INSIDER

INSIDER by TheFork is a carefully curated selection of top tier venues, the ones with hats, the ones that make the top dining guides, and most importantly the ones we know you love!

Meet the Chef

Picture of Thom Gorringe.

Thom Gorringe

Our Head Chef Thom Gorringe hails from the Southern Highlands, and worked as head chef at Eschalot before moving to Bentley and more recently, The Gantry in 2016. He was a finalist in the Electrolux Young Chef of the Year in 2017 and took over The Gantry top role in 2018. Thom's effortless craftsmanship and storytelling is woven into an honest and uncomplicated approach to sustainably sourced and fresh foraged ingredients.

1078 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

8.8
1078 reviews
Recommended
(9.0)
Food
(8.9)
Service
(8.6)
Value for money
(8.1)
Atmosphere
(8.7)

dined on Sun, 2 Jun 2019

(9)
great location, beautiful food, service excellent, lovely decor

dined on Sun, 2 Jun 2019

(5)
Great atmosphere, great food.

dined on Fri, 31 May 2019

(10)
Fantastic food our second visit
Hi Maree, Thank you for your continued patronage, we hope to see you soon for your third visit!
Kind regards, Luke responded on Fri, 14 Jun 2019
Morelli Eric

dined on Fri, 24 May 2019

(9)
Sensational Food great thought in combination of flavours Meat was exceptional and the Kangaroo sensational Then the chocolate desert was decadent and good Topped of by great views
Hi Eric, Thank you for your kind words, our Chocolate dulce de leche is truly hard to beat! We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards, Luke responded on Fri, 14 Jun 2019
German Anchique

dined on Fri, 17 May 2019

(9)
Beautiful location, only thing was not happy with was the booking and confirmation was not very clear, sounded not professional enough, I requested a table on the water side but when we got there I was given a table next to the wall when tables were available in water side. eventually I got the table I wanted but It would have been better if I didn’t have to ask, I told them it was my wife’s 50th birthday and would have been nice if they surprised her with somethings special. Not sure what but something small

dined on Fri, 10 May 2019

(8)
Food n service was good but was cold the restaurant . Need to something to make warm.

dined on Wed, 1 May 2019

(9)
We decided to try a new place and dined here before seeing a show at the Roslyn Packer theatre and we were all happy we did. The food was spectacular! We ordered tha kingfish, figs, blue eye cod, wagyu and chocolate for dressert and every single dish was absolutely beautiful! The service was quite good as well. Highly recommend!

dined on Mon, 29 Apr 2019

(9)
Steak and cod would be my recommendation, you won't go wrong. Dessert was average.

dined on Fri, 26 Apr 2019

(9)
We love this restaurant, they often change their menu so we go every three month usually and for occasion like bday.

dined on Mon, 25 Mar 2019

(6)
Staff were helpful and friendly but service was slow and we had to ask at least twice for staff to take main course and dessert orders. For cheese plate orders, both were incorrect upon delivery. Upon complaining, the second set delivered were still wrong. We were not charged for them as recompense for the problems. I think staff are inexperienced, and not once did they write the orders down.
page: 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12

Specials

Pre Show Menu

Enjoy an abridged a la carte menu, specifically designed by our chefs for faster service to allow you to make it to the theatre on time. 1. A cancellation fee equal to $50pp if the booking is cancelled within 24 hours prior to arrival. 2. A cancellation fee equal to $100pp for failing to show for your booking without contact.
Max. people
7
When
03 Jan 2018 - 30 Dec 2022
Sun, Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat 5:30 PM - 6:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Christmas Tasting Menu - $349

Celebrate Christmas in relaxed style at The Gantry, with a very special four-course menu at one hat harbourside dining destination, The Gantry Restaurant. Perfectly framed against the stunning backdrop of Sydney Harbour and Walsh Bay, The Gantry Christmas set menu has been especially crafted by Head Chef Thom Gorringe for the festive occasion. The four-course journey features some of Australia’s best produce with the best local seafood – ending on a sweet note of exquisite dessert. Your Christmas menu will be expertly paired with quality Australian wines and a range of beers, making it a Christmas to remember. Upgrade to Premium Beverages for +$60 per person or Champagne for +$99 per person. Must apply to all adult guests at the table. *Please note, a two-hour dining time applies. Full pre-payment required to confirm reservation. A 2.5% Credit Card fee applies. No cancellations or refunds.
When
24 Dec 2019
Tue 5:30 PM - 9:30 PM
When
25 Dec 2019
Wed 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

NYE Dinner - $799

Celebrate NYE in comfort and style with a very special six-course NYE menu at one hat harbourside dining destination, The Gantry Restaurant. Perfectly framed for NYE against the stunning backdrop of Sydney Harbour, The Gantry menu has been specially crafted by Head Chef Thom Gorringe to showcase the best of Australian produce, with special touches for the festive occasion.  Your New Year's Eve will be perfectly accompanied by quality Australian wines and a range of beers, making it a NYE to remember. Upgrade to Premium Beverages for +$60 per person or Champagne for +$99 per person. Must apply to all adult guests at the table. Upgrade your ticket for +$200 to join the celebrations at the NYE @ Pier One Party* after your dinner. Witness stunning views of the Sydney NYE Fireworks over the Harbour Bridge – a once in a lifetime moment! *Full pre-payment required to confirm reservation. A 2.5% Credit Card fee applies. No cancellations or refunds. The NYE @ Pier One Party is restricted to ages 18+ only.
When
31 Dec 2019
Tue 5:30 PM - 9:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

NYE Dinner + Party - $999

Celebrate NYE in comfort and style with a very special six-course NYE menu at one hat harbourside dining destination, The Gantry Restaurant. Perfectly framed for NYE against the stunning backdrop of Sydney Harbour, The Gantry menu has been specially crafted by Head Chef Thom Gorringe to showcase the best of Australian produce, with special touches for the festive occasion.  Your New Year's Eve will be perfectly accompanied by quality Australian wines and a range of beers, making it a NYE to remember. Upgrade to Premium Beverages for +$60 per person or Champagne for +$99 per person. Must apply to all adult guests at the table. This ticket includes access to join the celebrations at the NYE @ Pier One Party* after your dinner. Witness stunning views of the Sydney NYE Fireworks over the Harbour Bridge – a once in a lifetime moment! *Full pre-payment required to confirm reservation. A 2.5% Credit Card fee applies. No cancellations or refunds. The NYE @ Pier One Party is restricted to ages 18+ only.
When
31 Dec 2019
Tue 5:30 PM - 9:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Melbourne Cup Lunch - $189 pp

Celebrate Race Day overlooking Sydney Harbour! Enjoy a delicious four-course lunch with snacks and petit fours. Sip on a glass of sparkling wine on arrival. Watch 'the race that stops the nation' from multiple flat screen TVs set up for prime viewing. *A cancellation fee equal to $50 pp applies if the booking is cancelled within 24 hours prior to arrival. A 'No Show' fee equal to $100 pp applies for failing to show for your booking without contact.
When
05 Nov 2019
Tue 12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Good Food Month: Santa Monica Chef Collab $200

Santa Monica personality, Chef Govind Armstrong (Head Chef of the famous California establishment, The Lobster) will collaborate with The Gantry’s Head Chef Thom Gorringe to showcase the best of seasonal seafood and produce with a menu inspired by the waterside aspects of life on the Pier – taking you from the Santa Monica coast to Sydney Harbour. Each Chef will prepare 3 new dishes that reflect their personal style utilising fresh, market-driven ingredients. The mouthwatering coastal-inspired menu will draw upon the hyper-seasonal culinary style that each chef brings to the table. Six course set menu including wine and beer valued at $250 pp Intimate setting with only 40 guests, live chef cooking experience, and the opportunity to meet the chefs. *No cancellations. Full payment will be taken on the day of the event.
When
16 Oct 2019
Wed 6:30 PM - 6:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Jazz On The Bay $165 pp

Walsh Bay Arts & Commerce are bringing free live jazz back to the iconic piers of Walsh Bay. Join us on Sunday 20th October for harbourside dining and an exciting line-up of jazz musicians. Enjoy a four-course tasting menu including matching wines at The Gantry Restaurant. The price includes a donation to the Walsh Bay Arts & Commerce’s Cultural Program.
When
20 Oct 2019
Sun 6:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Good Food Reader Event - $130 pp

How does the Good Food Guide work? Do restaurants know reviewers are coming? Are there disguises? Do reviewers get special treatment and extra dishes? What do hatted chefs think of the whole shebang? To celebrate the release of the Good Food Guide 2020, readers are invited to dinner at The Gantry, the beautiful one-hat restaurant on the harbour at Walsh Bay. Guests will enjoy snacks in the garden followed by three courses prepared by chef Thomas Gorringe, including kingfish with Tasmanian wasabi, dry-aged Maremma duck with white asparagus and an indulgent chocolate and dulce de leche dessert. After mains, guests will enjoy a panel session with Thom plus Good Food Guide editor Myffy Rigby and senior reviewers Terry Durack and Jill Dupleix, as well as the chance to fire questions at the critics. *No cancellations. A 100% penalty fee applies.
When
29 Oct 2019
Tue 6:30 PM - 6:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About The Gantry Restaurant

The Gantry Restaurant Located within the luxurious Pier One Sydney Harbour Hotel, this hatted venue offers Modern Australian al fresco dining with sweeping views of Walsh Bay and Sydney Harbour. Paying homage to The Rocks’ heritage charm while simultaneously adopting a modern vibe, The Gantry is very dapper indeed. The intimate industrial inspired space is fitted out with solid timber floors, weathered wooden columns, mellow blues, off whites, floor-to-ceiling- glass windows and a number of tables out on the pier maximising the extraordinary water views. Executive Chef, Thom Gorringe, has created a tasty menu focusing on freshly foraged produce and punters can dine a la carte, or opt for the degustation feast. Think of it as laid back fine dining! Great for intimate dates or small friendly get togethers, The Gantry is a great addition to Sydney’s dining scene. Recommended favourite: partridge – rhubarb – radicchio

Features

Insider

The Gantry Restaurant Address

Google Map