3770 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

8.8
3770 reviews
Recommended
(9.1)
Food
(8.9)
Service
(8.7)
Value for money
(7.9)
Atmosphere
(8.5)

dined on Sat, 9 Mar 2019

(8)
Food is never disappointed, especially the curry. Service is good, very smart, attentive & helpful staff.
Hi Anna, Thank you for your feedback. We are so pleased to hear you had a wonderful dining experience with us. Kindest regards
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Wed, 13 Mar 2019

dined on Sat, 9 Mar 2019

(10)
Friendly staffs and excellent food. We ordered PorPiah, Nasi Goreng and Chicken Rendang and they were so good!! Will be back to try other dishes.
Thanks Lah. Looking forward to having you dine with us again soon.
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Wed, 13 Mar 2019

dined on Fri, 8 Mar 2019

(9)
One of my favorite restaurants in Sydney. The signature banquet never fails to disappoint. The only food that wasn’t eaten was what we couldn’t fit in! Very friendly and attentive service.
Hi Matt, Thank you for your review! We are delighted to hear we are one of your favourites! Looking forward to having you dine with us again soon. Kindest regards
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Sat, 9 Mar 2019

dined on Sat, 16 Feb 2019

(7)
Been here many many times. V disappointed this time. Daughters food came out wrong and then came after an hour and only after we reminded them. Another dish came out with prawns (we were all vegetarian and clearly stated this).
Dear Sarju Thank you for leaving your review. We are very disappointed to hear that your latest meal did not live up to your previous experiences dining with us. There were some miscommunications between our floor staff and kitchen regarding your order and unfortunately they took a while to be discovered and rectified properly. We apologise. We hope to have you dine with us again soon. Regards
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Tue, 19 Feb 2019

dined on Sun, 10 Feb 2019

(8)
The Malaya was the perfect dinner spot for my group of 4! We celebrated an engagement and the staff were very attentive and friendly! They have a wide selection to choose from on the menu and all the dishes we chose were stunning and delicious. The cocktail selection was perfect and we had a great night!
Hi Bianca, Thank you for your review! We are delighted to hear we exceeded you and your guests expectations on your recent visit. Looking forward to having you dine with us again soon. Regards
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Thu, 14 Feb 2019

dined on Sat, 12 Jan 2019

(8)
We went there based on the reviews. Service was good. Food was okay . Depending on the dishes you order, serving size differs. It was still good to share between the two of us. ( we had chicken rendang, prawn kerabu, kang kong & rice). However, they did not have any 'local' M'sian drinks. Just the usual wine etc . Overall its a nice place to dine. Spacious restaurant. We do plan to go there again to try the fish curry and some different dishes.

dined on Thu, 20 Dec 2018

(9)
Great food and atmosphere as always. Can’t beli how busy the place is and how quickly the food comes out. Been here many many times and it never disappoints.

dined on Mon, 17 Dec 2018

(9)
Been going to Malaya for years The food is consistently great and serviceakso
Hi Traci, Thank you for your feedback. We are thrilled to hear we have delivered on consistent food and service on your many visits to us over the years. Thank you for your continued support. Looking forward to having you dine with us again soon. Kind regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Wed, 19 Dec 2018
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10

Specials

Mother's Day 2019

All reservations for Mother's Day are required to provide credit card details at the time of booking. Full cancellation of a reservation, or a reduction in the number of seats reserved is welcome up to 9th May. Past this date, an amount of $50.00 per person will be deducted from the credit card on file for full cancellation or reduction in numbers. We also require that groups of 10 guests or more preselect a banquet menu for their table. A member of our reservation team will call to assist you with your selection, or you can contact us on 9279 1170 to discuss your menu selection. Please advise us of all dietary requirements prior to your reservation. We will do our best to accommodate requests, although this cannot be guaranteed. Due to the layout of the restaurant, tables of 10 or more will generally be seated inside in the main dining area.
When
08 May 2016
Sun 12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
When
14 May 2017
Sun, Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat 12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
When
13 May 2018
Sun 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
When
12 May 2019
Sun 12:00 PM - 11:59 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About The Malaya

A night of spice... For over 50 years, The Malaya has been serving up dishes that test taste buds with authentic spicy dishes based on traditional south east Asian cuisine. And judging from the groups of corporate diners and holidaygoers who crowd the Malaya's steeland-glass interiors day after day, they are clearly doing something right. Think you can handle chilli? See how spiceresistant you really are by putting your palate to the test with the 'extra hot' sambal. Located in Darling Harbour, the restaurant not only promises astonishing food but stunning sweeping waterviews in a contemporary and welcoming setting. Signature dishes include the spanner crab san choy bow for entrée and the delicious Duck Perchik for main. No matter what you choose you’re in for a real treat when you dine at The Malaya. Best dish: Duck Perchik

The Malaya Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

13/20
82
5/5
7.5/10