every night not in conjunction with other offers. Food was a bit slow coming probably a couple of staff members short for the amount of patrons. Overall a good night. Mohan our waiter worked his butt off.

  13. Hi T.
    Hi T.
    • 2 reviews
    3/10

    Noisy. Service suffers with wait staff who are nice but run off their feet. Ordered 3 dishes - 1.Tawa goat- just bones no goat- tried every peice looking for some meat and scooped out all gravy but no meat; 2.railway goat- cancelled and opted for Bhuna lamb after tawa goat disaster- lamb tough and chewy; spicy curry was inedible hot- asked for lemons nil improvement; butter chicken- very nice - maybe just stick to that

  14. Sarah C.
    Sarah C.
    • 7 reviews
    10/10

    Great food! We are vegetarian and They have amazing vegetarian options and lovely staff. The dumpling kofta dish was the best!!!!!! The garlic naan with sesame seeds was a nice touch too

  15. Serena Z.
    Serena Z.
    • 9 reviews
    9.5/10

    Beef Vindaloo was lovely and spice level was just perfect.. The service was brilliant throughout the night

  16. Phyl W.
    Phyl W.
    • 3 reviews
    7/10

    We have eaten at, and ordered takeaway from, the Colonial several times before and the food has always been delicious. Unfortunately this time we had to wait half an hour for two curries, a rice and naan, even though the restaurant was only a third full.

  17. Yazmin D.
    Yazmin D.
    • 8 reviews
    6.5/10

    Great value for money, tucked away in an easy location in Darlinghurst. A few items on the menu not available, which was a shame but the meals we did have were great.

  18. Paul M.
    Paul M.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Nice food prompt service good atmosphere

  19. Esra M.
    Esra M.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Very quick service on a Sunday night. Delightful outdoor table. House beer was refreshing. Tikka delish. Our other curry we ordered at the spiciest level available - far too spicy for us( and we usually eat food with a kick). Lovely staff. A+

  20. Bud B.
    Bud B.
    • one review
    9/10

    Top notch food, everything was absolutely delicious. Service was a boy slow but you can overlook that when the food was that good.

  21. Ida N.
    Ida N.
    • one review
    10/10

    Food was delicious! I highly recommend the fish curry! Staff were very accommodating and friendly, and service was quick. Thank you the Colonial!

  22. Jessica H.
    Jessica H.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Staff were friendly and attentive, the food was very quick to arrive and very tasty. Would recommend.

  23. Beth M.
    Beth M.
    • one review
    8/10

    I got the chicken tikka massal as delicious would recommend! Such good value with the 50% off , was stuffed afterwards will be coming back!

  24. Eustace V.
    Eustace V.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Awesome food, accommodated to all dietary requests. We will be back regularly

  25. John M.
    John M.
    • 27 reviews
    9/10

    Busy restaurant. Service suffers a little. But food and atmosphere great

  26. Milly R.
    Milly R.
    • one review
    8/10

    Very delicious food! Keen to try their curry challenge next time . Good service, curry is fantastic ! Went their with a vegan - he was impressed by the choice and curries

  27. Lorna C.
    Lorna C.
    • 2 reviews
    8.5/10

    Food was delicious, we had the fish & mango curry. Service was average- had to ask for water twice & had to ask for their attention. Would recommend going for 50%!!

  28. Ryan G.
    Ryan G.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    Great tasting food and quick service! Would definitely recommend to anyone wanting a tasty curry! They also had a 50% off drinks offer running - great value!

  29. Oonagh M.
    Oonagh M.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    This was our first visit and we weren’t disappointed. We ordered a Vindaloo and Balti. Even for the spice enthusiast, the medium Vindaloo was lively but delicious. Attentive service, will definitely be back!

  30. Natalie J.
    Natalie J.
    • 4 reviews
    7.5/10

    Good food, good service

  31. Dawn S.
    Dawn S.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Decent Indian Food, the dal was not oily!

  32. Vicky T.
    Vicky T.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great little restaurant and the best curry I have had closest to back home in UK!! Service was great and so quick to bring you food! Great value for money will be going back!

  33. Cathy H.
    Cathy H.
    • 18 reviews
    7.5/10

    A decent curry which with 50% off made it very good value for money. The portions Could have been a little bigger though!

  34. Arriele Charissa B.
    Arriele Charissa B.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    The food was excellent! Servers were friendly and effective. Highly recommended!

  35. John P.
    John P.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    it was a very enjoyable night, with good service and good food. It was a good deal with the various offers. Will be happy to make a return visit and will refer friends.

  36. Anne W.
    Anne W.
    • one review
    8/10

    Booked this restaurant using the '50% off food' deal. Great meal, level of spice was just right and very good value with the discount. Definitely look forward to a return visit.

  37. Gian F.
    Gian F.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    Buzzing restaurant! Service was good. Food was yummy and filling. Great for groups. Would say that the butter chicken was too rich for my tastebuds.

  38. Phyllis W.
    Phyllis W.
    • 6 reviews
    9.5/10

    Great local establishment. We have been a handful of times and also have had it delivered and each time the food has been delicious and packed full of flavour.

  39. Chris M.
    Chris M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Excellent customer service! Excellent food! I will be back in the future

  40. Malcolm S.
    Malcolm S.
    • 2 reviews
    7.5/10

    The quantity of the platters is as good as a kids meal. The name is deceiving.