4027 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

8.9
4027 reviews
Recommended
(9.2)
Food
(9.0)
Service
(8.8)
Value for money
(8.1)
Atmosphere
(8.6)

dined on Sat, 6 Jul 2019

(10)
We havebbeen goingto the Malaya for over 20 years. It is consistently excellent
Hi, Thank you for your wonderful review and your support of the restaurant over the years. Looking forward to having you dine with us again soon. Regards Management
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Fri, 12 Jul 2019

dined on Sat, 6 Jul 2019

(9)
Awesome as usual.
Thanks for the awesome rating and feedback!
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Fri, 12 Jul 2019
Frank Gomes

dined on Sat, 6 Jul 2019

(10)
The food is consistently sensational. They do not compromise with the quality of their ingredients, thus producing absolutely outstanding dishes. Coming from an Asian background, I can assure you the taste of their dishes are authentic.
Hi Frank, Thank you for your wonderful feedback. Our kitchen staff do an amazing job delivering consistently great food. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the team. Looking forward to having you dine with us again soon. Regards Management
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Fri, 12 Jul 2019

dined on Sat, 6 Jul 2019

(10)
Amazing. Food, drinks and service!
Thanks Jillian!
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Fri, 12 Jul 2019

dined on Fri, 5 Jul 2019

(9)
I've dined at Malaya and it doesn't disappoint. A great restaurant with great views. The service is really good as well
Hi, Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear we exceeded your expectation with food and service. Looking forward to having you dine with us again soon. Regards Management
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Fri, 19 Jul 2019

dined on Thu, 4 Jul 2019

(9)
Very nice food, lovely friendly staff and very nice views even though the weather was not the best. Nevertheless we all enjoyed it and we will come back again.
Hi Nawja, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed The Malaya experience. Looking forward to having you dine with us again soon. Regards Management
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Fri, 12 Jul 2019

dined on Wed, 3 Jul 2019

(9)
The staff were amazing with my sons severe allergies. Very obliging and considerate.
Hi, Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your dining experience with us. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to our wonderful team. Regards Management
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Fri, 5 Jul 2019

dined on Tue, 2 Jul 2019

(5)
service was slow The restaurant was packed up around us while we were still eating at 9.30pm we were interrupted in the middle of our main course to ask us if we needed any more food as the kitchen was closing A few simple requests for variation from the menu were declined I like this restaurant but I felt a little embarrassed in front of my guests who were first time visitors.
Hi Carmel, Thank you for your feedback on your recent dining experience. It is disappointing to hear about the lack of service and you and your guests feeling rushed. It certainly was not our intention. We do apologize that you felt that way. We do hope you will give us another chance in the future. Regards Management
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Fri, 12 Jul 2019

dined on Tue, 2 Jul 2019

(10)
Absolutely loved the food and the service. A brilliant meal to celebrate our wedding anniversary.

dined on Mon, 1 Jul 2019

(10)
When am I back in Sydney - can't wait.
page: 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15

Specials

Father's Day 2018

All reservations for Father's Day are required to provide credit card details at the time of booking. Full cancellation of a reservation, or a reduction in the number of seats reserved is welcome up to 72 hours prior to your reservation. Past this date, an amount of $50.00 per person will be deducted from the credit card on file for full cancellation or reduction in numbers. We also require that groups of 10 guests or more preselect a banquet menu for their table. A member of our reservation team will call to assist you with your selection, or you can contact us on 9279 1170 to discuss your menu selection. Please advise us of all dietary requirements prior to your reservation. We will do our best to accommodate requests, although this cannot be guaranteed. Due to the layout of the restaurant, tables of 10 or more will generally be seated inside in the main dining area.
When
01 Sep 2019
Sun 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Melbourne Cup 2019

Lunch reservations for Melbourne Cup are required to provide credit card details. Full cancellation of a reservation, or a reduction in the number of seats reserved is welcome by Friday 1st November. Past this date, an amount of $50.00 per person will be deducted from the credit card on file for full cancellation or reduction in numbers. We also require that groups of 10 guests or more preselect a banquet menu for their table. A member of our reservation team will call to assist you with your selection, or you can contact us on 9279 1170 to discuss your menu selection. Please advise us of all dietary requirements prior to your reservation. We will do our best to accommodate requests, although this cannot be guaranteed. Due to the layout of the restaurant, tables of 10 or more will generally be seated inside in the main dining area.
When
05 Nov 2019
Tue 12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Celebrate NYE at The Malaya

Bid farewell to the year gone by and welcome in the New Year in style. Relax and let our friendly and professional staff look after your every need while dining on a delicious 7 course set menu. Please advise us of all dietary requirements when booking as we may not be able to accommodate some. Children under 12 will be served a children’s menu. Cancellation of a reservation or a reduction in the number of seats reserved is welcome by 10am, Friday 27th of December. Past this date, an amount of $135 per person will be deducted from the credit card on file for full cancellation or deduction in numbers. Tables of 10 or more will generally be seated inside the main dining area.
Min. people
2
When
31 Dec 2019
Tue 5:30 PM - 11:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About The Malaya

A night of spice... For over 50 years, The Malaya has been serving up dishes that test taste buds with authentic spicy dishes based on traditional south east Asian cuisine. And judging from the groups of corporate diners and holidaygoers who crowd the Malaya's steeland-glass interiors day after day, they are clearly doing something right. Think you can handle chilli? See how spiceresistant you really are by putting your palate to the test with the 'extra hot' sambal. Located in Darling Harbour, the restaurant not only promises astonishing food but stunning sweeping waterviews in a contemporary and welcoming setting. Signature dishes include the spanner crab san choy bow for entrée and the delicious Duck Perchik for main. No matter what you choose you’re in for a real treat when you dine at The Malaya. Best dish: Duck Perchik

The Malaya Address

Google Map