4111 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

8.9
4111 reviews
Recommended
(9.3)
Food
(9.1)
Service
(8.9)
Value for money
(8.1)
Atmosphere
(8.6)

dined on Mon, 29 Jul 2019

(10)
Great venue perfect food.

dined on Sat, 27 Jul 2019

(10)
Very good service and excellent food. All courses served at just the right time. A good eating experience!
Neville Monk

dined on Fri, 26 Jul 2019

(8)
Seating is a bit bland leading to a noisy restaurant.

dined on Fri, 26 Jul 2019

(9)
Love the food - always a great night out!

dined on Fri, 26 Jul 2019

(10)
Excellent dining experience

dined on Thu, 25 Jul 2019

(10)
The food is great here - we all love it - as is the service. This is a wonderful restaurant for a special occasion.
Hi, Thank you for your feedback. What a wonderful rating and review! We are so pleased you enjoyed The Malaya experience. Looking forward to having you dine with us again soon. Regards Management
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Fri, 9 Aug 2019

dined on Wed, 24 Jul 2019

(9)
Fantastic food and wine selections. Watch out for the dried chillies!
Hi, Thank you for the rating and review. We are so pleased you enjoyed the wonderful food and service. We have a fantastic team who deliver a consistent product. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to them. Regards Management
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Thu, 25 Jul 2019

dined on Wed, 24 Jul 2019

(10)
Terrific venue and one of our favorites

dined on Sat, 20 Jul 2019

(10)
Always a great place for dinner, food and service consistently deliver.

dined on Sat, 20 Jul 2019

(10)
Always amazing !
Thanks Sara!
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Thu, 25 Jul 2019
page: 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18

Specials

Celebrate NYE at The Malaya

Bid farewell to the year gone by and welcome in the New Year in style. Relax and let our friendly and professional staff look after your every need while dining on a delicious 7 course set menu. Please advise us of all dietary requirements when booking as we may not be able to accommodate some. Children under 12 will be served a children’s menu. Cancellation of a reservation or a reduction in the number of seats reserved is welcome by 10am, Friday 27th of December. Past this date, an amount of $135 per person will be deducted from the credit card on file for full cancellation or deduction in numbers. Tables of 10 or more will generally be seated inside the main dining area.
Min. people
2
When
31 Dec 2019
Tue 5:30 PM - 11:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Melbourne Cup 2019

Lunch reservations for Melbourne Cup are required to provide credit card details. Full cancellation of a reservation, or a reduction in the number of seats reserved is welcome by Friday 1st November. Past this date, an amount of $50.00 per person will be deducted from the credit card on file for full cancellation or reduction in numbers. We also require that groups of 10 guests or more preselect a banquet menu for their table. A member of our reservation team will call to assist you with your selection, or you can contact us on 9279 1170 to discuss your menu selection. Please advise us of all dietary requirements prior to your reservation. We will do our best to accommodate requests, although this cannot be guaranteed. Due to the layout of the restaurant, tables of 10 or more will generally be seated inside in the main dining area.
When
05 Nov 2019
Tue 12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About The Malaya

A night of spice... For over 50 years, The Malaya has been serving up dishes that test taste buds with authentic spicy dishes based on traditional south east Asian cuisine. And judging from the groups of corporate diners and holidaygoers who crowd the Malaya's steeland-glass interiors day after day, they are clearly doing something right. Think you can handle chilli? See how spiceresistant you really are by putting your palate to the test with the 'extra hot' sambal. Located in Darling Harbour, the restaurant not only promises astonishing food but stunning sweeping waterviews in a contemporary and welcoming setting. Signature dishes include the spanner crab san choy bow for entrée and the delicious Duck Perchik for main. No matter what you choose you’re in for a real treat when you dine at The Malaya. Best dish: Duck Perchik

The Malaya Address

Google Map