3984 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

8.8
3984 reviews
Recommended
(9.1)
Food
(8.9)
Service
(8.7)
Value for money
(8.0)
Atmosphere
(8.5)

dined on Tue, 4 Jun 2019

(10)
No further comment

dined on Mon, 3 Jun 2019

(10)
Great food, service and excellent value for money

dined on Sun, 2 Jun 2019

(9)
It was a good dining experience. We will definitely come back here.
Thanks Mohan
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Sun, 9 Jun 2019
Karen Toohey

dined on Sun, 2 Jun 2019

(10)
The atmosphere is wonderful here. Fabulous selection for vegetarian’s and spicy lovers. There can be a slight wait but with the wonderful wharf views the time fly’s. There is so much choice and all really delicious.
Hi Karen, Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed The Malaya experience on your recent visit. I will be sure to pass your feedback on to our staff. Regards Management
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Fri, 5 Jul 2019

dined on Sat, 1 Jun 2019

(6)
Food can be much better
Hi, We are sorry to hear the food on your recent visit was not to your taste. We do hope you will give us another chance in the future. Regards Management
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Mon, 3 Jun 2019

dined on Sat, 1 Jun 2019

(8)
Good food. Good service.

dined on Sat, 1 Jun 2019

(9)
Delicious & highly recommend, especially if you love spice!

dined on Sat, 1 Jun 2019

(9)
Always outstanding food. Very easy to spend a small fortune here though.

dined on Sat, 1 Jun 2019

(9)
Used to be a regular, when I was younger, at The Malaya when it was in North Sydney. It was always great back then. My wife and I were up in Sydney and thought a trip down memory lane was in order. We were not disappointed, going back to our old faves of Kwai Du and Kapitan chicken...beautiful. The staff are wonderful and although the prices are comparatively higher than they wre years ago, reflecting the change of venue, it was thoroughly enjoyable. We'll be back.
Hi Charles, Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We sure do like to bring back happy memories for our clientele who have been dining with us for many years. We will see you again on your next trip to Sydney. Regards Management
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Mon, 3 Jun 2019

dined on Sat, 1 Jun 2019

(9)
The pre-Booking and follow-up,welcome on arrival,menus choices, table stafff,speed of service and food quality were wonderful. Will certainly be back.Cannot recommend highly enough.
Hi Greg, Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed The Malaya experience. Regards Management
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Sun, 9 Jun 2019
page: 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16

About The Malaya

A night of spice... For over 50 years, The Malaya has been serving up dishes that test taste buds with authentic spicy dishes based on traditional south east Asian cuisine. And judging from the groups of corporate diners and holidaygoers who crowd the Malaya's steeland-glass interiors day after day, they are clearly doing something right. Think you can handle chilli? See how spiceresistant you really are by putting your palate to the test with the 'extra hot' sambal. Located in Darling Harbour, the restaurant not only promises astonishing food but stunning sweeping waterviews in a contemporary and welcoming setting. Signature dishes include the spanner crab san choy bow for entrée and the delicious Duck Perchik for main. No matter what you choose you’re in for a real treat when you dine at The Malaya. Best dish: Duck Perchik

The Malaya Address

Google Map