Back

Reviews The Mail Exchange Hotel

8.2/10
Very good
based on 232 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Lisa C.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    I flew in from interstate for a lunch and this hotel is the PERFECT location, almost across the road from the SkyBus depot. I was met at the door and directed to the dining room. The staff were wait staff were attentive and put water on the table as I arrived without being asked. I thought my chicken breast with leek mash was very tasty, I didn't get to ask others, but there were all a good/generous size. The restroom is Very nice, the girls were impressed. If I have to fly to Melb for a day for lunch, I would definitely come back as the decor is quite nice and it was quiet enough for our table of 7 to be able to talk to everyone on the table; rare these days with restaurants of hard surfaces.

  2. Wendy H.
    • 4 reviews
    8.5/10

    Overall everything was good. Only issue is that one of the four dishes did not come out with everyone else's and it was a few minutes before it came out. Other than that everything was rather pleasant.

  3. Jazmine E.
    • one review
    10/10

    Fantastic find. Will return soon. Cleanest and most pleasant toilets I have ever been too besides in a home. Excellent customer service from our wait staff and host!

  4. Joff J.
    • one review
    7.25/10

    Location was great for people meeting up before airport & trains

  5. A A.
    • 275 reviews
    8.75/10

    Great venue, we commute from all over Victoria to Southern Cross for regular meetings.

  6. A A.
    • 263 reviews
    9/10

    Great place to eat

  7. A A.
    • 282 reviews
    7.75/10

    Was very nice. Ambience spoilt by the trivia comp next to the dining room which made conversation difficult

  8. Christy P.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    We had a wonderful night catching up with friends. The location next to Southern Cross Station is perfect allowing us to have a few wines in confidence

  9. Raelene C.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Friendly staff great food what more can you ask for. Will definitely be back

  10. Michael M.
    • 21 reviews
    9.25/10

    Food was good as was service. Good seperation from the pokies and the bar. Good for lunch meetings

  11. A A.
    • 263 reviews
    8.5/10

    Well positioned restaurant being so close to Southern Cross. Ideal to meet friends coming from various parts of Melbourne and reasonably good value for money.

  12. A A.
    • 255 reviews
    7/10

    Good pub grub.

  13. A A.
    • 286 reviews
    7/10

    Will come again.

  14. A A.
    • 262 reviews
    8.25/10

    Love the Bad Boy Chips here. A great settimg in a convenient location.

  15. Glenda J.
    • one review
    9.25/10

    Enjoyed our experience

  16. Andrew m.
    • one review
    6.75/10

    Beautiful and handy venue but too expensive for my taste. Would have been happy to spend more time (and more money) there but don't think it's good value for money. Had a burger which was beautiful but at $25 too expensive. Beer was expensive as well. Great venue but too expensive to spend the whole afternoon there.

  17. A A.
    • 270 reviews
    8/10

    Good service and food. Suburban atmosphere in cbd

  18. Elise F.
    • one review
    10/10

    Delicious meals and lovely service. Perfect for a catch up and lunch/dinner when going to Marvel stadium. Will definitely return

  19. A A.
    • 252 reviews
    8/10

    Great for post afl game celebrations and dinner

  20. Michael W.
    • one review
    9/10

    A fabulous old fashioned comfortable and most importantly friendly pub with a fabulous atmosphere, good food and drinks and the staff were terrific.