8.4/10
Very good
based on 123 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Zanda K.
    Zanda K.
    • 7 reviews
    8.5/10

    Very nice service. It was an enjoyable experience.

  2. Ariane P.
    Ariane P.
    • one review
    3/10

    The pork belly was not crispy and the serving size was small. The staff were not very welcoming and getting there attention to order was next to impossible, which was surprising as the restaurant was pretty empty. I will not be going back.

  3. Kim O.
    Kim O.
    • one review
    7/10

    We all enjoyed a delicious but smaller portion sized meal than we expected. We thought that it may have been due to 3 of us ordering a lunch special but the 4th person ordered from the regular menu and the meal was the same size. Our waitress was either new or not as attentive as she should have been. We weren’t asked which of the sides we would like with our meal and could not seem to get her attention after many attempts so resorted to walking over to her at the counter. Thankfully the meals we received were correct & very good. We also weren’t asked if we wanted anymore than the original drink we ordered nor were we asked if we wanted any desserts or coffees. Disappointing service, delicious meals and good lunch special deals.

  4. Joan H.
    Joan H.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    The front of house staff were very good but food overall was disappointing. The Bretzel schnitzel appeared to be deep fried and the coating just fell off the chicken. Mash potato dry and the so called Bavarian Cheesecake was a lump of lemony cream cheese on a plate with the tiniest sprinkle on top that had hard bits in it. This was clearly a “Deconstructed Cheesecake” with most of the deconstruction missing!!! No this is not ‘your version of a Bavarian Cheesecake,’ it was a sub par offering that shouldn’t be on the menu. So put on a proper baked cheesecake done well.

  5. Alicia M.
    Alicia M.
    • one review
    9/10

    Great food! Friendly and welcoming staff and good atmosphere. Only downfall was that the staff no longer wear the Lederhosen clothing attire anymore and there was no German music playing like the other German restaurants do, to make it more German atmospheric.

  6. Sonia H.
    Sonia H.
    • 2 reviews
    7.5/10

    The Hof is a good place to dine. The atmosphere and deco is very German brewery like. German umpapa music would give it more authenticity. The food is not amazing, but pretty good. The portions are "big", so if you're hungry you won't be disappointed. Staff need a little fine tuning, but overall are very friendly and polite. I would visit again next time I'm in Melbourne. ????

  7. Samantha H.
    Samantha H.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    We went here before U2 so the restaurant was packed but our drinks and food came out swiftly. Great service, awesome food & delish beer. Love the 1 litre Steins :)

  8. Andrea D.
    Andrea D.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great place for a night out we had a dinner and drinks great fast service on a really busy night. Booking a table ensured we had table service the whole night!

  9. A A.
    A A.
    • 276 reviews
    8.25/10

    Sausages are always good! Snitzel too. Can’t go wrong with that.

  10. Trudie L.
    Trudie L.
    • one review
    10/10

    Not only was the food amazing and great value (we had The Platter between 2 of us which could have easily fed 3) the service was wonderful! They went out of their way to make sure we were happy with our table and even gave us complimentary drinks for our anniversary which was a pleasant surprise. All the staff were really friendly and we enjoyed chatting footy with Josh. It really makes for a great dining experience, will definitely recommend to friends and will be back again :)

  11. Charlie N.
    Charlie N.
    • 4 reviews
    8.5/10

    We only spent less than $30pp because we had thr entertainment book vouchers. Without those it would've been approx $35pp- which isn't too bad considering the food is nice and hearty. Very German. Very loud- so definitely good for a bigger group of friends.

  12. A A.
    A A.
    • 262 reviews
    8.25/10

    Kids meals, schnitzels, service all great. IThe pork belly dish was small and very little meat, a lot of fat. Saying that it did taste good.

  13. A A.
    A A.
    • 256 reviews
    9/10

    Food was great and given it was a Bavarian restaurant which is more known for meat dishes it catered well for vegetarians. We were well looked after and the manager came and had a general chat while I was waiting for my friend to arrive and told me a bit about the restaurant and the menu.

  14. Marita B.
    Marita B.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Fantastic huge snitzels

  15. A A.
    A A.
    • 263 reviews
    10/10

    Had a delicious meal

  16. A A.
    A A.
    • 262 reviews
    7.25/10

    Good venue and food. Was asked 5 times within 5 minutes of sitting down if we were ready to order. That was unnecessary.

  17. Daamon P.
    Daamon P.
    • 15 reviews
    8.75/10

    Very quick for the food to come out for a large group, and at the same time.

  18. Sue L.
    Sue L.
    • 15 reviews
    9/10

    Best German Food in town! Superb food and great beer! Port knuckle is spot on. Extreme crispy skin n tender meat! A must try.

  19. A A.
    A A.
    • 275 reviews
    9/10

    Loved the pork knuckles, crispy and tasty, more than enough for two people

  20. A A.
    A A.
    • 274 reviews
    10/10

    Fantastic service and the food was amazing!

  21. A A.
    A A.
    • 286 reviews
    8/10

    Meal was enjoyable. Beer prices are a little high.

  22. Szymon P.
    Szymon P.
    • one review
    9/10

    amazing authentic German food with great service

  23. A A.
    A A.
    • 255 reviews
    8/10

    The food was delicious! Friday crowd, hence not much service as there were quite a lot of people. I like that there is a lunch menu. Not too big portions.

  24. A A.
    A A.
    • 264 reviews
    8/10

    Came for lunch and the service was prompt, food was good and the service was pleasant. The portions were generous and the price was decent as well. Overall, a nice place to come for lunch.

  25. A A.
    A A.
    • 274 reviews
    9.25/10

    Great food excellent service

  26. A A.
    A A.
    • 263 reviews
    8.75/10

    Great beer and food

  27. A A.
    A A.
    • 272 reviews
    6.75/10

    Great after work venue.

  28. A A.
    A A.
    • 253 reviews
    8/10

    Came here for lunch and the food was good. Will definitely be back.

  29. Scott S.
    Scott S.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Great dining and a few drinks at The Hof Downtown. Attentive service and great food and drink! Will return!

  30. A A.
    A A.
    • 287 reviews
    7.5/10

    Fast service, food is consistently good.

  31. Ben D.
    Ben D.
    • 43 reviews
    10/10

    Always a great place to stop off before a sports match at Marvel

  32. Sonia N.
    Sonia N.
    • one review
    8.75/10

    We love this place before a game at Marvel Stadium. Service is always quick and we feel really valued as customers, nothing is ever too much trouble.

  33. A A.
    A A.
    • 269 reviews
    6.5/10

    Best place for pre-stadium beers and food

  34. A A.
    A A.
    • 271 reviews
    7.75/10

    Great place to socialise with family and friends over a beer and pork knuckle!

  35. A A.
    A A.
    • 270 reviews
    8.5/10

    Yum food for will return for more

  36. A A.
    A A.
    • 257 reviews
    8/10

    Great meal served quickly

  37. A A.
    A A.
    • 260 reviews
    8/10

    First time here and was impressed.

  38. Dee D.
    Dee D.
    • 32 reviews
    9/10

    We had the Bavarian sausages which were great value for money. The sausages were very tasty, along with the mashed potato, sauerkraut and salad. We topped it off with a big glass of cider. We’ll be back!

  39. A A.
    A A.
    • 244 reviews
    9/10

    Great food n drink Pls make sure the snitzel is cooked properly

  40. A A.
    A A.
    • 276 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent service, the hock is big enough to share.