101 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

8.1
101 reviews
Recommended
(8.4)
Food
(7.9)
Service
(8.4)
Value for money
(7.7)
Atmosphere
(8.2)

dined on Sat, 15 Jun 2019

(9)
Great pub fare, really good smoked beef brisket, beautiful refurb of the old hotel. Music a bit boppy for the setting - would have preferred something more blues, roots or chill - but otherwise a great day out thank you

dined on Sat, 15 Jun 2019

(8)
Nice renovation. Good atmosphere.
Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your review! We really appreciate your positive comments and I will pass this on to our team. We hope to see you again soon!
Admin, The Guildford responded on Sun, 16 Jun 2019

dined on Thu, 13 Jun 2019

(9)
I had black Angus rump steak & it was yummy& tender.good service.
Hi Edith, Thank you so much for taking the Time to leave us such lovely, positive feedback! We appreciate you letting us know that you enjoyed your visit to The Guildford and we will pass your comments on to our team. We hope to see you again soon! - Team G
Admin, The Guildford responded on Fri, 14 Jun 2019

dined on Mon, 3 Jun 2019

(4)
We came for the ribs but they were very disappointing.
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review regarding your meal at The Guildford. We take all feedback seriously and we will pass your comments on to our kitchen team and Head Chef. We really hope this doesn't put you off coming back to The Guildford in the future.
Admin, The Guildford responded on Sun, 16 Jun 2019
Belinda Hill

dined on Sun, 2 Jun 2019

(9)
Service was brilliant, salmon was overcooked for Caesar salad, salt and pepper squid was quite oily
Hi Belinda, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review here at The Guildford. It's great to see that you enjoyed the service! We are sorry to see that your meal wasn't quite up to standard! We take all feedback very seriously and I will pass this directly to our kitchen team. We do hope it hasn't put you off coming back to The Guildford again in the future!
Admin, The Guildford responded on Sun, 16 Jun 2019

dined on Sun, 26 May 2019

(10)
Great experience.
Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review! We really appreciate your great feedback and we look forward to seeing you back at The Guildford soon!
Admin, The Guildford responded on Sun, 16 Jun 2019

dined on Sat, 25 May 2019

(10)
Love the rustic decor, food choices and different areas to eat depending on occasion and weather. Good to have heaters inside.
Hi there, thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a great review! It's lovely to see that you enjoyed your visit to The Guildford so much and we hope to see you again soon! - Team G
Admin, The Guildford responded on Sun, 26 May 2019

dined on Fri, 24 May 2019

(7)
Service excellent, venue beautiful, food quality average. Chicken schnitzel was a plate full of salad. Caesar salad quite dry (not much dressing) larger bits of bacon would be nice.
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review regarding your experience here at The Guildford Hotel. We take all feedback very seriously and we will be sure to pass on your comments to our kitchen team. We really hope this hasn't put you off coming back in the future!
Admin, The Guildford responded on Sun, 16 Jun 2019
Tanya Swift

dined on Fri, 17 May 2019

(4)
Great Atmosphere, freezing cold inside, service bad & food was average
Hi Tanya, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review and feedback regarding your visit to The Guildford Hotel. We are really sorry to see that it wasn't up to our usual standards! We would certainly like to look into this further, if you wouldn't mind emailing us directly at admin@theguildfordhotel.com.au at your earliest convenience we would be very grateful. Thanks again, - The Guildford Team
Admin, The Guildford responded on Sun, 19 May 2019

dined on Wed, 15 May 2019

(2)
The Guildford Hotel was old stomping ground for myself and colleagues when working in the vicinity prior to 'the fire' and I was looking forward to a night out there with my family for a 'get together'. Renovations were well done and sympethic to the history of the building, however the food, service and prices were disappointing to say the least. I will not be returning and would not recommend the Guildford to friends if they are looking for good food and service. In terms of the smoked meats the beef was not available so two of us went for the smoked lamb ribs which were a huge disappointment. Smoke - what smoke - tender meat - what meat - portion size for the price was over the top. Mash was substandard and as the the beans served in a cardboard container they left a lot to be desired Chicken parma was also order - who serves chicken parma in a roll. Obviously on the menu as a bar snack filler. I had been warned of all of the above by a colleague before booking and should have taken heed and swapped celebration venue.
Hi There, We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy you dining experience at The Guildford Hotel. We take all feedback very seriously and we believe its only from customer feedback that we can improve. Please be reassured we have passed this onto our head chef and changes to the way we serve our beans will be made. -Team Guildford
Admin, The Guildford responded on Mon, 20 May 2019
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

Specials

Guildford Gathering $200

The perfect option for the old faithful catch up! We can allocate an area in the venue for you and your guests to mingle, enjoy Chef's specially crafted platter – the perfect start to any occasion. Enjoy a delicious spread of the finest one handed bites from our bar menu, including buttermilk fried chicken, fried green tomato bao buns, S&P squid and much more! Up to 10 guests: $200 Reserved area + 1 Chef's Platter + $100 Bar Tab -Reservations can be made online or over the phone. -A valid credit card is required at the time of your booking. -This package is to be paid in full at the time of your arrival. Please note this package will not start until full payment is received. -If you choose to cancel your whole reservation within 48 hours of the booking date 50% of the package will be charged to the card provided (not to worry - we will call you to confirm!) -Tables will be allocated by management but if you have a request please let us know. Note that this may not be guaranteed. -Platters will be delivered to your table and drinks are available at the bar. -Seating may not be guaranteed for all guests. -Wrist bands will be given on arrival. -Bookings are held for 30 minutes after your confirmed arrival time.
Max. people
10
When
31 Jan 2018 - 31 Dec 2022
Sun, Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Guildford Gatherings $400

The perfect option for the old faithful catch up! We can allocate an area in the venue for you and your guests to mingle, enjoy Chef's specially crafted platter – the perfect start to any occasion. Enjoy a delicious spread of the finest one handed bites from our bar menu, including buttermilk fried chicken, fried green tomato bao buns, S&P squid and much more! 11-20 guests: $400 Reserved area + 2 Chef's Platter + $200 Bar Tab -Reservations can be made online or over the phone. -A valid credit card is required at the time of your booking. -This package is to be paid in full at the time of your arrival. Please note this package will not start until full payment is received. -If you choose to cancel your whole reservation within 48 hours of the booking date 50% of the package will be charged to the card provided (not to worry - we will call you to confirm!) -Tables will be allocated by management but if you have a request please let us know. Note that this may not be guaranteed. -Platters will be delivered to your table and drinks are available at the bar. -Seating may not be guaranteed for all guests. -Wrist bands will be given on arrival. -Bookings are held for 30 minutes after your confirmed arrival time.
Min. people
11
Max. people
20
When
31 Jan 2018 - 31 Dec 2022
Sun, Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Guildford Gathering $600

The perfect option for the old faithful catch up! We can allocate an area in the venue for you and your guests to mingle, enjoy Chef's specially crafted platter – the perfect start to any occasion. Enjoy a delicious spread of the finest one handed bites from our bar menu, including buttermilk fried chicken, fried green tomato bao buns, S&P squid and much more! 21-30 guests: $600 Reserved area + 3 Chef's Platter + $300 Bar Tab -Reservations can be made online or over the phone. -A valid credit card is required at the time of your booking. -This package is to be paid in full at the time of your arrival. Please note this package will not start until full payment is received. -If you choose to cancel your whole reservation within 48 hours of the booking date 50% of the package will be charged to the card provided (not to worry - we will call you to confirm!) -Tables will be allocated by management but if you have a request please let us know. Note that this may not be guaranteed. -Platters will be delivered to your table and drinks are available at the bar. -Seating may not be guaranteed for all guests. -Wrist bands will be given on arrival. -Bookings are held for 30 minutes after your confirmed arrival time.
Min. people
21
Max. people
30
When
31 Jan 2018 - 31 Dec 2022
Sun, Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Guilford Gathering $800

The perfect option for the old faithful catch up! We can allocate an area in the venue for you and your guests to mingle, enjoy Chef's specially crafted platter – the perfect start to any occasion. Enjoy a delicious spread of the finest one handed bites from our bar menu, including buttermilk fried chicken, fried green tomato bao buns, S&P squid and much more! 31-40 guests: $800 Reserved area + 4 Chef's Platter + $400 Bar Tab -Reservations can be made online or over the phone. -A valid credit card is required at the time of your booking. -This package is to be paid in full at the time of your arrival. Please note this package will not start until full payment is received. -If you choose to cancel your whole reservation within 48 hours of the booking date 50% of the package will be charged to the card provided (not to worry - we will call you to confirm!) -Tables will be allocated by management but if you have a request please let us know. Note that this may not be guaranteed. -Platters will be delivered to your table and drinks are available at the bar. -Seating may not be guaranteed for all guests. -Wrist bands will be given on arrival. -Bookings are held for 30 minutes after your confirmed arrival time.
Min. people
31
Max. people
40
When
31 Jan 2018 - 31 Dec 2022
Sun, Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Quiz Night

Are you a trivia enthusiast? Do you fancy yourself a general knowledge king or queen? Think you know it all? Round up your team of brainiacs and test your knowledge with the Quizmeisters quiz! Teams of up to 6 will battle it out in 4 rounds to win the refreshing prize of a 4L mini keg of beer. Earn points each week to be in the draw for the ultimate team trip! Location to be revealed soon. *If you are booking for more than 6 people please divide the team accordingly
Max. people
6
When
20 Sep 2018 - 20 Dec 2020
Fri 5:00 PM - 6:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Christmas Day Feast Adults $130 Child $60

Join The Guildford this Christmas day for a three-course menu plus 2 hours of free flowing beverages* Adults $130pp Under 12yo $60pp Under 3 Free! TERMS AND CONDITIONS - A valid credit card is required at the time of your booking. Full payment for your reservations will be charged to the card provided on December 11th 2019. - Final numbers are to be confirmed before December 11th 2019. - Please ensure you inform us on the amount of children attending in your party otherwise your booking will be charge the full adult fee. - We require all dietary requirements 7 days prior for catering purposes. When notified of food allergies & intolerances we will take all due care to ensure meals or beverages served are free from notified products. However, we cannot guarantee that the meals or beverages will be free from trace elements. Please ensure that you notify us of any requirements. - Tables will be allocated and decided by the venue. - Any cancellations made prior to December 11th 2019 may incur a fee of 50% of the set menu price to the card provided. - If you choose to cancel the whole reservation or if numbers drop we require 7 days’ notice of the booking date. Any cancellations or drop in numbers after this period will be charged at full price.
When
25 Dec 2019
Wed 2:00 PM - 2:00 PM
When
25 Dec 2019
Wed 11:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

The Guildford Address

Google Map