Back

Reviews - The Gantry Restaurant

9.1/10

Excellent

based on 551 reviews
Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review. The global rating is based on all ratings and reviews but only those written in English are displayed.
  1. Sadat H.
    Sadat H.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    It was a good experience overall with good service. We went for the 4 course tasting menu. The only point I would like to note is - the should include bread/butter in it

  2. Adain T.
    Adain T.
    • one review
    10/10

    This restaurant was outstanding the service was 10/10 and the staff was really friendly and easy to communicate with , the food was all delicious and me and my fiancé couldn’t fault one thing with the whole experience

  3. Dave Y.
    Dave Y.
    • 11 reviews
    9/10

    I've been here for many times. Everytime I go there, I satisfied all. Today, we had good foods, good mood, but the service. They are kind, but the service was quite slow and not focused on us because there was lack of server. Rest of all like foodwise was amazing especially pan fried fish.

  4. John C.
    John C.
    • 4 reviews
    8.5/10

    Great service. Went for the 4 course tasting option. Food was delicious.

  5. Lisa N.
    Lisa N.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    This restaurant met all expectations. The food was amazing, service was friendly and very attentive, one of the best experiences we've had in a long time.

    The Gantry Restaurant

    Hi Lisa, thank you for your feedback. We are so glad to hear that you had a great experience with us, and hope to see you back again soon. Warm Regards!

  6. Tim K.
    Tim K.
    • 5 reviews
    5/10

    The wait staff were inexperience and off hand. They reflected the tone of the whole establishment. At 8o’clock on a Thursday night they claimed they only had 24 oysters in the hotel when our table tried to order 4 doz. The restaurant management were overbearing and rude. Whilst the kitchen earned one hat status, the service area totally gave it back in spades.

    The Gantry Restaurant

    Hi Tim, thank you for your feedback. We are disappointed to hear about your experience, and would appreciate speaking with you further on this matter if you would be willing to contact us directly? Warm regards,

  7. Jay U.
    Jay U.
    • one review
    9/10

    Had the vegetarian tasting meu & it was fab! The Spice glaze pumpkin gratin was a revelation, and I highly recommend it. It was definitely the highlight of the night.

  8. Patrick V.
    Patrick V.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Fantastic food and awesome service, the staff were very friendly and made you feel welcome at all time. The whole experience was memorable and would come back again.

  9. Mychau v.
    Mychau v.
    • 3 reviews
    8/10

    A relaxed scenic restaurant with great ambience.

  10. Michael K.
    Michael K.
    • one review
    9/10

    Excellent and friendly services from staff.

  11. Celina H.
    Celina H.
    • 7 reviews
    9.5/10

    Early sitting at 6pm lacked atmosphere as we sat inside in near empty space till others arrive. Next time we'll ask for table outside

  12. Alice m.
    Alice m.
    • one review
    9/10

    A great way to spend an evening. The outside was pleasant but there were a few mozzies as it got darker. The food was excellent and service was good. Would go again.

  13. Glenn b.
    Glenn b.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Gantry is a great restaurant. Perfect mix of interesting food, warm atmosphere and friendly attentive staff. The kangaroo is always amazing. The service was good and could have been excellent if staff were allocated to a specific number of tables, so would know that an aperitif was on its way from the bar before delivering the first course.

  14. Ann S.
    Ann S.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    The location and setting are fabulous and we had a great lunch. Lovely food and friendly service were very good. Standouts were the lamb rump and mango dessert.

  15. Mary T.
    Mary T.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    It is a really nice location next to the water. food standard consistent and always good. We have been there a few times over the years. Service are exceptional, eye for detail. Highly recommended.

  16. Yuliana O.
    Yuliana O.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Thoroughly enjoyed our dinner tonight, service was great, food was fantastic, thank you!!

  17. Bettina T.
    Bettina T.
    • 18 reviews
    8/10

    Pretty friendly service, nice setting, good food

  18. Segolene D.
    Segolene D.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    Delicious food and very nice staff. The setting is nice next to the water, inside atmosphere could be better. But overall it was a great experience and I would highly recommend it!

  19. Lucas J.
    Lucas J.
    • one review
    10/10

    Surprised my bf for our anniversary at The Gantry and it did not disappoint. Food and wine were awesome and we stuck around for a martini in the bar afterwards. Saw the private dining room and thinking about booking for our next occasion. Would definitely recommend for a special occasion.

  20. Martin W.
    Martin W.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    Set 4 course menu is fantastic !!!! Well designed not too much or too little. They also know their wines. All 4 courses great - highlights were the 3rd course duck and final course chocolate

  21. Emily L.
    Emily L.
    • 2 reviews
    5/10

    Service was extremely slow and hard to get the attention of wait stuff. On arrival we got seated by one waiter, but didn’t get presented with menus. Couple of minutes later uanother waiter came and provided us with water and menus but didn’t bother explaining the menu and only handed it to us and left. The entrees were delicious, however the pork belly main was rather average.

  22. Stephen K.
    Stephen K.
    • 7 reviews
    10/10

    The restaurant is in a really nice location right by the water. We had the Wagyu Rostbiff and Blue eye fish dishes which were both really tasty and nice portion sizes. The food is a bit pricey but quality is really good. There's also a nice little bar next door if you want a drink before or after your lunch or dinner.

  23. Leanne V.
    Leanne V.
    • one review
    10/10

    Went here for my friend's 30th birthday, everything was perfect and the staff were attentive and friendly. The food was wonderful and everyone left very full and content.

  24. Michele K.
    Michele K.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    The Gantry is excellent. This was our 2nd visit in 5 months. The service is excellent, atmosphere is beautiful and the food is of an extremely high standard. Every mouthful is delicious.

  25. Lesley W.
    Lesley W.
    • one review
    10/10

    The food was outstanding. We had booked for a pre-theatre dinner and the staff made sure our time restrictions were met, but without making us feel rushed. Service was professional and efficient but friendly. This is a great restaurant - we'll definitely return.

  26. Pascale P.
    Pascale P.
    • 5 reviews
    9/10

    The food is really good, we had cod, king fish and prawns, all very fresh and tasty. The beef was cooked to perfection, however the duck is on the salty side but good. We had mango and passionfruit tart, this is absolutely beautiful and melt in your mouth. I wish all the tarts have very thin pastry like this, it was a delicious meal. One drawback is that the waitress got our food mixed up, one main course never came and we also ordered 2 entre instead of one entre and main, somehow the waitress got mixed and both dishes came at once. If you are looking for fine dining, this is our new find lately, you have to try it!

  27. Melinda K.
    Melinda K.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Lovely way to spend an afternoon and the food was excellent.

  28. Victoria P.
    Victoria P.
    • 12 reviews
    9.5/10

    Can’t fault the food, top notch! My only comment is that they never change/rarely change the menu so it’s not a Resturant that you could frequent regularly because you run out of things to try - but nonetheless, the food is delicious. The location is amazing, great for lunch on a nice sunny day.

  29. Albert S.
    Albert S.
    • 68 reviews
    9/10

    Nice food and setting

  30. Naomi S.
    Naomi S.
    • 7 reviews
    10/10

    We got the degustation menu. Overall the food was delicious. The staff are friendly, accommodating and knowledgeable. Wasn’t a fan of the kangaroo but that was just me. We brought our two dogs. They are very dog-friendly and there is a pooch menu available too. The wines are amazing. Bring mozzie repellent if sitting outside. Will definitely return and bring my friends. Thank you for the amazing experience.

  31. Tony L.
    Tony L.
    • 8 reviews
    10/10

    Beautiful setting overlooking water. Not too crowded. Easy street parking (fee required). Gorgeous food. Will go there again! Service is top notch!

  32. Anthony W.
    Anthony W.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent menu with an amazing variety of dishes, both at the entree and main courses. The wine selection was superb with very nice international selection which were reasonably priced. The service was pleasant and focused. We were well looked after whilst also given our privacy Would certainly go back!!

  33. Jules B.
    Jules B.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Delicious food and great ambience sitting outside.

  34. Juliana h.
    Juliana h.
    • 18 reviews
    7.5/10

    The new summer menu was a bit disappointing, the grilled prawns entree on the overcooked side and the braised pork belly on the dry side. The raw kingfish and the usual chocolate dessert are the highlight of our meals.

  35. Gurpreet K.
    Gurpreet K.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    The Gantry is our go to place when we want to get good food along with a nice ambience. The have many options on the menu and the service is very good.

  36. Richard M.
    Richard M.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    Superb food, great atmosphere, excellent service. So pleased we booked this last minute. Best food in Oz we’ve had in a months worth of travels.

  37. Ingrid L.
    Ingrid L.
    • one review
    10/10

    One of our favourite restaurants which we go back to over and over again! Food is always amazing and the service is attentive. Set on the harbour but out of the way of the hustle and bustle of the city.

  38. Les W.
    Les W.
    • one review
    10/10

    We ordered the pork belly and blue cod dish and they were delicious. Great service from the waitress and great atmosphere. Will be back for more !

  39. Albert S.
    Albert S.
    • 68 reviews
    9/10

    Nice food and atmosphere

  40. Rita S.
    Rita S.
    • 9 reviews
    10/10

    Such an amazing experience!