Back

Reviews The Colonial Darlinghurst British Indian Cuisine

8.5/10
Fabulous
based on 161 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Malcolm S.
    Malcolm S.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    The quantity of the platters is as good as a kids meal. The name is deceiving.

  2. Michael T.
    Michael T.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Great Indian food with some unusual but delicious choices as well as the traditional faves. The tailoring of the spice level was great, the vindaloo was hot without being ridiculously overbearing and really tasty. The standout for me was the eggplant !

  3. A A.
    A A.
    • 274 reviews
    8.25/10

    Best food and lovely staff - thanks heaps!

  4. A A.
    A A.
    • 270 reviews
    7/10

    nice Indian food, serve is not very big

  5. A A.
    A A.
    • 251 reviews
    7.25/10

    Fresh and tasty food with good service

  6. Sheldon V.
    Sheldon V.
    • 25 reviews
    8.25/10

    Some of the best Indian food in Sydney!

  7. A A.
    A A.
    • 276 reviews
    8/10

    Excellent service and good food.

  8. David W.
    David W.
    • 4 reviews
    9/10

    Great evening! Sounds weird to say but the curry was definitely cooked 'English style'. Great service, delicious food, I will definitely be returning again soon.

  9. A A.
    A A.
    • 277 reviews
    7.25/10

    Food was very nice, however for the prices charged, I did think the curry portion could be larger. We dined on a 50% off voucher so it was great value for money, however I wouldn't want to pay full price. Service was excellent

  10. A A.
    A A.
    • 289 reviews
    6.25/10

    The outfit of the restaurant is pretty good. Food wise - taste is ok but would not consider it value For money. Customer service - Average They definitely lack on dessert choices. I would give it a 6/10 for the overall visit

  11. Tony C.
    Tony C.
    • one review
    8.25/10

    Great food. Best Indian Food we have found after 40 years in Sydney.

  12. Toshi g.
    Toshi g.
    • 7 reviews
    9/10

    Amazing food, very good service. We got the dimmi 50% off, so even better

  13. Anna B.
    Anna B.
    • 27 reviews
    10/10

    Great 50% off Dimmi offer. Would’ve also paid full price!

  14. A A.
    A A.
    • 279 reviews
    9.25/10

    Great Indian food.

  15. Shailendra P.
    Shailendra P.
    • 7 reviews
    10/10

    Easily the best Indian restaurant in Darlinghurst! Love this place :)

  16. A A.
    A A.
    • 268 reviews
    9.5/10

    The Colonial consistently delivers the most delicious British style Indian food. The food is always fresh and the service is friendly and professional. We have been coming here for years, a quality and authenticity rarely matched in Sydney. They make the food mild if you prefer. A great place for groups too.

  17. Georgina H.
    Georgina H.
    • 9 reviews
    8.25/10

    I really enjoyed the goat curry very much, with a side of cucumber salad and naan. Efficient service for an early weeknight dinner before going to the theatre

  18. A A.
    A A.
    • 271 reviews
    9.25/10

    Great Indian! Also BYO ;)

  19. Sylvie H.
    Sylvie H.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    Great British indian

  20. A A.
    A A.
    • 262 reviews
    7.5/10

    always a delicious and easy choice after work fantastic service and tasty good