3988 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

8.8
3988 reviews
Recommended
(9.1)
Food
(8.9)
Service
(8.7)
Value for money
(8.0)
Atmosphere
(8.5)

dined on Sat, 25 May 2019

(10)
Delicious. Always the best meal we have when in Sydney. Kapitan prawns and szechuan eggplant are both must have dishes. Fantastic service. See you next time!!
Hi, Thank you for your wonderful feedback. Looking forward to having you dine with us again soon. Regards Management
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Wed, 29 May 2019

dined on Fri, 24 May 2019

(8)
Most of the staffs are nice. I did have a funny incident though... I was about to take my wallet out and pay cash as tips. But since I didn’t add tips on the card, the staff looked annoyed and took the bill away without saying anything. It was awkward.

dined on Fri, 24 May 2019

(7)
We have been a long time diners at The Malaya and have been going back regularly due to good food and service. This time we went for lunch and wanted to use the set menu item. One of the items on set lunch menu was beef and we don't eat due to religious reasons. Upon making several requests to replace the dish with chicken or prawns, Malaya management refused to swap the dish. We even asked them to give two of the same dishes on the set menu but were refused again. This left us with a bad experience. Very Stubborn and inflexible.
To Anurag, Thank you for your feedback. The Light Lunch Menu is designed for quick lunch services and the dishes have been chosen accordingly in light of this to allow quick preparation and efficient service. This is why we cannot make changes to the Lunch Menu, as noted on our website. We are always more than happy to swap dishes on our other banquet menus. We do hope you will visit again in the future, being you have had so many positive dining experiences with us. Regards Management
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Wed, 29 May 2019

dined on Tue, 21 May 2019

(10)
I eat here several times a year - always awesome food!
Hi, Thank you for the feedback. We are pleased we can offer you consistency on your yearly visits to the restaurant. Looking forward to having you dine with us again soon. Regards Management
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Thu, 23 May 2019

dined on Sun, 19 May 2019

(10)
Unique recipes, longstanding staff makes for a destination restaurant any tome my wife and I are back in Sydney.

dined on Fri, 17 May 2019

(9)
Always love The Malaya.

dined on Fri, 17 May 2019

(10)
Visiting from Qld and so happy this place was recommended to us. Fantastic food and excellent customer service. We'll definitely return.

dined on Fri, 17 May 2019

(10)
The food is authentic Malaysian and the ambiance is excellent!

dined on Fri, 17 May 2019

(10)
The Brazilian Japanese wait staff is amazing. I'm sorry i didnt ask her name. We got talking about lots of stuff.
Hi, Thank you for your wonderful review. I will pass on your kind words to Patricia. Looking forward to having you dine with us again soon. Regards
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Sat, 18 May 2019

dined on Fri, 17 May 2019

(8)
The laksa is the best!
page: 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19

About The Malaya

A night of spice... For over 50 years, The Malaya has been serving up dishes that test taste buds with authentic spicy dishes based on traditional south east Asian cuisine. And judging from the groups of corporate diners and holidaygoers who crowd the Malaya's steeland-glass interiors day after day, they are clearly doing something right. Think you can handle chilli? See how spiceresistant you really are by putting your palate to the test with the 'extra hot' sambal. Located in Darling Harbour, the restaurant not only promises astonishing food but stunning sweeping waterviews in a contemporary and welcoming setting. Signature dishes include the spanner crab san choy bow for entrée and the delicious Duck Perchik for main. No matter what you choose you’re in for a real treat when you dine at The Malaya. Best dish: Duck Perchik

The Malaya Address

Google Map