100 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

8.1
100 reviews
Recommended
(8.4)
Food
(7.9)
Service
(8.4)
Value for money
(7.7)
Atmosphere
(8.2)

dined on Sat, 20 Apr 2019

(10)
What an absolute gem of a place, great food attentive servers and great atmosphere we’ll be back!
Hi Annie, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review! We are so glad you found us and enjoyed everything from our staff to our menu! We look forward to seeing you again soon! - Team Guildford
Admin, The Guildford responded on Sun, 21 Apr 2019

dined on Sat, 20 Apr 2019

(10)
Our mains were served and we hadn't yet finished our entrees. That would be the only criticism I have. The place looks amazing and we will definately be back again soon.
Hi Jacquie, Thank you for taking your time to review The Guildford Hotel. We are glad to hear you would recommend us and enjoyed your experience. We take all feedback very seriously and please be reassured we have passed your comments on to the rest of the team. We hope to see you again soon. -Team Guildford
Admin, The Guildford responded on Sat, 27 Apr 2019

dined on Sat, 20 Apr 2019

(8)
Food was impeccable however ribs were a little chewy but otherwise delish

dined on Fri, 5 Apr 2019

(9)
Great place to catch up with friends. Food & drinks were well priced. A little bit noisy with music on while a quiz night was conducted on top of all the people noise. Maybe no music would be better?

dined on Sun, 31 Mar 2019

(9)
great service and good food
Hi Dean, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback and comments. It's great to read that you enjoyed the service and the food and we hope to see you again soon. - Team Guildford
Admin, The Guildford responded on Thu, 4 Apr 2019

dined on Sat, 30 Mar 2019

(10)
Staff were great, very accommodating with special diets/food intolerance and NO CHARGE for one year old's first birthday cake, thank you.
Hey there! Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We are so pleased that you chose to celebrate with us at The Guildford and we would love to see you back again in the future! We really appreciate your feedback! Ps.. the cake was beautiful! - Team Guildford
Admin, The Guildford responded on Sun, 31 Mar 2019

dined on Sun, 24 Mar 2019

(7)
Menu states that kids meals comes with a choice of apple or orange juice. At time of ordering waitress mentioned that it was an additional $2. Pointed out what menu states. Oops, she would note it. Nope, charged on the bill (x2) and my in-laws didn’t pick it up until later at home. Minor point but soured the otherwise excellent outing
Hi there Caroline, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such great feedback! It's lovely to read that you had a positive experience here at The Guildford, overall! We understand your confusion regarding the kids juices and pricing for those, it's something we will be changing in our next menu. I can assure you that you didn't get charged extra for them. The price of the kids meals in the menu is $13, which includes an $11 meal and a $2 juice box.. however when seen on the receipt it does look as though the juices have been an extra $2 charge. If somehow you have been charged $15 rather than the advertised $13, we will happily refund you the difference :) We hope this clears up the confusion and we will definitely be changing this with the next menu release! Again, thank you for your comments and we really hope to see you back again soon! - Team Guildford
Admin, The Guildford responded on Thu, 28 Mar 2019

dined on Sat, 23 Mar 2019

(9)
Well designed. Looks great. Could be a bit more family orientated. Kids meals could come with an activity pack similar to other pub type environments.
Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us some feedback! We will definitely take your ideas on board, we do normally have kids activity packs but unfortunately we are waiting on them to be delivered :) I'm sure we will have some more soon and we really hope you'll come back and visit us soon! - Team Guildford
Admin, The Guildford responded on Thu, 28 Mar 2019

dined on Fri, 22 Mar 2019

(5)
We were there on a Friday evening... It's a bit hard to see who this hotel is pitching to.... people have told me it's for the young ones/hipsters and the older demographic go elsewhere for a nice meal. We enjoyed the quiz night - that was fun although pitched to the under 3o's I think???.. but for anyone wishing to enjoy a quiet dinner that would be destroyed by the noise. Not enough staff at bar always and the floor staff all seem to be flitting around (nice enough) but there's a feeling of disorganisation....and guests bump into staff physically -?? I would choose my group of people before going back as older people may not like it... Burgers too small really for the price and too many chips, and not enough interesting choice on the menu... Actually we enjoyed the quiz night but very raucous for many people I think.... I like the local aspect of it.
Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review here at The Guildford, we are sorry to read that your experience wasn't up to expectations and we will certainly take your feedback on board. We try to be open and welcoming right across everyone, over the weekends we such a variety of people from families with young children, to younger groups coming though on Swan Valley tours too, during the week we see a lot of casual diners and those popping in for a quiet meal. Friday night was an especially large turnout for the quiz, which was fantastic, however we do understand that it could have been a little loud for those dining nearby and we do sincerely apologise if it interrupted your dining experience! We take all reviews very seriously and use them to learn and improve from so thank you for your detailed review! We really hope this hasn't put you off returning and we hope to see you soon! - Team Guildford
Admin, The Guildford responded on Thu, 28 Mar 2019

dined on Sat, 16 Mar 2019

(8)
Bar service was friendly and prompt. Table service whilst friendly was a little slow, we ended up clearing our own glasses at times.
Hello! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review! It's great to read that you received just friendly service and were served promptly at the bar! We apologise that your table service experience wasn't as efficient as we would hope, it's only been recently introduced here at The Guildford and we appreciate all feedback like this as we can use it to improve! We really hope you'll come back again soon! -Team Guildford
Admin, The Guildford responded on Thu, 28 Mar 2019
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10

Specials

Guildford Gathering $200

The perfect option for the old faithful catch up! We can allocate an area in the venue for you and your guests to mingle, enjoy Chef's specially crafted platter – the perfect start to any occasion. Enjoy a delicious spread of the finest one handed bites from our bar menu, including buttermilk fried chicken, fried green tomato bao buns, S&P squid and much more! Up to 10 guests: $200 Reserved area + 1 Chef's Platter + $100 Bar Tab -Reservations can be made online or over the phone. -A valid credit card is required at the time of your booking. -This package is to be paid in full at the time of your arrival. Please note this package will not start until full payment is received. -If you choose to cancel your whole reservation within 48 hours of the booking date 50% of the package will be charged to the card provided (not to worry - we will call you to confirm!) -Tables will be allocated by management but if you have a request please let us know. Note that this may not be guaranteed. -Platters will be delivered to your table and drinks are available at the bar. -Seating may not be guaranteed for all guests. -Wrist bands will be given on arrival. -Bookings are held for 30 minutes after your confirmed arrival time.
Max. people
10
When
31 Jan 2018 - 31 Dec 2022
Sun, Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Guildford Gatherings $400

The perfect option for the old faithful catch up! We can allocate an area in the venue for you and your guests to mingle, enjoy Chef's specially crafted platter – the perfect start to any occasion. Enjoy a delicious spread of the finest one handed bites from our bar menu, including buttermilk fried chicken, fried green tomato bao buns, S&P squid and much more! 11-20 guests: $400 Reserved area + 2 Chef's Platter + $200 Bar Tab -Reservations can be made online or over the phone. -A valid credit card is required at the time of your booking. -This package is to be paid in full at the time of your arrival. Please note this package will not start until full payment is received. -If you choose to cancel your whole reservation within 48 hours of the booking date 50% of the package will be charged to the card provided (not to worry - we will call you to confirm!) -Tables will be allocated by management but if you have a request please let us know. Note that this may not be guaranteed. -Platters will be delivered to your table and drinks are available at the bar. -Seating may not be guaranteed for all guests. -Wrist bands will be given on arrival. -Bookings are held for 30 minutes after your confirmed arrival time.
Min. people
11
Max. people
20
When
31 Jan 2018 - 31 Dec 2022
Sun, Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Guildford Gathering $600

The perfect option for the old faithful catch up! We can allocate an area in the venue for you and your guests to mingle, enjoy Chef's specially crafted platter – the perfect start to any occasion. Enjoy a delicious spread of the finest one handed bites from our bar menu, including buttermilk fried chicken, fried green tomato bao buns, S&P squid and much more! 21-30 guests: $600 Reserved area + 3 Chef's Platter + $300 Bar Tab -Reservations can be made online or over the phone. -A valid credit card is required at the time of your booking. -This package is to be paid in full at the time of your arrival. Please note this package will not start until full payment is received. -If you choose to cancel your whole reservation within 48 hours of the booking date 50% of the package will be charged to the card provided (not to worry - we will call you to confirm!) -Tables will be allocated by management but if you have a request please let us know. Note that this may not be guaranteed. -Platters will be delivered to your table and drinks are available at the bar. -Seating may not be guaranteed for all guests. -Wrist bands will be given on arrival. -Bookings are held for 30 minutes after your confirmed arrival time.
Min. people
21
Max. people
30
When
31 Jan 2018 - 31 Dec 2022
Sun, Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Guilford Gathering $800

The perfect option for the old faithful catch up! We can allocate an area in the venue for you and your guests to mingle, enjoy Chef's specially crafted platter – the perfect start to any occasion. Enjoy a delicious spread of the finest one handed bites from our bar menu, including buttermilk fried chicken, fried green tomato bao buns, S&P squid and much more! 31-40 guests: $800 Reserved area + 4 Chef's Platter + $400 Bar Tab -Reservations can be made online or over the phone. -A valid credit card is required at the time of your booking. -This package is to be paid in full at the time of your arrival. Please note this package will not start until full payment is received. -If you choose to cancel your whole reservation within 48 hours of the booking date 50% of the package will be charged to the card provided (not to worry - we will call you to confirm!) -Tables will be allocated by management but if you have a request please let us know. Note that this may not be guaranteed. -Platters will be delivered to your table and drinks are available at the bar. -Seating may not be guaranteed for all guests. -Wrist bands will be given on arrival. -Bookings are held for 30 minutes after your confirmed arrival time.
Min. people
31
Max. people
40
When
31 Jan 2018 - 31 Dec 2022
Sun, Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Quiz Night

Are you a trivia enthusiast? Do you fancy yourself a general knowledge king or queen? Think you know it all? Round up your team of brainiacs and test your knowledge with the Quizmeisters quiz! Teams of up to 6 will battle it out in 4 rounds to win the refreshing prize of a 4L mini keg of beer. Earn points each week to be in the draw for the ultimate team trip! Location to be revealed soon. *If you are booking for more than 6 people please divide the team accordingly
Max. people
6
When
20 Sep 2018 - 20 Dec 2020
Fri 5:00 PM - 6:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Christmas Day Feast Adults $130 Child $60

Join The Guildford this Christmas day for a three-course menu plus 2 hours of free flowing beverages* Adults $130pp Under 12yo $60pp Under 3 Free! TERMS AND CONDITIONS - A valid credit card is required at the time of your booking. Full payment for your reservations will be charged to the card provided on December 11th 2019. - Final numbers are to be confirmed before December 11th 2019. - Please ensure you inform us on the amount of children attending in your party otherwise your booking will be charge the full adult fee. - We require all dietary requirements 7 days prior for catering purposes. When notified of food allergies & intolerances we will take all due care to ensure meals or beverages served are free from notified products. However, we cannot guarantee that the meals or beverages will be free from trace elements. Please ensure that you notify us of any requirements. - Tables will be allocated and decided by the venue. - Any cancellations made prior to December 11th 2019 may incur a fee of 50% of the set menu price to the card provided. - If you choose to cancel the whole reservation or if numbers drop we require 7 days’ notice of the booking date. Any cancellations or drop in numbers after this period will be charged at full price.
When
25 Dec 2019
Wed 2:00 PM - 2:00 PM
When
25 Dec 2019
Wed 11:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

The Guildford Address

Google Map