Back

Reviews - The Estelle

  1. Emma S.
    Emma S.
    • one review
    10/10

    Food was fantastic and service was excellent, can’t wait to go there again. Definitely try the kingfish crudo, it was delicious. Great wine list as well.

  2. Monique R.
    Monique R.
    • one review
    4.5/10

    Service was slow, the food was fine, but not remarkable, the wagu was cool when served. I suspect service was delayed due to a private event at the same venue.

  3. Bruce J.
    Bruce J.
    • one review
    9.25/10

    Great Restaurant with exceptional service and food quality.

  4. Elizabeth W.
    Elizabeth W.
    • 23 reviews
    8.75/10

    Delicious! A party if four, two had the Sunday roast of chicken and two a la carte, all of us thoroughly enjoyed the meal. The Sunday roast is great value. Service is attentive, friendly and seamless.

  5. Paul M.
    Paul M.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Chef Patron, Scott Pickett, practices what he preaches in his most recent cookbook, Marriage of Flavours. This is a menu that matches the seasons and in this case, it's most definitely spring on a plate. The freshness and bursts of green open with delicate pea falafels on yoghurt with fresh broad beans pea velouté and continue with a dish that's now in my top 5 Pickett dishes: grilled barramundi garnished with the freshest garden of spring's finest; a fine dice of capsicum, onion, pea, green olive and delicate zucchini rounds with their flowers, tiny morsels of prawn... served on a slick of pea puree. It was incredible and memorable. If you're a northside local, you're very lucky to have The Estelle in your hood and if you're southside, this is well worth the trip over the Yarra.

  6. Susan N.
    Susan N.
    • one review
    9/10

    A Northcote gem!

  7. A A.
    A A.
    • 245 reviews
    9.5/10

    Consistently good, every time!

  8. A A.
    A A.
    • 281 reviews
    10/10

    This time tied the Degustation and matching wines - the team took us on a great journey with matches we had not tried before - and both food and wine were excellent - flavours started from subtle, ending with fantastic richness of the Wagyu

  9. A A.
    A A.
    • 260 reviews
    5.75/10

    Main issue was that the restaurant was so noisy couldn’t hear the person next to me. To spend $90 a head for that experience not value. Won’t be back

  10. A A.
    A A.
    • 287 reviews
    8/10

    The food and wine is excellent. The service in the bar on arrival could improve - we were left waiting for our table and then offered seats at the bar despite booking a table at a specific time. The matter was resolved and didn’t at all spoil the night but attention to details is needed.

  11. Timothy B.
    Timothy B.
    • 2 reviews
    8.75/10

    Delicious food served in a modern and innovative way without being too showy. I would consider committing a crime to eat the crab mornay again, it was amazing! :) The Waiting service was good without being particularly warm or personal although I did get a detailed description from the head chef about how to correctly make a pavlova ( i have been doing it wrong all this time!) I needed to correct the bill in their favour at the end of the night but that was ok too. All in all a terrific evening!

  12. A A.
    A A.
    • 271 reviews
    3.5/10

    Didn’t enjoy the dinner at all

  13. A A.
    A A.
    • 290 reviews
    9.5/10

    Lovely lunch here with great service and ambience, definitely coming back for another indulgence!

  14. A A.
    A A.
    • 269 reviews
    7.25/10

    Food was outstanding. Unfortunately the service was terrible. We were often left with empty water and wine glasses having to ask for both. Staff were literally running at some points and forgot what dish they were serving us. I’d still go back for the food and hope the service improves.

  15. Prue P.
    Prue P.
    • 15 reviews
    10/10

    The Sunday roasts are amazing, and such brilliant value!

  16. A A.
    A A.
    • 278 reviews
    4.5/10

    Not impressed with the food or the service.

  17. Catherine G.
    Catherine G.
    • one review
    9/10

    Very enjoyable experience. The food and service were outstanding. The wine list seemed impressive but I was slightly put off not being able to enjoy a glass of bubbles for under $20.

  18. Rima Y.
    Rima Y.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    great local gem

  19. A A.
    A A.
    • 258 reviews
    4.25/10

    Service was shocking and made the rest of the experience disappointing. We went for the Sunday roast which was really nice food however we were rushed through the meal, the dishes weren't described and it wasn't clear what we were eating. Based on this I wouldn't recommend.

  20. A A.
    A A.
    • 262 reviews
    8.5/10

    Few teething issues with new wait staff and run out of one of the beers we requested, overall though very good. Food exceptional.

  21. A A.
    A A.
    • 261 reviews
    10/10

    Amazing experience at Estelle. To perch at the benches next to the pass and have a full view of the kitchen in complete control and each dish that appears is stunning and appears effortlessly created, the flavour and taste of each amazing. A must visit.

  22. Victoria T.
    Victoria T.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Fabulous service and really interesting take on some traditional dishes, as well as some new ones (but not too silly). Snacks are just that, and entrees are not large. But the food is out of this world! Calm and spacious bistro with lovely comfortable banquette. There is also has some fabric in upholstery on chairs and there are curtains between bar and bistro, so the noise is dampened AND there is only BACKGROUND music (NOT the type that means you have to shout at your dinner companions!) In fact, at one point in the evening I think the music was turned up, and when I asked they immediately turned it down to background level (with a smile and desire that our party was happy, and comfortable! EXTRA POINTS FOR THAT IN MY BOOK :)

  23. Kylie U.
    Kylie U.
    • 3 reviews
    9/10

    Degustation with wine matching was delicious.

  24. A A.
    A A.
    • 293 reviews
    9.5/10

    Can't fault it, beautiful food and beautiful place

  25. A A.
    A A.
    • 284 reviews
    7.25/10

    A reliable staple Sunday roast lunch, good value, 3 courses and a drink for $50. The bread served at the start was delicious.

  26. A A.
    A A.
    • 276 reviews
    10/10

    Very attentive service and very good combination of flavours and textures in five course degustation Menu.

  27. A A.
    A A.
    • 256 reviews
    9.5/10

    Ambience was great even though we were seated out the back. Food and service impecable

  28. A A.
    A A.
    • 267 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent world class and healthy food. Beautiful presentation. Lovely atmosphere. Great service. Would highly recommend.

  29. A A.
    A A.
    • 272 reviews
    9/10

    snacks were served as finger food with no option provided for cutlery. felt awkward having to ask. head/sous chefs were warm and welcoming. good floor staff - made a booking and they were flexible in accommodating an earlier time.

  30. A A.
    A A.
    • 262 reviews
    9.5/10

    Really enjoyed the degustation menu. Would go back again in a heartbeat

  31. John h.
    John h.
    • one review
    7.75/10

    Great food Wine list extensive but expensive

  32. Jo P.
    Jo P.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Easy booking, amazing food

  33. A A.
    A A.
    • 262 reviews
    9.25/10

    So much better than expected. Autumn veg with quail egg, chestnut and pickled quince was incredible. Best dish on tasting.

  34. A A.
    A A.
    • 277 reviews
    8.25/10

    The food was beautiful. I highly recommend the Rockling!

  35. A A.
    A A.
    • 300 reviews
    9/10

    Very high quality food, smaller portions, but loved the bread. Reasonably expensive but the service was very quick and professional. I really enjoyed my experience but please increase the size of the dishes just a little bit. Even if just the main course option.

  36. Christine H.
    Christine H.
    • one review
    9.25/10

    We had a five course degustation menu. It had a wine matched to every course. The portions were perfect; not too much. The ambience and acoustics are really comfortable inside. You can have an intimate conversation without being disturbed by general noise. The wine selections were very tasty. It was a break experience.

  37. Stephen G.
    Stephen G.
    • 3 reviews
    9/10

    Great atmosphere, the portions might be a little small (for me), but the flavours are amazing... great service, and the Rolling Stones as dinner music, fabulous.

  38. Brenda S.
    Brenda S.
    • 14 reviews
    8.75/10

    Our first visit after recent changes and we really enjoyed our lunch with friends. Just as well we're not big eaters as the meals are quite small and bread is not included. Just a tip. thank you.

  39. A A.
    A A.
    • 248 reviews
    8/10

    Each of our main courses were excellent, and the selection of accompanying vegetables complimented the meals and were very tasty. Seeing the food prepared within easy sight of the table was very good.

  40. Alexandra O.
    Alexandra O.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Best night ever