Back

Reviews - The Golden Gate Hotel

8.9/10

Fabulous

based on 53 reviews
Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review. The global rating is based on all ratings and reviews but only those written in English are displayed.
  1. Shannon B.
    Shannon B.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great food and great service

  2. Debbie W.
    Debbie W.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Great service, food & atmosphere. Very user friendly WEBSITE in these times of COVID. Easy to book online. The steps they had for COVID on arrival & when ordering were excellent.

  3. Kylie K.
    Kylie K.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great experience- super friendly staff and food was delish. Great experience especially given the challenging time over the last few months we will be back!

  4. Jenni T.
    Jenni T.
    • one review
    9/10

    Happily found out we'd arrived at happy hour! The service was friendly and drinks extremely well priced! Had the Thursday Parma special which was really tasty and great value. Even used the QR code to order from our table. Overall a great night out and would definitely return.

  5. A A.
    A A.
    • 246 reviews
    8.75/10

    Great atmosphere, food and amazing staff. My go to place. Will definitely be back!

    The Golden Gate Hotel

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. we hope to see you soon. Kind Regards Golden Gate Hotel

  6. Wendy M.
    Wendy M.
    • one review
    7.75/10

    Had an enjoyable evening

    The Golden Gate Hotel

    Hi Wendy Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Hope to see you again soon Kind Regards Golden Gate Hotel

  7. A A.
    A A.
    • 257 reviews
    7.75/10

    Great spot for lunch, girl behind the bar was useless but other staff were excellent

    The Golden Gate Hotel

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us valuable feedback. I will make sure that the girl on duty is to receive extra training. We hope to see you again Kind Regards Golden Gate Hotel

  8. Sarah H.
    Sarah H.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    Great South Melb venue. Loved the 2-4-1 cocktails and great parmas

    The Golden Gate Hotel

    Thank you Sarah for your review , we hope to see you back really soon The Golden Gate Hotel

  9. A A.
    A A.
    • 256 reviews
    8/10

    Reliable hidden gem, as a local I'm happy each time I return!

    The Golden Gate Hotel

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely review. We hope to see you soon. Kind Regards Golden Gate Hotel

  10. Kristy B.
    Kristy B.
    • 4 reviews
    6.75/10

    The golden gate hotel is a fun, casual pub great for a budget mid week meal or Friday night dinner. The serving sizes are huge!

    The Golden Gate Hotel

    Hi Kristy, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. we hope to see you again Kind Regards Golden Gate Hotel

  11. A A.
    A A.
    • 279 reviews
    9/10

    Ambience is beautiful!!!!

    The Golden Gate Hotel

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We hope to see you again.

  12. A A.
    A A.
    • 276 reviews
    9.25/10

    Great food and service. Will definitely come back here.

  13. A A.
    A A.
    • 250 reviews
    9/10

    Great food, good service. Happy to return next time!

    The Golden Gate Hotel

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. we hope to see you again soon Kind Regards Golden Gate Hotel

  14. A A.
    A A.
    • 261 reviews
    8.25/10

    Good spot for some pub grub

  15. A A.
    A A.
    • 282 reviews
    8.75/10

    Food was yummy, service was great, it was nice a cool and spacious for our bigger family group.

  16. Jess  W.
    Jess W.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Pizzas were great, service was really good. Great value for money, would definitely recommend.

  17. A A.
    A A.
    • 278 reviews
    8.75/10

    Service was great

  18. A A.
    A A.
    • 290 reviews
    8.5/10

    Food was lovely

  19. Jacquie m.
    Jacquie m.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Had such a lovely time, the food, service and atmosphere was outstanding - i'd definitely visit the Golden Gate Hotel again.

  20. A A.
    A A.
    • 265 reviews
    8/10

    Decent pub food. Good service. Pub was very quiet.

  21. Sharon t.
    Sharon t.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    Always a fave of ours

  22. A A.
    A A.
    • 262 reviews
    5.5/10

    Doesn’t really cater for food allergies due to cross contamination, should take GF off the menu.

    The Golden Gate Hotel

    I'm very sorry that you feel we don't cater for dietaries. We always try our best to cater for everyone and want our guests to have an enjoyable experience at the Golden Gate. When customers notify us of dietaries our chefs will take the extra steps to stop any cross contamination from happening. I would love to offer you and your guests a meal on me if you would be happy to give us another chance. Feel free to email me directly on aimee.permial@goldengatehotel.com.au

  23. A A.
    A A.
    • 298 reviews
    8/10

    Good service and food with nice décor.

  24. Leah B.
    Leah B.
    • 96 reviews
    7.5/10

    A nice night out - warm, cosy dining interior - pleasant staff & a good menu.. A great iconic pub in Sth.Melb.

  25. Cass W.
    Cass W.
    • 13 reviews
    8.5/10

    Fantastic vegan roast, thanks!

  26. Julian F.
    Julian F.
    • one review
    8/10

    Good food and service - happy to return soon.

  27. Marianne H.
    Marianne H.
    • one review
    8/10

    Great Sunday roast, including vegan option, just a little more food for $26 Would have been nice. Great service.

  28. A A.
    A A.
    • 300 reviews
    8.5/10

    Good service, food was good too

  29. Claire A.
    Claire A.
    • one review
    7.25/10

    The daily $10 steak special can't be beaten, and is really tasty.

  30. Jamie C.
    Jamie C.
    • one review
    10/10

    Good food, friendly service

  31. Ellie G.
    Ellie G.
    • one review
    10/10

    Gear service and food

  32. Lauren K.
    Lauren K.
    • 4 reviews
    9/10

    It was great as always

  33. Sharon K.
    Sharon K.
    • one review
    6.75/10

    The quality and choice of food wasn't as good as previous occasions.

  34. A A.
    A A.
    • 286 reviews
    8.5/10

    Food was reasonable, service was friendly and prompt.

  35. Richard S.
    Richard S.
    • 11 reviews
    8.25/10

    Lovely evening thank you.

  36. A A.
    A A.
    • 256 reviews
    8.75/10

    It was my third time there and always satisfied.

  37. A A.
    A A.
    • 255 reviews
    9/10

    Value for money.

  38. A A.
    A A.
    • 258 reviews
    8.75/10

    Cheap and nice steak! Value for money and the service is also good.

  39. A A.
    A A.
    • 290 reviews
    7/10

    We came for dinner and it was nice. The food was ok but not the greatest i.e. my husband's ham hock was a bit fatty and my chicken parma was nice but lacked full flavour

  40. A A.
    A A.
    • 260 reviews
    8.5/10

    Lovely venue with a great atmosphere and comfortable dining area. The steak was average but the calamari was full of flavour and very light despite being deep fried. Overall, a very pleasant place to dine with friends and family at very reasonable prices.