3938 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

8.8
3938 reviews
Recommended
(9.2)
Food
(9.0)
Service
(8.7)
Value for money
(8.0)
Atmosphere
(8.5)
Sarfraz

dined on Sat, 22 Jun 2019

(10)
Coconut Beef Rendang was amazing!

dined on Sat, 22 Jun 2019

(6)
The air conditioning was way too hot where we were seated and took away from the dining experience. Loved the food and wine.
Hi Jake, Thank you for your feedback. We do apologize if the air conditioning on the evening made for an uncomfortable night. Should we have known, we would of done our best to accommodate. So pleased that the food and wine were wonderful. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Tue, 25 Jun 2019
Nick Bingham

dined on Sat, 22 Jun 2019

(9)
Great service and food is always good and mostly reasonably priced. Wine is usually expensive but that is the way it is in Sydney restaurants. I’ll continue to go back as this is my favourite Asian style restaurant in Sydney.
Hi Nick, Thank you for taking the time to review us. It makes us so happy to hear we are one of your favorites! Looking forward to having you dine with us again soon. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Tue, 25 Jun 2019
Shahid Husain

dined on Sat, 22 Jun 2019

(9)
Excellent Service. I have been coming here since mid nineties. Standards of food and service have been consistently excellent
Hi Shahid, Thank you for your positive feedback. As a business who has been in operation since 1963, we believe consistency is key. We are happy we delivered a consistent product on your recent visit. Thank you for your support of the restaurant over the years. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Tue, 25 Jun 2019

dined on Fri, 21 Jun 2019

(2)
Whilst understanding it is authentic Malaysian cuisine - our meals were spoilt by too much chilli. Making it practically uneatable. There are no heat guidelines to assist diners with selections. We are used to and enjoy spicy food, but this was u pleasant. Staff were defensive when we raised it. Will not eat here again.
Hi, Thank you for your feedback. It is disappointing to hear you did not enjoy your recent dining experience with us. We do apologize if a replacement dish was not offered on the evening. We do hope you could give us another chance in the future. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Tue, 25 Jun 2019
Subashini Rajagopalan

dined on Fri, 21 Jun 2019

(8)
Friendly service; jovial, smiling staff.

dined on Fri, 21 Jun 2019

(9)
Great food and service!

dined on Fri, 21 Jun 2019

(10)
Always great love it

dined on Fri, 21 Jun 2019

(10)
Such a great place, the food is outstanding!

dined on Tue, 18 Jun 2019

(10)
Good atmosphere good food
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

About The Malaya

A night of spice... For over 50 years, The Malaya has been serving up dishes that test taste buds with authentic spicy dishes based on traditional south east Asian cuisine. And judging from the groups of corporate diners and holidaygoers who crowd the Malaya's steeland-glass interiors day after day, they are clearly doing something right. Think you can handle chilli? See how spiceresistant you really are by putting your palate to the test with the 'extra hot' sambal. Located in Darling Harbour, the restaurant not only promises astonishing food but stunning sweeping waterviews in a contemporary and welcoming setting. Signature dishes include the spanner crab san choy bow for entrée and the delicious Duck Perchik for main. No matter what you choose you’re in for a real treat when you dine at The Malaya. Best dish: Duck Perchik

The Malaya Address

Google Map