Back

Reviews The Local Port Melbourne

9.1/10
Excellent
based on 51 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Brett T.
    Brett T.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Friendly staff, great food at really good value, awesome setting to watch the sport. Would've killed for some sound but overall great experience will def be back!!

  2. Kate J.
    Kate J.
    • one review
    10/10

    Genuinely great vibes about the place, food is always lovely and service is always consistent.

  3. A A.
    A A.
    • 253 reviews
    9.25/10

    Nice and attentive staff

    The Local Port Melbourne

    Thanks for the very kind review! We're very happy you choose to spend your time in our little pub and even happier you enjoyed it.

  4. Johana M.
    Johana M.
    • one review
    9/10

    Great service, they were keen to help out and make our dinner special!

    The Local Port Melbourne

    Thanks very much for the kind review Johana! Glad you enjoyed our little pub. Hope to have you back soon!

  5. Peter C.
    Peter C.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    In the tradition of a local pub, this place is tops

    The Local Port Melbourne

    Thanks for the amazing review Peter! We're very happy you enjoyed your time in our pub! Hope to have you back again soon!

  6. A A.
    A A.
    • 270 reviews
    9/10

    Best Guiness in Port Melbourne.

  7. Lou O.
    Lou O.
    • 27 reviews
    8.25/10

    Friendly service and reasonable prices for the Port - love the booths!

    The Local Port Melbourne

    Thanks for the lovely review Lou! Glad you enjoyed your time in your venue. We appreciate the amazing feedback! Hope to see you back again soon!

  8. Michael S.
    Michael S.
    • one review
    0/10

    We thought we had booked the upstairs restaraunt but when we came the restaraunt was holding a private function and we were offered a table in a noisy downstairs pub area which we declined and went elsewhere.

    The Local Port Melbourne

    Hi Michael, I'm very sorry about your negative experience at our venue. Unfortunately we don't have an upstairs dining room, all we have up there is a private function room that is seldom used. I'd love to make up for the miscommunication and to find out more about who took you're booking so I can ensure it doesn't happen again. I'd love to have you in for lunch or dinner one day, courtesy of me if you would be willing. You can contact me at laurie.gallagher@thelocalportmelbourne.com.au. Kindest Regards Laurie

  9. A A.
    A A.
    • 260 reviews
    6.5/10

    Went for an evening meal. But the food was average. More of a pub than a place for a meal. Australian Venue Co. own other pubs, such as the Vincent that are better for meals. I would suggest going to one of those instead.

  10. Ed T.
    Ed T.
    • 11 reviews
    8.25/10

    Comfortable seating, friendly service and good meals... especially the Salmon.

    The Local Port Melbourne

    Thanks for the kind review Ed. We really appreciate you taking the time to come out to Port Melbourne to have some of Evans Salmon! Hope to see you back again soon!

  11. A A.
    A A.
    • 268 reviews
    10/10

    Easy to get to. great atmosphere. Friendly service. Great food. Renovation looks great.

    The Local Port Melbourne

    Thanks for the amazing review! Glad you enjoyed your time in our venue! Hope to see you back again soon!

  12. Elizabeth H.
    Elizabeth H.
    • one review
    8.75/10

    We loved our little allocated spot and service was great.

    The Local Port Melbourne

    Thanks for the kind review Elizabeth! Glad you enjoyed your time in our venue! Hope to see you back again soon!

  13. A A.
    A A.
    • 273 reviews
    9.5/10

    A great Port Melbourne local establishment to have a few drinks and a great meal with your friends!

    The Local Port Melbourne

    Thanks for the amazing review! Glad you enjoyed your time in the venue. Hope to have you back again soon!

  14. A A.
    A A.
    • 262 reviews
    7/10

    Great way to spend the afternoon with friends

    The Local Port Melbourne

    Thanks for the very kind review. Glad you enjoyed your afternoon in the venue. Hope to have you back again soon.

  15. A A.
    A A.
    • 268 reviews
    8.25/10

    Great Pub , our local , nice renovation and amazing Parma's.

    The Local Port Melbourne

    Thanks for the kind review! Glad you enjoyed your time in the venue! Hope to see you back again soon!

  16. TORREN M.
    TORREN M.
    • one review
    8.75/10

    Great service, friendly staff

    The Local Port Melbourne

    Thanks for the great review Torren! We're really glad you enjoyed our venue! Hope to see you back again soon!

  17. A A.
    A A.
    • 291 reviews
    9/10

    Service and food was great. What forces us to leave was when the footy was put on tv and the sound level caused us to shout at each other we did request the sound to be reduced and even the next table behind us also wanted the volume reduced. There was not a lot of people actually watching the footy but it did force us to leave and go to another venue. Not everybody likes footy and to have 2 tv,s on blasting the sound out in a small area is not fair on other customers. Our visit was to meet friends and talk not to have to shout over footy on tv.

    The Local Port Melbourne

    Hey, Very sorry that the TV was too loud. I will discuss with staff and management to make sure there is always a quieter space available for our guests to enjoy. I'm ery happy you enjoyed the food and service however and would love to have you back again. Kind Regards. Management

  18. Kerry H.
    Kerry H.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great pub, great food and fantastic staff.

    The Local Port Melbourne

    Thanks for the lovely review Kerry! We're very happy you enjoyed you're time in the venue and would love to have you back again soon!

  19. A A.
    A A.
    • 269 reviews
    7.25/10

    It was a good steak meal and not crazy expensive like most of the Port/South Melb pubs.

    The Local Port Melbourne

    Thanks for the kind review! Glad you enjoyed your steak! Hope to see you back again soon!

  20. Sam P.
    Sam P.
    • 3 reviews
    9.5/10

    Great pub to watch sport

    The Local Port Melbourne

    Thanks for the very kind review Sam. It's much appreciated. Glad you enjoyed you're time in the venue and hope to see you back again soon!

  21. Michelle e.
    Michelle e.
    • 17 reviews
    8.75/10

    Very pleasant pub with good food

    The Local Port Melbourne

    Hi Michelle. Thanks for the very kind review. All feedback is very appreciated. I'm glad you enjoyed you're time in the venue and I hope to see you back again soon.

  22. A A.
    A A.
    • 281 reviews
    8.25/10

    Relaxed atmosphere, great service and well priced.

    The Local Port Melbourne

    Thanks very much for the kind review! Glad you enjoyed your time in the venue and hope to see you back some time soon!

  23. A A.
    A A.
    • 287 reviews
    8/10

    Friendly staff, value for money on parma Thursday!

  24. A A.
    A A.
    • 268 reviews
    7.25/10

    Pretty good steak for $10! Thumbs up!

  25. Lou O.
    Lou O.
    • 27 reviews
    8.75/10

    Gave us the perfect table booked on Dimmi website - in corner away from the general din! very much appreciated with 4 under 13's in tow!

  26. A A.
    A A.
    • 272 reviews
    8/10

    Always a winner, can't beat their $15 parmas on a Thursday!

  27. A A.
    A A.
    • 287 reviews
    9.25/10

    The Local is a great place to relax and enjoy a good pub meal and drinks with friends. Friendly atmosphere and great bar service.

  28. A A.
    A A.
    • 278 reviews
    7.75/10

    Great pub food with friendly service

  29. A A.
    A A.
    • 259 reviews
    8/10

    Great parmas, best chips!

  30. A A.
    A A.
    • 276 reviews
    8/10

    Parma night always a winner. Best chips around.

  31. A A.
    A A.
    • 249 reviews
    7.75/10

    Great traditional local pub. We go every week.

  32. A A.
    A A.
    • 249 reviews
    10/10

    Great little pub!

  33. Andrzej R.
    Andrzej R.
    • one review
    8.25/10

    Like you atmosphere and that you are maintaining a traditional PUB feel. I always have a good time there even if I just drop in for a dinner alone

  34. Dina A.
    Dina A.
    • one review
    9.25/10

    While my dinning experience was great, my reservation was never received at The Local. I made the reservation on Wednesday 13 Sept for Tuesday 19 Sept complete with special requests & meal pre-orders. I received confirmation of my booking as soon as it was made as well as a reminder on Tuesday 19 Sept of my booking, however when I showed up for lunch, The Local did not have my booking or meal pre-orders!

  35. Rebecca W.
    Rebecca W.
    • one review
    4.5/10

    We came here for our monthly Sunday roast club and were really dissapointed. The beef was dry & tough, the Yorkshire pudding was soggy, the vegetables were tasty.

  36. Karen D.
    Karen D.
    • one review
    8.75/10

    Love this place - friendly service and great atmosphere.

  37. Sharon D.
    Sharon D.
    • 17 reviews
    9/10

    Nice food great service

  38. Sharon D.
    Sharon D.
    • 17 reviews
    9/10

    Bit too noisy for our liking.

  39. Bree W.
    Bree W.
    • one review
    8/10

    My Father and I had a great meals, we both had Parmas, I did find my parma was a bit dry but I still enjoyed it, I would visit this place again when I'm back in town again :)

  40. Emma P.
    Emma P.
    • 3 reviews
    9.25/10

    Taco Tuesdays! Fantastic