314 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

8.1
314 reviews
Recommended
(8.4)
Food
(8.0)
Service
(8.4)
Value for money
(7.8)
Atmosphere
(8.1)

dined on Tue, 28 Aug 2018

(6)
Coleslaw on the menu was just stated as a coleslaw, it had some herb in it that I wasn't able to put my finger on and to be honest it ruined the whole salad for me. Girls were lovely, maybe a little lax in getting further drink orders from tables.

dined on Sat, 25 Aug 2018

(9)
We love the mail exchange because of it's atmosphere and because of its proximity to Etihad. We come from interstate and always dine at the Mail Exchange. I thought this visit was a little less worthy of a 10/10 because of the menu. I ended up ordering a Bruchetta and it was disappointing. I didn't want a huge meal and thought a Bruchetta would be just the thing. It wasn't very nice.

dined on Sat, 11 Aug 2018

(9)
Ideal place for dinner before heading to Etihad Stadium - quick and efficient service and great food.

dined on Sat, 11 Aug 2018

(7)
Great for before the football at Etihad stadium. Reccomend pre booking as it was very busy with football supporters. Nice food everyone enjoyed their meal.

dined on Fri, 20 Jul 2018

(8)
Great food and service was excellent to get us to the game on time
Scott

dined on Sun, 15 Jul 2018

(10)
Wait staff were excellent and knowledgeable, a reasonably extensive menu with a comprehensive drinks list, excellent portion sizes, nice environment.

dined on Sat, 14 Jul 2018

(10)
Great meeting place near the Station.
Hello Anne, Great review, thank you! Come back and see us again soon. Cheers
Nici Nicholson, The Mail Exchange Hotel responded on Mon, 16 Jul 2018

dined on Thu, 12 Jul 2018

(9)
Very nice food at reasonable prices.

dined on Sun, 8 Jul 2018

(9)
The food was good but the service was poor considering they were not busy.
Garett

dined on Fri, 6 Jul 2018

(7)
We had an absolutely stunning truffle dinner! Big thank you to Andre, kitchen crew, front of house, and everyone who made this possible.
Hi Garett, We are so pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed the Truffle dinner. Andre did create an amazing menu and Christine worked really hard to making everything else perfect. Thank you for attending and your comments will definitely be passed on. Cheers
Nici Nicholson, The Mail Exchange Hotel responded on Sun, 8 Jul 2018
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

About The Mail Exchange Hotel

Signed, sealed, delivered - I’m yours Mail Exchange Hotel. This historic Melbourne venue is the perfect spot for wining and dining - open for breakfast, lunch, dinner and everything in between. Housed on the lower ground level of the old Mail Exchange building this place is steeped in history and old school grandeur. As soon as you enter you’ll be sold - no need to return to sender. If you’re feeling peckish hit the lounge and order a few snacks, but if you’re after something more substantial sidle into the bistro and dine on pub grub classics that have had their flavour dial turned right up. This place is ideal for groups, so get your mates together and get ready to drink and dine in style. Best dish: chicken parmagiana: panko and parmesan crumbed chicken breast, roasted tomato Napoli sauce, virginia ham and mozzarella cheese + chips and salad.

The Mail Exchange Hotel Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

58
3.5/5