4089 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

8.9
4089 reviews
Recommended
(9.3)
Food
(9.0)
Service
(8.9)
Value for money
(8.1)
Atmosphere
(8.6)

dined on Fri, 26 Apr 2019

(9)
Very consistent. Food and service always very good
Hi Corey, Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed The Malaya experience. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to our wonderful team of staff. Regards Management
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Wed, 1 May 2019

dined on Wed, 10 Apr 2019

(10)
The menu has a wide range of food ; everything we ate was delicious and very well presented and served. All the staff are very hospitable and very pleasant. Malaya is a great place to enjoy time with friends and great food. The cocktails are superb - very difficult not to,have more than one.........Thanks to all the staff for a very enjoyable lunch. We shall return. Sydney.
Vicki Porteous

dined on Sat, 6 Apr 2019

(9)
I absolutely love this restaurant, I have been here 3 times and the food is always fantastic and the waitstaff are very friendly and professional.
Hi Vicki, Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted to hear we have delivered on consistent food and service on your past visits. Looking forward to having you dine with us again soon. Kindest regards
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Wed, 10 Apr 2019

dined on Sun, 24 Mar 2019

(10)
The most consistent Asian food in Sydney. Always delicious, spicy and backed by great service.

dined on Sat, 21 Sep 2019

(7)
Good and atmosphere was good but fairly expensive for what was provided
Jess Linders

dined on Sat, 21 Sep 2019

(7)
Disappointed as were celebrating a birthday but had no mention or anything special for the dinner

dined on Sat, 21 Sep 2019

(9)
Love this place! Must eat....Szechuan eggplant and original beef curry

dined on Fri, 20 Sep 2019

(8)
Food was a little chilly, service was wonderful
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

Specials

Celebrate NYE at The Malaya

Bid farewell to the year gone by and welcome in the New Year in style. Relax and let our friendly and professional staff look after your every need while dining on a delicious 7 course set menu. Please advise us of all dietary requirements when booking as we may not be able to accommodate some. Children under 12 will be served a children’s menu. Cancellation of a reservation or a reduction in the number of seats reserved is welcome by 10am, Friday 27th of December. Past this date, an amount of $135 per person will be deducted from the credit card on file for full cancellation or deduction in numbers. Tables of 10 or more will generally be seated inside the main dining area.
Min. people
2
When
31 Dec 2019
Tue 5:30 PM - 11:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Melbourne Cup 2019

Lunch reservations for Melbourne Cup are required to provide credit card details. Full cancellation of a reservation, or a reduction in the number of seats reserved is welcome by Friday 1st November. Past this date, an amount of $50.00 per person will be deducted from the credit card on file for full cancellation or reduction in numbers. We also require that groups of 10 guests or more preselect a banquet menu for their table. A member of our reservation team will call to assist you with your selection, or you can contact us on 9279 1170 to discuss your menu selection. Please advise us of all dietary requirements prior to your reservation. We will do our best to accommodate requests, although this cannot be guaranteed. Due to the layout of the restaurant, tables of 10 or more will generally be seated inside in the main dining area.
When
05 Nov 2019
Tue 12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About The Malaya

A night of spice... For over 50 years, The Malaya has been serving up dishes that test taste buds with authentic spicy dishes based on traditional south east Asian cuisine. And judging from the groups of corporate diners and holidaygoers who crowd the Malaya's steeland-glass interiors day after day, they are clearly doing something right. Think you can handle chilli? See how spiceresistant you really are by putting your palate to the test with the 'extra hot' sambal. Located in Darling Harbour, the restaurant not only promises astonishing food but stunning sweeping waterviews in a contemporary and welcoming setting. Signature dishes include the spanner crab san choy bow for entrée and the delicious Duck Perchik for main. No matter what you choose you’re in for a real treat when you dine at The Malaya. Best dish: Duck Perchik

The Malaya Address

Google Map