Back

Reviews The Hallam Hotel

8.7/10

Fabulous

based on 287 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Ian H.
    Ian H.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Very friendly welcome from personable staff. Drink order taken immediately along with explanation of menu. No long waiting for food which when it came was very well presented & tasted so good. The only reason it didn’t get a full 10 is that due to Covid restrictions the ambience was just a little down but this is a top place to enjoy a meal.

  2. George M.
    George M.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    once again, great service and awesome food, The fish and chips is the best... Trae was the ultimate host. Thanks, you made the experience that much better, will definitely be back again.

  3. Rebekah A.
    Rebekah A.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    Although i understand that the restaurant operates differently during covid. We were not told on the phone at the time of the booking that the menu would be limited. What we wanted to come and eat was not on the menu, which was disappointing. We also arrived at the seating time 30 minutes early where we were told we were not allowed inside until 7.15 pm where we were waiting outside in the rain and cold for half an hour. if we had of been told not to arrive early we wouldnt have.

  4. Blazenka B.
    Blazenka B.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    We enjoy our meals very much

    The Hallam Hotel

    Hi Blazenka, Thanks for the amazing review! The team is super excited to hear that you enoyed your time with us! Looking forward to hosting you again soon! Kind Regards, Hallam Hotel.

  5. Denise B.
    Denise B.
    • one review
    10/10

    Was an awesome lunch. A little disappointed that the Ribs and Oysters were not on the menu but overall we had a great time. Service was prompt and the staff very courteous.

    The Hallam Hotel

    Hi Denise, Thanks for the awesome review! We're sorry that we don't currently have our full menu available to our valued customers at the moment, we will be bringing it back as soon as we can! Looking forward to hosting you again soon! Warm Regards, Hallam Hotel.

  6. Sue E.
    Sue E.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Lovely ive become a regular visitor and i am very happy with the food. Today we ordered a seniors parma with chips and salad followed by a desert with coffee. Very tasty. I'll be back.

    The Hallam Hotel

    Hi Sue, Thanks for the amazing review! We're glad to see that our valued customers are enjoying their time with us! Looking forward to hosting you again soon! Kind Regards, Hallam Hotel.

  7. Jason D.
    Jason D.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    My rating is based on previous visits, because of this I can honestly say I was disappointed with the food and the minimal menu. Having said that I understand they're doing the best they can under such horrible circumstances and would still recommend a visit for a meal.

    The Hallam Hotel

    Hi Jason, Cheers for the review! Glad to hear that you still reccomend us throughout this trying time, we are doing the best we can with the current circumstances and will be bringing back more of our original menu when the time is right! Hope to see you back again soon! Warm Regards, Hallam Hotel.

  8. Mel s.
    Mel s.
    • one review
    8/10

    The staff were super friendly and welcoming. Food was great although we were the first to order and last to be served. Would highly recommend ! ????

    The Hallam Hotel

    Hi Mel, Thanks for the great review! We're glad to hear that you ejoyed your time with us! I'm sorry to hear about your meals! We are doing our best and still working out kinks within our new system of operating, this feedback is greatly appreciated! Looking forward to hosting you again soon! Kind Regards, Hallam Hotel.

  9. Alicia L.
    Alicia L.
    • one review
    8/10

    Haven’t been to the Hallam in years but really enjoyed the socially distant experience. Dinner was yum with oversized chicken parmas, we tried the duck & veggie spring rolls & a sticky date dessert too. Will be going back.

    The Hallam Hotel

    Hi Alicia, Thankyou for the great review! We pride ourselves on the food that we serve to our valued customers and we're glad to hear our customers are enjoying our dishes! Looking forward to hosting you again soon! Kind Regards, Hallam Hotel.

  10. Sue E.
    Sue E.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Happy to recommend. Food was hot and very tasty. Coffee was hot also. Service was excellent. I will definitively be back to visit again in the future.

    The Hallam Hotel

    Hi Sue, Thankyou for the amazing review! We're glad to hear that our valued customers are enjoying themselves with us again! We hope to see you again soon! Kind Regards, Hallam Hotel.

  11. Barry W.
    Barry W.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Cannot really judge a place at this time, covid, but it was really nice to get back again. Very strange with only a few people allowed but enjoyed the food and a drink again and the staff were really nice and friendly.

    The Hallam Hotel

    Hi Barry, Cheers for the awesome review! Things are very different at the moment but our drive for delivering the best for our customers is still the same! Looking forward to seeing you again soon! Warm Regards, Hallam Hotel.

  12. Lawrence M.
    Lawrence M.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Despite the Covid circumstances, the staff are doing their best to cater to the public. The food is great although a reduced menu, we will definitely be back as pre-Covid regulars.

    The Hallam Hotel

    Hi Lawrence, Thanks for the great review! We're glad to hear that our valued customers are still enjoying their time with us! Looking forward to hosting you again soon! Kind Regards, Hallam Hotel.

  13. George M.
    George M.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    was a great welcome back to great Hotel FOOD. Thank you to Trae and Liam (for service second to none) Oh and the chefs , for making the experience one to remember.. Will definitely be back again soon. Keep up the good work Hallam Hotel...now work on opening the Bar :)

    The Hallam Hotel

    Hi George, Thankyou for the spectacular review! We're glad to hear that our valued customers are enjoying themselves in our establishment! I'll be sure to pass this onto Liam & Trae. We will work our hardest to get the bar opened back up as soon as we can! Looking forward to hosting you again! Warm Regards, Hallam Hotel.

  14. Brian M.
    Brian M.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    From the first step inside I felt good and most welcomed. The set up and service was first class. Hand sanitizer available at entry and thorough table cleaning, is very encouraging I'll be back very soon.

    The Hallam Hotel

    Hi Brian, Cheers for the great review! We are doing our best to keep doing what we love while trying to keep our local community safe and healthy! We hope to see you again soon! Kind Regards, Hallam Hotel.

  15. Kerri V.
    Kerri V.
    • one review
    10/10

    First night back after the restrictions were lifted and yes, it was eerie. Trae made our night fabulous and he should be commended for his service.

    The Hallam Hotel

    Hi Kerri, Thanks for the amazing review! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your night with us and we are looking forward to having you back again soon! I will be sure to pass the message onto Trae! Warm Regards, Hallam Hotel.

  16. Irene J.
    Irene J.
    • 39 reviews
    10/10

    Went to the Hallam Hotel today for lunch with some friends to celebrate my husband’s birthday. As usual the food and service was great. When my husband ordered a dessert, it came with a lighted candle on top, this was a lovely gesture and was complimentary. Love the Hallam

    The Hallam Hotel

    Hi Irene, Thanks for another lovely review! As usual we loved hosting you and we're glad to see that our efforts and service is being appreciated by our valued customers! Looking forward to seeing you again soon! Warm Regards, Hallam Hotel.

  17. Robyn B.
    Robyn B.
    • 2 reviews
    7/10

    Food was good, served quickly to order, Although people seem to regularly try and queue junp the line to order. Food came reasonably quickly and was nice, chips were almost stone cold though. It's VERY loud on a Saturday night, making it almost impossible to hear conversation across the table so we skipped dessert and left early.

    The Hallam Hotel

    Hi Robyn, We're very glad to hear that our product and service is being enjoyed by our valued customers! Looking forward to hosting you again soon! Kind Regards, Hallam Hotel.

  18. Jenny C.
    Jenny C.
    • one review
    10/10

    We have never been disappointed in our 6 or so visits to the Hallam in the last 12 months. The food, the atmosphere, the staff - all A1. Bravo to the management team for spending the money, having a dream and getting it spot on. We now drive past the Fountain Gate hotel to go here. See you soon

    The Hallam Hotel

    Hi Jenny, Thanks for the spectacular review! Our customers are our number 1 priority and we're very happy to hear that we're being enjoyed so much and being appreciated for the work we do for our valued customers! Looking forward to your next visit! Kind Regards, Hallam Hotel.

  19. Irene J.
    Irene J.
    • 39 reviews
    10/10

    Another great lunch at the Hallam Hotel. My husband and I enjoyed a delicious meal with a couple of friends. As always, friendly staff offering great service..Never disappoints.

    The Hallam Hotel

    Hi Irene, Thankyou for yet another amazing review! We love the feedback and we are glad to see that our valued customers are enjoying their time with us! Looking forward to seeing you again soon as usual! Warm Regards, Hallam Hotel.

  20. Irene J.
    Irene J.
    • 39 reviews
    10/10

    Had a lovely Valentine’s Day lunch with my husband at the Hallam Hotel. Service and food great as usual. Would recommend this venue for lunch or dinner.

    The Hallam Hotel

    Hi Irene, Yet another lovely review from one of our favourite customers! Glad to hear we're still hitting the mark in our service! Looking forward to hosting you again! Kind Regards, Hallam Hotel.

  21. Irene J.
    Irene J.
    • 39 reviews
    10/10

    Had a catch up with friends for lunch at the Hallam Hotel. Everyone was satisfied with their meal. We have been here a few times previously. Never disappoints

    The Hallam Hotel

    Hi Irene, Thanks for another amazing review! You seem to love us as much as we love hosting you! Looking forward to seeing you next time! Warm Regards, Hallam Hotel.

  22. Inger d.
    Inger d.
    • one review
    4.5/10

    We frequently dine here but have found the Seniors Meals on the past two occasions very disappointing. Will reconsider visiting again. Staff are run off their feet with little attention to quality service.

    The Hallam Hotel

    Hi Inger, Thank you for taking the time let us know about your recent expereince with us. We are sorry to hear that the expereince was dissapointing. I know we are better then this & hope that you to decide to return sometime soon. Kind Regards, Hallam Hotel

  23. Donna B.
    Donna B.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    food was great could of been a bit hotter though. disappointed that I couldn't swap the vegies in the meal for chips and salad otherwise an extra $6 charge bit harsh

    The Hallam Hotel

    Hi Donna, Thankyou for the review, we're sorry that we didn't hit the mark in every aspect of your visit. We try to offer great values for the meals that we serve and in doing that unfortunately there are times where certain substitutions are not available to our valued customers. However we would like you to know that all feedback is taken on board. Looking forward to hosting you again! Kind Regards, Hallam Hotel.

  24. Irene J.
    Irene J.
    • 39 reviews
    10/10

    my husband and I Had a great meal sharing the pork ribs. Absolutely delicious. Have had these before and never disappoints

    The Hallam Hotel

    Hi Irene, Thanks for the amazing review! We're so glad to hear that our products are being enjoyed by our valued customers! Looking forward to having you back again soon! Warm Regards, Hallam Hotel.

  25. Rosalea M.
    Rosalea M.
    • 2 reviews
    5/10

    We have been regular customers for the last 2 years, as our Mum is in the nursing home close to you. We decided not to complain the first time that our order was overlooked, however this time, we waited over an hour for our lunch, and had to question staff several times as to the delay. Our son and partner were on a deadline, and were left with only 5 minutes to eat their food. Of all things, he found a hair in his meal, which we showed staff before he commenced eating. He was offered a replacement meal, but was unable to wait, so he ate it. He was refunded for the meal.

    The Hallam Hotel

    Hi Roslea, I'm very sorry to hear about your experince and would like to apologise on the behalf of the team here. We are very much capable of better service and this is not the standard that we strive for. If you would like to discuss this further please email me at trae.galea@alhgroup.com.au. Kind Regards, Hallam Hotel.

  26. Andrea L.
    Andrea L.
    • one review
    9/10

    The food was excellent. Ordered 4 meals and one came out much later than the other 3. Not enough staff at the bar and greeting people as they came in.

    The Hallam Hotel

    Hi Andrea, Thankyou for taking the time to leave a review. We're glad to hear that the food was enjoyed by your party and that we pride ourselves on the quality of the products served here. We are definately capable or providing better customer service than what has been described here, however from time to time there can been unforeseen circumstances that affect things such as service and we would like to apologise for this. Any feedback is taken on board to help improve our standards to the best they can be. Looking forward to hosting you again so we can show you how awesome we can be here at The Hallam. Kind Regards, Hallam Hotel.

  27. Lidija M.
    Lidija M.
    • one review
    8/10

    Booking was made online which was extremely convenient. As there was a party of 9 for our lunch a pre-order was sent through approx 9.30am followed up with a phone call confirming dishes. When we arrived we waited 15 minutes for our meals to arrive & a couple of dishes were cold or overdone (prawns). I appreciate that the kitchen wanted all our meals to come out together however a couple of dishes weren't of a great standard as they normally would be. Thank you again & this will not deter from going back.

    The Hallam Hotel

    Hi Lidija, Thankyou for the awesome review! I'm glad to see that the effort we put into our valued customers is being acknowledged. I'm sorry to hear that your entire experince wasn't perfect, however the feedback will be taken on board and I would like to apologize on behalf of the team for that. Looking forward to hosting you again and showing you that perfect experience! Warm Regards, Hallam Hotel.

  28. Irene J.
    Irene J.
    • 39 reviews
    10/10

    Enjoyed dinner at the Hallam Hotel with family. But disappointed that the pork ribs were not available, as we told our guests about them and they were also going to have them. Also the house Shiraz is not as good as the one you had previously, otherwise we had a good evening and the meals we had were good

    The Hallam Hotel

    Hi Irene, Thanks for another great review! I'm sorry to hear that the pork ribs were not available on this particular visit, unfortunately the reason for this was a shortage on supply due to the bushfires that were happening at the time. We're always listening to our customers about our products and will be taking all feedback on board! Looking forward to hosting you again! Kind Regards, Hallam Hotel.

  29. Michelle B.
    Michelle B.
    • one review
    10/10

    Despite the fact that it was very busy the meals were delivered promptly and well presented. Food was delicious. Staff very friendly and efficient.

    The Hallam Hotel

    Hi Michelle, Thankyou for the amazing review! We're glad to hear that our efforts are being appreciated by our valued customers! We pride ourselves on our level of service provided to our customers! Looking forward to having you back! Kind Regards, Hallam Hotel.

  30. Phyllis D.
    Phyllis D.
    • one review
    10/10

    We all enjoyed the atmosphere. Meals were tasty and a good size. A good choice of meals. They came very quickly after ordering. Very reasonably priced.

    The Hallam Hotel

    Hi Phyllis, Thanks for the great review! We pride ourselves on the standard provided for our valued customers here at The Hallam! Glad to hear that our customers are enjoying our service! Looking forward to hosting you again! Warm Regards, Hallam Hotel.

  31. Lucinda T.
    Lucinda T.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    The meal came out super fast. My only complaint is that we sat on a round table and it was hard to fit all 4 plates on the table at the same time. The meal was delicious and the perfect size. Dessert was just as nice.

    The Hallam Hotel

    Hi Lucinda, Cheers for the amazing review! Our customers are our number 1 priority and we aim to give nothing but the best of service to our values customers. I'm sorry to hear about the table that you and your party were seated on, we try our best to accomodate for all of our customers and from time to time it may not be the most optimal due to the amounts of people that like to dine in with us, tables being booked at certain times etc however ths feedback will be taken on board going into the future. Looking forward to having you back! Warm Regards, Hallam Hotel.

  32. Stephanie R.
    Stephanie R.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Meals are absolutely delicious! Ive never had a bad meal from there.

    The Hallam Hotel

    Hi Stephanie, Cheers for the amazing review! I'm glad to hear that our products are being enjoyed so much by our valued customers! Looking forward to hosting you again! Kind Regards, Hallam Hotel.

  33. Shirley L.
    Shirley L.
    • one review
    8/10

    Nice food reasonably priced. Kids eat free on a Sunday night which helps with the budget. Good service didn’t have to wait too long for the meal..

    The Hallam Hotel

    Hi Shirley, Thankyou for the great review! We pride ourselves on the offers that we provide for our valued customers! We're glad to see that they are being enjoyed so much! Hope to see you back soon! Warm Regards, Hallam Hotel.

  34. Diane W.
    Diane W.
    • one review
    10/10

    Awesome evening with friends. Food was lovely. Not too much and not too little portions. Staff were pleasent and helpful. Not too noisy either.

    The Hallam Hotel

    Hi Diane, Thankyou for the spectacular review! We're extremely happy to hear that our products, service and atmosphere that we provide are being loved so much by our valued customers! Can't wait to have you back again soon! Kind Regards, Hallam Hotel.

  35. Kerri W.
    Kerri W.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Bar staff service excellent. Food was 98% good only 1 meal disappointing out of 8 orders

    The Hallam Hotel

    Hi Kerri, Thankyou for the amazing review! I'm sorry to hear that we didn't provide the entire 100% for your time with us, we strive for nothing but the best here however we are human and can make mistakes sometimes and I'm sorry that you were on the recieving end of this. Hopefully you'll be back soon so we can show you that we can provide 100% in all aspects of our buisiness! Warm Regards, Hallam Hotel.

  36. A A.
    A A.
    • 285 reviews
    8.75/10

    Delicious food, good service, love the booths. A great local restaurant that we will definitely go to again.

    The Hallam Hotel

    Hi, Thankyou for the amazing review! We're glad to see our products, service and atomsphere are being enjoyed by our valued customers! Looking forward to hosting you again soon! Kind Regards, Hallam Hotel.

  37. Tania D.
    Tania D.
    • one review
    5/10

    I ordered Caesar salad & the lettuce was brown and had a distinct fridge taste - obviously had been cut & stored for a few days. My dining partners meal was overcooked. Not in a hurry to go back

    The Hallam Hotel

    Hi Tania, Thankyou for the review, I'm sorry that your time here with us was anything other than amazing. We pride ourselved on the products that we serve and we didn't hit the mark with your visit. Hopefully you'll be back and we can show you what we are capable of providing our valued customers here at The Hallam. Kind Regards, Hallam Hotel.

  38. Irene J.
    Irene J.
    • 39 reviews
    10/10

    Another great lunch in our local venue. Friends that live further away also enjoy coming to the Hallam Hotel .... the service is always friendly and nothing is too much of an effort for the staff

    The Hallam Hotel

    Hi Irene, Thankyou for yet another spectacular review! We strive for providing nothing but the best service for our valued customers! Looking forward to your next visit with us! Warm Regards, Hallam Hotel.

  39. Irene J.
    Irene J.
    • 39 reviews
    10/10

    We took friends for a birthday treat for lunch, have been there several times this month and going again on Saturday. All our friends enjoy going to the Hallam as well. Never disappoints

    The Hallam Hotel

    Hi Irene, As always we appreciate your lovely reviews & we are glad to see you here so often. Kind Regards, Hallam Hotel

  40. Irene J.
    Irene J.
    • 39 reviews
    10/10

    Another great lunch at the Hallam

    The Hallam Hotel

    Hi Irene, Glad to see you back & thanks for the lovely review as always. See you here again soon. Kind Regards, Hallam Hotel