Back

Reviews The French Bistrot

7.4/10

based on 858 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Francene C.
    Francene C.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    Two of us shared a charcutarie mixed platter consisting of two meats with butter and baguette. For main I ordered an extremely disappointing and hugely overpriced at $53 for a medium rare rump steak with a disappointing pepper sauce served with rocket salad and roast cubed vegetables. I was given a thin 2cm overcooked steak that had alot of gristle and fat in the steak. The delightful waitress kindly got me another steak which was marginally better. My partner ordered beef tartare ($43) which was OK. We had a couple of lovely French red wines with our meal. Overall, disappointing expensive food, delightful staff and pleasant atmosphere.

  2. Joanna O.
    Joanna O.
    • 9 reviews
    7.5/10

    Steak was good

  3. Hazel H.
    Hazel H.
    • 8 reviews
    3.5/10

    Dishonest marketing and sub-par food charged at exorbitant prices! Our first visit to this restaurant was initially a bad experience and we hadn’t been back for nearly 12 months. After recently seeing a 50% off promotion, we decided to give them a second chance, but left deeply regretting our decision. First/initial visit: We had pre-booked a table with friends, had specified a requirement for a high chair for toddler. Arrived for our booking to be told that their only single high chair was already given to another table who had only just sat down and ordered. We were given the option to eat with the toddler on our lap, or wait and come back when the other table has finished with the chair. We would have gone elsewhere straight away, except we had friends that drove all the way from the Gold Coast to try this French restaurant that night. Awkward and disappointing. Recent visit: - Was given a different menu for their 50% off promotion to what their website menu is. When questioned about it, they just said that it’s their new seasonal menu and that their website one is not up to date. However, the exact same dishes on the menu given is 10-20% more expensive than website prices. - Promotion states that it’s 50% off food, excluding drinks. Was then told that this does not apply to kids food (somehow that is not food?) and was forced to pay $17 for their “kids meal”. - Their steak is priced at $48 on this special menu, and you still had to pay $5 for sauce! The steak that arrived is the equivalent quality to a $20 pub steak. - Ordered a steak tartare, which was the dish pictured as their feature Facebook profile photo. The meal arrived looking completely different to as pictured (in a bad way). I suspect photo used on Facebook page are stock photos or are from someone else’s restaurant? - Ordered sparkling water but was told the restaurant didn’t have any (?!!!)

  4. Hok Sum C.
    Hok Sum C.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    Heard this restaurant for a while and found a 50% discount on the Fork. Went on a lunch on Sunday. Good services and quality foods. We enjoyed a lot.

  5. Jasmine J.
    Jasmine J.
    • one review
    7/10

    It was great

  6. Shalom A.
    Shalom A.
    • 2 reviews
    6/10

    Food was good. Nice cosy restaurant for winter but the hot summer night we were there, the air con wasn't doing anything, maybe it's preset & cannot be changed but the stuffiness & heat made it a bit unbearable. Friendly staff but were quite busy so not as attentative. 50% discount great but doubt if full price would be worth their prices. Overall ok.

  7. Richard S.
    Richard S.
    • 5 reviews
    7/10

    Haven't been here for a while, the food used to be better, the fish was quite fishy. Tasted just cream sauce than French as it used to be. Service was still great. Good location.

  8. Tracey P.
    Tracey P.
    • one review
    8/10

    Great steak. Cosy atmosphere.

  9. Jody B.
    Jody B.
    • 36 reviews
    6.5/10

    Great value on a 50% off fork deal, not sure it's worth the full price value. Staff were lovely and attentive. We enjoyed the rose and atmosphere.

  10. Man C.
    Man C.
    • 5 reviews
    5/10

    This is our 3rd time back and I was disappointed with the porterhouse steak. It was so tough, that I couldn't cut it up with the steak knife towards the end. Most disappointing dinner. I would try some place else.

  11. Ken Y.
    Ken Y.
    • 4 reviews
    8/10

    Dinner for birthday. Place was cosy but still comfortable. Will prefer the backyard but didn’t open for the day we book. Front area was a bit noisy and we all need to speak up for conversations.

  12. Ken Y.
    Ken Y.
    • 4 reviews
    8/10

    Ran out of coffee when try to get my second cup...may need to stock up a bit more??

  13. Lesley C.
    Lesley C.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Nice food and with the fork discount was especially good!

  14. Franck H.
    Franck H.
    • 6 reviews
    6.25/10

    We were disapointed with the meals. The entree was disapointing and not what we expected. The main was the same, the saving grace was the desert. We did have 50% of the meal and to be honest the price we paid was what it was worth.

  15. Donald d.
    Donald d.
    • 12 reviews
    9/10

    Food was very good Innovative, baked Camembert was to,die for. Other plates were small but sufficient, as we went there for lunch. The chef/waiter/cashier/owner was the one person. He performed brilliantly. A favourite spot

  16. Jerry J.
    Jerry J.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    good place fine dining

  17. A A.
    A A.
    • 277 reviews
    5.25/10

    Disappointing The restaurant did not have many basic ingredients to serve multiple things on the menu. Meals seemed to be missing many things and simply padded with base fillers Food was bland but edible (just). But certainly not pleasant We had a voucher for the place which meant we essentially paid half price and at that price it was ok , but if we had paid full price it would have been disgraceful Our first time here and you would hope there would be an effort to impress given the promotional voucher but absolutely no effort made. As I said disappointing won’t be coming again

  18. Prasanna w.
    Prasanna w.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Good food and fantastic staff

  19. Nancy C.
    Nancy C.
    • 11 reviews
    8/10

    Delicious food and quality wine. Portion was generous for fine dining.

  20. Adam D.
    Adam D.
    • 7 reviews
    9/10

    Thank you for the lovely meal and as always it was perfect! See you guys again soon.

  21. A A.
    A A.
    • 290 reviews
    9.25/10

    Great food, wonderful service, lovely venue, excellent wine.

  22. A A.
    A A.
    • 287 reviews
    7.5/10

    Amazing atmosphere! Friendly staffs and excellent service! Foods were great!

  23. Robyn C.
    Robyn C.
    • 9 reviews
    8.75/10

    Have been to French Bistrot a number of times and have always enjoyed the experience. It has become the place for my friend and I to celebrate our birthdays each year.

  24. A A.
    A A.
    • 249 reviews
    8/10

    Food was very good, I actually didn’t need to add any condiments to improve it. Surprisingly, the restaurant also had non French cuisine which was also greatly appreciated by my guest. Our tummies were happy & full.

  25. Jason M.
    Jason M.
    • 2 reviews
    6.75/10

    I understand westend is a tough market.. Great little restaurant,and was our second visit.. Being honest due to the prices probably wouldn't go if wasn't for the fork discount.. Fickle industrie & difficult balance. Having said all that, it was Thursday night and tables were full. regards Jason McQuilty

  26. A A.
    A A.
    • 264 reviews
    8.5/10

    This was made all the more appealing with 50% off food offer which meant I didn't feel "guilty" about having treats!!

  27. Deb S.
    Deb S.
    • 2 reviews
    6/10

    My carbonara was watery and my husbands meal had one prawn and four prawn heads. The plastic plants were all dusty and you could smell the plastic.

  28. A A.
    A A.
    • 291 reviews
    9/10

    Great for family gathering and special occasions

  29. A A.
    A A.
    • 261 reviews
    9.25/10

    Great food and service

  30. Iva D.
    Iva D.
    • 3 reviews
    8.5/10

    Really lovely atmosphere very good service and delicious food

  31. Susan S.
    Susan S.
    • 3 reviews
    7/10

    foods are good. tasty great for money

  32. A A.
    A A.
    • 273 reviews
    4.75/10

    Very average quality food at very high prices. Any restaurant with a laminated menu selling $49 steak doesn’t feel right. Steak was nothing special - can do better at home.

  33. Penny W.
    Penny W.
    • one review
    9.75/10

    Food was of highly quality. Professional service. Lovely, relaxing lunch.

  34. Peter D.
    Peter D.
    • 4 reviews
    9/10

    Great evening thanks

  35. A A.
    A A.
    • 287 reviews
    9/10

    Cosy atmosphere.

  36. Paul B.
    Paul B.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    Went for my wife's birthday with the kids. Food was very good and the kids meals were enormous. Waitress was lovely. Service was quite quick but the place was not terribly busy on a Tuesday night. Could be a bit cramped on a busy night. Wife very happy with the 50% off food offer!

  37. A A.
    A A.
    • 285 reviews
    7.75/10

    Great service and nice food. A bit on the expensive side.

  38. A A.
    A A.
    • 261 reviews
    7.25/10

    Food was good got exactly what we ordered. Cocktails made well, service was spot on. Menu on line was different to what was offered, was not an issue though will go back.

  39. Andrew T.
    Andrew T.
    • 31 reviews
    5.25/10

    Service was good but food was average

  40. A A.
    A A.
    • 257 reviews
    9.75/10

    Great food and service