4108 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

8.9
4108 reviews
Recommended
(9.3)
Food
(9.1)
Service
(8.9)
Value for money
(8.1)
Atmosphere
(8.6)

dined on Sat, 21 Sep 2019

(9)
Love this place! Must eat....Szechuan eggplant and original beef curry

dined on Fri, 20 Sep 2019

(8)
Food was a little chilly, service was wonderful

dined on Fri, 20 Sep 2019

(10)
Superb , simply superb We keep coming back
Hi, Thank you for your wonderful review. Looking forward to having you dine with us again soon. Regards Management
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Sat, 21 Sep 2019
Paul McLean

dined on Fri, 20 Sep 2019

(10)
The food is always amazing and to a very high standard. Every dish is unique with its own flavours. I will keep coming back again and again. . Also a really great for business meetings.
Hi Paul, Thank you for your kind words. I will be sure to pass them on to our wonderful team. Looking forward to having you dine with us again soon. Regards Management
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Sat, 21 Sep 2019

dined on Thu, 19 Sep 2019

(9)
Terrific. Would not recommend wine offering with banquets (at extra price $30pp). Better wines on list for that price.

dined on Thu, 19 Sep 2019

(8)
Food was great, we did not wait long at all. Our waiter was a bit too chatty though, especially considering we were having a family meal and wanted to talk to one another.
Hi, Thank you for your feedback. We do apologize if your waiter was too chatty on your recent visit. It will be followed up with the management team. We are pleased you were happy with the wonderful flavours and speedy service. Regards Management
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Sat, 21 Sep 2019

dined on Thu, 19 Sep 2019

(10)
Been going to the Malaya for over 50 years. Still as good as ever.
Hi, Thank you for your wonderful review and your continues support of the restaurant over the years. Regards Management
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Sat, 21 Sep 2019

dined on Tue, 17 Sep 2019

(10)
I love everything! The food was great, the view and the service.

dined on Mon, 16 Sep 2019

(8)
Service of wine was annoying ! Too fast and furious ) as if they might get commission on successfully managing to get us to order the second bottle) which we would have anyhow - but not as fast - then it happened again !!! Made us uncomfortable and all guests felt rushed. Shame.
Hi, Thank you for your feedback. We do apologize if you felt rushed with the wine service on your recent visit. I can assure you it was not our intention to make you and your guests feel rushes in any way. Should you wish to visit again in the future, we are more than happy to make a note that you prefer slower service on the wine. Regards Management
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Sat, 21 Sep 2019

dined on Sun, 15 Sep 2019

(8)
Great service. Food a bit on the pricey side but not too pricey
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

Specials

Celebrate NYE at The Malaya

Bid farewell to the year gone by and welcome in the New Year in style. Relax and let our friendly and professional staff look after your every need while dining on a delicious 7 course set menu. Please advise us of all dietary requirements when booking as we may not be able to accommodate some. Children under 12 will be served a children’s menu. Cancellation of a reservation or a reduction in the number of seats reserved is welcome by 10am, Friday 27th of December. Past this date, an amount of $135 per person will be deducted from the credit card on file for full cancellation or deduction in numbers. Tables of 10 or more will generally be seated inside the main dining area.
Min. people
2
When
31 Dec 2019
Tue 5:30 PM - 11:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Melbourne Cup 2019

Lunch reservations for Melbourne Cup are required to provide credit card details. Full cancellation of a reservation, or a reduction in the number of seats reserved is welcome by Friday 1st November. Past this date, an amount of $50.00 per person will be deducted from the credit card on file for full cancellation or reduction in numbers. We also require that groups of 10 guests or more preselect a banquet menu for their table. A member of our reservation team will call to assist you with your selection, or you can contact us on 9279 1170 to discuss your menu selection. Please advise us of all dietary requirements prior to your reservation. We will do our best to accommodate requests, although this cannot be guaranteed. Due to the layout of the restaurant, tables of 10 or more will generally be seated inside in the main dining area.
When
05 Nov 2019
Tue 12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About The Malaya

A night of spice... For over 50 years, The Malaya has been serving up dishes that test taste buds with authentic spicy dishes based on traditional south east Asian cuisine. And judging from the groups of corporate diners and holidaygoers who crowd the Malaya's steeland-glass interiors day after day, they are clearly doing something right. Think you can handle chilli? See how spiceresistant you really are by putting your palate to the test with the 'extra hot' sambal. Located in Darling Harbour, the restaurant not only promises astonishing food but stunning sweeping waterviews in a contemporary and welcoming setting. Signature dishes include the spanner crab san choy bow for entrée and the delicious Duck Perchik for main. No matter what you choose you’re in for a real treat when you dine at The Malaya. Best dish: Duck Perchik

The Malaya Address

Google Map