4077 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

8.9
4077 reviews
Recommended
(9.3)
Food
(9.0)
Service
(8.9)
Value for money
(8.1)
Atmosphere
(8.6)
Eric

dined on Wed, 3 Jul 2019

(10)
Best food and service
Michael Nelson

dined on Sun, 23 Jun 2019

(9)
My wife is vegetarian and we were celebrating our anniversary. The staff were lovely, the ambience suprisingly intimate for such a large venue and the range and quality of the food was extraordinary. Special mention must go to the Szechuan eggplant.
Hi Michael, Thank you so much for your feedback. We are so pleased to hear you and your wife had a memorable anniversary dinner. I will pass on your kind words to our wonderful team. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Tue, 25 Jun 2019
Tessa Ho

dined on Sun, 16 Jun 2019

(7)
Food acceptable but relatively overpriced
Hi Tessa, Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your feedback on our pricing, however we use only the highest quality ingredients and this does come at a cost. We do hope you enjoyed the Sambol, that brought back so many memories of your early days dining at George Street. Regards Management
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Wed, 19 Jun 2019

dined on Fri, 14 Jun 2019

(10)
The food and services was great .
Thank you Shiva :-)
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Wed, 19 Jun 2019
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

Specials

Celebrate NYE at The Malaya

Bid farewell to the year gone by and welcome in the New Year in style. Relax and let our friendly and professional staff look after your every need while dining on a delicious 7 course set menu. Please advise us of all dietary requirements when booking as we may not be able to accommodate some. Children under 12 will be served a children’s menu. Cancellation of a reservation or a reduction in the number of seats reserved is welcome by 10am, Friday 27th of December. Past this date, an amount of $135 per person will be deducted from the credit card on file for full cancellation or deduction in numbers. Tables of 10 or more will generally be seated inside the main dining area.
Min. people
2
When
31 Dec 2019
Tue 5:30 PM - 11:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Melbourne Cup 2019

Lunch reservations for Melbourne Cup are required to provide credit card details. Full cancellation of a reservation, or a reduction in the number of seats reserved is welcome by Friday 1st November. Past this date, an amount of $50.00 per person will be deducted from the credit card on file for full cancellation or reduction in numbers. We also require that groups of 10 guests or more preselect a banquet menu for their table. A member of our reservation team will call to assist you with your selection, or you can contact us on 9279 1170 to discuss your menu selection. Please advise us of all dietary requirements prior to your reservation. We will do our best to accommodate requests, although this cannot be guaranteed. Due to the layout of the restaurant, tables of 10 or more will generally be seated inside in the main dining area.
When
05 Nov 2019
Tue 12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About The Malaya

A night of spice... For over 50 years, The Malaya has been serving up dishes that test taste buds with authentic spicy dishes based on traditional south east Asian cuisine. And judging from the groups of corporate diners and holidaygoers who crowd the Malaya's steeland-glass interiors day after day, they are clearly doing something right. Think you can handle chilli? See how spiceresistant you really are by putting your palate to the test with the 'extra hot' sambal. Located in Darling Harbour, the restaurant not only promises astonishing food but stunning sweeping waterviews in a contemporary and welcoming setting. Signature dishes include the spanner crab san choy bow for entrée and the delicious Duck Perchik for main. No matter what you choose you’re in for a real treat when you dine at The Malaya. Best dish: Duck Perchik

The Malaya Address

Google Map