8.5/10
Fabulous
based on 265 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Thapanee c.
    Thapanee c.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Best steaks and chips

  2. Dianne T.
    Dianne T.
    • 9 reviews
    10/10

    Always a great place to dine in Melbourne

  3. Stuart B.
    Stuart B.
    • 8 reviews
    9/10

    Nice setting for a city pub. The staff member who served us was really friendly. Always enjoy the Bad Boy chips, accompanying a meal here. Worth a visit.

  4. Sue M.
    Sue M.
    • 3 reviews
    7/10

    Older style establishment, staff were lovely, food was nothing special but acceptable. As brekky goes , eggs were good... bacon was a bit over done, tomatoes and mushrooms a bit under cooked. Chairs were very uncomfortable, we moved to a cocktail table which was hard to eat from, too high for short person!

  5. Rosaline S.
    Rosaline S.
    • one review
    10/10

    The Mail Exchange Hotel was recommended by a work colleague and didn't disappoint. Everything was clean and the meals were reasonably priced. The service wasn't too bad either. It was cosy and comfortable. We'll be back.

  6. Michelle P.
    Michelle P.
    • one review
    10/10

    Lovely meal (barramundi), fantastic service with friendly staff. Calm atmosphere in dining room, which is located well away from the pokies section. Will visit again.

  7. Alana P.
    Alana P.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    Location, atmosphere, service and set up was superb. The food and prices they charge didn’t match. $28 for a lamb salad was steep when it was essentially mixed lettuce with some shredded lamb throughout. Flavours didn’t quite work together. The chicken parma was under whelming, barely cooked and the crumb on the chicken was soggy. Overall the food was quite disappointing for the price. Would come back for some drinks but wouldn’t eat here again.

  8. Ann W.
    Ann W.
    • one review
    10/10

    We are from Shepparton and we love coming to The Mail Exchange Hotel whenever we come to Melbourne. The staff are very friendly and the food is good.

  9. Tegan E.
    Tegan E.
    • one review
    10/10

    Atmosphere, food and staff are great, welcoming and professional. Second year we have had our office Xmas dinner here and we will are all looking forward to returning, some before next Xmas.

  10. Michael N.
    Michael N.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great food and service will not hesitant to recommend to friends and family. The scotch fillet was cooked exactly as per my request. Keep up the good work

  11. Lisa C.
    Lisa C.
    • one review
    10/10

    Lovely staff, and excellent venue to sit back and relax with friends. The food was amazing also.

  12. Lisa C.
    Lisa C.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    I flew in from interstate for a lunch and this hotel is the PERFECT location, almost across the road from the SkyBus depot. I was met at the door and directed to the dining room. The staff were wait staff were attentive and put water on the table as I arrived without being asked. I thought my chicken breast with leek mash was very tasty, I didn't get to ask others, but there were all a good/generous size. The restroom is Very nice, the girls were impressed. If I have to fly to Melb for a day for lunch, I would definitely come back as the decor is quite nice and it was quiet enough for our table of 7 to be able to talk to everyone on the table; rare these days with restaurants of hard surfaces.

  13. Wendy H.
    Wendy H.
    • 4 reviews
    8.5/10

    Overall everything was good. Only issue is that one of the four dishes did not come out with everyone else's and it was a few minutes before it came out. Other than that everything was rather pleasant.

  14. Jazmine E.
    Jazmine E.
    • one review
    10/10

    Fantastic find. Will return soon. Cleanest and most pleasant toilets I have ever been too besides in a home. Excellent customer service from our wait staff and host!

  15. A A.
    A A.
    • 266 reviews
    10/10

    Great waiter service. Friendly but not intrusive.

  16. A A.
    A A.
    • 263 reviews
    9.25/10

    Has a nice vibe. A good city pub in a great old building. Staff friendly. Love the bad boy chips!

  17. Joff J.
    Joff J.
    • one review
    7.25/10

    Location was great for people meeting up before airport & trains

  18. A A.
    A A.
    • 283 reviews
    8.75/10

    Great venue, we commute from all over Victoria to Southern Cross for regular meetings.

  19. A A.
    A A.
    • 269 reviews
    9/10

    Great place to eat

  20. A A.
    A A.
    • 287 reviews
    7.75/10

    Was very nice. Ambience spoilt by the trivia comp next to the dining room which made conversation difficult

  21. Christy P.
    Christy P.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    We had a wonderful night catching up with friends. The location next to Southern Cross Station is perfect allowing us to have a few wines in confidence

  22. Raelene C.
    Raelene C.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Friendly staff great food what more can you ask for. Will definitely be back

  23. Michael M.
    Michael M.
    • 25 reviews
    9.25/10

    Food was good as was service. Good seperation from the pokies and the bar. Good for lunch meetings

  24. A A.
    A A.
    • 267 reviews
    8.5/10

    Well positioned restaurant being so close to Southern Cross. Ideal to meet friends coming from various parts of Melbourne and reasonably good value for money.

  25. A A.
    A A.
    • 261 reviews
    7/10

    Good pub grub.

  26. A A.
    A A.
    • 291 reviews
    7/10

    Will come again.

  27. A A.
    A A.
    • 265 reviews
    8.25/10

    Love the Bad Boy Chips here. A great settimg in a convenient location.

  28. Glenda J.
    Glenda J.
    • one review
    9.25/10

    Enjoyed our experience

  29. Andrew m.
    Andrew m.
    • one review
    6.75/10

    Beautiful and handy venue but too expensive for my taste. Would have been happy to spend more time (and more money) there but don't think it's good value for money. Had a burger which was beautiful but at $25 too expensive. Beer was expensive as well. Great venue but too expensive to spend the whole afternoon there.

  30. A A.
    A A.
    • 275 reviews
    8/10

    Good service and food. Suburban atmosphere in cbd

  31. Elise F.
    Elise F.
    • one review
    10/10

    Delicious meals and lovely service. Perfect for a catch up and lunch/dinner when going to Marvel stadium. Will definitely return

    The Mail Exchange Hotel

    What a great review Elise! Thank you so much for taking the time to post it. Nothing makes us happier than to hear that our customers are happy. We look forward to seeing you in the hotel again soon. Cheers

  32. A A.
    A A.
    • 257 reviews
    8/10

    Great for post afl game celebrations and dinner

  33. Michael W.
    Michael W.
    • one review
    9/10

    A fabulous old fashioned comfortable and most importantly friendly pub with a fabulous atmosphere, good food and drinks and the staff were terrific.

  34. Wayne R.
    Wayne R.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    Handy to sourhern cross station and friendly service

  35. A A.
    A A.
    • 239 reviews
    8.5/10

    Great friendly food service.

  36. Ben D.
    Ben D.
    • 43 reviews
    6.25/10

    Good spot for lunch before the footy, service was very slow however on this occasion, they seemed understaffed.

  37. A A.
    A A.
    • 276 reviews
    8.5/10

    Once again service was fantastic, Robyn was very helpful & looked after our table booking wonderfully well, you are an absolute gem!! Thank you!! A suggestion though, maybe look at low carb beer on tap, food was very good again... Thanks guys, we will be back!

  38. John T.
    John T.
    • one review
    8/10

    A dark ale on tap would be nice to have as an option to bottled/canned.

  39. A A.
    A A.
    • 269 reviews
    8/10

    Given it was really busy being pre football match at Marvell Stadium food came within a reasonable time frame. Would go back again.

  40. A A.
    A A.
    • 244 reviews
    8.75/10

    Food & service was great! Just that there's some cigarette smoke smell in the place.